Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXIV-249,437 ROI(4,906 deaths) 120,195 NI (2,145 deaths)(01/05)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭crossman47

MD1990 wrote: »

super market workers are more at risk. don't hear them going on strike

That's certainly not true. Teachers are in constant close contact with the same group of children for much of a day in a closed environment. I'm not a teacher but, after medical staff, they are the next most vulnerable front line workers. However, I agree with going by age as it is more efficient. If you decided on teachers, you would have all sorts of others (tutors, etc) looking for priority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭JP100

MD1990 wrote: »
    I don't get the screw them comment

where did I say that?

over 60s teachers will get the vaccine soon.

super market workers are more at risk. don't hear them going on strike

underpaid healthcare staff didn't go on strike either

Supermarket workers along with Gardai should be prioritised as well in a key worker category. As for the health care staff point - utterly irrelevant. Both teachers and health care staff were at work without a vaccine but those same health care staff are now vaccinated so your comparison doesn't hold up at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Sammy2012

I'm a teacher and would not vote to be prioritised ahead of my parents. Infact if I was I'd send one of them in my place. However when teachers read about people who have somehow managed to get vaccinated ahead of people who are out working every day is it any wonder they are annoyed? The anger people are feeling should be directed at the government and their incompetence instead of at teachers. I will be attending Congress tomorrow and will vote against any strike motion. I am sure there are plenty of other teachers who feel the same as I do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,265 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Sammy2012 wrote: »
    I'm a teacher and would not vote to be prioritised ahead of my parents. Infact if I was I'd send one of them in my place. However when teachers read about people who have somehow managed to get vaccinated ahead of people who are out working every day is it any wonder they are annoyed? The anger people are feeling should be directed at the government and their incompetence instead of at teachers. I will be attending Congress tomorrow and will vote against any strike motion. I am sure there are plenty of other teachers who feel the same as I do.

Its not just teachers though who are annoyed about people in admin roles getting vaccinated ahead of them
    I personally know of three young men in HSE admin who never clap eyes on a patient being vaccinated before my 78 year old sister .
    I understand teachers and everyone else being right royally peed off about that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

JP100 wrote: »
    Your illogical ranting suggests otherwise. It also doesn't account for the fact that at primary schools run until the end of June and that many teachers/ SNAs/ school staff also work in schools in July as well. Ultimately, if school staff were good enough to be where they were previously in the vaccine allocation well they're good enough to be still there.

What illogical thinking?

If the first teacher doesn't get vaccinated until May 31st for argument sake based on a priority group based system. Which is probably the time line based on supply. Then they probably won't have any protection from the vaccine until near the end of June. So by your logic, because primary schools run to end of June they should revert back to an priority group based approach? So a su set of teachers may have a few days or a week max of vaccine protection?

And you're also waffling on about July? There's **** all comparison between July in a school and the middle of February. Schools are no more risk in July for a teacher than what my profession is and I come into close but limited contact.

The argument from my teacher mates has been to protect family members as the reason they didn't want to be in school during peaks. That's grand and makes sense. But now by the same token they want the vaccine ahead of these older family members who they wanted to protect, who won't have a vaccine before them? Makes zero sense.

Age based approach makes more sense now. Take my mate for example, 27 years old and a teacher in Finglas. Should he get a vaccine before his heavily overweight aul lad that is in his late 60s? From talking with him today he doesn't agree with his union ASTI and said he wouldn't take one before his parents. Seems like a very logical answer from a teacher in a school that has lots of scumbags in his classes who don't give a crap about masks or social distancing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 418 ✭✭BlondeBomb

Do we get swab numbers on a bank holiday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,654 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

What's your point? Those are a few random articles going back months. I don't hear Boris constantly going on about these variants or calling them a "new virus" etc.

One of those articles even plays down the UK variant as being 30% more transmissible.

The clowns here are still claiming there is a new virus 70% more transmissible.

My point is you are being selective with your outrage of the government mentioning variants.

Here is Boris:

"Boris Johnson says some evidence new Covid variant in the UK may be more deadly"

https://www.cnbc.com/2021/01/22/boris-johnson-evidence-new-covid-variant-associated-with-higher-mortality-.html

And the German leader:

"Germany is “in a new pandemic” in which the British Covid variant is dominant, Angela Merkel has said,"

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2021/mar/23/merkel-germany-covid-british-variant-easter-lockdown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,538 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

appledrop wrote: »
    What's even more shocking is that SNAs and teachers in special schools especially are not receiving priority.

