Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Back to 'normal': Have you changed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Markus Antonius

SnuggyBear wrote: »
    I've changed for the worse. I'm bitter and more cynical.

No, you've just become more introspective :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,143 ✭✭✭sporina

But if your friend would've been happy in Sweden then wouldn't moving there have been a good idea?

oh no doubt she would find something else to moan about.. she said she wouldn't move cos she would miss her family etc but as it is she is not speaking to them cos she refuses to wear a mask but they do and her parents are elderly.. no sense to it I know.. the only comfort she gets it seems is believing what she wants to believe.. I am just leaving her to it - such a shame though - she is so lonely - but she is creating a lot of that herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,446 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

sporina wrote: »
    oh no doubt she would find something else to moan about.. she said she wouldn't move cos she would miss her family etc but as it is she is not speaking to them cos she refuses to wear a mask but they do and her parents are elderly.. no sense to it I know.. the only comfort she gets it seems is believing what she wants to believe.. I am just leaving her to it - such a shame though - she is so lonely - but she is creating a lot of that herself.

That's a shame. Sounds like one of the people below.
    paw patrol wrote: »
    ........are always right and its' the others who are wrong

Despite the vast majority of the population accepting that vaccines work and masks prevent the spread of Covid, you'll still get a very stubborn minority doing what you describe above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I have lost all hope for the future. The economic oblivion will set me back 10 years and for admittedly a late starter in life, by the time things turn around, companies won't want to look at a guy in his mid 40s.

Health NGOs will be buoyed by the experience and will be weighing into our lives even more. These Covid celebrities won't be going away.

We have never been promised "Normal" back. Governments are kite flying vaccine passports for access to amenities. When does that end? A year, 5 years, never?

I have lost all hope for the future. The economic oblivion will set me back 10 years and for admittedly a late starter in life, by the time things turn around, companies won't want to look at a guy in his mid 40s.

Health NGOs will be buoyed by the experience and will be weighing into our lives even more. These Covid celebrities won't be going away.

We have never been promised "Normal" back. Governments are kite flying vaccine passports for access to amenities. When does that end? A year, 5 years, never?

We keep hearing about 'a semblance of normality' and 'a degree of normality'. Normal for me is Australia. I mean domestic life in Australia. Excluding Victoria, although Victoria is getting there little by little.

You seem to have fallen into the trap of looking at everything with a negative standpoint. Don't worry, when terms like "semblance of normality" are used, they are not talking about 10 years from now.

They are talking about the steps we take before getting back to full normal life.

Chin up pal! The future is bright!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

MrStuffins wrote: »
    The future is bright!

It's really not

As the year has passed I have gone from feeling oppressed to depressed. I find the lockdown extremely hard this time, and very damaging to my mental health and that of a lot of friends and family. I miss human contact a lot, laughter, hugs, fun, positivity.
    I rang my most upbeat positive funny friend today and she said she no longer has any motivation and feels lost. She said she just has nothing to talk about anymore. It shocked me. I think the damage from these unnecessarily long restrictions is enormous and we will pay a huge price as time goes on.

The article below is interesting........the kind of article I would have written if I could find the words and make the effort, but I just feel beaten lately. I walk, run, cycle and swim in the sea. I haven't put on weight, probably lost a bit. I've tried my best to keep busy but I'm depressed.
    No wonder most of us are angry, depressed, disillusioned, frustrated and sad.
    We have suffered hugely at the way this has been handled in Ireland.

https://www.nationalreview.com/2021/04/why-ireland-has-the-most-miserable-lockdown-in-the-western-world/amp/?__twitter_impression=true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭funnydoggy

Physically I'm better than I've ever been. I started walking since around Christmas. Walking at least 10k steps a day and down about ten pounds but mentally, not great. Have had depression for about a decade but it got *bad* more than once since last March.

Like sweetmaggie, it's a turn for the worse for myself. Physically ok, mmm 'nervous wreck' does'nt seem that far off for me. Let's hope we see 'light at the end of the tunnel' by August, we're still so deep in the woods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Flyer1

I trust media far less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,411 ✭✭✭✭woodchuck

I've become a mere shadow of my former self.

The best thing about my job was my colleagues and I haven't seen them now in over a year due to working from home.

I used to do volunteer work every other weekend, which I loved and involved interacting with dozens of people over a few hours. Now I'm lucky if I speak to more than one human being per week in person.

I've postponed my wedding twice already. If we're lucky enough to go ahead for our 3rd date in September, it's incredibly unlikely that our siblings will be able to come because they live abroad. I haven't been able to motivate myself to book a honeymoon in Ireland yet. All the joy has been sucked out of the occasion and replaced with uncertainty and anxiety.

I had worked hard to lose weight, but it's never ending fluctuations in the wrong direction the past year.

I honestly don't know if I'll ever feel like myself again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

woodchuck wrote: »
    I've become a mere shadow of my former self.

The best thing about my job was my colleagues and I haven't seen them now in over a year due to working from home.

