Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,384 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

Leftwaffe wrote: »
    The reason I’m criticising the program is because all of our lives are depending on it, and so far it’s been rubbish. It’s been plagued by incompetence and lack of supply. It’s the reason why this will drag out longer than necessary and yet we the people are consistently told to do better, and to try harder when we’re on the brink already.

It’s those in higher positions who need to do better. The government have always been great at convincing the ordinary man that it’s his neighbour that’s the problem, not the lads in the suits making all the decisions.

Sorry, I’m long past the “we’re all in this together” phase.

Again nothing but negativity. I understand people are frustrated but its post after post here of glass half full bad news stories nothing positive at all.

I haven't seen any incompetence in the rollout of the vaccine, yes supply is limited we have over 7 billion people worldwide looking for a jab and in most cases two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭Leftwaffe

john4321 wrote: »
    Again nothing but negativity. I understand people are frustrated but its post after post here of glass half full bad news stories nothing positive at all.

I haven't seen any incompetence in the rollout of the vaccine, yes supply is limited we have over 7 billion people worldwide looking for a jab and in most cases two.

Ok John, everything is going great then. What a time to be alive.

Leftwaffe wrote: »
    Ok John, everything is going great then. What a time to be alive.

Glad you agree. Enjoy the weekend and the brighter sunny weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,320 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Link here

Yeah, thought so. You got your thanks though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭franciscanpunk

What is there to be positive about?

we are missing our vaccination targets, nobody in govt but still being missed.

Bar a couple of weeks we have been in intense restriction since october and it will last AT LEAST June.

thousand are unemployed, businesses will never open again, the emigration fall back will not be as possible as previous recessions, our national debt is growing substantially and our taxes will go up in the future.

anyone attending third level there lives are very much changed for the worse.

There is no option to play sport outdoors, exercise with others or interact outside where the virus is least transmitable, we have turned into a nation of curtain twitchers forcing people indoors which is completely counter productive.

we have outsourced the decision making to a group who only have a remit to tackle one issue and in fairness to them they are only going make decisions which suit thier objective of minimal covid cases n hospitalisations so will decide to keep higest n longest restrictions possible, why wouldn't they.

oh and construction has stopped unlike anywhere else further contributing to our desperate housing situation.

How could anyone be anyway positive, im surprised their hasn't been more people completely breaking down over this nevermind being f$%king positive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,457 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

Absolute sense.

That's easily the most sense anyone has spoken on Irish Radio or TV in the last year

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 146 ✭✭Neagra

when it was announced the HSE would handle the roll out and it was free for all and no one would be allowed to buy the vaccine i said it was a very bad decision. beyond stupid.
    the HSE from the start wanted complete control over the vaccine roll out so they could control who got the vaccine - the power to ensure that all HSE staff were done first being the key factor.
    for example it a known fact the admin staff in Clonmel hospital were some of the first vaccinated in the country.
    think about that for a minute.
    Also think about the fact some of the latest to be vaccinated are civil defence members.
    now take a minute to think about that.

this whole roll out is a disgrace. the HSE and the government and public sector unions are ensuring they and their families and friends are going to be vaccinated first.
    i do not trust them and neither should you.

Neagra wrote: »
    when it was announced the HSE would handle the roll out and it was free for all and no one would be allowed to buy the vaccine i said it was a very bad decision. beyond stupid.
    the HSE from the start wanted complete control over the vaccine roll out so they could control who got the vaccine - the power to ensure that all HSE staff were done first being the key factor.
    for example it a known fact the admin staff in Clonmel hospital were some of the first vaccinated in the country.
    Also think about the fact some of the latest to be vaccinated are civil defence members.

this whole roll out is a disgrace. the HSE and the government and public sector unions are ensuring they and their families and friends are going to be vaccinated first.

It's shocking alright the should have got SIMI to rollout the vaccine so you could complain that mechanics were prioritized over auctioneers. If IPAV had got the gig that might not have happened.