The positivity rates here are much higher but sure you won't here that on rte news.

Remember the push to open special schools and promises made to keep SNA's safe.

All a lot of lies, once they got them open government backtracked on it all.

as an SNA we where promised priority for vaccines in order to get us back to work, which we then did. we work in absolute close contact with many students (me personally, i have 6 hour long classes a day with groups of 30 different students each hour). They have now changed their minds as they got us back in the door, a lot of us will be lucky to be vaccinated for the start of school next september, its an absolute ****ing joke.

Also the fact that gardai are in the same predicament as school staff is an absolute joke also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭covidrelease

My point is you are being selective with your outrage of the government mentioning variants.

Here is Boris:

"Boris Johnson says some evidence new Covid variant in the UK may be more deadly"

https://www.cnbc.com/2021/01/22/boris-johnson-evidence-new-covid-variant-associated-with-higher-mortality-.html

And the German leader:

"Germany is “in a new pandemic” in which the British Covid variant is dominant, Angela Merkel has said,"

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2021/mar/23/merkel-germany-covid-british-variant-easter-lockdown

The Boris article is months old.

The Merkel article says they are having 5 quiet days over Easter and bars reopen April 18th.

Here is ireland we can't have any indication of when bars might open due to "new variants"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,467 ✭✭✭User1998

Faugheen wrote: »
    Teacher’s are absolutely frontline. Nobody can deny that.

Essential, yes. Frontline, not a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,925 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Here is ireland we can't have any indication of when bars might open due to "new variants"
    Because we view people's lives as more important than alcohol.

eagle eye wrote: »
    Because we view people's lives as more important than alcohol.

Rubbish. If that was the case we would restrict sales from off licences.

Bars are representative of people back in work, meeting friends, return to normality etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,303 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Rubbish. If that was the case we would restrict sales from off licences.

Bars are representative of people back in work, meeting friends, return to normality etc.

Much as I enjoyed a pint with friends and long for normality, I rank their health, getting to meet them, they being back at work etc. before the Pint in a pub comes into the equation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭MerlinSouthDub

0 deaths
    320 cases
    (per Zara King Twitter)

No swabs today though, it seems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭SPDUB

JP100 wrote: »
    Supermarket workers along with Gardai should be prioritised as well in a key worker category.
    So where does An Post ,DHL ,DPD UPS delivery staff as well as Postmaster come in as a priority .

I'm hearing of increased cases there now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,105 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Stats will be a bit confused for the next few days. Could have a few high numbers later in the week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,289 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

Good numbers. Not sure have they been that low for a while!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭MerlinSouthDub

Eod100 wrote: »

Good numbers, if there's no backlog! Probably reduced levels of testing too, so let's see how the week pans out :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,105 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

58 in ICU.
    Varadkar previously stated that 50 was the number to allow easing of restrictions

0 deaths
    320 cases
    (per Zara King Twitter)

No swabs today though, it seems

Precarious I think NPHET are describing the situation as.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,629 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Fantastic numbers

Nphet warned Government that Covid-19 cases could rise to 2,000 a day within four weeks
    Public health team tells Government Ireland’s epidemiological situation remains ‘precarious’

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭irishguy1983

Eod100 wrote: »

Yes....Anyone confirm last time we were as low as 320?? I know it is Easter Monday and all the jazz but I’ll take it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,072 ✭✭✭Storm 10

Any county info

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Steven81

Storm 10 wrote: »
    Any county info

Couldn’t find any county info for last 2 days either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,195 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

Gael23 wrote: »
    58 in ICU.
    Varadkar previously stated that 50 was the number to allow easing of restrictions

When did he say that?.

They have not been giving out trigger metrics since they were caught out badly with the relaxations brought in at Christmas. The mantra now is that there are no absolute numbers that will automatically result in any specific changes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,303 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Precarious I think NPHET are describing the situation as.

Would you have a link to that statement today? Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭jhegarty

Don't know how good/bad it is without swabs.

If it's close to normal swabs then great. If swabs are down 50% on normal then the opposite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,076 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

Storm 10 wrote: »
    Any county info

The Covid tracker app hasn't updated. When it updates we should get yesterday's county breakdown figures.

Edit: just updated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,793 ✭✭✭Benimar

Yes....Anyone confirm last time we were as low as 320?? I know it is Easter Monday and all the jazz but I’ll take it :)

311 on March 9th