If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Are we there yet? Your second Travel Megathread (threadbans in OP}

faceman wrote: »
    Huh?

I said Slovakia HAD mandatory quarantine facilities. Not that they do now

However and more importantly, HUngary is an EU country that is at this moment in time, refusing to allow entry to EU citizens

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,681 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

I said Slovakia HAD mandatory quarantine facilities. Not that they do now

Ahhhhhh

I thought the HAD reference was having a dig at my love for heavy metal :p

faceman wrote: »
    Ahhhhhh

I thought the HAD reference was having a dig at my love for heavy metal :p

well now, thats entirely dependant on your choices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Str8outtaWuhan

Assuming by May that our (Republic of Ireland) county border travel limit will be further lifted - am I right in thinking that a "forigen" holiday to the UK will be possible?

Willing to accept that might have to restrict movement at home (which is basically the same as the entire year just gone anyway) - but I'm very tempted to head over for a week once they open accomodation in May. Any reasons why I can't

I can't see intercounty travel been lifted til july, post LC and at the same time as hotels/outdoor pubs etc

my plan is head straight for belfast and then uk /europe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭Del Griffith

gozunda wrote: »
    How is it a 'stance"? It's simply what a covid PCR test is . Ie it provides a snapshot in time of either a positive or negative status result. And no its not "pointless". But yes it has its limitations.

Though not all testing is the "same" as PCR

But yes indeed you may pickup covid anywhere - not just on the way back from the "testing centre"

A test is not a amulet which gives you magic protection.

Which bit are you having problems with?

The bit I have a problem with is how some viewpoints are so stupid it just doesn't seem like anyone can reasonably hold them, yet here we are.

Your post for instance, inferring that negative PCR tests aren't good enough as they are just a "snapshot" in time as you can still pick up Covid after the test.

A PCR test being the global leading standard for identifying those with Covid19, somehow becomes not good enough if the person is about to step foot on a plane as opposed to setting foot on the entire rest of the planet that doesn't happen to be an aeroplane, in which case it's fine - they are Covid19 negative.

And yes there might be a 0.0001% of someone managing to pick up Covid19 despite having just taken a test that proved them negative. That would still be about a 10,000% lesser chance of contagion than a shopping in Lidl or a bus journey or a trip to the newsagent, where no one is tested at all.

You are at some point going to have to crawl out from under your duvet. Any environment where every single person in the room has been tested for Covid19 and provided proof of a negative test, is probably the safest indoor space on the planet. Even a coward surely can see that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Chuck Norris 2021

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/three-women-return-to-quarantine-hotel-after-gardai-intercept-them-150km-away-1107405.html

More escapees. Not sure if the whole MHQ is going to achieve much other than sensationalist headlines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Ray Donovan

1 in 2 Europeans planning a holiday this year.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/over-half-of-europeans-say-they-will-take-a-holiday-this-summer-1.4530403

No one coming here though. Obviously NPHET doesn’t think the 6 BILLION Euros we get from foreign tourism is essential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,136 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/over-half-of-europeans-say-they-will-take-a-holiday-this-summer-1.4530403

No one coming here though. Obviously NPHET doesn’t think the 6 BILLION Euros we get from foreign tourism is essential.

Much easier when you can just drive to another country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

I can't see intercounty travel been lifted til july, post LC and at the same time as hotels/outdoor pubs etc

It’s mad isn’t - sounds like a prison break!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭KanyeSouthEast

Van.Bosch wrote: »
    It’s mad isn’t - sounds like a prison break!

More sad than mad really. Ireland had a long colourful history of shaming people though so none of this should be that much of a surprise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

Interesting to hear Stephen Donnelly on Prime Time tonight, it seems he ‘isn’t ruling anything out’ re travel measures. Quota on numbers entering Ireland, mandatory quarantine for EU& elsewhere. If Coveney, etc., don’t stand up to this, where does it end? When Ireland Inc goes bust?
    I agree we need controls, tests etc. But why start now with this system as other countries begin to reopen to travel and vaccinated travellers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

Why would anyone book a trip to Ireland? The hospitality industry is almost completely shut down, there is no roadmap for reopening hospitality, and the crackpots in Dublin could change entry requirements and/or impose a costly mandatory hotel quarantine on people travelling here at the drop of a hat. It'd be easier to visit North Korea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭Blut2

Interesting to hear Stephen Donnelly on Prime Time tonight, it seems he ‘isn’t ruling anything out’ re travel measures. Quota on numbers entering Ireland, mandatory quarantine for EU& elsewhere. If Coveney, etc., don’t stand up to this, where does it end? When Ireland Inc goes bust?
    I agree we need controls, tests etc. But why start now with this system as other countries begin to reopen to travel and vaccinated travellers?

