If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Are we there yet? Your second Travel Megathread (threadbans in OP}

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭fm

Leo has clearly got wind of how public opinion is going on all this. I expect we'll see him become increasingly vocal in the coming weeks.

I still think that in late may/June when 50 years and over are vaccinated the general publics attitude to travel will change. A lot of people of that age like to travel for golf etc and would have holiday homes abroad. These people will want to get on with life and when vaccinated will feel a lot safer about it. Pressure will come on politicians hopefully especially if the rest of Europe are travelling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭kerrylad1

Yes, if the person refused to isolate then the judge will have zero option but to remand in custody. Age is not a get out of jail card when you are standing in front of the judge admitting you intend to continue offending. They certainly wont want to lock him up but they will.

Who am I or any Garda to tell anyone anything? Thats the law. Thats how the country operates. If you disagree then the courts are at your service

Ur talking out of ur backside.No judge will lock up a 77 year old man for going to lanza.You know this.

kerrylad1 wrote: »
    Nonsence.Lock up 2 ladies in mountjoy for travelling to dubai, but yet a scumbag with 20 previous convictions gets off with a slap on the wrist for robbing a old folks house.

You do know gardai don't sentence people yeah?
    I think you need a 'dummys guide to the legal system' book :)

Ridiculous stance, travel aside sure all testing is pointless then - you might not have it when you get tested, but you could get it in the testing centre or on the way home.

Ergo, we should just stay quarantined 24/7, 365.

Solid plan.

Pcr is considered gold standard we are told except when you need to get on a plane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

gozunda wrote: »

A snapshot denotes the status of that current, static moment, not taking into account the time up to then which it's result alludes to as well. I wouldn't agree with that wording, especially when 'snapshot' isn't itself a scientific word. It also seeks to play down the efficacy of such a test too imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Red list.What a load of bull.Did you actually look at the countries on the list before posting that.

Posting what? You mean Information?

So you're saying Dubai isn't on it? Hint. It comes in under the United Arab Emirates...

Here's the current list for you in case you're in any doubt...
    Albania, Andorra, Angola, Argentina, Austria, Aruba, Bahrain, the islands of Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Burundi, Cape Verde, Chile, Colombia, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Ecuador, Eswatini, Ethiopia, French Guiana, Guyana, Israel, Jordan, Kosovo, Kuwait, Lebanon, Lesotho, Malawi, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, North Macedonia, Oman, Palestine, Paraguay, Panama, Peru, The Philippines, Qatar, Rwanda, Saint Lucia, San Marino, Serbia, Seychelles, Somalia, South Africa, Suriname, Tanzania, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, Venezuela, Zambia and Zimbabwe, and the Territory of the Wallis and Futuna Islands.

bubblypop wrote: »
    You do know gardai don't sentence people yeah?
    I think you need a 'dummys guide to the legal system' book :)
    Calling me a dummy.Stay classy

I think you need to step away from the laptop or read better

Corholio wrote: »
    A snapshot denotes the status of that current, static moment, not taking into account the time up to then which it's result alludes to as well. I wouldn't agree with that wording, especially when 'snapshot' isn't itself a scientific word. It also seeks to play down the efficacy of such a test too imo.

Well maybe best take it up with the scientists then? But yes the word 'snapshot is used generally by the scientific literature to describe covid pcr tests and simply provides a negative or positive covid result. Thats about it.

Can't help otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭sy_flembeck

Leo has clearly got wind of how public opinion is going on all this. I expect we'll see him become increasingly vocal in the coming weeks.

I'm no fan but tbf he was the only one I recall being in any way proactive regarding travel last year.

Posting what? You mean Information?

So you're saying Dubai isn't on it? Hint. It comes in under the United Arab Emirates...

Here's the current list for you in case you're in any doubt...

Have they released how they come up with this list? Rates of infection, vaccination? Mauritius was taken off it, currently has an infection rate of 18 per 100,000 for 7 days.
    https://graphics.reuters.com/world-coronavirus-tracker-and-maps/countries-and-territories/mauritius/

This is just ridiculous, a guard is there to uphold the law. The law makes provision for gardai to issue fines for non essential travel. What do you think gives gardai the right?
    Will you just stop.My old lad is 77.He is not afraid of this virus.If ur under 50,cop on and live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Well maybe best take it up with the scientists then? But yes the word 'snapshot is used generally by the scientific literature to describe covid pcr tests. It simply provides a negative or positive covid status. Thsts it.