I used to do volunteer work every other weekend, which I loved and involved interacting with dozens of people over a few hours. Now I'm lucky if I speak to more than one human being per week in person.

I've postponed my wedding twice already. If we're lucky enough to go ahead for our 3rd date in September, it's incredibly unlikely that our siblings will be able to come because they live abroad. I haven't been able to motivate myself to book a honeymoon in Ireland yet. All the joy has been sucked out of the occasion and replaced with uncertainty and anxiety.

I had worked hard to lose weight, but it's never ending fluctuations in the wrong direction the past year.

I honestly don't know if I'll ever feel like myself again.

Oh god, I actually sometimes forget I'm engaged until someone mentions weddings! :( We were lucky we hadn't booked anything so we can hold off planning until we see what the horizon is like, but I'd rather get married this side of forty! :D

Could you do a small intimate wedding (think the fun of eloping) and a big celebration after? I had thought about that at one point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

I will probably write a longer reply later but

The one thing I will change is I want even more hugs from whoever feels ok to give or receive them.

It's really not

Definitely is!

Things I know for a fact to be in my future:

Giving my mother and the rest of my loved ones hugs.

Spending time with all of my friends in the one place.

Getting back to the gym.

Holidays

Gigs

Festivals

Fully attended weddings.

Going to the cinema

Meeting the lads in the pub for delicious pints.

Your future might not be bright, but mine is gonna be blinding!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,082 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Personally I feel subdued/flat after a year of this

I’ve been exercising more. Drinking much less. Rediscovering the simple joys of pet dogs, DIY, movies and music.

That’s the plus side now for the minus....

Have had an ex manager who was sacked for - misrepresenting his experience and skills, borderline fraud/deception of the company, try to “weasel” his way back into my life by offering me opportunities to invest in his start up.

One night he rang me under influence and accused me of “causing” his sacking when I had nothing to do with it. His inadequacies were clear after a number of weeks.

He was literally making up sales report figures after a while.

I have refused to invest in his new start up yet he still WhatsApp’s/rings me.

Causing me stress as I was delighted to see him out of my working life. I dunno, sometimes just happy to wish him a “happy life” and never hear from him again.

I’ve been subjected to huge angry tirades from ppl in my work on an almost weekly basis. Won’t lie- I’ve given as good as I got with both barrels.

also petty rows with the wife and family are becoming more regular

Also random “fall outs” with friends and neighbours over fairly minimal stuff

Had one good friend get into a “one sided” whatsapp argument with me re taking vaccines off the uk if offered. He said friendship was over - next day he messages me as if nothing had happened!! I chose to ignore the previous nights BS.

Had a neighbour angrily scream at me last sat morning at half 9 that he still had to receive my contribution to a neighbourhood project

Felt like cursing him from a height but instead bit my lip and gritted my teeth.

Anger like that is not normal on a Saturday morning of the Easter bank holiday wkend.

It really is getting to people more and more

Gahhhhh- sorry for the long post , just needed to vent I guess

Brighter days ahead folks - chin up

There was a busker on the Parade in Kilkenny with a ukulele having an absolute blast with three random kids dancing along busting out moves.

Feeding off each others energy.

Fecking cheered me right up and had a bounce in my step for the day.

I'd like to think ill be able to appreciate stuff like this when everything returns to "normal"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭dublinbando

Personally I feel subdued/flat after a year of this

I’ve been exercising more. Drinking much less. Rediscovering the simple joys of pet dogs, DIY, movies and music.

That’s the plus side now for the minus....

Have had an ex manager who was sacked for - misrepresenting his experience and skills, borderline fraud/deception of the company, try to “weasel” his way back into my life by offering me opportunities to invest in his start up.

One night he rang me under influence and accused me of “causing” his sacking when I had nothing to do with it. His inadequacies were clear after a number of weeks.

He was literally making up sales report figures after a while.

I have refused to invest in his new start up yet he still WhatsApp’s/rings me.

Causing me stress as I was delighted to see him out of my working life. I dunno, sometimes just happy to wish him a “happy life” and never hear from him again.

I’ve been subjected to huge angry tirades from ppl in my work on an almost weekly basis. Won’t lie- I’ve given as good as I got with both barrels.

also petty rows with the wife and family are becoming more regular

Also random “fall outs” with friends and neighbours over fairly minimal stuff

Had one good friend get into a “one sided” whatsapp argument with me re taking vaccines off the uk if offered. He said friendship was over - next day he messages me as if nothing had happened!! I chose to ignore the previous nights BS.

Had a neighbour angrily scream at me last sat morning at half 9 that he still had to receive my contribution to a neighbourhood project

Felt like cursing him from a height but instead bit my lip and gritted my teeth.

Anger like that is not normal on a Saturday morning of the Easter bank holiday wkend.

It really is getting to people more and more

Gahhhhh- sorry for the long post , just needed to vent I guess

Brighter days ahead folks - chin up

You will find that the vast majority of people are absolute morons :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,143 ✭✭✭sporina

speckle wrote: »
    I will probably write a longer reply later but

The one thing I will change is I want even more hugs from whoever feels ok to give or receive them.

here's a big warm virtual hug from me to you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,030 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

The article below is interesting........the kind of article I would have written if I could find the words and make the effort, but I just feel beaten lately.