Shame on the HSE prioritizing healthcare workers getting vaccinated based on independent advise from NIAC.

More negative rants on this thread based just for the sake of it.

Who would you have proposed to work on the rollout?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭Leftwaffe

What is there to be positive about?

we are missing our vaccination targets, nobody in govt but still being missed.

Bar a couple of weeks we have been in intense restriction since october and it will last AT LEAST June.

thousand are unemployed, businesses will never open again, the emigration fall back will not be as possible as previous recessions, our national debt is growing substantially and our taxes will go up in the future.

anyone attending third level there lives are very much changed for the worse.

There is no option to play sport outdoors, exercise with others or interact outside where the virus is least transmitable, we have turned into a nation of curtain twitchers forcing people indoors which is completely counter productive.

we have outsourced the decision making to a group who only have a remit to tackle one issue and in fairness to them they are only going make decisions which suit thier objective of minimal covid cases n hospitalisations so will decide to keep higest n longest restrictions possible, why wouldn't they.

oh and construction has stopped unlike anywhere else further contributing to our desperate housing situation.

How could anyone be anyway positive, im surprised their hasn't been more people completely breaking down over this nevermind being f$%king positive

Ah no everything is grand. Stop being negative will ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Dutchboy352

Neagra wrote: »

What an absolute insult to the doctors, nurses, management and admin in the HSE who've worked their backsides off this past year. Shame on you. Everyone's turn for a vaccine is coming soon throwing toys out of the pram won't make it happen quicker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

That's easily the most sense anyone has spoken on Irish Radio or TV in the last year

It is crazy that completely reasonable arguments like his, from a person with no vested interests, have justbeen sidelined all along. There has been zero balance in irish media and appearances from guys like him just highlight how ridiculous the fact most Irish conversations have just been about whether we are doing enough as it is or whether we should be going for Zero covid, rather than actually discussing any of the problems caused by these single minded goals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭SoapMcTavish

Time for it all to end now. RTE and Newstalk are scaremongering lunatics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,878 ✭✭✭facehugger99

He is 100% correct in everything he said.

Why have voices like this been silenced in the last year?

The media have been an absolute disgrace throughout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,579 ✭✭✭JTMan

Irish times reports today here and the Irish Independent here on the relaxation of restrictions.

- Construction of houses to be allowed from 5 April but not offices.
    - Construction of offices to be allowed from 19 April. (review after 2 weeks).
    - 5 KM to be changed to 10 KM or 20 KM or inside your own county.

No mention of non-essential retail, gyms and personal services yet. Probably May for lifting these restrictions next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

JTMan wrote: »
    Irish times reports today here and the Irish Independent here on the relaxation of restrictions.

No mention of non-essential retail, gyms and personal services yet. Probably May for lifting these restrictions next.

Imagine thinking 10/20km is ok...after being in 5 for months on end.

JTMan wrote: »

Good stuff. Beginning of the end :)

Boggles wrote: »
    They did just 2 weeks ago.

NPHET advised the return of just the Junior and Seniors, It was the governments decision to send back the first 4 years.

Now that may seem like a small thing, but in reality in means 100,000s of more daily contacts.

Scale.

NPHET advised a phased return and did not specify how that should be organised. The government decided how the phased return would work and NPHET agreed.

Aph2016 wrote: »
    Page after page seeing Boggles justify the lockdown continuing is increasing my blood pressure. Take a day off Tony.

You should definitely consider cocooning. High BP is a risk factor for Covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

6 wrote: »
    Good stuff. Beginning of the end :)

Yep. Only another 24 months to go. Hold firm. We’re almost there. Next two weeks/years are critical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

He is 100% correct in everything he said.

Why have voices like this been silenced in the last year?

The media have been an absolute disgrace throughout.

Just listened to that clip.. Educated, calm, well spoken, able to support his points with evidence and quotes from recognised outlets - completely agree with everything he said as did apparently a lot of the listeners and the presenter herself.

