Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Covid 19 Part XXXIII-231,484 ROI(4,610 deaths)116,197 NI (2,107 deaths)(23/03)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,138 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Rosita wrote: »
    Yeah, some people seem to think that the 5k thing means they have to stay in their bedroom.

Lets say its Friday evening, name one thing I can do socially over the weekend. Do you consider going to the shop as some sort of treat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 92,272 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

https://twitter.com/irishexaminer/status/1373537495481131011

A year on still no control quarantine in place

Meehole is Meeslow too slow

No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change this World

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Mwengwe

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    What has the 5kms got to do with essential and front line staff commuting to Dublin to work ? No idea what your point is .

The restrictions, hypothetical or otherwise, don't apply to frontline/essential staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 sgsdfsdfsd

Cummings on his twitter giving out saying vaccines this time about being given to children "What in the name of God or science are we doing? What evil has entranced us?" and other stuff "What in the name of Christ is wrong with you people, who abuse science to condone this monstrosity?"

I reported his tweets, he is dangerous as he fools the more stupid into thinking the most basic of requirements like masks and vaccines are not worth doing. Dn't know how twitter have not blocked him yet. If you get the chance please also report.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,615 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

JP Liz V1 wrote: »

No trace to source either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

gozunda wrote: »
    OK lets say it's a " travel restriction" - a 'travel restriction' which allows people to exercise within a 5 km radius but does not stop anyone for travelling for a plethora of essential purposes

And you dont like the poll because it asks people about things they shouldn't be doing like - I dunno attending a 'shebeen' as per your example

My bad ...

Yes, a travel restriction impinging on the rights of Irish people to move freely in their own country. You might believe that this infringement is justifiable or proportionate or whatever — that’s a different argument — but this little game you are playing of trying to water the severity of it down is not one I am going to acquiesce to. The last time I witnessed hindrances to the ability to move freely on this island were British army checkpoints in my area — and even then there was never a need for people to be nervous about having to tell a squaddie you were going 8km for a haircut, or for just an aimless spin to Newcastle, or up to Belfast for the ride.

The travel restrictions are a fundamental undermining of constitutional rights. There is no lawyer in this country who would disagree with that statement in a general sense — because the debate would rest not on this undeniable fact, but the question as to whether this undermining is justifiable and proportionate to the risk. If you think they are justifiable in the face of a public health crisis, then we can argue that separately, but I do question why you seem so determined to water it all down into a “ah sure it’s grand because you can go where you want ......... so long as you have a valid excuse”.

is_that_so wrote: »
    Crucially hairdressers are now open in Germany!

I might try the dog groomers for a cut, they are open deemed essential

https://www.independent.ie/world-news/coronavirus/quarantine-delay-allows-1213-fly-in-from-risk-nations-40220929.html

34,000 in 3 weeks....Might be a contributing factor to cases not quite dipping...

:eek::mad: is the transport minister still asleep

Gael23 wrote: »
    Went to visit my vaccinated grandparents yesterday. Not one checkpoint on the 30 minute drive each way

I hope they are doing well and ye had a nice time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,282 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

:eek::mad: is the transport minister still asleep

Him and the Minister for Health seem to have gone to sleep . The most difficult time in the health system and Stephen Donnely has been worse than useless . He is completely out of his league

namloc1980 wrote: »
    No trace to source either.
    I'm absolutely convinced they'll stalling on this in the hope that they never have to actually implement it.

We have to stay within 5km but anyone can enter the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,634 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

I'm absolutely convinced they'll stalling on this in the hope that they never have to actually implement it.

I definitely think so too. He's hoping for some kind of miracle in order not to have to implement it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,238 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

So the UK government has urged its citizens not to book foreign holidays amid fears of new stains that can evade the vaccine.

Is that it so?

Is is going to be like this forever?

Years and years of new strains and restrictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

But there's people outside not wearing masks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

Oh 100% . The delay in vaccines has made them look like idiots now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,737 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

The state of the question in that poll ran by the Mail on Sunday :eek:

The question asked was:

Nothing like adding multiple qualifiers to a single question to get a straight answer eh ...

So this poll is redundant but your 1 from the journal isn't with one of the answers being 'most of the time' . Talk about suiting your own narrative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭Jimi H

So the UK government has urged its citizens not to book foreign holidays amid fears of new stains that can evade the vaccine.

Is that it so?

Is is going to be like this forever?

Years and years of new strains and restrictions.

There was a doctor on BBC earlier saying masks and social distancing would be needed for years to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Yes, a travel restriction impinging on the rights of Irish people to move freely in their own country. You might believe that this infringement is justifiable or proportionate or whatever — that’s a different argument — but this little game you are playing of trying to water the severity of it down is not one I am going to acquiesce to. The last time I witnessed hindrances to the ability to move freely on this island were British army checkpoints in my area — and even then there was never a need for people to be nervous about having to tell a squaddie you were going 8km for a haircut, or for just an aimless spin to Newcastle, or up to Belfast for the ride.

The travel restrictions are a fundamental undermining of constitutional rights. There is no lawyer in this country who would disagree with that statement in a general sense — because the debate would rest not on this undeniable fact, but the question as to whether this undermining is justifiable and proportionate to the risk. If you think they are justifiable in the face of a public health crisis, then we can argue that separately, but I do question why you seem so determined to water it all down into a “ah sure it’s grand because you can go where you want ......... so long as you have a valid excuse”.

Oh give over with that rubbish. British army and squaddies and border checkpoints ffs

Just in case you don't know there's a pandemic atm and thats the whole point.

