Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,234 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Numbers Nolan wants us all to do a wee bit more.
    What planet is he on?

https://twitter.com/President_MU/status/1372935041714683914

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

RobitTV wrote: »
    Dr Ronan Glynn says that advice will be issued in the coming fortnight for people who have received their Covid vaccine:

'It will be conservative as vaccines aren't 100% protective on an individual level'

Oh
    my
    fuc****
    god
    :P

They are playing with us now.

Golly :eek:

I wonder if I write to Doktor Glynn asking if he will take me off his mailing list,due to my own Immune System having been 100% effective over the past 12 months,will he have me arrested for sedition or something ?

His line appears to be "Have my Vaccine,or you will DIE.....(Horribly)" ...

At this point,the thread topic merits a collective move to CT,as it's more reflective of the reality on the streets...;)

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

Numbers Nolan wants us all to do a wee bit more.
    What planet is he on?

https://twitter.com/President_MU/status/1372935041714683914

Not a bother Prof, you take a symbolic cut to your salary in solidarity with the half million rest of us who involuntarily lost our jobs and we're on the same page. Otherwise shove your shallow "we can all do a lickle bit more" drivel where the moon don't shine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Absolute sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭AdrianBalboa

Imagine asking the leader of IEMAG to take a pay cut during the pandemic. The people involved in NPHET are working themselves to the bone, around the clock. Of course they should be remunerated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,647 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Horrific stuff on Newstalk with Paul Treyvaud

He’s in the hospitality industry and said 80% of Irish indigenous businesses are definitely gone by July 1st.

Business owners have used all cash in hand and personal savings.

Even if the reopen now they likely won’t survive

Why make them invest in social distancing measures only to shut them down indefinitely

Staff shortages also an issue

Why is the county by county localised plan out the window?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

Was he down in Cork again today, the prick, swanning all over the place. His physical presence isn’t needed anywhere. , stay in ur 5k prick...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭themacattack.

Imagine asking the leader of IEMAG to take a pay cut during the pandemic. The people involved in NPHET are working themselves to the bone, around the clock. Of course they should be remunerated.

maybe they should take a holiday so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭AdrianBalboa

maybe they should take a holiday so

When it’s time they’ll be hard-earned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

If the analysis was done then it should be made public, given the severity of the lockdowns and the unprecedented restrictions on liberty. The government serves the people.

I'd nearly say you could probably guess it.

Alcohol consumption is down because all of the on-trade sales have effectively halted. Off-trade alcohol consumption has increased a lot.

Consumption is down across the board.

This isn't a very hard concept get your head around to be honest.

I'll leave it to Patricia to explain it to you.
    Patricia Callan, Director of Drinks Ireland said "there is a growing and misleading narrative that alcohol consumption increased last year during lockdown."

She said these Revenue figures show that "this is simply not true".

"While off-trade sales predictably increased when the on-trade was closed, this was not enough to offset the overall fall in alcohol consumption across the board," Ms Callan added.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,688 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Absolute sense.

Good clip. Is he really the first person they have had on questioning things? After a year almost?

I always wanted to move back to Ireland eventually. Now I feel like there won't be anything worth going back to for a long time (except my family) and my child would be better off staying here in the long run. I'm old enough to remember what it was like in the 80s and 90s and that's what I'm picturing. Huge unemployment and more poverty than has been seen in recent years anyway.

He’s in the hospitality industry and said 80% of Irish indigenous businesses are definitely gone by July 1st.

Why make them invest in social distancing measures only to shut them down indefinitely

Paul is a chef and a complete scare mongering one too it appears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    Good clip. Is he really the first person they have had on questioning things? After a year almost?

It was funny the part where she said “well we have you on now questioning it”... yeah 12 months in Claire, you just proved his point haha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,193 ✭✭✭screamer

Heard that too, of course there are thousands of businesses out there that will never re-open. I hope the government have the cop on to re-open the passport office so that soon as we're vaccinated, we can all rely on the age old pressure valve of emigration.

As for the county by county localised plan, well, I've a couple of thoughts, and one is that it's just easier to keep everything locked down, and I imagine there'd be anarchy if some counties are opened up and others are not.

They better do something and quick, or there'll be no coming back from this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,688 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Boggles wrote: »
    I'd nearly say you could probably guess it.

Consumption is down across the board.

This isn't a very hard concept get your head around to be honest.

I'll leave it to Patricia to explain it to you.

Ireland must be bucking the trend then given that alcohol related deaths in England and wales were at record levels last year ,and hospital admissions for alcohol related illnesses.

There is no trend, the figures are from Revenue backed up by people in the industry.

