Opinions on onlyfans and adult entertainment industry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭lillycakes2

Claire Byrnes should of interviewed a woman/girl about this Only Fans website, I felt like they were telling that fella he was a great lad and fair play to him .
    God only knows what his content entails. Sounds like its causing some very serious problems for young vulnerable girls and their families. It shouldnt be taken lightly. That fella made it seem like it was the finest......There is so much more to it than what was discussed or the problems it is causing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

Are you saying you'd fire someone for talking to somebody else about this "Oh yeah Mary in accounts does/did onlyfans" and whatever conversation ensues from that in the canteen say.

Just like say, someone said "oh yeah, John in accounts, has a YouTube channel" and whatever conversation ensues from that.

Is that a fireable offence.

Simply saying "Oh yeah Mary in accounts does/did onlyfans" in itself is not the problem. It is the tone of voice and what happens next.
    dotsman wrote: »
    if I did hear anybody talking badly about her or treating her badly.

If I heard someone simply say it (but not in a malicious manner), I would simply advise them to keep it quite, as it is not good for the team for rumours to be circulating, or that someone they tell may end up mistreating her as a result and it would cause a $hitstorm and possibly get them into trouble too.

Hell, it reminds of those dumbasses from PWC. Finding a colleague attractive is not a problem. Quietly, among friends, discussing how you find a colleague attractive is not a problem. Writing down a list of "who you find to be the hottest grads" in an email and sending it to colleagues - fired for complete stupidity. Forwarding said email - fired for complete stupidity. Publishing it, along with photos of the girls, on the front page of major newspapers so they can be humiliated in front of their family and friends - that's apparently OK :( (but more to do with the poor standards that passes for journalism these days).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,932 ✭✭✭take everything

dotsman wrote: »
    Simply saying "Oh yeah Mary in accounts does/did onlyfans" in itself is not the problem. It is the tone of voice and what happens next.

If I heard someone simply say it (but not in a malicious manner), I would simply advise them to keep it quite, as it is not good for the team for rumours to be circulating, or that someone they tell may end up mistreating her as a result and it would cause a $hitstorm and possibly get them into trouble too.

Hell, it reminds of those dumbasses from PWC. Finding a colleague attractive is not a problem. Quietly, among friends, discussing how you find a colleague attractive is not a problem. Writing down a list of "who you find to be the hottest grads" in an email and sending it to colleagues - fired for complete stupidity. Forwarding said email - fired for complete stupidity. Publishing it, along with photos of the girls, on the front page of major newspapers so they can be humiliated in front of their family and friends - that's apparently OK :( (but more to do with the poor standards that passes for journalism these days).

That PWC thing seems totally different and it was right that such action was taken against those people.

Why do you use the term rumours. Rumours are untruths.
    That wouldn't be what you'd be dealing with.

And someone just discussing it surely wouldn't be responsible for someone else's behaviour.

That PWC thing seems totally different and it was right that such action was taken against those people.
    Actually, it would be very similar. It's all about acting unprofessionally and making the workplace uncomfortable for others.
    Why do you use the term rumours. Rumours are untruths.
    That wouldn't be what you'd be dealing with.
    Rumours are not "untruths". Rumours are statements that aren't verified that may or may not turn out to be correct.

Rumours about what a colleague may or may not have gotten up to in their personal life have no place in the workplace. It's no different to spreading rumours 20 years ago that someone was gay. What business was it of the team? (and what business is it of the team if a girl sold some photos?) - and while some people may be spreading the rumour innocently and not passing judgement, everyone knows that it is only a matter of time before someone learns of it that does use it to abuse the victim.

Spreading a funny story in good humour/nature is perfectly fine when you know the person the story is about will laugh it off. It's part of normal human bonding. Spreading a malicious story that could embarrass/shame a colleague is bullying; and especially so if the intent of spreading the story is to cause that effect. And I won't tolerate that for a moment. It's not that I am some super anti-bullying vigilante (although I despise bullies), or even that I am worried about lawsuits (and you could very easily end up facing an expensive one). It's simpler than that - it's just that bullying is counter-productive. It's about promoting stupidity, cliques and an unpleasant work environment when a well run org/team tries to do the very opposite.
    And someone just discussing it surely wouldn't be responsible for someone else's behaviour.
    If someone lacks the intelligence to understand that their spreading of this story can have a negative impact on their colleague's life, they have no place on my team.

