Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part X *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,464 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

OK, I'll say this yet again, and anyone ignoring it will, at a minimum, be threadbanned

If you cannot be civil to one another, do not post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

SnuggyBear wrote: »
    Soneone needs to have a word with George Lee

To be a bit fair to Mr Lee and his Public Service Broadcasting colleagues out in Montrose,they are all,no doubt,attending internal RTE management meetings where the "Message of the Day" will be outlined and which ALL of RTE staff will be expected to follow the recommendations to BIG-UP the Covid angle in every piece they do.

Very few RTE staff journalists will go against these edicts.

This thing has long ago developed legs......it's now a race to get more done before the great unwashed slowly begin to wake from their PUP slumber,and start asking céistana ?

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,647 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

A few thousand years of human history would indicate those things are very much human nature.

We've been boozing and riding for longer than we've been doing near enough anything else.

It’s why we survived as a species

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

Alan Kelly nearly having a prolapse roaring his head off in the Dail today!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,685 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

George Lee telling us on the Nine News we're doing great on the vaccine front and to shut-up complaining. Nauseating stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

gozunda wrote: »
    Since when has been buying beer and cider being prohibited?

Or is this more of the constant whine in this thread since the beginning "I'm done with the restrictions" or wtte? regardless of the rate of infection or even that atm we're in the process of the biggest vaccine rollout in the states history?

The reason people are done with restrictions is simply human behaviour. I remember this quote from years ago and it is very applicable now

all forms of deviancy are simply a challenge to the normalised repressiveness of the State.

How appropiate

bb1234567 wrote: »
    2 insanely ridiculous things happening in schools right now..

My sister is doing her Leaving cert oral in irish and the way it ordinarly works for the sraith pictuir section of the exam is they head over to a table where all 12 page are laid face down, and they choose one randomly, then hold it for the duration of exam and discuss it with the examiner. These pages are recycled and shared with all students coming in throughout the day.

But now with COVID after they've picked up the page and showed the examiner what they have chosen, they must then lay it back down again in the original pile, as they are not allowed to hold it for the duration of the oral in case of COVID contamination of the papers. They must have all 12 pages printed and brought with them to so they have a personal copy of whatever they had chosen . Now maybe it's fair enough in theory but what makes no sense is the fact it's already potentially 'contaminated' when they pick up the page at the beginning anyway, lol.
    Secondly..they are doing their oral with masks on..and a big plastic screen between exmainer and teacher. So both parties have to speak into a microphone so that they can actually hear one another. Now this is already ridiculous enough but the examiners aren't external because of COVID..all these precuations are with the teachers they see up close in class every day , where there are not barriers such as the big plastic screen

What is even scarier,is that young people such as your sister,may well get to enter a University and become one of the many Mathematicians who apparently inhabit such places......well according to Mr George Lee anyway ?

Late 21 Century Ireland will truly be an interesting place !!! :eek:

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,570 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Lads have nphet considered shutting the hospitals, which are a hotbed for the spread of the virus and packed with the old and vulnerable?

Idbatterim wrote: »
    Lads have nphet considered shutting the hospitals, which are a hotbed for the spread of the virus and packed with the old and vulnerable?

They tried that one at the start when they let it rip through the nursing homes, didn't close them just ignored them

It’s why we survived as a species

Along with taking a few risks here'n there...sometimes even BIG risks ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Pussyhands wrote: »
    Alan Kelly nearly having a prolapse roaring his head off in the Dail today!

Missed it. What was he roaring about?

AlekSmart wrote: »
    Along with taking a few risks here'n there...sometimes even BIG risks ?

After the nphet years crossing the road will be seen a risk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Idbatterim wrote: »

You mean there's people who are infected with covid in the hospitals? :eek:

That would mean they'd have to turf out the approx 50% under 65s in hospital with covid as well! :eek: :eek: :eek:

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,464 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

After the nphet years crossing the road will be seen a risk
    It is a risk. One we are pretty much all prepared to accept. However I think there should be a queuing with the oldest allowed to set off first. They test the water and if they don't make it the younger ones can avoid the risk altogether.

