Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

And the winner of dreamer of the year is... Part 2!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

This is a mad price considering no NCT and work needed to be done to get it back road worthy. Tbh it's not over the top dreamer since it's a VTi but dear enough.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/honda-civic-coupe-vtec/27782595

NTY2MTA5YzBlYjJiNjUzZjU5NzZkNjU3ODgzMjY0YTaTlEF1GcE3crC-d8HmoS8yaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNzY3ODMxNjF8fHwxMjAweDEyMDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Speedline

This is a mad price considering no NCT and work needed to be done to get it back road worthy. Tbh it's not over the top dreamer since it's a VTi but dear enough.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/honda-civic-coupe-vtec/27782595

NTY2MTA5YzBlYjJiNjUzZjU5NzZkNjU3ODgzMjY0YTaTlEF1GcE3crC-d8HmoS8yaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNzY3ODMxNjF8fHwxMjAweDEyMDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg
    That isn't a vti. It's a 1600 dohc vtec alright, but the 109 bhp version.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭Eoinbmw

Speedline wrote: »
    Im fairly sure thats 160 ish bhp twin cam vtec motor sitting in the engine bay!
    Its about the only decent bit left in the car if its not a smoker!!!
    But at this stage im sure its an oil burner judging from the rest of the car!

Eoinbmw wrote: »
    It doesn't claim to have a vti engine in the ad, and it's registered as 1.6i sport, UK import. That engine had 109bhp.

Its deffo a b16a in the pic must have been transplanted so you are correct its not a genuine vti!

I'm no expert but I'm pretty sure the 1.6 109bhp engine didn't look like a b16 like that engine is.

I worked on loads of civics around that time. There was the type r/vti dohc alright, but there was a 'normal' 1.6 dohc too.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,699 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

You're right, it's not a VTI, but it is a B16A so between 160-170hp
    I worked on loads of civics around that time. There was the type r/vti dohc alright, but there was a 'normal' 1.6 dohc too.

There wasn't a 'normal' 1.6 DOHC B series engine. You're thinking of the 110hp D16Z engine which is a single cam, which this car originally came with

• Registered Users Posts: 8,581 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

I still miss the ek4 I had, it was constantly blowing out blue smoke and burnt about a litre of oil a week but it would take some abuse, was very quick little sir

PsychoPete wrote: »
    I still miss the ek4 I had, it was constantly blowing out blue smoke and burnt about a litre of oil a week but it would take some abuse, was very quick little sir
    Me too had a few over the years they were screamers and great fun they all burnt oil lol!

• Registered Users Posts: 17,426 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Eh? No... That's a b16a.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

Carina II prices have entered the stratosphere

A nice example with TSW stealths, €5950;

https://www.donedeal.ie/view/27790715

A less than immaculate example on NI plates, untested and wanting €3000;

https://www.donedeal.ie/view/27788800

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,074 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Me too had a few over the years they were screamers and great fun they all burnt oil lol!
    They did that alright, though I must have the only B series engine in creation that doesn't burn oil. That's a miracle up there with walking on water. :D
    I Was VB wrote: »
    Carina II prices have entered the stratosphere

A nice example with TSW stealths, €5950;

https://www.donedeal.ie/view/27790715

A less than immaculate example on NI plates, untested and wanting €3000;

https://www.donedeal.ie/view/27788800
    Are they actually getting buyers at that though?

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wibbs wrote: »
    They did that alright, though I must have the only B series engine in creation that doesn't burn oil. That's a miracle up there with walking on water. :D

It's not a proper b series if it doesn't burn oil

• Registered Users Posts: 9,699 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

That's because you've never hit VTEC in yours :D

PsychoPete wrote: »
    It's not a proper b series if it doesn't burn oil

Can confirm. Two engine rebuilds in 3 years on my siR delsol. If someone is telling you they're not burning oil they're not hitting the magic 5500 rpm.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,074 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Two engine rebuilds in 3 years on my siR delsol.