Can't help you otherwise.

No problem, wasn't looking for help. Just my opinion on the usage of the word to weaken someone's opinion on the standard of a test.

fm wrote: »
    Have they released how they come up with this list? Rates of infection, vaccination? Mauritius was taken off it, currently has an infection rate of 18 per 100,000 for 7 days.
    https://graphics.reuters.com/world-coronavirus-tracker-and-maps/countries-and-territories/mauritius/

Afaik Its not rate of infection but also the prevalence of one or more variants of significant concern. That and our Common Travel Area with the UK is what Currenly dictates countries on the list.

https://www.dfa.ie/travel/travel-advice/coronavirus/general-covid-19-travel-advisory/

I think you need to step away from the laptop or read better

You called me a dummy.I think it is you that should step away from the laptop.

Yes, if the person refused to isolate then the judge will have zero option but to remand in custody. Age is not a get out of jail card when you are standing in front of the judge admitting you intend to continue offending. They certainly wont want to lock him up but they will.

Who am I or any Garda to tell anyone anything? Thats the law. Thats how the country operates. If you disagree then the courts are at your service[/quo
    Do you honestly think the courts will lock up a 77 year old man for flying to lanza.Ur same judges that leave a scumbag with 20 previous convictions jog on and do a few hours couminitty service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,047 ✭✭✭✭josip

Ur talking out of ur backside.No judge will lock up a 77 year old man for going to lanza.You know this.

Hard to know kerrylad, depends on who you're dealing with.
    The courts had no problem locking up a 65 year old Offaly woman back in 2011.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-20167284.html

A quote from the judge at the time
    He said she was a citizen setting herself against the Constitution and against the courts. If this was allowed, he said, “we may as well sink into anarchy”.
    He said his “hand had been forced” and he had no choice other than to commit her to prison. He directed that, as soon as the order committing her to prison was issued and executed by the gardaí, Treacy should remain in custody until she had purged her contempt.

Contrary to the judges instructions however, she was released from prison 3 weeks later without purging her contempt.

https://www.thejournal.ie/teresa-treacy-released-from-prison-247051-Oct2011/

Also, in 2015 the planning permission the ESB/Eirgrid had for the work on her land expired without any work being done.
    And funnily enough in 2016 the ESB and Eirgrid dropped their High Court case against her at the same time that this came out.

https://www.rte.ie/news/2016/0711/801755-esb-wayleave-court/

Which meant that the ESB and Eirgrid had been acting unlawfully back in 2011 when serving notice to enter her lands.

Ridiculous stance, travel aside sure all testing is pointless then - you might not have it when you get tested, but you could get it in the testing centre or on the way home.Ergo, we should just stay quarantined 24/7, 365. Solid plan.

How is it a 'stance"? It's simply what a covid PCR test is . Ie it provides a snapshot in time of either a positive or negative status result. And no its not "pointless". But yes it has its limitations.

Though not all testing is the "same" as PCR

But yes indeed you may pickup covid anywhere - not just on the way back from the "testing centre"

A test is not a amulet which gives you magic protection.

Which bit are you having problems with?

josip wrote: »
    Hard to know kerrylad, depends on who you're dealing with.
    The courts had no problem locking up a 65 year old Offaly woman back in 2011.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-20167284.html

A quote from the judge at the time

Contrary to the judges instructions however, she was released from prison 3 weeks later without purging her contempt.

https://www.thejournal.ie/teresa-treacy-released-from-prison-247051-Oct2011/
    I know of a lad here in limerick "scumbag"who would not pay back a €4000+ gas bill.His arguement was he didnt ask for gas when he moved into his new house.Scumbag Let on he didnt realise it was on.He was in jail for 3 hours and realised.

Hearing one of the Dubai 2 has tested positive for Covid.

I KNOW that no person can obtain bail without agreeing to bail conditions.

You CANNOT obtain bail if you admit you intend to reoffend. You seem entirely incapable of understanding this basic concept. Its also not a sentence so no, you cant be released by the governor early before you try that one and your example above plays no part.

So, to finalise. When you are brought to court on a charge, you request bail, the most basic requirement is not to reoffend. If your father or any other person will not at the very least pretend to agree to that, you cannot get bail. these two openly told a judge they would not voluntarily enter a quarantine facility. They obtained bail when they agreed to enter the facility.

But sure what do myself and Bubble know eh?

