Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

big syke wrote: »
    Ah come on now apples and oranges.

Totally different ball game now.

December had Xmas and with it an infliux of people from the UK, indoor visists shot up, Pubs opened, etc.

We also have vaccines now and this has already reduced numbers in HCW, Care home and hospital aquired infection by huge percentages

He will still be going on about Christmas in 2 months nevermind him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 903 ✭✭✭big syke

Graham wrote: »
    All valid points.

We should probably look at a more measured relaxing of restrictions this time around.

100% agree.

We need a clear timeline/metrics in order to move forward to new areas of relaxing of restrictions.

This entire minium of 6 weeks befro moving on is a load of nonsense.

Changing the metrics or indeed no clear metrics, bad communication etc aint helping anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,883 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

12 months later , 4 months into a level 5 lockdown, with all figures coming down, and the curve flattened - NPHET through Philip Nolan telling a weary public to hold Firm we are at a precaious point - yet again - for 12 months thats all we have heard - is it any wonder people want to start actually living again - utterly fed up with it all :-

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/covid-19-nphet-warns-of-worrying-signs-of-slippage-among-the-public-1.4508489

"Just hang in there another 10 weeks people, my salary is secure so those of ye struggling can keep the black dog fed". When you're on the threshold of losing your business every single day is an added nail in the coffin. Meanwhile, the gravy train keeps trundling along for NPHET and the Government. The threat of PUP and/or a general election for Michéal, Leo & Simon would refocus minds sharply. Don't forget who you're there to represent, the general public will have a final say on the matter yet...that ballot box doubling as a swinging boot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

thebaz wrote: »
    12 months later , 4 months into a level 5 lockdown, with all figures coming down, and the curve flattened - NPHET through Philip Nolan telling a weary public to hold Firm we are at a precaious point - yet again - for 12 months thats all we have heard - is it any wonder people want to start actually living again - utterly fed up with it all :-

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/covid-19-nphet-warns-of-worrying-signs-of-slippage-among-the-public-1.4508489

"Slippage" sounds like something accidental or unintended. People are knowingly and intentionally disregarding restrictions.

thebaz wrote: »

And do you know what even if we are locked down unitl the Autumn there is nothing we can do about it.

I know that sounds defeatist and all but its reality. We are getting closer and closer to an illiberal democracy .

I know i sound tinfoil hat and it is not my intention but honestly if we are told to lockdown in December (not becasue of covid but becasue the flu is back like what has been loosely suggested) most will adhere to the personal rules and businesses have no option but to follow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭Klonker

Don't know if posted in any of the threads here yet.

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/dail-hears-calls-to-extend-the-gap-between-covid-jabs-40185445.html

Richard Bruton asking about spreading doses further apart to facilitate an earlier easing of restrictions. Also questioning case numbers as measurement for restrictions as vaccine is rolled out as the same number of cases in April for example may lead to half the hospitalisations and ICU admissions than the same numbers from last year due to vaccines. At least someone in the Dail is using a bit of critical thinking and asking the right questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

"Just hang in there another 10 weeks people, my salary is secure so those of ye struggling can keep the black dog fed". When you're on the threshold of losing your business every single day is an added nail in the coffin. Meanwhile, the gravy train keeps trundling along for NPHET and the Government. The threat of PUP and/or a general election for Michéal, Leo & Simon would refocus minds sharply. Don't forget who you're there to represent, the general public will have a final say on the matter yet...that ballot box doubling as a swinging boot.

Why do people keep going about an election? What exactly would it change? Dam all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

acequion wrote: »
    Ah will you get over yourself with that rubbish!! Have you been living under a stone?? Do you seriously believe other countries are as bad as here or are you desperately trying to convince yourself??
    We've had one of the strictest regimes in the world, that's been well flagged and boasted about by none other than the Govt themselves. Other countries are now talking of easing soon but no budge here. Many other countries have had several sectors open, albeit with restrictions. We have the harshest travel restrictions in the EU. You may be a cheerleader for all this and I think you are but there are less and less people agreeing with you, more and more people utterly sick of all this and even more sick of the constant doom and gloom, the persistent lack of any glimmer of hope, the can constantly being kicked down the road, while goalposts keep getting moved.That poster missed little if anything, but you're missing a lot!

Jaysus that's a whole heap of "rubbish" for certain . Not even more endless bs about the "strictest regimes" in the universe?????? Are you living under a big boulder or something? Do you really believe you're in North Korea? . As for your other comments in this thread - they are ringing the bell at the top in a nonstop whingefest of fiddle and tantrum playing.

But yes you're correct most other countries close to us have similar if not greater restrictions- such as the UK who do not allow people leave their homes. And again the UK which has the harshest travel restrictions- with it being actually illegal there to travel for holiday or leisure purposes with fines of up to £10,000 and which just been made even stricter https://www.bbc.com/news/business-56295486
    But dont believe any of that - Just we're the worstest? Sure ...

Here's the UK stay at home order for comparison btw:
    You must not leave or be outside of your home except where you have a ‘reasonable excuse’. This is the law. The police can take action against you if you leave home without a ‘reasonable excuse’, and issue you with a fine (Fixed Penalty Notice).

You can be given a Fixed Penalty Notice of £200 for the first offence, doubling for further offences up to a maximum of £6,400.

Our restrictions here have been fairly lightly policed with many exemptions for reasons why you can travel over 5km and that with thousands taking the piss flying of to Playa del Tontos and the like.

And as for the daft hyperbole - no I'm not a 'cheerleader" Compared to your good self. :D - and anyway the hairy legs and size 10 feet wouldn't make a good look at all!