Agree with you entirely. Absolutely ridiculous the nonsense over this, these guys need to be keeping fit and training together consistently, and the same goes for every county. These guys are athletes, not your normal chap who drinks a few beers every weekend with his mates. We have lost our minds in Ireland.

The skill levels, stamina and team ethic of our inter county teams is something that requires constant dedication and these noddy’s in charge think we can postpone normal play for months for no valid reason, no other country has done this to semi pro sports teams, which is what the inter county competition is.

Now, I must admit, as a culchie, when I seen this earlier I was hoping they would they be banned from the championship this year. Luckily my principles shone through in the end

Even for a Culchie,I'm sure you saw the truth of this last week....:rolleyes:

https://www.fai.ie/ireland/match/17/2022/2030796

Beasty wrote: »
    It is a risk. One we are pretty much all prepared to accept. However I think there should be a queuing with the oldest allowed to set off first. They test the water and if they don't make it the younger ones can avoid the risk altogether.

Only the old people fit enough to cross the road weren’t most at risk from Covid.

It would be those requiring assistance to cross the road that would be at risk

Unfortunate, but from the stats true

Beasty wrote: »

Kind of like the nursing homes last year.!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭DerekC16

https://twitter.com/CatrionaReid5/status/1377685856463556608?s=19

lol.

Corona Karen here didnt get the reaction she expected.

Its over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,234 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

George Lee telling us on the Nine News we're doing great on the vaccine front and to shut-up complaining. Nauseating stuff.

Risteárd Cooper's brief impersonation of him in this short clip is spot on.

https://twitter.com/RisteardsRep/status/1367920073428643840

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,688 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

DerekC16 wrote: »

lol.

Its over.

None of this would be happening if people were allowed their usual social outlets. Why do people insist on pretending that humans are robots and that lockdowns can ever work long term? People are moving on, time to get over that. If she wants to stay inside devoid of all human contact then she can.

lol.

Its over.

Fair play to them, people out in the sun having a bit of crack and enjoying life. No one is listening to this anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭DerekC16

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    None of this would be happening if people were allowed their usual social outlets. Why do people insist on pretending that humans are robots and that lockdowns can ever work long term?

Because there are a lot of morons in this country that love to be ruled over. And others that are too spineless to do what they want so they try to spoil it on others.

Risteárd Cooper's brief impersonation of him in this short clip is spot on.

https://twitter.com/RisteardsRep/status/1367920073428643840

His Paul Reid impression is strikingly like Stephen Kenny

People mostly sitting in their own groups, outdoors, enjoying themselves and this clown wants them shamed.

What the feck is going on? What kind of gimp films this and puts it on twitter?

This is touching on a very interesting subject.

Does Covid have the same effect without social media?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,457 ✭✭✭✭Oscar Bravo

lol.

Its over.

lol she got hammered with coments ,profile now locked LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,234 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

His Paul Reid impression is strikingly like Stephen Kenny

Have you seen the Stephen Kenny one?

https://twitter.com/RisteardsRep/status/1375158017625309184

Oh Holy Mother of God,Catriona needs to get out of there FAST.....head for Brussels,or someplace like that....

https://twitter.com/Reuters/status/1377660779932086272

Sadly it seems that many young people like Catriona are now reduced to carrying around large pieces of lace,in order to be able to peeep out from behind them,before calling the Gards :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

It's not just lockdowns.

If it wasn't for old people escalators could go much faster. Like you could be ejected two feet into the air at the top of one.

But oh no, we have to live in this 3kmph dystopia because of the "vulnerable"

It's not just lockdowns.

If it wasn't for old people escalators could go much faster. Like you could be ejected two feet into the air at the top of one.

But oh no, we have to live in this 3kmph dystopia because of the "vulnerable"

Who needs a functional economy

When the health service can’t be funded we can all point to our social media posts where we donned the green jersey

Because there are a lot of morons in this country that love to be ruled over. And others that are too spineless to do what they want so they try to spoil it on others.
    Threadbanned