Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Covid 19 Part XXXIII-231,484 ROI(4,610 deaths)116,197 NI (2,107 deaths)(23/03)Read OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

niallo27 wrote: »
    My point is you will defend nphet no matter what they do, no matter what restrictions they want.

Do you have any evidence to support that? Otherwise you are just having a go at me personally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,332 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

I didn't say THIS week. I am talking about the last year, 12 full months of headline news in Ireland, 12 full months of Covid being the lead story on RTE News. NOT just headlines in Europe THIS week! It is everyday. It is constant.

I understand all countries are affected by Covid, all countries will focus on it especially when there is a spike. But we had NO spike last Summer, no high numbers, almost no deaths..........yet Covid was headlines every single day on media and RTE News! It has never changed. That is affecting people's psyche and their mental health!

And they have been similar every week. Look back at issues of other European newspapers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Elessar wrote: »
    If cases keep increasing (and they probably will, as schools return) those will be off the table until May at the earliest.
    Then compliance will fall even more. It's tough to get a balance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭Rosita

is_that_so wrote: »
    It's actually trends that matter and NPHET favour the 5 day total. We seem to be heading for a plateau(another one). Such a scenario has implications for April 5.

Saying we are heading for a plateau might be correct, but is still guesswork. Forget about April 5. I read an unnamed expert as saying that but for the B117 variant we'd now be at 20 cases a day. If that is fair and is informing policy then I'd say you could readjust your sights to July 5 maybe. If you are expecting anything other than PR-led cosmetic changes on 6 April you'll be disappointed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,794 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Elessar wrote: »
    If cases keep increasing (and they probably will, as schools return) those will be off the table until May at the earliest.

why?

the obsession with case numbers will have to come to end. With the likely candidates for hospitalization getting vaccinated; the relevance of case numbers should drastically decrease.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

despite having most of the highly vulnerable population vaccinated.

[citation needed]
    What % of over 70s are vaccinated?
    What % of under 70s are?
    What % of over 70s occupied hospital and ICU resources?
    What % of under 70s occupied hospital and ICU resources?

Case numbers will remain a significant factor until the risk to hospital resources becomes very low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Rosita wrote: »
    Saying we are heading for a plateau might be correct, but is still guesswork. Forget about April 5. I read an unnamed expert as saying that but for the B117 variant we'd now be at 20 cases a day. If that is fair and is informing policy then I'd say you could readjust your sights to July 5 maybe. If you are expecting anything other than PR-led cosmetic changes on 6 April you'll be disappointed.
    I have pretty low expectations but there is no way they'll keep the country in check until July let alone May without some change. We know it's PR stuff but that is all some people need to stay onside but it needs to be delivered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,765 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Let’s be honest here, going by your posting history, the negative obsession with doom and gloom is fairly obvious. The same applies to most of the restrictions thread, unrelenting doom, gloom, unfounded fear and misinformation (restrictions will never end, NPHET want to destroy the economy etc) just hysterical and irrational.

Good heaven’s.

Hysterical fictitious nonsense claims in a post critiquing a poster for doing the exact same thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,260 ✭✭✭Elessar

At some point we have to start accepting increasing cases as long as hospitalisations and deaths continue to decline.

Try telling that to Michael Martin, RTE, the shinners and everyone else who would love to paint the government as granny killers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Akabusi

At some point people are going to decide not to get tested. They will see it as the only way out of a the current level of restrictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,332 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Akabusi wrote: »
    At some point people are going to decide not to get tested. They will see it as the only way out of a the current level of restrictions.

That wouldn't affect hospitalisation figures.

At some point we have to start accepting increasing cases as long as hospitalisations and deaths continue to decline.

This is one of those views that sounds good and reasonable on the surface but completely misses the point. If increasing cases did not impact on hospitalisations and deaths then it wouldn't matter so much. That's why we don't publicly announce figures relating to ingrowing toenails, ear infections etc.

But all evidence up to now suggests that increasing cases and declining hospitalisations are incompatible. Especially with the B117 variant now dominant.