As for this piece of hysteria
    more and more people utterly sick of all this and even more sick of the constant doom and gloom, the persistent lack of any glimmer of hope, the can constantly being kicked down the road, while goalposts keep getting moved.

While that may apply to yourself- the fact is we're in the midst of a pandemic and still dealing with the ****fest at Christmas which saw Ireland getting first prize in the Highest infection rate in the world. And guess what! Things are indeed improving albeit slowly.

And yeah I get it there are some who don't have the sense to have a bit of cop on and acknowledge that takes time for everyone who needs it to be vaccinated - but rather the usual screaming covid denial and let it rip merchants because whaaaa they want to party. Give us a a break. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭Renault 5

Yesterday, the Deputy Chief Medical Officer appealed to parents not to see the return of the remaining primary school classes next Monday as a signal to return to work.

What did they expect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,985 ✭✭✭Russman

And do you know what even if we are locked down unitl the Autumn there is nothing we can do about it.

I know that sounds defeatist and all but its reality. We are getting closer and closer to an illiberal democracy .

I know i sound tinfoil hat and it is not my intention but honestly if we are told to lockdown in December (not becasue of covid but becasue the flu is back like what has been loosely suggested) most will adhere to the personal rules and businesses have no option but to follow.

We're not going to be locked down until autumn, unless you count a few remaining restrictions that will probably still be in place re gatherings and maybe pubs.

We won't be locked down anytime because of flu.

Russman wrote: »
    We're not going to be locked down until autumn, unless you count a few remaining restrictions that will probably still be in place re gatherings and maybe pubs.

I said if.

I was making a point.

I wouldn't be so sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,252 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Is there anything to be said for another mass?

SnuggyBear wrote: »
    I wouldn't be so sure

I can see restrictions in flu season masked as a measure to prevent some low levels of covid.

But its really to protect the poorly equiped healthcare for the flu season.

I was just thinking level 3 is actually useless for hospitality. Most hotels need level 2 to be viable. Are we looking at August for level 2?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,853 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Is there anything to be said for another mass?

Another restriction you mean

I said if.

I was making a point.

I know, but I think there are more likely potential bad scenarios out there than a flu lockdown in December, I just don't think that would happen. Despite Leo spouting off as usual.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

Yep. The same messaging for the past year regardless of how we're performing. And they wonder why people are tuning out.

It's just taking longer this time.

The first and second wave we peaked at a 7 day average of around 1,000.

After Christmas we peaked at around 6,500.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

All bets are off at this point. The public will put up with anything, that’s clear to me now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,009 ✭✭✭acequion

RGS wrote: »
    can we please stop comparing Ireland to Australia. One is a land mass thousand of miles away from the next land mass, the other is an island with 2 different governments and with over 300 border crossings and relies on ro ro freight for essential supplies.

This 1000 times but the lunatics just won't listen. Australia and New Zealand are a million times more autonomous than any EU country and have been like that since the beginning of their histories as their geographic location has made self sufficiency essential. To the best of my knowledge they have corridors with each other and along with that have EVERYTHING they need within their own territories ie loved ones, business, leisure and education interests, second properties etc etc. A much better climate in both countries, so plenty of places within that they can get to for a winter /summer break. Certainly enough to make closed borders much more tolerable for a longer period.

We, here, are a totally different animal as over the decades we've built up an interdependency within the EU. And benefitted massively from same. And for the many whose lives are spread over more than one EU country, this fanatical talk of going farther with international travel restrictions and this ignorant comparing us to countries which are wildly different, is just getting too much.

So much for the Irish being great Europeans :rolleyes: And with our main opposition party likely to form the next Govt and hugely banging the drum for tyrannical international travel curbs, you really would fear that the golden age of outwardness and connectivity and the wonderful concept of free movement of peoples, will soon be a thing of the past.

Another wave of mass emigration will be on the way methinks.

Why do people keep going about an election? What exactly would it change? Dam all

What an inspired notion, why don't we abolish democracy altogether and install a dictator for life. We're halfway there already with all the freedoms taken away. I hear those work camps are fashionable again...between me, you & the auld fellow upstairs I'd settle for Cavan over Leitrim.

Yes, last Christmas happened. I'm aware.

In a month's time, we'll be closer to summer than Christmas. Remember what last summer was like?

But Christmas...

All bets are off at this point. The public will put up with anything, that’s clear to me now.

But what will the public do.

Nothin. Most will adhere some wont. Business, sports clubs etc will adhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,252 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

But Christmas...

...wasn't worth it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,268 ✭✭✭Elessar

Klonker wrote: »
    Don't know if posted in any of the threads here yet.

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/dail-hears-calls-to-extend-the-gap-between-covid-jabs-40185445.html

Richard Bruton asking about spreading doses further apart to facilitate an earlier easing of restrictions. Also questioning case numbers as measurement for restrictions as vaccine is rolled out as the same number of cases in April for example may lead to half the hospitalisations and ICU admissions than the same numbers from last year due to vaccines. At least someone in the Dail is using a bit of critical thinking and asking the right questions.

Jesus fair play to that man. Finally someone with the ear of government talking sense and asking rational questions, and his questions are sound. A great start to the day!

...wasn't worth it

Stop would ya most people did **** all at Christmas

In fairness that's very true. I suppose the flip side is look at the damage a minority acting the maggot caused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

Yes, last Christmas happened. I'm aware.

In a month's time, we'll be closer to summer than Christmas. Remember what last summer was like?

at this point graham has mentioned last Christmas more times than george michael. it's getting a bit tedious recycling the same argument over and over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

But Christmas...

Was a complete ****efest.

Play stupid games and get stupid prizes like the highest rate of infection in the world. Well done us. And yeah we're still mopping up after that

But hey let's go party snuggles ...