An interesting article that makes some valid points. Its such a shame that we have to live at the whim of a single issue "advisory" group who never at any point in this pandemic have paid any regards to silly things like people, or their lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭the kelt

There’s absolutely nothing that’s changed for me that I have any intention of keeping.

I’m more depressed

I’ve become more bitter

My mental health has suffered

I’ve become more cynical

My family life has suffered, my kids suffer through the lack of social interaction as they were two kids who were in to everything, every activity they could, every camp they could. Now we get a lot of tears a lot of the time

My father who lives with us is now a shell of the man he was a year ago, annoyed, scared and missing friends visiting and him visiting others, he’s that generation who’s life revolved around visiting others houses.

I drink more, never drank at home only would get out for a few pints every couple of weeks mainly to just have a catch up with friends to talk ****e, now I drink at home to break up the weekend from every other day.

Fitness wise I know all my local forests and walks, been running them for years so that hasn’t changed, I remember meeting people a year ago who literally lived in this area all their lives and were asking me for direction around the local forests etc, kinda couldn’t get my head around it, how did they not know these places already, I’m still doing what i always done only a little less as it can get far too busy sometimes so just leave it off, loose dogs, kids on quads etc.

The ironic thing is I’m better off financially, have more money in my pocket, even got a promotion and have been working away through all of this. Have a lot more spare money than I ever had.

Worth it?

Not even close!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭VonLuck

As the year has passed I have gone from feeling oppressed to depressed. I find the lockdown extremely hard this time, and very damaging to my mental health and that of a lot of friends and family. I miss human contact a lot, laughter, hugs, fun, positivity.
    I rang my most upbeat positive funny friend today and she said she no longer has any motivation and feels lost. She said she just has nothing to talk about anymore. It shocked me. I think the damage from these unnecessarily long restrictions is enormous and we will pay a huge price as time goes on.

The article below is interesting........the kind of article I would have written if I could find the words and make the effort, but I just feel beaten lately. I walk, run, cycle and swim in the sea. I haven't put on weight, probably lost a bit. I've tried my best to keep busy but I'm depressed.

https://www.nationalreview.com/2021/04/why-ireland-has-the-most-miserable-lockdown-in-the-western-world/amp/?__twitter_impression=true

While I know it's tough for a lot of people, the thread is about how the whole experience will have changed you by the end of it, not giving out about restrictions! Be nice to distract ourselves from some of the misery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Definitely is!

Things I know for a fact to be in my future:

Giving my mother and the rest of my loved ones hugs.

Spending time with all of my friends in the one place.

Getting back to the gym.

Holidays

Gigs

Festivals

Fully attended weddings.

Going to the cinema

Meeting the lads in the pub for delicious pints.

Your future might not be bright, but mine is gonna be blinding!

So you meant the future is bright for you. You probably should have mentioned that.

For a large section of the population the future is bleak and nothing but bleak.

Why do people keep referencing that source on this thread?

So you meant the future is bright for you.

Nope. I meant the future is bright for you and for everyone else. My future isn't too different to yours.

Of course, a lot of it will be to do with your attitude and mindset. If you walk around thinking life will be an*t constantly, then life will probably be sh*t constantly.

Mental health has been a big issue through the pandemic. Don't be afraid to seek out friends, family or even strangers to chat about things. It's important to get them off your chest and to deal with these things head on.

I lost a career change opportunity and then lost my job at the start of the whole ****.
    I'm now in another job but rents are sky high, property prices are sky-rocketing. Everything I could have achieved within a year at the start of last year on 40% less money is now impossible.

But someone else says to cheer up so I suppose I better.

Nope. I meant the future is bright for you and for everyone else. My future isn't too different to yours.

Of course, a lot of it will be to do with your attitude and mindset. If you walk around thinking life will be an*t constantly, then life will probably be sh*t constantly.

Mental health has been a big issue through the pandemic. Don't be afraid to seek out friends, family or even strangers to chat about things. It's important to get them off your chest and to deal with these things head on.

Did you ever think of becoming a counciler?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭VonLuck

I lost a career change opportunity and then lost my job at the start of the whole ****.
    I'm now in another job but rents are sky high, property prices are sky-rocketing. Everything I could have achieved within a year at the start of last year on 40% less money is now impossible.

But someone else says to cheer up so I suppose I better.

I think you're missing the point. Yes circumstances might seem bleak, but being negative about it won't help you and will only send you into a downward spiral. It's tough, but try to see some shimmers of light out there. Why worry about things that you can't change? And if it's something you can change and want to, then get out there and go hell for leather.

Did you ever think of becoming a counciler?

Not seriously, no.

But who knows? The future can be what you make it

Not seriously, no.

But who knows? The future can be what you make it

Ye it would be easy for you, tell everyone to chin up. Next.