Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Covid 19 Part XXXIII-231,484 ROI(4,610 deaths)116,197 NI (2,107 deaths)(23/03)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭covidrelease

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Open construction.
    Open all retail.
    Open hospitality for outdoor and strict indoor dining.
    Let people travel wherever they like.

Let them do all that with strict on premises enforcement of hand washing and masks. Because at this stage Lockdown is being ignored. I'd much rather have people in public in controlled environments where they can be seen, rather than at home anymore where obviously people have stopped giving two ****s.

This 100%.

There should have been some relaxation at the last review but the government failed to put anything in front of people.

I am aware of a large number of indoor gatherings this past week or so 20-30 people inside so as not to attract attention, it would be safer outside.

Lots of barbers, beauticians etc. operating behind closed doors, windows shut etc., much safer to have all windows and doors open with improved ventilation.

The guards going around beaches and parks giving out tickets is just pissing people off and inciting rebellion.

The people have given up on the current strategy so its better have things out in the open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

Tyrone212 wrote: »
    67 in Donegal. Wtf is going on

I'm in Donegal and can confirm no one is sticking to restrictions anymore, myself included.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭gifted

This is Martin we are talking about.....good chance he'll open the pubs and do everything that goes against all logic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,085 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

No chance. Children deserve and need a proper education, home schooling is a disaster.

I need and deserve a round of golf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭Downlinz

Schools likely behind this, hard to see any relaxation in restrictions now until June at the earliest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

Locotastic wrote: »
    I've though it was large gatherings and funerals leading to outbreaks rather than schools?

Their are severe limitations with contact tracing with NPHET. 67% of cases are community transmission. Which basically means unknown. If a child picks up the virus in school, their are more likely to be asymptomatic than adults. I can only imagine how many sources of transmission are not picked up in schools tbh.

We now have two instances where the R0 has gone above 1 again. Both coincide with school reopening in September 2020 and March 2021.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭Jimi H

Any meat plant outbreaks lately?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Natterjack from Kerry

darced wrote: »
    I'm in Donegal and can confirm no one is sticking to restrictions anymore, myself included.

You cant confirm it though. Your view that no one is may be skewed by those around you following your bad example. But not necessarily representative of the population on Donegal as a whole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,202 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

gifted wrote: »
    This is Martin we are talking about.....good chance he'll open the pubs and do everything that goes against all logic.
    We had exactly the same pressure last year before Christmas and the government caved in. Lots of noisy people asking for measures to be relaxed. That was a disaster clearly, it has cost us about 3 months of unnecessary restrictions.

This is the third time now they've faced the same pressure, you'd hope they've learned what not to do.

It's plain as day looking at the numbers that there is no room to relax restrictions, much as we would all like to do so. Numbers are at best steady (at a high rate), or they may even be increasing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 781 ✭✭✭rodders999

Instead of the we all need to this and we all need to do that rhetoric, the counties that have consistently high numbers day after day after day - Kildare, Meath, Donegal and even taking population into account Dublin need to be called out.

Pretty much the entire rest of the country is suppressing the virus with very low numbers daily yet it’s the same old counties driving the numbers daily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭Normal One

Two deaths and a small increase in hospital numbers (and we know they tend to go up over weekends) and people lose their ****.

Be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,169 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Lots of people are just ignoring the restrictions now :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,801 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

I actually think it’s time to stop publishing the case numbers daily.

Once a week give an average.

If it gets above a critical level issue an emergency warning.

People are getting excited over small increases and calling for extended restrictions.

We’ve suffered enough and will suffer the effects of restrictions for years after the last restriction is lifted

The HCWs are vaccinated, about half a million of the most vulnerable are vaccinated case numbers don’t have the same meaning as before

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭Boggerman12

That's pretty much level 5 till July.

No vaccines and no hope.

Bit optimistic there.don’t you know it’s lockdown 4eva.plenty of money for no one ever to work again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,945 ✭✭✭✭blade1

It's a bit of a catch 22 situation.
    I can understand people want to get out and do stuff.
    However in doing so government won't open up anything.
    Disaster really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭gifted

hmmm wrote: »
    We had exactly the same pressure last year before Christmas and the government caved in. Lots of noisy people asking for measures to be relaxed. That was a disaster clearly, it has cost us about 3 months of unnecessary restrictions.

This is the third time now they've faced the same pressure, you'd hope they've learned what not to do.