The ONLY negative was that they apparently had him on over lunchtime of Paddy's Day, when most people probably weren't listening. If he'd been on the flagship Breakfast show the day before/after it would have had a far greater impact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Frozen Veg

No fines issued for the big wedding in Salthill last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Multipass

Imagine thinking 10/20km is ok...after being in 5 for months on end.

Imagine the government of this country spending their time debating the merits of 10 vs 20km. As if it could make a blind bit of difference to anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Multipass

Frozen Veg wrote: »
    No fines issued for the big wedding in Salthill last week.

As if they be paid if they did issue them. They should have checked the tax on all those Audi’s instead.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,086 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Just listened to that clip.. Educated, calm, well spoken, able to support his points with evidence and quotes from recognised outlets - completely agree with everything he said as did apparently a lot of the listeners and the presenter herself.

The ONLY negative was that they apparently had him on over lunchtime of Paddy's Day, when most people probably weren't listening. If he'd been on the flagship Breakfast show the day before/after it would have had a far greater impact.

This is what frustrates the hell out of me.
    He even said it himself that hes basically been ostracized by fellow journalists and the main stream media because of his differing opinion.

We need more mainstream media to allow a different opinion on the pandemic but that's not going to happen as long as all those covid ads need airtime.

The government are obviously buying up these advertising spaces and if you were in charge of one of these large media companies would you go against your biggest customer and have a differing view?

Not a hope in hell as long as the bills are being paid.

It all comes down to money.

Multipass wrote: »
    Imagine the government of this country spending their time debating the merits of 10 vs 20km. As if it could make a blind bit of difference to anything.

For myself it means nothing. I don't live in Dublin anymore but one of the commuter towns an hour away. Because of that and before all this, I would normally have been in work all week and down to see my little lad (90 minutes further away) at weekends.

As a result there would be many days when I was really just sleeping here in the evening. My friends live in different counties, my sister is back in Dublin, and I wouldn't know anyone here really.

Extending the limit to 10k/20k/County makes no difference to me as a result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭dalyboy

Yep. Only another 24 months to go. Hold firm. We’re almost there. Next two weeks/years are critical.

Don’t forget spineless Micheal Martins “We are all in this together” said the man on 200k , golden pension , with his job undisturbed by restrictions and manages to say it with a straight face.

You’d never want to play poker with this joker with skills like this.

Hellrazer wrote: »
    He even said it himself that hes basically been ostracized by fellow journalists and the main stream media because of his differing opinion.

We need more mainstream media to allow a different opinion on the pandemic but that's not going to happen as long as all those covid ads need airtime.

The government are obviously buying up these advertising spaces and if you were in charge of one of these large media companies would you go against your biggest customer and have a differing view?

Not a hope in hell as long as the bills are being paid.

It all comes down to money.

Well in NT's case they're being sold to some German media empire I gather so maybe that might change the editorial narrative.

We know their current owner isn't going to. Hasn't happened so far anyway.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,086 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Multipass wrote: »

They probably has a meeting about a meeting, put it in writing to Nphet who then replied to say allow 7km.Government went back and begged - yes begged nphet for a bit more distance. Had another meeting about the meeting - possibly a white paper on it with a few hundred advisors making sure it was ok and then came up with 20k.

Dear God I really fear for the future when this is all over and this lot are running things again...How the **** are we going to get our country back to normal after all this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭Del Griffith

Absolute sense.

Ignoring the channel that has reposted it, that's one of the best put across point of views I've heard that articulates what a huge amount of people are thinking/ feeling, including myself.

Its ridiculous that Irelands insane lockdown policies can't even be challenged without some bull**** about conspiracies being thrown around to discredit any suggestion to consider an alternative stategy. Fair play to the caller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Hellrazer wrote: »

Is that the edgelord sports "journalist"?

Why would anyone give a bollíx about his opinion on Covid?