Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXIII-231,484 ROI(4,610 deaths)116,197 NI (2,107 deaths)(23/03)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,860 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Next 5 months are crucial.

Replace months with years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭OwenM

Marty Bird wrote: »
    Add obesity to that too the elephant in room pardon the pun.

But how do you address that without fat-shaming? Careful or you'll get cancelled....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,101 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

is_that_so wrote: »
    No, there may be some but seemingly it will be a case of not holding your breath for any length of time.

I think if the 5km goes, being back clock abs collect abs allow outdoor gatherings that will keep people onside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,992 ✭✭✭Russman

Gael23 wrote: »
    I think if the 5km goes, being back clock abs collect abs allow outdoor gatherings that will keep people onside

I think we'll get at least that on 5th, plus non contact sports training and probably golf and tennis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

The idea that Irish people are the only nationality worth locking down for almost an entire year is absurd.
    What is absurd is that you've assumed an approach that is wholly dependent on a unique set of societal norms will work elsewhere. Anyway, this is off topic so I've nothing more to say.

Sweden's drop in GDP is much the same as that in Denmark, Norway and Finland.

Are you seriously measuring freedom in terms of GDP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,463 ✭✭✭shinzon

Mr Varadkar said that April 5 could mark the return of click and collect services for non-essential retail outlets which are currently closed.
    ‘We said that the only kind of restrictions that we could see being eased in April would be construction, the 5km rule and allowing more activities outdoors and that remains the case.

With the caveat of could and may return tbh

https://www.msn.com/en-ie/news/other/e2-80-98on-the-right-track-e2-80-99-e2-80-94-leo-varadkar-details-two-restrictions-set-to-be-lifted-on-april-5/ar-BB1erZAK

Shin

Don't you know it's only Students that cause the spread, Travellers are immune to the virus ( and the law) apparently.

what's worse is half the police force chased a "young wan" accross the M50 like the last scene in Smokey and the bandit, they then rugby tackled her to the ground...But 300 travelers in one spot...not a ****ing peeeep!!

shocking and very selective brown shirt behavior.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,392 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

Are you seriously measuring freedom in terms of GDP?

Oh right. So, when you said that "keeping the economy open" was an argument in favour of Sweden's strategy, you actually didn't mean that "keeping the economy open" was an argument in favour of Sweden's strategy. Thanks for clearing that up. So, just to reiterate, Sweden's per capita mortality rate is an average of 700% higher than its nearest neighbours but you're grand with that because freedom and stuff. I'll leave you at it.

35 cases in donegal yesterday. People there must just not be complying. Ridiculous numbers at this stage for a county with a population of 160,000.

According to Philip Ryan in the Indo some of these things might be on the menu, although considering doesn't mean happening.
    Senior government officials are considering a range of outdoor activities which may be allowed if transmission of the virus falls significantly before April 5.

Central to these discussions are allowing people to take part in more sport such as golf and tennis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,262 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

In my opinion what will keep people onside is clear messaging and clear guidance .I have family in UK and in Canada , they never felt the need to sneakily break restrictions because they got a clear message of a road map out . In Canada for example they knew the date of when they could meet outdoors , they didnt know how many could meet and in what circumstances but knew it was some easing .They were told yesterday they can meet 10 people outdoors for now and are pleased with that .Here we are told nothing except kite flying leaks from Leo and we are left in Limbo .So because we have nothing to look forward to we tend to take things in our own hands and do what we feel will help us cope .
    If we had a date for this and that and a clear signal that things will ease we just might hang on in there but this "wishy washy maybe perhaps who knows"messaging is all wrong .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,080 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Possibly non contact training for kids as well

According to Philip Ryan in the Indo some of these things might be on the menu, although considering doesn't mean happening.

That's very nice of Philip Nolan to throw the morsel of golf to us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭bennyineire

35 cases in donegal yesterday. People there must just not be complying. Ridiculous numbers at this stage for a county with a population of 160,000.

