Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,274 ✭✭✭User1998

GT89 wrote: »
    Was out and about today loads of traffic on the road loads of people not wearing masks, loads people living normally. Didn't come across any Garda checkpoints either. Good to see people are beginning to stop giving a fcuk but unfortunately I think the government are going to keep up the fear mongering and get their way again unfortunately like they did in January.

Was in a petrol station with a big no mask no entry in the shop even though staff behind the counter weren't wearing masks. I'm guessing if I forget to bring a mask to this garage and fill up my tank that means the fuel is free. I'll keep that in mind next time I run low.

Staff aren’t required to wear masks behind perspex screens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,236 ✭✭✭✭JRant

RGS wrote: »
    What dr walley reported is reprehensible but it's the norm for NPHET to just spread fear and ramp up the worry meter at every opportunity.

Love this quote from glynn tonight
    " we have to get over April and may. We have to get through this period and it's not easy. I don't envy in any way people who make decisions around this period. We make recommendations, others make decisions. I don't envy then their job. It's our job to provide advice in relation to the disease."

Looks like the blame game is starting.

NPHET we only make recommendations don't blame us.

Government we acted on NPHETS advice don't blame us.

NPHET make recommendations, the Government have said they will follow all public health advice. So that's the Kafka trap being set for the general population.

To be 100% clear though, I hold the government fully responsible for every action taken.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭Aph2016

Surely it can't be long before the police somewhere kill an anti lockdown protestor. Is tht what it will take before the masses wake up?

I've started to take notice of people I see on a weekly basis and I swear they look like they've been sedated; just stumbling through life, lacking motivation, drive, nothing to talk about, nothing to look forward to. It's really no surprise the masses are asleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

JRant wrote: »
    I think he needs to work on his connection to the the human race. Complete lack of any emphathy just to get his "message" across.

Another robot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,255 ✭✭✭MOR316

The Government/NPHET/The Virus have ruined my life. Taken away what I do in life and my plans for the future.
    I still have my job, I work from home. However, I ain't tried a leg in 10 months. It's a struggle to get up most days.

So, with that said, I really don't care what they have to say. I have zero interest in any of their "advice"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭RGS

JRant wrote: »
    NPHET make recommendations, the Government have said they will follow all public health advice. So that's the Kafka trap being set for the general population.

To be 100% clear though, I hold the government fully responsible for every action taken.

I agree with your view government are to blame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Buried her brothers and has to be listening to that bollox asking her if she’s learned her lesson because she got sick. Jaysus fierce Christian brother vibes out of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

April 5th is really hanging in the balance. I don't foresee NPHET recommending the relaxation of the 5km.

This will really depress people if that happens on April 5th.

https://twitter.com/gavreilly/status/1371520389231357952

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

And around and around we go..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

MOR316 wrote: »
    The Government/NPHET/The Virus have ruined my life. Taken away what I do in life and my plans for the future.
    I still have my job, I work from home. However, I ain't tried a leg in 10 months. It's a struggle to get up most days.

So, with that said, I really don't care what they have to say. I have zero interest in any of their "advice"

I hear you, I've worked throughout and even had a laugh before xmas at people who were struggling with the lock-down because I felt they were being drama queens.

I'm not so smart now, my mental health is crumbling by the day.

I followed restrictions to a T until the latest 'Hold fast' speech from our leader, not anymore. I'm meeting friends for drinks at the weekend and I don't give a fcuk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,234 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

RobitTV wrote: »
    April 5th is really hanging in the balance. I don't foresee NPHET recommending the relaxation of the 5km.

This is why protest is the only way forward. When we had less than 70 cases a week last summer NPHET still didn't want to lift restrictions.
    They are not going to change their tune any time soon.

You can have all the qualifications in the world and have all the data at your disposal but, they're no substitute for common sense...

Philip Nolan said last week, "Over the last week or so, there are signs that people are mixing and socialising more. This is very concerning. We can't let our guard down"

That may have something to do with the fact you opened the schools recently, you absolute prat!