Ask yourself this - why would you care if a colleague sold some photos in her past?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Quantum Baloney

Funny on these sites you always have loner type dudes just touching their wangs and shooting off nuts onto towels and stuff. Very few view counts. It's a sad state of affairs.

Actually, it would be very similar. It's all about acting unprofessionally and making the workplace uncomfortable for others.

Nobody's talking about making things uncomfortable for anyone. What is being discussed is whether discussing Mary's other job is a fireable offence.

How far would you take that censorship stance. If her second job was as a stripper (nothing wrong with that, more power to her), would you expect everyone in the office to pretend they knew nothing about it and fire anyone who mentioned it.
    Rumours are not "untruths". Rumours are statements that aren't verified that may or may not turn out to be correct.

What I mean is this wouldn't be in the realm of rumour (which are statements that often have little basis).
    Mary does have an only fans and a court for example could verify that if someone was fired for mentioning it.

Rumours about what a colleague may or may not have gotten up to in their personal life have no place in the workplace

Wouldn't it be her second professional life.
    I'd find it hard to believe an office would say absolutely nothing if, say, she moonlighted as a stripper. Which is basically the same thing (offering a sexual service for money).
    It's no different to spreading rumours 20 years ago that someone was gay.

That's purely personal. And again the terms "spreading" and "rumours". I'm not talking about that. I'm talking about
    even simply acknowledging that Mary has a second job.
    everyone knows that it is only a matter of time before someone learns of it that does use it to abuse the victim.
    And the person who abuses or bullies her is the one who should be fired.

Spreading a malicious story that could embarrass/shame a colleague is bullying;

Again with the terms "spreading" and malicious" and "shame". If someone is doing that to bully someone fire them. But simply acknowledging the truth that she has an onlyfans?
    and especially so if the intent of spreading the story is to cause that effect. And I won't tolerate that for a moment.
    Of course. How would you go about showing robustly it was bullying though and not risk dealing with a case of unfair dismissal of the person who mentioned/discussed it.

If someone lacks the intelligence to understand that their spreading of this story can have a negative impact on their colleague's life, they have no place on my team

Again the "spreading".

Ask yourself this - why would you care if a colleague sold some photos in her past?

I'd at least be interested to know if she was paying tax on her second profession. :D

Other than that I wouldnt be interested but some people might be interested for the same reason whether their colleague was a stripper at night. Or a youtuber.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,368 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

The people on OFs who are loud and proud and want to be on TV and on front page of news paper are committed to their cause. But there are 1000's upon 1000's on there trying to do it in secret, it will not end well for so many, as it will all end up on porn sites, and they will all be exposed and suffer mentally because of it.
    But as for the ones who want more and more publicity, they seem happy, and know their material will be around for generations to cum .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭capefear

Not bad for 2 months work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭Nicetrustedcup

Years back I dated a cam girl, did I care that she was a cam girl ? No, did I care what she was doing on these sites ? No, was she makeing good money ? I think so,

I don’t judge anyone who does it as it’s each to there own, did it cause us to stop dating nope, what caused it to end was we did not really click

It’s even escorts I don’t judge them at all, if I had a child I would not like them to do it however I have watched enough docs about escorts and quite a lot of time I fell sorry for them and how they end up doing it, watched one on transgender girls in brazil who end up working as sex workers it’s so so sad how it happens as they are transgender they are looked down by everyone and they end up working as a sex worker on the streets to keep a roof over there family’s head this includes mother’s father’s grandparents.

