Opinions on onlyfans and adult entertainment industry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 dragx

Don't care what people do as long as they're not hurting themselves or anyone else.

I am worried about how shortsighted people are though. I don't think even after years of it being drilled into us people realise nothing is every truly gone off the internet, not as long as someone wants it. People love digging up dirt on people.

I reckon in a few years we'll see a lot of articles about women having their careers ruined over it because they wanted to earn a few bob quickly when they were in their early 20s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭ulster

dragx wrote: »
    Don't care what people do as long as they're not hurting themselves or anyone else.

I am worried about how shortsighted people are though. I don't think even after years of it being drilled into us people realise nothing is every truly gone off the internet, not as long as someone wants it. People love digging up dirt on people.

I reckon in a few years we'll see a lot of articles about women having their careers ruined over it because they wanted to earn a few bob quickly when they were in their early 20s.

People just don't accept ordinary women doing this sort of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

ulster wrote: »
    People just don't accept ordinary women doing this sort of thing.

There's been a stigma around selling sex for generations.
    It's not going to disappear any time soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭85603

But they don't know the emotional or psychological state of their subscribers. How could they? They may have thousands of subscribers, you can't say that they're all vulnerable. A few of them may be, but that's not the fault of the girls selling the content.

It's a business model that works for them. They're not deliberately trying to exploit people.

Its a business model that works for now.

Two things which I'll really welcome is the proliferation of many more such sites, and also of 'celebrities'. Once we have 100s of such sites and thousands of flavors of airhead celebs and popstars, once the market widens exponentially, then the correct price for sucking a lolly pop or singing about breaking up will find its natural place.
    These vacuous completely replaceable low effort entitled twerps finally getting the price they actually deserve. Dance around in your pants? ... meh ok, a euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,367 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

The average life expectancy of a porn star is only 37.43 years whereas the average life expectancy of an American is 78.1 years.
    All down to massive suicide numbers. Fun while it lasts, but come their 30's they're washed up nobodies replaced by the next 18 year olds on the scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Arthur45

I found it crazy that just being a woman with sex appeal, you can easily earn a looooooot of money in this world.
    Everybody is free so if a girl want to do it fine, her choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭katiek102010

KiKi III wrote: »
    I’ve never heard of anyone being trafficked or forced into having an onlyfans account. As far as I know, this isn’t a problem that exists in the world. If anyone was being forced into posting, obviously I would be against that. Where’s the confusion?

Oh yes it does and it has become a huge issue recently.

How else do the traffickers and those running the slave prostitution rings make money through a global pandemic with every country in lockdown..

Through my previous employment I have had extensive training in a role to support victims of human trafficking and slave labour.

On a global level in excess of 3/4 of the women working in all areas of the sex industry are trafficked and victims of slavery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,152 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

Not really an option at the moment.
    I know a couple of lads who visit prostitutes regularly even in these times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

The average life expectancy of a porn star is only 37.43 years whereas the average life expectancy of an American is 78.1 years.
    All down to massive suicide numbers. Fun while it lasts, but come their 30's they're washed up nobodies replaced by the next 18 year olds on the scene.
    I can't believe you are quoting a complete BS figure produced by a "Rev. Jennings" for an anto-porn right-wing group that has long since been discredited on every basis.
    On a global level in excess of 3/4 of the women working in all areas of the sex industry are trafficked and victims of slavery.
    It really depends on the definition of trafficking and slavery.

Don't get me wrong - I'm not saying that slavery doesn't exist. But there's been so many BS claims over the years from different vested interests and right-wing extremists that I take any figure with a pinch of salt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,490 ✭✭✭stefanovich

Arthur45 wrote: »
    I found it crazy that just being a woman with sex appeal, you can easily earn a looooooot of money in this world.

Not a lifestyle choice I'd want for anyone I care for.

These are usually young women. Huge potential for regret in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

Arthur45 wrote: »

That's as old as time.

Good looking women and rich husbands :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,644 ✭✭✭its_steve116

She's the girl from Coolock who tried to escape from the Gardai on the M50.
    https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/m50-chase-gemma-green-onlyfans-20208537.amp?__twitter_impression=true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭ulster

Is that right. Now she can attract a shower of dicks instead of just being a dick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

But here's the wan that's drivin' beserk,

Why do onlyfans and horses work

Bullet The Blue Shirts

The internet was a mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

1950's Ireland: "I bet in 2020 we will have flying cars"

biko wrote: »
    1950's Ireland: "I bet in 2020 we will have flying cars"

Nice pun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Does she do Garda cosplay?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Why are some elements of the media insisting on making her some kind of celebrity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Youd want to be very badly stuck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,197 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

SeaFields wrote: »
    Why are some elements of the media insisting on making her some kind of celebrity?

Very simple, they put a story on her on their website and it gets more clicks. People like to have something to bitch about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,463 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

where is she getting the money from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,645 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Can we please stop giving this oxygen thief attention. Its what she wants.

Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue

Clicks pay well. Didn't her Instagram get something like 7 million hits.

Reality TV and book deal next. The world we live in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Maybe an appearance on the Late Late too ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

The internet was a mistake.

It was a great thing until all the dum dums arrived in the mid 00s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,239 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Equal opportunities, more female scumbags needed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Book deal?

I'm guessing it'll be some manner of colouring book.

pgj2015 wrote: »
    where is she getting the money from?

Her fans, her only fans.
    Maybe an appearance on the Late Late too ?

She’d need a terminal disease for that.