Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mart Price Tracker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭richie123

Murang wrote: »
    That says it all about cork marts doing everything to help some buyers and treating sellers like second hand people

Was there some kinda misunderstanding there I wonder ....marts can be shocking busy spots at the best of times easy for miscommunication to happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,274 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

A young girl starting off took 6 cattle to macroom today 4 blks 2 heifers blks sold well and one of the heifers sold bad a real nice hf 305 kgs 520 ,mart rang her about the price of the blks but no one rang about the heifers .she was following them on he phone so she went in to bring her heifer home went in to the office and was told the heifer was sold and gone .she went out and found her heifer still in the pen went back in and your man would not still give her the heifer things got hot between them and her father was with her and they took the heifer anyway but the prick in the mart would not give them the card. this girl is only 19 years and fair play to her she is some stuff. I am only waiting for Monday morning to come to go in and get the card with her. this will tell you about cork marts shower of ****ers no wonder lads are passing by going down to kerry.

Make sure they have not put the animal is in another herd and back into hers . It will count as two movements. Of they have make sure they correct her

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭morphy87

Back this way all animals are sold subject but as soon as they go through the ring they ring to see are you selling or taking home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,614 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

morphy87 wrote: »
    Back this way all animals are sold subject but as soon as they go through the ring they ring to see are you selling or taking home

Same as that

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,936 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

Make sure they have not put the animal is in another herd and back into hers . It will count as two movements. Of they have make sure they correct her

Generally the movement isn't completed on the day of sale due to there being enough other work to be done in the office. In the case of a Saturday sale the movement probably wouldn't be put through until Monday at the earliest. There's a form that corrects movement errors, I've often seen cattle put into the wrong herd where there were multiple client's with similar names. You could request to have the movement put through ASAP in the case of needing the units for stocking rates, buying permit near expiry ect but otherwise it probably won't be done until the the next working day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,705 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Young lad here got calves last year. Dealer got them in a mart down the country. After a week they hadn't come into my herd. I rang the dealer. They went into someone else's herd. Took about 2 weeks to sort it out. In fairness to him he did all the work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭MIKEKC

grange mac wrote: »
    That's it, he has a lorry from Castletownbere, skibbereen, durrus and Kealkil. They are only the ones I know of so he probably has more.

I hope Cork Marts have a plan to counter this as if not then I would have concerns as that will lead more of the bigger animals there eventually on his other Mart days.

But we all know he has some of the buyers who were previously with Cork marts so prices will be strong there.

Monday should be ok for prices again as just seen 2 of Hallissys attics enroute back to kerry l. I assume they were carrying calves to the boats today.
    Why would buyers who were previously with Cork Marts go to another mart if they knew prices were going to be strong there? Would they not be better off staying where they are for lower prices?

MIKEKC wrote: »
    Why would buyers who were previously with Cork Marts go to another mart if they knew prices were going to be strong there? Would they not be better off staying where they are for lower prices?

Cause you can go to mauty and buy a week's worth of cattle in one day.

MIKEKC wrote: »

Because for all the guff whatever about calves adult cattle Lise a lot of weight waiting to be sold. Bullocks are often standing from 8-10 am in the morning before they enter the ring at 4 pm. At present there is 2-300 cull cows before the bulls and heifers not to mind the bullocks

Slava Ukrainii

Because for all the guff whatever about calves adult cattle Lise a lot of weight waiting to be sold. Bullocks are often standing from 8-10 am in the morning before they enter the ring at 4 pm. At present there is 2-300 cull cows before the bulls and heifers not to mind the bullocks

There's actually very cattle in the morning before the cow sale. Cows aren't over till 2 or 3, lads that bought cows load up and the blks start coming in then.

DukeCaboom wrote: »
    There's actually very cattle in the morning before the cow sale. Cows aren't over till 2 or 3, lads that bought cows load up and the blks start coming in then.