The only interest I have in the case numbers is as a guide to the extent and longevity of restrictions. If hospitalisations and deaths cease to be a factor then case numbers will hold little relevance. Lots of people suffer migraines but it doesn't cause social restrictions. That's the reason people look at case numbers of Covid. It is self-evident that the day the link is broken between increasing cases and the fallout from that people will "start accepting" increasing cases.

But people who get excited at falling hospitalisations need to consider that it is simply a function of decreasing case numbers. If cases increase again the presumably so will hospitalisations.

Akabusi wrote: »

We've long passed that point. I've read time and again of large numbers of people not showing up for appointed tests. And no doubt there are countless asymptomatic examples who were never tested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Do you really have to go down the smart ass 'citation needed' road?

The median age of death is in the mid 80s. A large proportion of our deaths comes from nursing homes. A significant number of the over 85s are vaccinated. Same for nursing homes.

I acknowledged that hospital numbers would have to remain low as well. Edit: I actually acknowledged that in the very next line of my post. Maybe you missed it in your rush to give give a smart ass reply.

Maybe you could try answering the questions then you might realise deaths and hospitalisations are not the same thing. Numerous posters have explained this several times in the thread. Myself included. Others have done in much better than me. There's also the population problem you have less people over 90 than you do over 65. As you go down the age groups the risk of hospitalisations may decrease but the number of people in the population pools increase.

Indications are from Israel that we have to wait until cohort 7 is vaccinated before the risk to hospital resources is less significantly impacted.
    It's still an evolving situation. It does seem unlikely at this point that cohort 4 and over 70s will enough. Which btw we have done almost none of the latter two so far. We are a long way from having the most vulnerable vaccinated and probably a longer way still from having the high risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Apparently the CEO of AstraZeneca told Micheal Martin that if he ever heard MM sh1ttalking him again he’d put his head through the wall. It was as this point that MM peed himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Apparently the CEO of AstraZeneca told Micheal Martin that if he ever heard MM sh1ttalking him again he’d put his head through the wall. It was as this point that MM peed himself.

A proud day for the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

Hospital cases at 8pm Friday

Total 331 (down from 341 night before)
    ICU 86 (down from 87 night before)

Previous Friday
    Total 401
    ICU 99

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭Klonker

Turtwig wrote: »
    Maybe you could try answering the questions then you might realise deaths and hospitalisations are not the same thing. Numerous posters have explained this several times in the thread. Myself included. Others have done in much better than me. There's also the population problem you have less people over 90 than you do over 65. As you go down the age groups the risk of hospitalisations may decrease but the number of people in the population pools increase.

Indications are from Israel that we have to wait until cohort 7 is vaccinated before the risk to hospital resources is less significantly impacted.
    It's still an evolving situation. It does seem unlikely at this point that cohort 4 and over 70s will enough. Which btw we have done almost none of the latter two so far. We are a long way from having the most vulnerable vaccinated and probably a longer way still from having the high risk.

I think you're right in terms of getting group 7 vaccinated and we will be on the home straight with very low numbers of hospitalisations and deaths. We are far away from this in terms of people still needed to be vaccinated but if our vaccine supply ramps up anywhere near its expected to this will come about very quickly. Groups 7 and up should receive at least a first does sometime in May. I can't see the justification on waiting until all these have a second dose as first dose offers such strong protection from serious illness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,697 ✭✭✭boardise

The priest was probably afraid to do anything when he saw how many turned up. What is the priest supposed to do, say "excuse me while i ring the gardai". And would gardai even turn up?

I was talking to a graveyard caretaker recently and i asked him how he controls how many go to funerals and he said he cant because they will just say they are visiting a grave.

Am I the only one who is mystified by this practice of regularly visiting graves ?
    Is the idea that one is somehow 'closer' to the departed at the grave ?
    But one could achieve that sentiment in any place where the deceased frequented when alive..e.g. a bedroom,garden, a favourite chair ,even a street, shop or bar etc. Close relatives can set up a little shrine with pictures ,candles and flowers in their houses if that does something for them. You can feel mentally 'close' to a departed loved one anywhere in fact.
    I can understand a periodic visit to do some tidying if necessary but daily or weekly visits seem rather pointless -in fact if anything they could simply extend the draining emotionality of grieving since the cemetery will be the scene of the
    traumatic force of the final parting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,349 ✭✭✭Wombatman

dockysher wrote: »
    In my home county mayo 13 people died of suicide and 8 of coronavirus in January. Yet we here coronavirus reported 24/7, nothing else seems to matter. And and endless lockdown.
    Joke of a government

What is the source for the 13 suicides number? I would be surprised if this number was available yet for January.