I KNOW that no person can obtain bail without agreeing to bail conditions.

You CANNOT obtain bail if you admit you intend to reoffend. You seem entirely incapable of understanding this basic concept. Its also not a sentence so no, you cant be released by the governor early before you try that one and your example above plays no part.

So, to finalise. When you are brought to court on a charge, you request bail, the most basic requirement is not to reoffend. If your father or any other person will not at the very least pretend to agree to that, you cannot get bail. these two openly told a judge they would not voluntarily enter a quarantine facility. They obtained bail when they agreed to enter the facility.

But sure what do myself and Bubble know eh?
    Your talking ****.You have ur tinfoil guards hat on.You know aswell as i do this quarantine facility is a joke.Why can my old lad walk on from lanzorte the same day as the "boob job 2 "get thrown into mountjoy.Despite having the same negative pcr tests that my old lad has?

Are you drinking? First off, you at no stage requested my personal opinion on quarantine. You made an outlandish and uninformed comment based on limited knowledge of the both the situation and the system.

Your father walked into his home from Lanzarote and isolated as per the law.

These two refused to enter the quarantine facility and thus, were arrested. They were then given bail conditions that they couldn't meet and were lodged in mountjoy. Following an appeal, the financial part of their bail was reduced and they agreed to enter the facility, as per the bail agreement.

Again and I love how you just tried to drop this part of your argument, if you refuse to abide by the terms of your bail, you get remanded in custody. Your age and even your health won't change that.

Old age does not permit someone to go on a crime spree without consequences as you seem to think.

Fyi, they have apparently tested positive so thankfully were quarantined.

Are you drinking? First off, you at no stage requested my personal opinion on quarantine. You made an outlandish and uninformed comment based on limited knowledge of the both the situation and the system.

Your father walked into his home from Lanzarote and isolated as per the law.

These two refused to enter the quarantine facility and thus, were arrested. They were then given bail conditions that they couldn't meet and were lodged in mountjoy. Following an appeal, the financial part of their bail was reduced and they agreed to enter the facility, as per the bail agreement.

Again and I love how you just tried to drop this part of your argument, if you refuse to abide by the terms of your bail, you get remanded in custody. Your age and even your health won't change that.

Old age does not permit someone to go on a crime spree without consequences as you seem to think.

Fyi, they have apparently tested positive so thankfully were quarantined.
    So my old lad went on a crime spree ,jogging every morning in lanza.Are you for real?I reckon ur the one drinking sprouting such nonsence

I'm not sure what your issue is about your father going on holidays.
    I don't believe anyone in this thread has said anything about him being arrested, nor has anyone suggested he should.
    You clearly have some build up anger there for no reason!

I'm not sure why you feel the need to compare him with these two ladies, I wouldn't be comparing any of my family to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭Level 42

those 2 women sure seem like a pair of tits to me

I'm not sure what your issue is about your father going on holidays.
    I don't believe anyone in this thread has said anything about him being arrested, nor has anyone suggested he should.
    You clearly have some build up anger there for no reason!

I'm not sure why you feel the need to compare him with these two ladies, I wouldn't be comparing any of my family to them
    Did you even read his post."Crime spree" about a old lad jogging in the sun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

Is there a case for MHQ? Perhaps. But it is still a bit random in terms of the lists of countries. The fact that the UK needs to be excluded, the open border and our membership of the EU. Then we have countries like Israel on the list.

Should it have happened sooner? In hindsight the EU should have closed itself off early on with banning of external flights with the exception of freight.

Is it a bit contradictory when contact tracing is still sub standard in Ireland? Yes not to mention it took 13 months to set up appointment-free tests in hotspots.

Travel has become the bogey man while the reality is that normal community transmission remains the biggest cause. Ultimately, the lack of a coherent strategy and poor messaging throughout is more responsible.

As an aside those ladies should be in MHQ as that is the law. They really should not have travelled to Dubai where cases are high and very little restrictions in place.

Going somewhere in the EU where there are restrictions and has lower cases and requires PCR tests leaving and returning mitigates the risks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,262 ✭✭✭Tazz T

Hearing one of the Dubai 2 has tested positive for Covid.

Jaysus, Dubin Live will have a field day, if true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Micky 32

Looks like New Zealand and Australia opening up a travel bubble between the 2 countries. Hopefully this is the begining and other countries will eventually follow suit as the world situation improves and gets vaccinated.

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.bbc.com/news/amp/world-australia-56645990