Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Covid 19 Part XXXIII-231,484 ROI(4,610 deaths)116,197 NI (2,107 deaths)(23/03)Read OP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 199 ✭✭Morries Wigs

Nothing to see here something something pints something something Lanzarote something something something quit whinging.

man still p1ssed

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 199 ✭✭Morries Wigs

Vicxas wrote: »
    Well doom and gloom has certainly taken hold here this week. After such a promising start

theres more gloom now than before we had vaccines due to media

Wolf359f wrote: »
    You should make that comment when you dumped the link.
    I didn't know if you agreed or disagreed with the link.
    Hell someone linked a porn video before, although me thinks that was a mistake in the copy and paste! was fun calling them out over it.

So lock downs cost lives, I'm sure they do. Through this pandemic we we lost over 4.5k people to covid. How many dies because of lockdown? I assume it's more than 4.5k? If we didn't lockdown, we would have saved those lives you're talking about, but I've a strong feeling we would have lost ALOT more than 4.5k people to covid.

There's really no way to know, worst deaths per population is Gibraltar with 0.27% of the population dead from covid. That's based on 12% infected.
    So worst case for Ireland would be like 140k dead. I don't think we're close to knowing the actual CFR for covid yet. It's been proven if a country like Brazil let it rip though and keep the country open, people take extra care and stay home as much as possible, it still hurts the economy.

For Ireland to have 140k dead you'd need every single person in the country to get it at a 3% death rate, when in reality its less than 1%. And your post has numerous thanks?

Christ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,528 ✭✭✭✭km79

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

We're ****ed lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

What does that mean for people who have had one shot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,629 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

See yall in 2022

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,099 ✭✭✭✭fits

This is a huge blow. Feck it anyway. How many are we supposed to be getting?

If you enjoy boards like I do, please consider subscribing at this link.

Just 6 euro a month and no ads, no algorithms, no big tech.

Just make sure to use the email address connected to your profile when subscribing

https://subscriptions.boards.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,790 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

km79 wrote: »

Only Friday there were no such concerns apparently.

Spokesperson on the 9pm news was teed up to respond as such in response to news that many European countries were suspending AZ.

This is going to do nothing for those who had concerns about the speed of vaccine development and approval.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,790 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

What does that mean for people who have had one shot

Compete mess

Imagine those that have had two shots of it - now having to read what they've been given has been suspended.

Hopefully these blood clots pass as coincidental and not causal...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,629 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

I'm sure this means that their (non existent) supply will still come in but we won't be distributing it until this clears.

Could see a bumper April injections

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

The cost of piss weak leadership and not going to Russia for the jab gets more expensive by the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Monster249

The governments over-reliance on vaccines to get us out of this is backfiring miserably. They have no plan to live with Covid.

And now we get to languish in level 5 for an extra month or two while they squirm around in the background blaming it on other people.

The cost of piss weak leadership and not going to Russia for the jab gets more expensive by the day.

The Government have lost the people at this stage. People are back doing their own thing, even in small ways.

Even Prof Luke O Neill alluded to this yesterday on RTE speaking to Brendan O Connor.
    He said the Government need to lose their pride and get on the phone to the UK and USA using our political advantage and close relationship with both to ASK for some vaccines! He is right (assuming there are any to spare).

But more importantly he said the Government cannot keep the public under restriction indefinitely and need to see the huge stress that people are now under!
    Kudos to Luke O Neill, I actually thought he was sounding frustrated and annoyed himself during this interview......

its the first time I've heard direct criticism from one of these guys at the top, who's on mainstream media every day. Delighted the penny is finally dropping! They Government have treated the public like bold school children , no consultation, no nuanced approach to restrictions, no carrots if numbers decrease in certain counties, a ridiculous 5km rule that is in no other country, blame students, more restrictions.................

This is going on too long, there won't be mass riots because we all be called anti-vax, right wing scumbags (thank you RTE!).........so the more subtle way and the way most law abiding exhausted citizens will behave now is to get on with their lives, see their family, drive to another county, go for a 10km walk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,099 ✭✭✭✭fits

Hopefully it’s just a temporary suspension

https://twitter.com/drg1985/status/1371028670521999361?s=21

If you enjoy boards like I do, please consider subscribing at this link.

Just 6 euro a month and no ads, no algorithms, no big tech.

Just make sure to use the email address connected to your profile when subscribing

https://subscriptions.boards.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭gifted

There is no more lock down.....people are moving all over the place. Just stand on the side of a main road and watch the amount of cars going both ways...it's pre lock down levels....

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,698 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

fits wrote: »
    Hopefully it’s just a temporary suspension

https://twitter.com/drg1985/status/1371028670521999361?s=21

Hopefully. We will still be taking deliveries and there isn't an issue with administrating the vaccine so hopefully they can be distributed promptly when the green light is given.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,392 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

The Government have lost the people at this stage. People are back doing their own thing, even in small ways.

Even Prof Luke O Neill alluded to this yesterday on RTE speaking to Brendan O Connor.
    He said the Government need to lose their pride and get on the phone to the UK and USA using our political advantage and close relationship with both to ASK for some vaccines! He is right (assuming there are any to spare).

