Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXIII-231,484 ROI(4,610 deaths)116,197 NI (2,107 deaths)(23/03)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,627 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

I think once we kick off the vaccination cycle next week it should really help with hospital numbers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,215 ✭✭✭prunudo

Guess the interest in covid is coming to an end, less than 2 pages since cases announced and 45mins since last post.
    The end of the pandemic must be nigh, thank ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,060 ✭✭✭Polar101

prunudo wrote: »
    Guess the interest in covid is coming to an end, less than 2 pages since cases announced and 45mins since last post.

Maybe everyone is at the shebeen/student party.

I can say I'm pretty fed up with the pandemic myself. I'm sure everyone feels the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭mcburns07

Was just thinking the same thing myself, cases are going down, vaccine rollout is proceeding, we've been in Level 5 so long we're all becoming numb to the restrictions, most people expect restrictions to start being eased from next month. Is there anything left to discuss? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

Coming up with new material in year 2 is going to be a slog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,215 ✭✭✭prunudo

Polar101 wrote: »
    Maybe everyone is at the shebeen/student party.

I can say I'm pretty fed up with the pandemic myself. I'm sure everyone feels the same.

I've noticed among friends who wouldn't be on board's, that they're becoming more vocal and fed up with things. Picking up on things like nphets constant concern or deciding to visit a park or a beach more than 5km away.

One thing that dawned on me today, i miss just being able to go into a shop and buy something. This crap of online shopping, then having to wait a week for delivery, constantly refreshing the couriers tracking page to see where in the world it is gets tiresome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Tpcl20

It's a joke at this stage. This is coming from us, a household who have been completely staunch on the restrictions up until now. We still clean our shopping before putting it in the fridge as we have high-risk family that we look after. On the other hand, how can people be expected to keep this up indefinitely with no end being indicated, only "reviews" of the completely over-the-top and largely ineffectual restrictions. The current rules are like a punishment, we'll be made write lines next. "I will not be bold because that makes Mehole and Sir Leaksalot cross"

I had a friend over to the garden last week and it actually got me through this week. They were the first person outside of my family that I saw in nine weeks. The rest of the people I know are seeing each other all the time, with the exception of people who have underlying conditions or caring for their elderly relatives (although they'll be vaccinated before the end of the month so that might go out the window).

During the day, when I'm working, I'm facing the front window and all of my neighbours are having people around to their houses to chat in the garden. That particular rule is the absolutely baffling, banning visits to the garden surely means that people are going indoors to not be seen in areas where the neighbours might report you.

Are there gardaí around the place? I haven't seen any in weeks and I go for a run or a cycle every day.

Hospital numbers at 8pm

Total 401 (down from 427 last night)
    ICU 99 (down from 103 last night)

Last Friday

Total 528
    ICU 135

First time less than 100 in ICU since Jan 7th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,086 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Super progress

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

TheDoctor wrote: »
    Hospital numbers at 8pm

Last Friday

Total 528
    ICU 135

Sorry for swearing but that is absolutely ****ing brilliant.

Edit - I am not sorry for swearing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Hospital numbers at 8pm

Last Friday

Total 528
    ICU 135

I actually can’t believe how quickly ICU is dropping after stagnating for so long. It could be <50 in two weeks or so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭Cork2021

I actually can’t believe how quickly ICU is dropping after stagnating for so long. It could be <50 in two weeks or so!

4 people died in ICU in the last 24 hours RIP.
    On a positive note this downward trend and dare I say it exponential decrease!

Cork2021 wrote: »
    4 people died in ICU in the last 24 hours RIP.
    On a positive note this downward trend and dare I say it exponential decrease!

Looks like a day with 0 ICU admissions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,202 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Tpcl20 wrote: »
    During the day, when I'm working, I'm facing the front window and all of my neighbours are having people around to their houses to chat in the garden. That particular rule is the absolutely baffling, banning visits to the garden surely means that people are going indoors to not be seen in areas where the neighbours might report you.
    https://twitter.com/mugecevik/status/1367520145808248841

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,769 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Coming up with new material in year 2 is going to be a slog

They gave it a go with the still births to be fair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

It's a tough one though. Absence of evidence isn't evidence of absence. The only countries with the tracing abilities to really detect and quantify the additional risk of an outdoor gathering kept covid under control to the level the risk could never be measured. In the US there was outdoor transmission documented but this was largely also linked to no masks and a lack of social distancing. I'm unaware of any in depth research into outdoor gatherings.

It's known that the virus spreads really well in gyms, restaurants and cafes. One year on though there are so many blindspots. That's not fair on society imo. That's mainly down to the Europe and the US having such crap public health infrastructure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

I've noticed among friends who wouldn't be on board's, that they're becoming more vocal and fed up with things. Picking up on things like nphets constant concern or deciding to visit a park or a beach more than 5km away.

One thing that dawned on me today, i miss just being able to go into a shop and buy something. This crap of online shopping, then having to wait a week for delivery, constantly refreshing the couriers tracking page to see where in the world it is gets tiresome.

I used to love ordering online, I bloody hate it now and can't wait to support Irish shops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭poppers

Wonder was there some truth in the Gripit.ie article, Maybee it just me but it seems we have had alot less of the Zero covid advocates on the airwaves the past week.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

10 posts in 4 hours. People getting as tired of Covid talk as Covid getting tired of vaccines. Hopefully :)

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

SnuggyBear wrote: »
    I used to love ordering online, I bloody hate it now and can't wait to support Irish shops.