Thats what (well, on top of everything else) makes this whole thing so much of a farce. All this talk of bringing in new measures, massively expanding mandatory hotel quarantine to account for more visitor numbers etc, will take easily a month to make happen. If not more - given it took almost 3 months to bring in the limited system we have now.

So it would only likely be getting running in early/mid-May, just as the US/UK/EU are all beginning to open up. And the EU commission is by all accounts going to push very hard on all member states to accept the green/travel certificate come mid-June, which would overrule any mandatory hotel system here for EU citizens.

So at absolute best we'll have devoted all this government time, effort, and taxpayers money, to a system thats in operation for about a month. Its just such a monumental waste of everyone's time.

(this is all if the whole thing isn't slapped down by the high court in a few weeks, mind you, too. The pending threat of which should be enough by itself to put things on ice in a logical world).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,119 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

I’m planning to possibly head to visit friends in London perhaps around August.
    Going to get an early morning flight before the Guards set up I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭I see sheep

GazzaL wrote: »
    Why would anyone book a trip to Ireland? The hospitality industry is almost completely shut down, there is no roadmap for reopening hospitality, and the crackpots in Dublin could change entry requirements and/or impose a costly mandatory hotel quarantine on people travelling here at the drop of a hat. It'd be easier to visit North Korea.

I'll be back at least twice this year (from the UK)

When they catch up on the vaccines I assume things will open like will be here next week.

Surely it'll only take a few months for that.

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭sy_flembeck

GazzaL wrote: »
    It'd be easier to visit North Korea.

And probably more craic!

Heating up a bit internally:

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/government-departments-clash-over-lack-of-answers-on-quarantine-1.4530474

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Micky 32

It’s clearly obvious that the EU green travel pass won’t be happening here. By the end of the year all countries will be on the quarantine list. Non essential travel is basically over for many years unless some miracle happens that the virus disappears which is unlikely . I’ll get shot down for saying it but travelling is over vaccinated or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,259 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

Micky 32 wrote: »
    It’s clearly obvious that the EU green travel pass won’t be happening here. By the end of the year all countries will be on the quarantine list. Non essential travel is basically over for many years unless some miracle happens that the virus disappears which is unlikely . I’ll get shot down for saying it but travelling is over vaccinated or not.

COuld be right since Ireland outside the Schengen zone and all ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

Thankfully we are not an economy and society which relies on service and goods exports with people skills and connectivity at the core of what we do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

TomSweeney wrote: »
    COuld be right since Ireland outside the Schengen zone and all ...

Schengen means passport checks. Does not change our fundamental rights as EU citizens.

If that’s the case why is that f***k Donnelly ignoring those rights? He must think there’s a way around it because He’s hell bent on banning travel. Looks like our fundamental rights are going to be null and void soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,273 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

If that’s the case why is that f***k Donnelly ignoring those rights? He must think there’s a way around it because He’s hell bent on banning travel.

Donnelly is doing a solo run because he thinks it’ll get him some kudos from the public given how unpopular he is.
    I doubt even most in Fianna Fáil are in agreement with him on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭sy_flembeck

Donnelly is doing a solo run because he thinks it’ll get him some kudos from the public given how unpopular he is.
    I doubt even most in Fianna Fáil are in agreement with him on this.

That's it in a nutshell. He started this ridiculous charade and is now in so deep his ego won't let him stop. The world and it's brother can see he has slid off the deep end but nobody seems to have the b*lls to tell him.

Let's be honest, it's not like his (latest) party has any kind of leadership....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

You've posted this 'travel is over' stuff quite a few times now, I'm not happy at all about how all this is being handled but you are going full apocalyptic based on very little future knowns other than current frustration with travel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

That's it in a nutshell. He started this ridiculous charade and is now in so deep his ego won't let him stop. The world and it's brother can see he has slid off the deep end but nobody seems to have the b*lls to tell him.

Let's be honest, it's not like his (latest) party has any kind of leadership....

Interesting to ask him why his MEPs voted in favour of an EU wide green pass in Europe.

Gael23 wrote: »
    I’m planning to possibly head to visit friends in London perhaps around August.
    Going to get an early morning flight before the Guards set up I think

If the checkpoints are still there in August, I would be surprised. Really hope they are stopped by the end of may.
    If that’s the case why is that f***k Donnelly ignoring those rights? He must think there’s a way around it because He’s hell bent on banning travel. Looks like our fundamental rights are going to be null and void soon.