And the restrictions are there to keep the rate of infection low so our health services can cope whilst the vaccines are rolled out.

Its not rocket science ...

While we should do a little bit more and do better . Short of wrapping myself in clingfilm I am not sure how I can do better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭jackboy

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Him and the Minister for Health seem to have gone to sleep . The most difficult time in the health system and Stephen Donnely has been worse than useless . He is completely out of his league

It’s a pandemic so I’d forgive Donnelly making mistakes. He cannot be forgiven for hiding though. If he doesn’t believe he can do the job or doesn’t want to lead then he needs to step aside. He is behaving in a selfish, cowardly manner. The pandemic is bigger than his career.

So this poll is redundant but your 1 from the journal isn't with one of the answers being 'most of the time' . Talk about suiting your own narrative.

Nope. At least the journal one whilst fairly basic is kept to a straightforward question format without multiple qualifiers. Look up questionnaire design for more pro tips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,202 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

jackboy wrote: »
    It’s a pandemic so I’d forgive Donnelly making mistakes. He cannot be forgiven for hiding though. If he doesn’t believe he can do the job or doesn’t want to lead then he needs to step aside. He is behaving in a selfish, cowardly manner. The pandemic is bigger than his career.
    Short of training to administer vaccines, there isn't much he can do.

The endless giving out is getting very tiring now. We are constrained by vaccine supply. All we can do is administer the shots when they arrive, which we are doing, and there is no need for the Minister to be running around like a headless chicken getting in the way.

Unless you are a manufacturing engineer in a Pfizer or J&J plant there is nothing useful anyone has to add to this. Supply will be ramping up in the coming months.

Locotastic wrote: »
    I haven't met a checkpoint since May and I'm in and out of Dublin 3/4 times a week.

You are lucky. I too am in and out of Dublin numerous times a week. There is a permanent one on Con Colbert Rd and a permanent one on the South quays. Back before Christmas there was one at Stephens Green. I drove down to the Midlands yesterday and there was a lone Guard stopped in the middle of nowhere asking people where they were going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭jackboy

hmmm wrote: »

The endless giving out is getting very tiring now. We are constrained by vaccine supply. All we can do is administer the shots when they arrive, which we are doing, and there is no need for the Minister to be running around like a headless chicken getting in the way.

Unless you are a manufacturing engineer in a Pfizer or J&J plant there is nothing useful anyone has to add to this. Supply will be ramping up in the coming months.

Donnelly is in a leadership position so hiding is damaging to efforts in dealing with this pandemic. Keeping people informed and motivated is a very important part of his job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭Stormyteacup

Oh give over with that rubbish. British army and squaddies and border checkpoints ffs

And the restrictions are there to keep the rate of infection low so our health services can cope whilst the vaccines are rolled out.

Pretty spectacular strawman.

He could be seen at very least and motivating , leading , informing , encouraging and doing his job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,202 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

jackboy wrote: »
    Donnelly is in a leadership position so hiding is damaging to efforts in dealing with this pandemic. Keeping people informed and motivated is a very important part of his job.
    What do you mean "hiding"? There's a press conference every few days with our medical experts, the sight of Donnelly's face on TV isn't going to give people any more information than they are already getting. I think there are probably too many press conferences to be honest.

What people want to hear is that this whole nightmare will end very soon, and it would be lie to tell them that. Would you prefer if the government was more like Trump/Johnson and reassure people that this will all go away?

Hopefully as the vaccines roll out we will see things become more normal towards late Summer. There's no point giving false hope for something sooner.

Pretty spectacular strawman.

Yeah pp dredging up the troubles in Northern Ireland is fairly spectacular alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

You call it rubbish but you then do precisely the very thing I touched on in my post — you move the debate to the question of whether the travel restrictions are justified or not. I specifically said that this was not the point being contested, I was contesting your attempts to dress up the travel restrictions as being not that bad despite the fact that they are an unprecedented level of restriction on the ability of Irish people to move freely in their own country.

So I would remind you that in the course of this conversation you’ve gone from saying that the restrictions are not a travel restriction at all (which is completely wrong) to now moving the goalposts to a different debate and calling my post rubbish.

You said in an earlier post that you were tired of ‘endless rubbish’ on this thread. But if you want high-quality discussion, you have to build it on an a foundation of good faith. What is the point in trying to debate with someone on the proportionality and justifiability of the travel restrictions if they are trying to argue that they are hardly restrictions at all?

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

What do you mean "hiding"? There's a press conference every few days with our medical experts, the sight of Donnelly's face on TV isn't going to give people any more information than they are already getting. I think there are probably too many press conferences to be honest.

What people want to hear is that this whole nightmare will end very soon, and it would be lie to tell them that. Would you prefer if the government was more like Trump/Johnson and reassure people that this will all go away?

Hopefully as the vaccines roll out we will see things become more normal towards late Summer. There's no point giving false hope for something sooner.

And those press conferences are with civil servants who are being forced to answer questions above their mandate. This is because the actual lawmakers are hiding behind these civil servants and are letting them take all the flak.

As I have been saying, Ronan Glynn is being forced to answer questions about easing restrictions when ultimately it isn’t his decision. The decision-makers are sitting back and taking advantage of his lack of political/diplomatic nous and the backlash that will inevitably come with it.

The government are hiding. They make the decisions here, not NPHET. The problem is people believe NPHET make the decisions when in actual fact the government has spent the best part of a year ignoring them. That’s why we’re still in this mess.