And the winner of dreamer of the year is... Part 2!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭Mjolnir

TrailerBob wrote: »
    https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/mk5-escort/27633504

Woudja Gowaway Outtathat.... 40 grand... Clean Sierra Sapphire Cosworths don't go for that... plus literacy is not the seller's strong point. Maybe numeracy isn't either.

Nor photography by the looks of it, I nearly had an aneurysm trying to read that.
    Why is it people seem to equate its old and this variant goes for €Xk, so it must be worth the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

Woudja Gowaway Outtathat.... 40 grand... Clean Sierra Sapphire Cosworths don't go for that... plus literacy is not the seller's strong point. Maybe numeracy isn't either.

40k. Not a hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭CoBo55

He's away with the fairies...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭fabsoul

CoBo55 wrote: »
    He's away with the fairies...

I wouldn't give €40 for hir

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,350 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

It's got a K&N sticker. That alone is worth 40 horsepowers and around 3k extra on the price. Don't miss your chanche to own hir, The Four whellls look in good nick too.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,450 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

That has to be a typo!

It just has to be....

Right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,328 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Those rear badges are strange.

Also 150bhp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

They look like Halfords generic rear badges

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,867 ✭✭✭dmc17

fabsoul wrote: »
    I wouldn't give €40 for hir

But i owner from new you

Has it advertised as a 92, but has the later headlights/bumper?
    Some sources say the 4x4 wasn’t around in 92?
    Is the colour even original?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭newmember2

Absolutely shockin ad on every level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,985 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

"4x4" doesn't make it any more appealing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,450 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Has it advertised as a 92, but has the later headlights/bumper?
    Some sources say the 4x4 wasn’t around in 92?
    Is the colour even original?

That grill/bumper was only launched in 1995 iirc. It's either had an updated front fitted (either as a repair or upgrade) or it's a ringer.

According to encarpedia, it was available 1993-95 so something definitely amis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭FrankC21

I pay €40 grand for the Mercedes Corolla ad last week. Unfortunately, it has been sold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

http://www.adverts.ie/23321567

Looks well but Holy Moses, will it ever be worth that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭hurikane

The comments :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,985 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

You'd want to be absolute mental to spend 8k on a diesel corolla

Sure there was that blue petrol one that was up recently for €1500 or something.

Probably traded into a main dealer for a few hundred. Could be a strategy to ask €8k and lads will offer €4k.

Blue petrol one was in rag order too. This one does look a lot better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/selection-of-vintage-cars/27653523

OGZlYzE2MmI4NzI4ZTJjYjM1MzAwZjYwMDlkMGJiMWEoJacR-L17YlnhADgrZCc8aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNzU1MTIwODN8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Is this a first? Seven cars in one ad, and all of them overpriced
    1990 ford sierra 2000E 11,000 euro
    2001 nissan micra 950 euro
    2004 rover 75 diesel auto 3000 euro
    ford granada cosworth 10,000 euro
    1998 bmw 525 TDS auto 2,500 euro
    1974 ford granada 3.0 coupe 20,000 euro
    1982 ford fiesta 1.3 ghia 6,000 euro

I can only imagine that the cars with no prices will be equally as overpriced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

200k miles on it and tow bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭Eoinbmw

200k miles on it and tow bar.
    Tow bar is mint lad!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Considering this.

https://www.facebook.com/marketplace/item/281422086844785/?ref=facebook_story_share

Screenshot-20210328-155543.jpg
    forum image hosting

That corolla price is wild.

Blue petrol one was in rag order too. This one does look a lot better.

Fella on a Facebook group I’m on bought it. Looked way better once it got a wash.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Fella on a Facebook group I’m on bought it. Looked way better once it got a wash.

I seen that. If it's the same one i looked at the sill's had been plated very badly and the spare wheel well didn't exist, it was patches over patches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭E36Ross

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/selection-of-vintage-cars/27653523

OGZlYzE2MmI4NzI4ZTJjYjM1MzAwZjYwMDlkMGJiMWEoJacR-L17YlnhADgrZCc8aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNzU1MTIwODN8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Is this a first? Seven cars in one ad, and all of them overpriced

I can only imagine that the cars with no prices will be equally as overpriced

Biggest joke about the lot is the Granada Cosworth is a ringer.

Pre 1987 plate on a 1992+ car.

Yeah, that’s a 1985 reg.

1-A64-D4-AD-3-FC0-4348-8136-AD939-AE93-CBE.jpg

It’s even registered as a Granada 2.0 but with a 2.9 engine.

Interestingly there’s another picture of it here

AECDBFB4-A0-AC-49-A3-9400-30-BBC723891-F.jpg
    https://www.adverts.ie/cars-for-breaking/ford-granada-mk3/12411259

08-DF3801-9-AC6-4-F9-A-AFA3-6-E54-AEE6-AE56.jpg

Same car? Might have had an extensive facelift..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭CoBo55

Seriously though, are there any decent honest vintage/classic cars for sale in this country? As far as I can see there's nothing but cloned ex UK filler bodged junk around.

Our classic car scene is heavily reliant on uk imports. People place more value on an Irish reg number. That’s before you get to the craic of cloning newer cars to get into the vintage tax bracket. There has to be a certain amount of stolen cars on Irish plates too.
    When you see brown tax books for sale you know why lads are buying them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭E36Ross

It could be a very heavy facelift..... And also converted from a hatchback to a saloon. ;)

Mk3 Granada Saloon didn't exist until 1990.