There is two sides to sex work, ones that are forced into it and the others that randomly end up in it and myself I fell sorry for them and both sides should be supported and helped and not looked at as the worst thing going ..... Like myself I am office worker who works 50 hour weeks to deliver at the top all the time and people judge me for this and wonting to go up the ladder, it’s each to there own if it does not effect you who cares !!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,768 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Lot more lonely men out there then I first thought if that's what some of them are making.

Fair play to people who see a opportunity, but seriously would you be well to pay money got that stuff

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,015 ✭✭✭Feisar

capefear wrote: »

Feck me that's some tin.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

Fair play to her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Invidious

Then again, she posts in her bio that she's in the top 0.07% of OnlyFans accounts worldwide. So she's making more than 99.93% of others ... so hardly representative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

Invidious wrote: »
    Then again, she posts in her bio that she's in the top 0.07% of OnlyFans accounts worldwide. So she's making more than 99.93% of others ... so hardly representative.

Ah not representative at all.

And all the money that she's hoovering up is money that's not spread to other OnlyFans wans.

She's Jeff Bezos and the rest are working in the fulfillment centre :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Invidious

Padre_Pio wrote: »
    And all the money that she's hoovering up is money that's not spread to other OnlyFans wans.

Occupy OnlyFans! We are the 99%!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

helpful wrote: »
    This onlyfans “star” on Claire Byrne is very embarrassing. He’s as dull as anything. His looks are quickly fading for me anyway

Though I’m sure my opinion is very important to him as he’s earning €60,000 a month

and what's he doing to earn 60k a month???? does he have a big mickey?

Nobody's talking about making things uncomfortable for anyone. What is being discussed is whether discussing Mary's other job is a fireable offence.

Spreading stories about someone's private life that they may be embarrassed about or get abuse over is making things uncomfortable and is bullying. I really don't understand how you can't see that.

As I previously said, someone simply saying it is not in itself the problem. Saying with intent, acting badly, or maliciously is. If Mary tells people, that is fine. If people know and keep it to themselves, that is fine. If people start treating her badly, that is not fine. Such people don't belong on a team or in a professional job.

Also, in terms firing, I would use the term loosely - I'm really talking about "managing out".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭1800_Ladladlad

I'd make it clap for that now.

Spreading stories about someone's private life that they may be embarrassed about or get abuse over is making things uncomfortable and is bullying. I really don't understand how you can't see that.

The terms "spreading" and "stories" again.

A story suggests it's made up, not true.
    If Mary has an onlyfans and people talk about Mary having an onlyfans, should those people be "managed out".

For example if Mary is a teacher and in the staffroom people acknowledge and discuss this then who would you manage out in that scenario.

Or if Mary was a teacher and worked at night as a stripper, who would you manage out in that scenario. Mary or the people who talked about it.

I'm being a bit facetious here, I admit, but this follows from what you are saying doesn't it.

What would you think of a teacher with an onlyfans. The fact she has an onlyfans might be worth acknowledging by other members of staff and doing something about it. Or would you manage the other teachers out.
    As I previously said, someone simply saying it is not in itself the problem. Saying with intent, acting badly, or maliciously is

I agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,093 ✭✭✭conorhal

Exactly. Women are laughing all the way to the bank. Fair play to them.

There are plenty of grifters laughing all the way to the bank, I would not say 'fair play to them'.

Not to the 'romance grifters' that lonley women on line send thousands to for their 'sick mother', 'cash for a plane ticket to visit you' ect.

Not to 'odd job' grifters that squeeze exorbitant amounts of money from the elderly to clean their gutters

And not to the Onlyslags peddling parasocial relationships that prey on weak vulnerable men with an addiction to porn who's bank accounts they empty.

But for some strange reason, men it seems are a perfectly permissable target to grift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,015 ✭✭✭Feisar

conorhal wrote: »
    There are plenty of grifters laughing all the way to the bank, I would not say 'fair play to them'.

Not to the 'romance grifters' that lonley women on line send thousands to for their 'sick mother', 'cash for a plane ticket to visit you' ect.

Not to 'odd job' grifters that squeeze exorbitant amounts of money from the elderly to clean their gutters

And not to the Onlyslags peddling parasocial relationships that prey on weak vulnerable men with an addiction to porn who's bank accounts they empty.