How many people would have died from Covid had there been no restrictions?

How many suicides would there have been had there been no restrictions?

The media don't generally comment on individual suicides, but they do on suicide rates. Like in the article below:

"No increase in Mayo suicide rate during pandemic – Coroner"
    https://www.mayonews.ie/news/36236-no-increase-in-mayo-suicide-rate-during-pandemic-coroner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,304 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

Not sure if this was posted already but interesting snippet in it: "There is an awareness in Government the next phase will be the last extension of the lockdown." https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/construction-among-reopenings-at-risk-if-covid-19-cases-keep-rising-1.4509098?mode=amp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,472 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Eod100 wrote: »
    Not sure if this was posted already but interesting snippet in it: "There is an awareness in Government the next phase will be the last extension of the lockdown." https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/construction-among-reopenings-at-risk-if-covid-19-cases-keep-rising-1.4509098?mode=amp

Yeah spotted that a little earlier in the times. I think they know they won't get away with anymore. It's starting to show now really that people are at the limit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,260 ✭✭✭Elessar

Yes I saw that too. Also from the same article:

"There is a view among some Ministers, however, that it would be unrealistic to expect figures to drop as low as they did after the first lockdown due to variants and the fact more parts of society are already open."

Yeah spotted that a little earlier in the times. I think they know they won't get away with anymore. It's starting to show now really that people are at the limit

I hope they treat people like adults and communicate that too. Would get more buy in if that's actually the case. Measures won't be sustainable if there is no end in sight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭shtpEdthePlum

LOL if they expect people to keep complying in April they're only coddin themselves. I can just imagine the guards calling to every garden to arrest the people chatting.

Btw people literally don't know you're not currently supposed to do that. My colleague calls to loads of people to chat from the garden and she would be extremely law-abiding. My neighbours are all doing it. I even did it two weeks ago because I was going insane with loneliness.

At this stage, the restrictions situation is laughable, except that it's a living nightmare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭Tazz T

TheDoctor wrote: »
    A proud day for the country

I can actually visualise him talking the head of astrazenaca and wringing his hands like Mr Burns from the Simpsons. it's a pathetic vision.

I wonder does he even realise that there are Astrazenaca facilties in this country that can be penalised in response to their breaking contractual agreements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭Klonker

It sounds like the next review after 4th April will be another 6 weeks so mid May. We should have the vast majority of vulnerable vaccinated by then so non essential retail has to open then, pressure will be to high against government not to do. Then restaurants mid June.

That's if vaccine supply holds up anywhere close to current projections. I'd actually accept this time frame if offered it now even though it'll be another few tough months if it means being back to where we were last summer by early to mid June.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭Tazz T

I'm not sure that's a road we want to go down TBH. I know the vaccine delays are frustrating but penalising employers with the amount of people we have unemployed at the moment might not be a great idea.

Getting the vaccine quicker would mean they wouldn't be unemployed. How do you think the US and the UK have had their quotas filled without delay?

'Hey Mr Astrazenaca, this is the president of the united states of america, we need those vaccines, as agreed. That's a good business you got going there. I wouldn't like to see any new legislation affecting your ability to do business here. Would you?'

Klonker wrote: »
    It sounds like the next review after 4th April will be another 6 weeks so mid May. We should have the vast majority of vulnerable vaccinated by then so non essential retail has to open then, pressure will be to high against government not to do. Then restaurants mid June.

That's if vaccine supply holds up anywhere close to current projections. I'd actually accept this time frame if offered it now even though it'll be another few tough months if it means being back to where we were last summer by early to mid June.

Yeah makes sense and I guess with lockdown they're referring to strictest measures. Would still probably be a slow easing after that.

Sounds good but they're not really in a position to decide it'll be the last extension. That'll depend on the situation. Back in October everything doubled in just a week. If that happened again their "awareness" would change too.