Actually, a few Irish shops have decent online presence now. Worth checking out. Even likes of Currys are quite good, as are Harvey and PowerCity.

And, for foodies, some pubs are doing great food takeaways, quality roast dinners etc. online for click and collect. Always worth considering as a treat, and keeping those businesses going. Check your local pub, some of them are open for this and could do with the business I'm sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭Tyrone212

Irish times. Government likely to miss target of issuing 1.25m vaccines by end of March.

The Taoiseach, Micheál Martin, has admitted meeting the target of issuing 1.25 million Covid-19 vaccine doses by the end of March is proving “very challenging” as the Government considers a push for an improved system of sharing unused vaccines in the EU.

According to sources with knowledge of the situation, Ireland will be part of a group of member states likely to write to the European Commission next week, arguing for a formalised redistribution mechanism to kick in when a surplus of vaccines accumulates in a member state.

Alongside Ireland, Denmark, Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia are likely to be signatories to the letter, to be signed by Minister for Health Stephen Donnelly, sources said. The countries will likely argue that such an approach would foster solidarity, and would be especially relevant where there is a risk of vaccines going out of date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,923 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I'm going to be taking the vaccine myself, but fair play to Ian Brown for pulling out of the Neighbourhood Weekender festival in Warrington, UK as his way of protesting the festival's proposal to use vaccine passports for gaining entry. https://www.bbc.com/news/entertainment-arts-56278140

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,541 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

Tyrone212 wrote: »
    Irish times. Government likely to miss target of issuing 1.25m vaccines by end of March.

The Taoiseach, Micheál Martin, has admitted meeting the target of issuing 1.25 million Covid-19 vaccine doses by the end of March is proving “very challenging” as the Government considers a push for an improved system of sharing unused vaccines in the EU.

According to sources with knowledge of the situation, Ireland will be part of a group of member states likely to write to the European Commission next week, arguing for a formalised redistribution mechanism to kick in when a surplus of vaccines accumulates in a member state.

Alongside Ireland, Denmark, Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia are likely to be signatories to the letter, to be signed by Minister for Health Stephen Donnelly, sources said. The countries will likely argue that such an approach would foster solidarity, and would be especially relevant where there is a risk of vaccines going out of date.

Understandable about a high chance of missing the targets, it needs to be hammered home it's a supply issue. We've had enough HSE bashing about the HSE messing up the vaccinations.

To be honest, they are talking about AZ, mainly in France and Germany. AZ keeps for 6 months so there's no immediate risk of it going out of date. It maybe a push for something to change regarding countries getting new supplies then they still have weeks worth in stock (excluding second doses) it may also be a push for reclucant people in France and Germany to take up the offer of vaccination or risk supplies.

I'm going to be taking the vaccine myself, but fair play to Ian Brown for pulling out of the Neighbourhood Weekender festival in Warrington, UK as his way of protesting the festival's proposal to use vaccine passports for gaining entry. https://www.bbc.com/news/entertainment-arts-56278140

I wouldn't hold a person who was "railing against the use of masks to prevent the spread of the virus" to much high regard myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,923 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Wolf359f wrote: »
    I wouldn't hold a person who was "railing against the use of masks to prevent the spread of the virus" to much high regard myself.

Well I respect his decision to pull out, at least he's not hitting a policeman with a firework. Wouldn't be a fan of his solo stuff more a Stone Roses fan, but I would defend his right to say it even though I disagree myself.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

Well I respect his decision to pull out, at least he's not hitting a policeman with a firework. Wouldn't be a fan of his solo stuff more a Stone Roses fan, but I would defend his right to say it even though I disagree myself.

He's a right to say he disagrees with vaccine passports, it's a very complex issue. There's 2 sides to the debate:
    1: it puts restrictions on people who are not vaccinated (either by their age/beliefs or medical conditions)
    2: It relaxes restrictions on those who are less of a risk to others (with the end goal of zero restrictions for everyone)

So we can all be restricted until a critical mass of vacinated people occurs, or we can allow certain events to occur with vaccinated people.
    But restricting those events to solely vacinated people would be unfair to those who want to take a vaccine but due to age or medical conditions they cannot.
    It's a vicious circle. Guess you could offer 99% ticket sales to vaccinated people and 1% to non vaccinated people (or vaccinated people who forgot their passport). It would reduce the risk on transmission dramatically and it wouldn't be a total ban on non vaccinated people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,500 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

He'll be pulling out of a lot of festivals going forward so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,314 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

He'll be pulling out of a lot of festivals going forward so

Hes clearly doing a Van Morrison and aiming for the conspiracist market.

Dont think its been a very lucrative market in the past due to its small numbers. If he thinks thats what he has to do his newer stuff really must not be doing well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭Probes

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    Do we take it you don't have experience with children and their shoe requirements?

I had a 1 and 2 year old at the start of this all, we measured their feet and got shoes online. Didn’t seem much of a bother to me personally.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

I've been pretty critical of NPHET the last few months, and disagree with much of what they have been talking about lately (i.e. restrictions to continue after vaccines etc...), but this week pushed me over the edge. Seeing their fearmongering about pregnant women, without even the slightest bit of science to back them up, angered me more then then i can really put into words. We recently found out we are pregnant, and this statement by NPHET is aimed at terrifying couples like us into hiding in our homes in fear.

It's disgusting behaviour, that needs to be called out more. They should continue to advise the government, as we do need medical experts to help us get through this pandemic, but they need to be removed from any sort of press conferences or public speaking positions.

I'm not going to the protest in Cork today, but i'm done listening to anything they say.