0.0218 of the population

That's very nice of Philip Nolan to throw the morsel of golf to us.
    Ryan - not Nolan! One is not a journalist or maybe both are not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭eastie17

A bit like the Waterford Whispers bit on twitter about Jacinta Arden holding a press conference saying they were going to nuke the country as it was "the only way to keep Covid out" :) when there was the recent 10 cases or whatever there was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,642 ✭✭✭timmyntc

We have no option but to burn the whole county to the ground.

Build a wall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,737 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

two zeros in the last week i suspect is poor reporting or test centers closed at the weekend and distance people have to travel so they are waiting before getting tested causing clumps of numbers.

although yes numbers are too high

although i have seen a building site reopen and shopfitting going on this week so i guess thats not helping

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 548 ✭✭✭ek motor

rusty cole wrote: »
    what's worse is half the police force chased a "young wan" accross the M50 like the last scene in Smokey and the bandit, they then rugby tackled her to the ground...But 300 travelers in one spot...not a ****ing peeeep!!

shocking and very selective brown shirt behavior.

They're terrified of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 548 ✭✭✭ek motor

So does that mean no changes on April 5th?

As the days get longer and weather gets sunnier people will be meeting up and travelling around no matter what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭muddypuppy

To me this (and all the other talks about relaxing restriction) means that we'll move to level 4+ in April (without the outdoor dining). It's also makes a nice headline, so I can't see how they'll keep calling it "level 5 with relaxations".
    That said I think the transition will be staggered over April.

---

The difference between level 4 and level 5:
    Outdoor gatherings:
    Level 4: "Gatherings of up to 15 people can take place outdoors. For example: outdoor arts events or training events."
    Level 5: "No organised outdoor gatherings should take place."

Outdoor exercise:
    Level 4: "Outdoors: Non-contact training can take place but only in pods of up to 15." (could be changed to smaller groups for adults, I think)
    Level 5: "People may meet with people from one other household in outdoor settings when taking exercise."

Funerals:
    Level 4: "Up to 25 mourners can attend."
    Level 5: "limited to 10"

Retails:
    Level 4: "Essential retail and businesses that are primarily outdoors only can remain open. All other retail and personal services closed."
    Level 5: Closed

Travel restrictions:
    Level 4: "Stay in your county apart from essential work, education and other essential purposes."
    Level 5: "People are required to stay at home except for travel for work, education or other essential purposes, and will be permitted to take exercise within 5km of home."

---

Honestly it's not much, but it would mean the world to me to be able to cycle/hike/run without having to worry about being stopped and fined, and maybe play a few rounds of tennis with friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,063 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

Does anyone in Ireland even play Tennis ? Excluding Dublin 4 .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

I don't blame the Gardaí for not bothering with knackers. If you're a guard why would you put yourself and your family at risk of trying to break up a crowd of 200 completely unreasonable uneducated people who will then go crying discrimination to Pavee point? I'm utterly sick of travellers crying discrimination.

I was in university with a settled traveller who genuinely was integrating themselves into society and I don't recall them ever needing to cry discrimination. A perfect advertisement for the HEAR scheme. It's always the trouble makers who invite trouble upon themselves who suddenly cry discrimination.

That list that Pontins has was certainly I'll judged in its execution but I'm sure it was based on previous experience of trouble with Ken ackers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,737 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

There are over 180 tennis clubs affiliated with Tennis Ireland on the island in all four Provinces

https://www.tennisireland.ie/clubs/

i dont think an assumption of there none of them is a good starting point.

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

There are 180 tennis clubs apparently. Golf is also up for consideration and that'll draw the crowds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭muddypuppy

You can always start :) It's a pretty good way to exercise while keeping a distance and having fun.
    Honestly it would not be my first choice of sport, but I'm so strapped for interaction and socializing that I'll take anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,167 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

muddypuppy wrote: »
    You can always start :) It's a pretty good way to exercise while keeping a distance and having fun.
    Honestly it would not be my first choice of sport, but I'm so strapped for interaction and socializing that I'll take anything.

Handling the same balls can't be good!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,063 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

muddypuppy wrote: »

It was said in jest . I have no issue with Tennis or any sort of restriction being lifted . Its just that it doesnt mean anything for most of the population

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭mean gene

SnuggyBear wrote: »
    What kind of loser watches those briefings

People with time on their hands who are obsessed with the thing