Numbers of deaths and hospitalisations still declining. However, Gav wouldn't be one for spreading a bit of positivity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭bloopy

It's happening all over Europe. I'm not sure if you all have seen the scenes from the Netherlands over the weekend but The Dutch police are particularly violent. in one incident a plain clothed police officer pushed a lady into an incoming police van, In others they indiscriminately battered member of rhe public with batons and set police dogs on them.

https://twitter.com/200_zoka/status/1371462558448816128

https://twitter.com/RedPilledPoland/status/1371258542771015680

https://twitter.com/bencoates1/status/1371376730276044800

https://twitter.com/mole_cola/status/1371166390007267330

Each new outrage will be legitimized and justified until it becomes the norm. Each new norm will be slightly more extreme. It will not end well for Western democracy if it keeps going as it currently is.
    We will have 'freedom' to do what we are told to do.
    And it will be cheered on by a cohort of people who want nothing more than the ability to condemn and to force others to their line of thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Penfailed

AlekSmart wrote: »
    The UK authorities have now gone on a major crusade against protestants.

Someone better tell the DUP!

I'm assuming you meant protesters?

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭bloopy

Whats with the f**kin emojis?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭17larsson

People following what that Nolan guy says and not visiting dying family members or going to their funerals gives me a window into what people must have been like when the church were taking babies away.

Some people saw through the bull**** but most people blindly followed the rules.

I'm not anti-establishment or anything like that but I'm really starting to question everything these days. Who is he to lecture those people, and the public, about visiting dying family members?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 452 ✭✭Sharpyshoot

You can have all the qualifications in the world and have all the data at your disposal but, they're no substitute for common sense...

Philip Nolan said last week, "Over the last week or so, there are signs that people are mixing and socialising more. This is very concerning. We can't let our guard down"

That may have something to do with the fact you opened the schools recently, you absolute prat!

They are blaming cans now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭GT89

Penfailed wrote: »
    Someone better tell the DUP!

I'm assuming you meant protesters?

Protesting is how protestants got their name

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Samsonsmasher

darced wrote: »
    I hear you, I've worked throughout and even had a laugh before xmas at people who were struggling with the lock-down because I felt they were being drama queens.

I'm not so smart now, my mental health is crumbling by the day.

I followed restrictions to a T until the latest 'Hold fast' speech from our leader, not anymore. I'm meeting friends for drinks at the weekend and I don't give a fcuk.

What were you thinking?
    I knew this was all bs mid way back in April 2020 when the 100000 deaths didn't happen.
    Only now you are waking up?
    Better late than never.
    We need to open up and get back to normal immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

What % of the population is obeying the 5km restriction? A very small number I would imagine.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

It's not just him, there's a plethora of people like him in and around NPHET and they government without a single shred of cop on between them. We've been in lockdown for almost 3 months now and we're in lockdown from October to December before that. What do they expect people to be like?
    This isn't a model being run on a computer system, these are real people with real lives to lead.

When cases got high people started to cut contacts and will do this regardless of lockdown measures. When they drop the same people will look to do more. It's bloody human nature. We are not lab rats that can be controlled at their whim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭cjyid

5km rule hasn't been followed in ages, the guards have given up checkpoints too I haven't come across one in weeks in Dublin suburbs anyway.

They may well extend it, but it'll only exist in their little world.

It's a big bag of cants with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

cjyid wrote: »
    5km rule hasn't been followed in ages, the guards have given up checkpoints too I haven't come across one in weeks in Dublin suburbs anyway.

Yep the Gardai were very active in very early January but not anymore. They know how futile it is. Where are you going? Shopping. Ok.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

Cans and takeaway pints. If they want to see real protests against lockdown then the best thing they can do is shut the offos down. That'll be a call to arms if ever I've one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Protesting is how protestants got their name

I know.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

Who is funding this group?

I love when they say that zero covid is the only way to avoid long lockdowns. Just like the long lockdown that has been avoided in Ireland as of today.

https://twitter.com/WeCanBeZero/status/1367849490141577224

cjyid wrote: »

They are still active on the main roads in and around the city centre. Causing nothing but inconvenience and have zero interest in being there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

What were you thinking?
    I knew this was all bs mid way back in April 2020 when the 100000 deaths didn't happen.
    Only now you are waking up?
    Better late than never.
    We need to open up and get back to normal immediately.

My work at the time brought me into regular contact with vulnerable people that was my only reason for following restrictions. I've been a huge sceptic through-out but not enough to risk someone elses health.