Cattle coming from West Cork will be loaded early in the morning. Drivers do not make special runs for bullocks or heifers. The trucks are filled with cows, heifers and bullocks. Yes some lads bring there own but a lot of cattle are standing 8 hours before selling not to mind 1-2 hours travelling time.
    Dealers want to be there from the start as most are buying 2-3 different type of cattle. Dealers make money from haulage. It would all be truck haulage to and from Gortnalea. Dealer is collecting 15/ head to take and 15/ head for delivery of they are going back down there. Dealers love that.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Murang

Cattle coming from West Cork will be loaded early in the morning. Drivers do not make special runs for bullocks or heifers. The trucks are filled with cows, heifers and bullocks. Yes some lads bring there own but a lot of cattle are standing 8 hours before selling not to mind 1-2 hours travelling time.
    Dealers want to be there from the start as most are buying 2-3 different type of cattle. Dealers make money from haulage. It would all be truck haulage to and from Gortnalea. Dealer is collecting 15/ head to take and 15/ head for delivery of they are going back down there. Dealers love that.
    A neighbour of mine sold 20 bullocks from west cork about 3 weeks ago in Gortalea cattle left west cork at 12 o clock and were all sold for 5:30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭morphy87

Murang wrote: »
    A neighbour of mine sold 20 bullocks from west cork about 3 weeks ago in Gortalea cattle left west cork at 12 o clock and were all sold for 5:30

What is this mart doing that it is getting so much cattle?

I'm there myself most Fridays , lorry men buy very little cattle there, the vast majority of the cattle are bought by lads driving cars & wearing flat shoes.
    You can't actually fit the catalogue of cattle in the yard.
    Deckers of cows are filled away to make space for the cattle coming in after the cows sale.
    Only the naive would have blks in their at 11. There's barley 150 cows there at 11 when the cow sale starts.

Jjameson wrote: »
    We have a similar situation in north Wexford.
    The cooperative mart in Enniscorthy is a dead loss and Carnew is doing all the business.
    An owner manager makes all the difference.

Very true.

I'm there myself most Fridays , lorry men buy very little cattle there, the vast majority of the cattle are bought by lads driving cars & wearing flat shoes.
    You can't actually fit the catalogue of cattle in the yard.
    Deckers of cows are filled away to make space for the cattle coming in after the cows sale.
    Only the naive would have blks in their at 11. There's barley 150 cows there at 11 when the cow sale starts.

It's the same in most marts in recent year's. Any man coming to buy bundles of stock is more likely to be driving a Merc or a new Landcruiser and wearing low shoes. When the sale is over or the quota filled the list comes down from the office (hopefully accompanied by a score) and you'll be told there's a lorry enroute to lift them. The lad that comes with a shook lorry or jeep and trailer is usually only buying something value in small number's to pass the time and keep his pension/BPS/legacy or spouses income turning.

It takes a serious yard to hold 300-400 cow's before you put the rest of the day's entries along with them. Most of the marts locally would be full to overflowing with 600-700 head of mixed cattle. In the big sale's you'd be looking to get the first of the stock loaded and gone to accommodate the last one's. I'd imagine that Gortatlea wouldn't be any different in that respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,305 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Generally the movement isn't completed on the day of sale due to there being enough other work to be done in the office. In the case of a Saturday sale the movement probably wouldn't be put through until Monday at the earliest. There's a form that corrects movement errors, I've often seen cattle put into the wrong herd where there were multiple client's with similar names. You could request to have the movement put through ASAP in the case of needing the units for stocking rates, buying permit near expiry ect but otherwise it probably won't be done until the the next working day.

All marts run live on the day and transfer done on the day with the updated system, bought calves in newross yesterday and in the herd this morning.

That might be the case in certain marts but not all to the best of my knowledge. I've often been in offices the following working day and seen the movements being put through, especially after evening sale's. In the case of agents or dealer's buying they might buy all on the one account but divide them for different client's afterwards. They wouldn't always have a herd number to put them into on the sale day if it wasn't someone they regularly supplied stock to.

It's the same in most marts in recent year's. Any man coming to buy bundles of stock is more likely to be driving a Merc or a new Landcruiser and wearing low shoes. When the sale is over or the quota filled the list comes down from the office (hopefully accompanied by a score) and you'll be told there's a lorry enroute to lift them. The lad that comes with a shook lorry or jeep and trailer is usually only buying something value in small number's to pass the time and keep his pension/BPS/legacy or spouses income turning.

It takes a serious yard to hold 300-400 cow's before you put the rest of the day's entries along with them. Most of the marts locally would be full to overflowing with 600-700 head of mixed cattle. In the big sale's you'd be looking to get the first of the stock loaded and gone to accommodate the last one's. I'd imagine that Gortatlea wouldn't be any different in that respect.

A lot of the big buyers have the lorry on standby in the yard, in a lot of marts the big buyers have the a set pen from the ring, one guy from around here who buys a lot of cows in several marts has his double lorry backed on to the bay before the sale starts and when a load is bought the second lorry is sent for.
    As Albert says about the smaller buyer around here they are called the Ivor Williams buyer when he gets his 5 or 6 as quick as possible they are gone home.