At present he hasn't but if he tries to implement a cap system he will find himself in trouble. You can cap tourists albeit 'not in the spirit of the eu' but you cannot cap people choosing to live here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭eltonyio

In my view there is no possibility we will still have this level of restrictions or MHQ in a few months time. I expect it to be mostly gone by July, with a similar not recommended/ colour coded approach to last year being the only barrier left. My reasons:
    1. Tourism and airline industry lobby are vocal and influential. Individuals will start to bring pressure on senior government figures. This will happen at local, national and international level and will be very strong pressure. Last year caught the global industry by surprise but that won't happen again
    2. 10% of our jobs rely on tourism, we will have to open sooner or later. This cannot be borrowed for indefinitely.
    3. The UK is clearly moving to open and for better or worse we usually copy them.
    4. The open border - MHQ will become a complete farce if Belfast is facilitating large numbers of Irish coming and going across border. There is no question that this will happen and is an insurmountable problem to tackle. It cannot be tackled without border checks which simply won't happen.
    5. Ireland has hundreds of thousands of international people living in Ireland who will be going over and back between here and their home countries. They won't accept it and neither will their employers. While many have no vote, the international community in Ireland contribute such an enormous volume of labour in the FDI sector that the pressure here from influential figures if issues such as emigration start to arise will be powerful.
    6. The zero covid guys will run out of steam when repeated vaccine success stories are shown from abroad. The narrative will change.
    7. We have played at being good Europeans for some time now. It would be a dramatic change in foreign policy to go against EC wishes if the green cert becomes widely adopted or indeed mandated.
    8. Phil Hogan will want to tour about again

Corholio wrote: »
    You've posted this 'travel is over' stuff quite a few times now, I'm not happy at all about how all this is being handled but you are going full apocalyptic based on very little future knowns other than current frustration with travel.

Can you honestly see the light at the end of the tunnel? Despite the amazing access we have to vaccines? Shouldn’t there be some roadmap or hope for easing travel restrictions instead of planning to tighten them further? Or at least reasure us that they are temporary until the vaccines do their magic. Give people some hope. I hope people stand up to this once the main threat of the virus subsides come the end of the year. I don’t condone travelling at the moment though.

eltonyio wrote: »
    In my view there is no possibility we will still have this level of restrictions or MHQ in a few months time. I expect it to be mostly gone by July, with a similar not recommended/ colour coded approach to last year being the only barrier left. My reasons:
    1. Tourism and airline industry lobby are vocal and influential. Individuals will start to bring pressure on senior government figures. This will happen at local, national and international level and will be very strong pressure. Last year caught the global industry by surprise but that won't happen again
    2. 10% of our jobs rely on tourism, we will have to open sooner or later. This cannot be borrowed for indefinitely.
    3. The UK is clearly moving to open and for better or worse we usually copy them.
    4. The open border - MHQ will become a complete farce if Belfast is facilitating large numbers of Irish coming and going across border. There is no question that this will happen and is an insurmountable problem to tackle. It cannot be tackled without border checks which simply won't happen.
    5. Ireland has hundreds of thousands of international people living in Ireland who will be going over and back between here and their home countries. They won't accept it and neither will their employers. While many have no vote, the international community in Ireland contribute such an enormous volume of labour in the FDI sector that the pressure here from influential figures if issues such as emigration start to arise will be powerful.
    6. The zero covid guys will run out of steam when repeated vaccine success stories are shown from abroad. The narrative will change.
    7. We have played at being good Europeans for some time now. It would be a dramatic change in foreign policy to go against EC wishes if the green cert becomes widely adopted or indeed mandated.
    8. Phil Hogan will want to tour about again

9. MM will not want to miss his last opportunity to deliver the shamrock to Biden next Paddy’s day

A small amendment added.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭ShadowTech

Sorry if this has already been discussed; I've gone back several pages but didn't see it.

Are the criteria for a country to be added or removed from the MHQ list explained somewhere? Is it tied to the number of vaccines per capita, the number of active cases, something objective? I have looked but all of the documentation I have seen so far regarding MHQ is highlighting the relevant countries and the actions and costs involved.

Is there a sunset clause in the law for MHQ? I'm not necessarily suggesting a date but are there metrics (e.g. number of Irish residents vaccinated, number of hospitalisations over a period of time, etc.)? Has anyone in the government indicated if this is a temporary measure to buy time for the vaccine rollout or is this kind of curtailment of travel expected to go on for years?

The reason I ask is that both myself and my partner have family, including our parents, living abroad. My partner is going to need to travel to care for her mother for a short time following a surgery and, though the country in question isn't currently on the list, we're concerned that could change at the drop of a hat. My own family are in the States and depending on how the current drama plays out that may go on the list soon. While we can absorb the cost of MHQ once if required this isn't something we're willing to live with long-term.