But for some strange reason, men it seems are a perfectly permissable target to grift.

Ah in fairness there is a big difference in your three examples.

First they came for the socialists...

Feisar wrote: »
    Ah in fairness there is a big difference in your three examples.

There really isn't. They are all consensual and they're all a grift intended to prey on the vulnerable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,368 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

The girls making money on Onlyfans are opportunistic. It doesn't mean they're preying on the vulnerable.

It doesn't mean they aren't either, but in all likelihood they are.
    It's not like there isn't a glut of porn out there if you want to look at naked people on the internet.
    With Onlyfans, you're not paying for porn, your paying for a parasocial relationship that is obviously dependent on an emotional or psychological vulnerability on the part of the mark.

It's a sleezy and manipulative grift designed to bilk as much money as possible out of that vulnerability.
    At best it's dammaging to people's ability to form real relationships, at worst....

https://www.nbcnews.com/news/us-news/man-arrested-killing-family-stealing-210k-send-woman-he-met-n963901

conorhal wrote: »
    It doesn't mean they aren't either, but in all likelihood they are.
    It's not like there isn't a glut of porn out there if you want to look at naked people on the internet.
    With Onlyfans, you're not paying for porn, your paying for a parasocial relationship that is obviously dependent on an emotional or psychological vulnerability on the part of the mark.

It's a sleezy and manipulative grift designed to bilk as much money as possible out of that vulnerability.
    But they don't know the emotional or psychological state of their subscribers. How could they? They may have thousands of subscribers, you can't say that they're all vulnerable. A few of them may be, but that's not the fault of the girls selling the content.

It's a business model that works for them. They're not deliberately trying to exploit people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,368 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

The guys who tip and sub to these people truly belief they have some sort of relationship with these girls, guys. You see it from time to time on twitter, how a guy loses the plot and goes ape sh it on a girl and starts throwing the fact he has tipped her for months and demands something in return.
    Sad to see. Everyone of those lonely guys truly believes '' yes one day we'll meet and live happily ever after''

Sneed wrote: »
    If you need female companionship then surely paying for a prostitute is better value for money?
    Not really an option at the moment.

Sneed wrote: »
    It is. Might not be wise but plenty of girls are working.
    They're obviously not getting much work though. Actually escorts have their own site now "escortfans" which works the same as Onlyfans.

But you are asking the women in these professions to shut a part of themselves down ...so that they don't care.

I mean there is enough of that in the world already ....we all shut ourselves down in our jobs.

Some of the most ruthless selfish people I have ever met were women. Men don't have a monopoly on being a sociopath. Not saying that being a stripper makes you a sociopath, that's a different thing altogether. In fact some of them I'm sure enjoy it. Some people are naturally exhibiltionists.
    But well ....its a bigger ask when you want a woman to shut herself down to empathizing with another woman in a marriage.

I mean you are already asking these women to shut down a lot of themselves even without that.

I am not saying you are wrong logically. But people do have guilt and they do care ...because they are human they care about others. Its natural.

Not everyone does. Some do. Some don't. And where do you draw the line? Some women flirt with married men all the time, is that wrong too? Arguably yes, and arguably worse, as there isn't the personal connection with strippers or onlyfans girls. There isn't the possibility to do anything with the latter group.

Also, lots of guys end up at strip clubs in the course of a stag night, but have no interest in sampling the merchandise so to speak - it's just an expensive late bar.
    But on the other hand ..you kind of do have to be a robot to make money really.

You have to be dead.

Do you? Some people love the attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

I'd be surprised if she was able to sustain that. I suspect there were a lot of rubberneckers wanting to see an Irish Onlyfans girl. The novelty will wear off.

Not the sharpest in the box as she put her earnings details out there and got a lot of haters saying that they'd grass her to the Revenue Commissioners.

Plus, she tried to use the new revenge porn legislation to go after people who had spread her OnlyFans content online.

OnlyFans owns her content. In ten years' time if she wants to remove all her content, she won't be able to.