A lot of the big buyers have the lorry on standby in the yard, in a lot of marts the big buyers have the a set pen from the ring, one guy from around here who buys a lot of cows in several marts has his double lorry backed on to the bay before the sale starts and when a load is bought the second lorry is sent for.
    As Albert says about the smaller buyer around here they are called the Ivor Williams buyer when he gets his 5 or 6 as quick as possible they are gone home.

Certain marts allocate pen numbers especially to bigger buyers to avoid having to gather the stock after the sale. Other marts particularly in the North mark the stock with paint or a marker spray and pen them accordingly.

I know a few of the Ivor William's type lad's, stock could get €50 cheaper when they get a few bought. They can't wait to get away and so bid strong until they fill the quota and can't get loaded up fast enough. The shrewd buyer will stand around the ring until everything is sold, oftentimes the best value is in the later lot's.

Listowel in my experience be the strictest, everything has to be sorted that evening re. herd numbers etc. No ill ring back in the morning crack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 678 ✭✭✭Fine Day

Certain marts allocate pen numbers especially to bigger buyers to avoid having to gather the stock after the sale. Other marts particularly in the North mark the stock with paint or a marker spray and pen them accordingly.

I know a few of the Ivor William's type lad's, stock could get €50 cheaper when they get a few bought. They can't wait to get away and so bid strong until they fill the quota and can't get loaded up fast enough. The shrewd buyer will stand around the ring until everything is sold, oftentimes the best value is in the later lot's.

I think online has changed alot of that. Lads buying in several marts in one day from there arm chair at home. In many cases lads not even viewing them before. I know a guy that buys his few cattle from work while having his tea break. Arranges a guy to pick them up and cattle are on his farm by the time he gets home. Was looking at online sales last week, the trade seems to of picked up well. Always the same every year lads buying for grass. I read somewhere lately that store bullocks are scares. Is this the case do ye know?? Surely there is a good shot of 2 year old bullocks out there unless of course alot were finished as bulls instead. I know a good few guys that by these type of stock every year, Particularly older men that have no sheds etc.

Listowel in my experience be the strictest, everything has to be sorted that evening re. herd numbers etc. No ill ring back in the morning crack.

Some of them are strict enough but there are lad's that would wreck your head, having no one lined up for stock and trying to pawn them onto someone for a few euro. The same lad's generally wouldn't have the price of what they bought and were only after a tenner a head if they got someone to take them off the mart sheet.

I heard locally that one mart won't let you change cattle across to different buyer's after the sale, you have to tell them in the office prior to the sale as to who you're buying for. They won't let you put a few across to another account after the sale or swap with someone else.

Theheff wrote: »
    I think online has changed alot of that. Lads buying in several marts in one day from there arm chair at home. In many cases lads not evening viewing them before. I know a guy that buys his few cattle from work while having his tea break. Arranges a guy to pick them up and cattle are on his farm by the time he gets home. Was looking at online sales last week, the trade seems to of picked up well. Always the same every year lads buying for grass. I read somewhere lately that store bullocks are scares. Is this the case do ye know?? Surely there is a good shot of 2 year old bullocks out there unless of course alot were finished as bulls instead. I know a good few guys that by these type of stock every year, Particularly older men that have no sheds etc.

Buying them from the comfort of the armchair unseen seems ideal in theory but you could get an awakening when you'd see them in the flesh. I know lot's of seasoned men that got stung at the beginning of the online sales so anything could happen an amateur. Grafted some lad's would buy a mixed bag when ringside so it might not be that big of an issue for them.

Stock always get dearer from now on and this year is no exception. They'd want to though after having the thick end of the winter over them, take €200 off most cattle atm and you'll be back at near what they'd have made off grass in October. I don't know if store bullocks are scarce in general but the sort of cattle the auld lad's go for might be. In my opinion there's less quality suckler bred cattle about every year and more middle of the road dairy type stock in there place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 678 ✭✭✭Fine Day

Buying them from the comfort of the armchair unseen seems ideal in theory but you could get an awakening when you'd see them in the flesh. I know lot's of seasoned men that got stung at the beginning of the online sales so anything could happen an amateur. Grafted some lad's would buy a mixed bag when ringside so it might not be that big of an issue for them.