I'd go into VTEC a couple of times a week I'd reckon, joining motorways, the odd overtake kinda thing. Not for long, maybe a few seconds I suppose, but it really doesn't burn oil, even on those occasions of more spirited driving. Allegedly... Now I never go much over 2000Rpm until it comes fully up to temp and I change the oil once a year (Millers nanodrive 5-40 motorsport, would defo recommend) and fill it to the Max level on the dipstick and by the next oil change it'll be a few mm above the Min mark. I check it once a week but over the 16 years(and 120,000kms) I've had it I think I've added a little maybe twice and lord knows I knew guys who drove around with a litre bottle in the boot in case. Just lucky I suppose. *touch wood*

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

You seem to have done all the right things Wibbs. Rust is what will probably get it in the end. It's also a car that is steadily rising in price. See the ek9 going for 15 grand and it doesn't even have a NCT.

I nearly needed an Arab following me around I was going through that much oil. If I had it back I'd probably look after it but saying my Glanza is on its third engine in 9 years

I'd go into VTEC a couple of times a week I'd reckon, joining motorways, the odd overtake kinda thing. Not for long, maybe a few seconds I suppose, but it really doesn't burn oil, even on those occasions of more spirited driving. Allegedly... Now I never go much over 2000Rpm until it comes fully up to temp and I change the oil once a year (Millers nanodrive 5-40 motorsport, would defo recommend) and fill it to the Max level on the dipstick and by the next oil change it'll be a few mm above the Min mark. I check it once a week but over the 16 years(and 120,000kms) I've had it I think I've added a little maybe twice and lord knows I knew guys who drove around with a litre bottle in the boot in case. Just lucky I suppose. *touch wood*

Yeah you're a smart person though! When I had mine I was a boy and let's say I wasn't amazing at preventative maintenance or shy with the right foot. The car lived it's whole life in vtec.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

My Prelude doesn't burn any oil and I ring it's neck all the time. I always make sure it's well up to temperature before I give it any revs at all though.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭passatman86

Need pics of the vtec lads

Rust is what will probably get it in the end.
    The week I got it I filled all the cavities and usual areas with waxoyl and check and reapply that Bilt hamber wax stuff every summer. For some reason I was always para about the tinworm with every car I had. So at this stage it's more wax than steel. It's basically a candle on four wheels. :D

One problem with a lot of these dreamer ads is how many owners some cars have. When you see a dozen or more owners you just know the car was thrashed, neglected by at least one of them, probably more like three or four of them when values hit rock bottom.

I always make sure it's well up to temperature before I give it any revs at all though.
    IMHO That's a huge part of it with any car engine, especially a high revving one and any more vintage engine at all.
    See the ek9 going for 15 grand and it doesn't even have a NCT.
    Just had a look there at that and IMHO qualifies for the thread. https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mint-genuie-type-r-ek9/27796267?campaign=3

"Car is pretty much standard after that " except for the whale penis air intake, and non standard oil cap, exhaust system and repainted rocker cover. Getting those back to original parts is going to be a few quid, if you can find the parts. Then we have the 260,000 kms on the clock, that's 160,000 miles in old money for the more elderly readers such as myself. Interior shots are all passenger side, the driver's seat is likely fairly ropey. Then we get to the twelve previous owners, who I'm sure were all gentle retired lady drivers who liked to take trips to the beach for a walk. 15,000 quid?

9-10 maybe, but unlikely to get even that in the Irish market, because it's too small a market for that sort of thing, or most specialised cars for that matter. If I were him I'd be advertising it in the UK. Even with Brexit he's likely to get much more interest. France, Italy and Germany could be options too.

That's a big problem with a lot of "values" and what guys think their car is worth. They google and see say a Civic Type R EK9 is worth "X" and assume theirs is too and in the Irish market. The car worth X is likely to be a one owner example with 20,000 kms on the clock, full service history and standard as feck and in a market like say the US, where prices can be very different. If I could get full title for my DC2 in the US it would probably get well north of 25k on Bring a Trailer, but if I got 8k for it in the Irish market I'd be bloody lucky.

I reckon a shedload of the "dreamers" examples in this thread suffer from the above "google values".

• Registered Users Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭passatman86

Yeah. Now if the bodykit was all painted and sorted and it was the year 2003 they'd have a queue down the road, but it isn't and it isn't. Still as a project and for 3k? I could see someone having an early midlife crisis pining for the height of the celtic tiger JDM boom going for it.

I posted that in the skangerthread a couple of days ago and said there that it would also qualify for this thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Top Dog

I'm sure that was posted in the skangermobile thread a week or so ago.

That add should come with a warning my eyes!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭eljono

the whale penis air intake

Wibbs, you have a way with words! :D