But more importantly he said the Government cannot keep the public under restriction indefinitely and need to see the huge stress that people are now under!
    Kudos to Luke O Neill, I actually thought he was sounding frustrated and annoyed himself during this interview......

its the first time I've heard direct criticism from one of these guys at the top, who's on mainstream media every day. Delighted the penny is finally dropping! They Government have treated the public like bold school children , no consultation, no nuanced approach to restrictions, no carrots if numbers decrease in certain counties, a ridiculous 5km rule that is in no other country, blame students, more restrictions.................

This is going on too long, there won't be mass riots because we all be called anti-vax, right wing scumbags (thank you RTE!).........so the more subtle way and the way most law abiding exhausted citizens will behave now is to get on with their lives, see their family, drive to another county, go for a 10km walk!

When did RTE use this phrase?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,086 ✭✭✭jackboy

Hopefully. We will still be taking deliveries and there isn't an issue with administrating the vaccine so hopefully they can be distributed promptly when the green light is given.

I’m wondering is there some politics behind this decision. A reason not to accept vaccines from the brits down the line. Seems an over the top decision at the moment which may actually kill far more people than this potential side effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,377 ✭✭✭Rebelbrowser

The suspension here of AZ seems huge news to me. I expected it also to be huge news in the UK (either the new cases leading to our decision or just the fact of our decision) as they have so many people injected with this already. Alas, no mention on the BBC or Guardian websites. Sky News does have reference in a crawling text update on screen.

So, are we totally overreacting or are they totally underreacting?

In a way, the UK response is arguably more prudent. They may be panicking in private, and media asked to go softly for 24 hours, while they try to get to the bottom of it. In terms of AZs future in Ireland, has it any? Public health told us it wasn't safe for over 70s. Now they pull it temporarily and say it may not be safe at all? Is there any way back from that, public confidence wise, even if it gets the all clear?

Obviously they had to stop injecting it today I should say....

Lastly, in terms of the UK, unless this is a batch or manufacturing site specific issue, shouldn't they have had had loads of these clots by now? If not, is it safe so? Or are the UK properly looking for such bad news? I'd see Boris as a pretty upfront, honest type though.....😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

jackboy wrote: »
    I’m wondering is there some politics behind this decision. A reason not to accept vaccines from the brits down the line. Seems an over the top decision at the moment which may actually kill far more people than this potential side effect.
    No politics, it's precautionary. If people weren't already so annoyed with AZ already, we'd would be more inclined to wait to see the outcome rather than just react.

is_that_so wrote: »
    No politics, it's precautionary. If people weren't already so annoyed with AZ already, we'd would be more inclined to wait to see the outcome rather than just react.

As usual, they take the ever conservative route. If the data was that damning then the UK and US would have also deferred.

We don't have the luxury of taking precautions at this stage, we just don't.

Holding back vaccines due to some potential side effect in a tiny proportion of people vaccinated is not cautious. It will kill people and prolong restrictions. If we were cautious we would keep using it until we have reliable data.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Monster249 wrote: »
    As usual, they take the ever conservative route. If the data was that damning then the UK and US would have also deferred.

We don't have the luxury of taking precautions at this stage, we just don't.
    I think caution with a new vaccine is a very good approach, however much it infuriates people. It shows a determination to make sure it's safe and it helps persuade people to take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,377 ✭✭✭Rebelbrowser

Seeing the posts since I posted above about the low incidence and the lack of UK data, this is most unfortunate. Its 99% not an issue but AZs reputation in the EU, rightly or more likely wrongly, really didn't need this. In fact it's gonna be a bigger problem in more vaccine wary countries like France.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,698 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

jackboy wrote: »

Don't really see how the HSE / Government have any other choice. Serious health and regulatory concerns are being raised about the vaccine, they have to take precautions until those concerns have been definitely ruled out which will hopefully happen quickly.

Can you imagine how exposed the State would be in terms of claims if it was proved the vaccine was having an adverse impact on people and the Government had been advised of this possibility and simply did nothing?

https://twitter.com/DonnellyStephen/status/1371041713029050370

I think caution with a new vaccine is a very good approach, however much it infuriates people. It shows a determination to make sure it's safe and it helps persuade people to take it.

I agree with caution, what I don't agree with is being too cautious at a point when our economy is dying because they don't know what to do.

If they want to be over-cautious, that's fine, once they acknowledge they can't ask the public to lockdown for another month to allow them the space for such decisions.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

gifted wrote: »
    There is no more lock down.....people are moving all over the place. Just stand on the side of a main road and watch the amount of cars going both ways...it's pre lock down levels....

Yep, I could cross the road last April without waiting. Now I have to wait to let cars pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,392 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

Monster249 wrote: »
    I agree with caution, what I don't agree with is being too cautious at a point when our economy is dying because they don't know what to do.

If they want to be over-cautious, that's fine, once they acknowledge they can't ask the public to lockdown for another month to allow them the space for such decisions.

What would you suggest as an alternative to NPHET advice and government policies?

Don't really see how the HSE / Government have any other choice. Serious health and regulatory concerns are being raised about the vaccine, they have to take precautions until those concerns have been definitely ruled out which will hopefully happen quickly.

Can you imagine how exposed the State would be in terms of claims if it was proved the vaccine was having an adverse impact on people and the Government had been advised of this possibility and simply did nothing?

https://twitter.com/DonnellyStephen/status/1371041713029050370

There are regulatory agencies paid to approve vaccines and make such decisions. Remember, there was similar stories about the Pfizer vaccine killing old people. We need to keep vaccinating until we have real data that there is an issue.