Stock always get dearer from now on and this year is no exception. They'd want to though after having the thick end of the winter over them, take €200 off most cattle atm and you'll be back at near what they'd have made off grass in October. I don't know if store bullocks are scarce in general but the sort of cattle the auld lad's go for might be. In my opinion there's less quality suckler bred cattle about every year and more middle of the road dairy type stock in there place.

Agreed, The quality stock are not as plentiful as there was in the past. But I suppose this is the bi-product of the dairy industry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭jd_12345

Watching Macroom yesterday. Average 300kg bullocks making €650 and then lovely SI X LM bullocks came in roughly 320kg making about €720. These were loevly growthy lads. Its hard for sucklers to stand the going if they're not getting properly paid. Anything with Simmental blood down here seems to struggle in the ring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

jd_12345 wrote: »
    Watching Macroom yesterday. Average 300kg bullocks making €650 and then lovely SI X LM bullocks came in roughly 320kg making about €720. These were loevly growthy lads. Its hard for sucklers to stand the going if they're not getting properly paid. Anything with Simmental blood down here seems to struggle in the ring.

Not much different around here either
    A Simmental heifer will go a good price while even the best Simmental bulls would make much less than Limousin
    Is there something about bad know keep kill out

The marts got a grant to upgrade their computer system to the cmms movement and cattle have to be transferred on the day of the sale, the meat factory takes in the cards and inputs them into the factory number on arrival and no animal can be returned out of a factory with the new system that come in a couple of years ago. Any dealer buying cattle for people know their herd number and will have account set up for it in the mart, have a friend who buys for feed lots and when he buys an animal he puts up the fingers to match the buyers account.

morphy87 wrote: »
    What is this mart doing that it is getting so much cattle?

Have being watching this mart on line for the last few months, the guys selling the cattle just get on with it and start the stock within a 100 of the value and drive on selling and quick getting the cattle in and out of the ring, some through put in a day. The guy with the northern accent explains what the lot is like and they have a very good camera in place.
    In other marts that we watch they start stock at 300 under the value and can take up to 3 to 5 minutes selling a lot with the auctioneer going over and over when the bidding is finished.
    We are registered is several marts to buy stock and signed up to the Kerry mart and the next day the account was up and running, sent request to Bandon over 2 weeks ago and have heard nothing back and account is not set up yet.

I seldom leave a mart until the very end even if I have bought a good few. However if the mart is particulary strong I may leave alright. No point in waiting for one bullock. However that has changed with online bidding
    Theheff wrote: »
    I think online has changed alot of that. Lads buying in several marts in one day from there arm chair at home. In many cases lads not even viewing them before. I know a guy that buys his few cattle from work while having his tea break. Arranges a guy to pick them up and cattle are on his farm by the time he gets home. Was looking at online sales last week, the trade seems to of picked up well. Always the same every year lads buying for grass. I read somewhere lately that store bullocks are scares. Is this the case do ye know?? Surely there is a good shot of 2 year old bullocks out there unless of course alot were finished as bulls instead. I know a good few guys that by these type of stock every year, Particularly older men that have no sheds etc.

2 year old bullocks could be scarce there was a lot exported in 2019 as calves and weanlings. We have not hit those numbers since. I buy a lot from home. gortnalea is great as you can travel down early Saturday and collect

I find the camera better tha trying to buy from row Z in the mart. as well I am less likly to be bulled for they type of stock I buy. Different if you were buying U&R grade cattle but euro savers menu is all about price.

jd_12345 wrote: »

Thhe thing about it is that those average cattle such as AA and HE's all have a 10c bonus. They mature and kill earlier. Lads will hang some of them at 260-280 kgs DW in November especially the AA. The 20C bonus was paid out until January this year. If you got some AA away in November at 1050-1100 euro they be as good as any summer graziers. The SI bullocks will be out into March. Yes they will make more but feeding costs are 3/day at present. 70 euro is 17-18 kgs DW extra. a 360 kg Dw Continental bullock will gross a bit with 1400 euro. 100-120 days extra feeding for 350 euro at the highest cost section of the year.
    Not much different around here either
    A Simmental heifer will go a good price while even the best Simmental bulls would make much less than Limousin
    Is there something about bad know keep kill out

They will grade R at best as a Bullock, bigger frame takes longer to finish. Most LM sucklers will grade R+ or U. Because a SI has a bigger frame it takes longer just to get him to grade R. If he graded O+ he be back under 1400 euro at 360DW

Slava Ukrainii