It's plain as day looking at the numbers that there is no room to relax restrictions, much as we would all like to do so. Numbers are at best steady (at a high rate), or they may even be increasing.

Hopefully 4th time lucky for them to get it right but I doubt it. Construction are putting them under fierce pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,539 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

Locotastic wrote: »
    I've though it was large gatherings and funerals leading to outbreaks rather than schools?

yeah thats exactly what was said in September too, and the pubs opening for like a week, but certainly not the magical irish safe schools :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭thegreengoblin

blade1 wrote: »
    It's not looking good though is it?

Based on one day? People need to get a grip and stop reacting to every single bloody case. It's insane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Housefree

Downlinz wrote: »
    Schools likely behind this, hard to see any relaxation in restrictions now until June at the earliest.

I reckon mother's day, saw cars everywhere from people visiting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭CB19Kevo

With airports still open and lockdown fatigue setting in i am still compliant but i have limits...
    We really are in for a mental health disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,202 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Lots of people are just ignoring the restrictions now :/
    I'm seeing more people outside in the fine weather which is fine by me (to a point as long as they are not in big groups). If there are people meeting indoors in large numbers (and I'm not seeing it) it'd be far more concerning.

There's too much focus on people outside who are visible but relatively low risk, the big risks happen indoors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

niallo27 wrote: »
    We are back. Does any really give a **** about the numbers anymore. We are going be stuck in lockdown anyway so makes no difference.

The never ending “not there yet, could be May could be June could be July.. who knows” mantra from those who should be showing leadership has made a lot of people throw in the towel. If there’s no clear end in sight, no purpose for the never ending suspension of living and no clear leadership from government, then people will take the power back into their own hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,240 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

darced wrote: »

And there you have it, that's why.

A country full of selfish ****ing morons. The only thing that will allow the country to open is the vaccines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Natterjack from Kerry

You're not wrong but you're ignoring the fact that the longer this goes on, the more people will get fed up with restrictions. The more they get fed up, the more they'll ignore them. Allowing more outdoor mixing would stop a lot of people from meeting up indoors out of fear of getting caught. It would also give people currently obeying restrictions an outlet, making them less likely to get fed up.

Party agree. People dont get covid from being fed up. More people ignoring the restrictions does not mean that it outweighs having them. Restrictions are nevertheless beneficial, whatever proportion is following them. And it is still a great majority.
    Most of those breaking restrictions are on the lower levels of intelligence and understanding of the issue. So it also eludes them that breaking restrictions simply extends the length of given lock down measures, harm to the economy, number of people ill and dying. Breaking restrictions does not change the virus, or NPHET's analysis. The virus will propagate with looser restriction, and NPHET will respond. WIth stronger or longer restrictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,260 ✭✭✭Elessar

I'd say this latest increase is more the Paddy's day get togethers getting tested.

What people (and hopefully government) need to understand is that many of the most vulnerable are vaccinated, at least those who accounted for the most deaths. So increases going forward should not have the same increase in hospitalisations and deaths.

They won't though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

Normal One wrote: »
    Two deaths and a small increase in hospital numbers (and we know they tend to go up over weekends) and people lose their ****.

Be grand.

Its th pattern we are seeing that's worrying. Not so much the current situation. Most of us here cant do anything so with it increasing I can understand why posters are angry tbh. Didn't have to be this way either. If outdoor events were permitted with schools closed the Ro would be below 1 I'm sure. Follow the science but their just hell bent on re-opening schools inspite of the evidence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭covidrelease

You cant confirm it though. Your view that no one is may be skewed by those around you following your bad example. But not necessarily representative of the population on Donegal as a whole.

In my area non compliance is pretty much everybody I know. Largely indoors so as not to be caught.

Idiot cops going around making cafes and shops put away the couple of picnic benches they have outside as they think it makes more sense to have people get together inside somewhere else as its unseen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,945 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Based on one day? People need to get a grip and stop reacting to every single bloody case. It's insane.

No, based on the last year.
    I think you need to get a grip and accept the situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,559 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

I see they're now on about a "9% increase in case numbers week-on-week"

How come they weren't using this metric for the last few weeks when it was reducing?

And they wonder why people appear to have stopped listening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Housefree wrote: »
    I reckon mother's day, saw cars everywhere from people visiting

Close contacts of established cases are at 24% positivity and one in three household contacts are positive.