If you have any information that refutes it by all means fire it up.

* England, Wales are not Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,647 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Paul is a chef and a complete scare mongering one too it appears.

You will shortly realise it’s too late Boggles.

The country is in ruins, it’s currently masked behind money that’s not ours being borrowed at a rate never seen before

When the exchequer can’t fund the health service and pay wages of public servants in a few months I imagine a few of ye will wonder how when our imaginary GDP is so strong.

You will shortly realise it’s too late Boggles.

What, this nugget?
    80% of Irish indigenous businesses are definitely gone by July 1st.

Paul is talking out of his hole, if that is indeed what he said.

The doom and scare mongering is gone absolutely ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Monster249

What, this nugget?

The irony in some of the ****e you post is unreal. You parrott about scaremongering while downplaying the negative effects of lockdowns whilst simultaneously supporting the king's of scaremongering and continuous lockdowns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,320 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

For someone so desperate to save his business, why is he waiting for the last possible day to reopen.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭the kelt

Well we do have that virus variant with the built in gps tracking that mean it only activates outside of 5k but is smart enough to realise when it’s in a school setting and not to spread so ye know we could very well be bucking the trend!:D

Monster249 wrote: »
    The irony in some of the ****e you post is unreal. You parrott about scaremongering while downplaying the negative effects of lockdowns whilst simultaneously supporting the king's of scaremongering and continuous lockdowns.

I don't think you understand the concept of Irony.

But if you think Paul is correct, we won't have to wait long to find out.

What actual tangible negative effects of lock-downs have I downplayed?

I mean real ones, not the makey uppy ones that appear here daily to drive fear and scaremonger?

Here is an example of a makey uppy one
    When the exchequer can’t fund the health service and pay wages of public servants in a few months I imagine a few of ye will wonder how when our imaginary GDP is so strong.

Health service gone and mass unemployment of the public sector in June.

I mean real ones, not the makey uppy ones that appear here daily to drive fear and scaremonger?

The irony is you claiming people are scaremongering yet support NPHET who have done nothing but scaremonger since last March, does that fit your description of irony?

I have no interest in discussing anything with you, if I thought you had the critical thinking ability and rational thought process to see opposing viewpoints I would but I don't.

For what it's worth, I think NPHET are doing exactly what they're supposed to, it's the government ignoring all other facets of the counties ongoing development that I have an issue with.

Here is an example of a makey uppy one

Health service gone and mass unemployment of the public sector in June.

We agree on that one, that is clearly untrue ☺️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

People need to start realizing that the last day of the last lockdown is not the end...it is the half way point, over 800,000 now on HSE waiting lists, Unemployment will hit 20% probably higher, housing crisis has been worsened, the local SME industry, the industry that employs people in ever village, town and city is going to be decimated...when we look back at the stats, cases, death rate it will appear to be the biggest miscalculation in our nations history, we will lose another generation to emigration...it is money that the state is borrowing on our behalf, which has to come to an end soon, that is stopping the mass protests, civil disobedience....

Martin doesn't want to speculate what will happen next month? That is simply not good enough....We are being run by the members of one of the most dysfunctional health system in Europe...who are ignoring the WHO, Science and all the other countries that have more relaxed restrictions than we do, in countries with much bigger cities and older populations.

This has been a monumental disaster...all the cheer leading media channels in the State won't protect them from what is coming next!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

What, this nugget?

I dont know Boggles. Restaurant business is a difficult business at the best of times.. I wouldnt be surprised if 80% of them folded or in that region. Doesnt sound implausible.

Yeah, one prominent idiot on here was comparing the Gardai to the SS

I'm not agreeing with the comparison but are you not able to see some similarities? Albeit nowhere near as sinister and not in the same moral arena.

The irony is you claiming people are scaremongering yet support NPHET who have done nothing but scaremonger since last March, does that fit your description of irony?

I have no interest in discussing anything with you, if I thought you had the critical thinking ability and rational thought process to see opposing viewpoints I would but I don't.

For what it's worth, I think NPHET are doing exactly what they're supposed to, it's the government ignoring all other facets of the counties ongoing development that I have an issue with.

Indeed.

Indeed.

Yes? NPHET's job is to be as cautious as possible and if they're given a voice, which they are, of course they're going to be as cautious as possible, overly so.

It's the government who are supposed to balance that with positivity and every other arm of the country which they have monumentally failed to do.

I dont know Boggles. Restaurant business is a difficult business at the best of times.. I wouldnt be surprised if 80% of them folded or in that region. Doesnt sound implausible.

Paul didn't claim 80% of restaurants.