Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

Boggles wrote: »
    He was boasting about violence.

I have seen that video, anyone and there was only a small minority wearing masks were told to take them off by the "good people" - I suppose when they are shouting vile abuse at the Guards it's clearer.

Boasting about violence? Really? He clearly isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

50c64z.jpg

1000s?

Butterfly is indeed apt.

What the hell has racism got to do with an anti-lockdown protest anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,988 ✭✭✭Russman

It’s been a good discussion so I will try not to specifically combat any of your points in the hope of having “the last word”. Completely agree, and it has probably been the absolute major source of my frustration on this thread, that people are far far too quick to take moral high grounds on these threads. A lot of my posts on here are aimed specifically at trying to poke holes in the arguments of those who come on pointing fingers (like yesterday, those who claimed that young people meeting and partying “don’t care about who dies” etc). The inference is that they are the caring “good” people, and the opponents of lockdown are invariably uncaring and have no regard for suffering so long as they can have a pint.

If those who believe that the lockdown, or rather the duration and severity of it, was justified — they have been quick to make opponents of that view “own” the moral responsibility for those who die of Covid. Personally, I’ve never shied away from owning it, because I have to. It would be intellectual cowardice if I did not. But I am a believer in proportionality, and that proportionality extends to things that occur even in times of crisis. We must always remember that what spurred the call for lockdown last year was not an increase of 3,000 or so in the average annual deaths of mainly elderly people — it was the belief that the death toll would quickly spin into absolutely cataclysmic territory. People like Sam McConkey were talking tens of thousands and these kind of projections, after the initial shock of scenes In Italy, prompted the view that lockdown and all the destruction it would yield was still a better pathway. I simply do not believe that the measures we have taken have been proportionate to the risk — and while perhaps more understandable in urgency — after the passage of a year the continued imposition of a 5km travel ban (among other things) do not in my view stand between us and an utter sustained cataclysm. I doubt that you will agree with that, and I appreciate that in your own application of proportionality you have deemed the Irish strategy to be largely (and perhaps not perfectly) justified because it saved lives in the immediate short term.

So while I agree that we have to try move into the future positively, I think that this cannot be a slogan or means for people to disown the moral responsibility for the positions they advocate. Where poverty is exacerbated, where the quality and length of life of people is diminished by the immediate and long terms effects of the shutdown around the world — you must own the sense of moral responsibility, as I and many others have been made to own ours. As the consequences of lockdown unfold, and the extent of the suffering that an abruptly changed world will inflict mainly on the poor and the young (and in the full complexity of the world, it likely will lead to a least some level of death and perhaps conflict in certain places). Even if you believe that this suffering is a lesser evil than what might have been a higher Covid death toll, you still cannot shirk the moral responsibility by simply telling people that they have to be more positive and that bad things happen anyway.

But as I said, it’s been a good discussion and you argue well. If more people took the time to explore eachothers’ views on here, rather than claiming that NPHET are a tyrannical cult or that young people are uncaring degenerates for cracking up in a time of unprecedented and sustained suppression of what it means to be young, we would have much healthier discussion.

That’s a very well balanced post. As you allude to, it’s perfectly fine for someone to think the government have got their response about right, or that they’ve been way too overboard with the restrictions. Personally I think they’ve got some things wrong and most things about right in general terms. It doesn’t mean I like any of it or welcome any of it. Am I giving them a free pass ? Absolutely not. Not restricting inbound travel last year was madness for example.
    That said, the two things that really grind on me are the narratives that a) anyone likes or wants any of this. Nobody likes it, but not liking the options doesn’t mean there’s better ones out there, and b) that the government or NPHET have some “agenda” at play here. That’s all simply batsh1t crazy talk. I get that it’s borne out of frustration (with possibly a few people just on the wind up), but really, in a democracy, where politicians depend on popularity, why oh why would any government put this on its people if there was a better option ? Sometimes the simple answer is the answer, it doesn’t have to be a complicated conspiracy or plot.

No idea it was just plucked out of thin air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Very worrying about the bar being raised for restrictions as things get better virus wise - plus vaccines being ramped out.

Look at New Zealand , barely any covid life pretty much normal, and they get one case and the whole city of Auckland goes into a 7 day lockdown.
    Is that what we have to look forward to here ? as numbers plummet due to vaccines, as soon as 1,2 new cases appear is it all out panic and shutdown ?

And what stage will they not care about the odd case as the population at large is vaccinated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

SnuggyBear wrote: »
    No idea it was just plucked out of thin air.

It's a way of delegitimizing people.

Far right, racist, nazi, anti vax - if the media make people believe that everyone that is critical of lockdown is one of the above, than "normal" people will be afraid to admit they are against the current lockdowns.

Prevents it from reaching that critical mass...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭cjyid

Very worrying about the bar being raised for restrictions as things get better virus wise - plus vaccines being ramped out.

Look at New Zealand , barely any covid life pretty much normal, and they get one case and the whole city of Auckland goes into a 7 day lockdown.
    Is that what we have to look forward to here ? as numbers plummet due to vaccines, as soon as 1,2 new cases appear is it all out panic and shutdown ?

And what stage will they not care about the odd case as the population at large is vaccinated.

Well New Zealand have only started vaccinations so you'd hope once they have the majority of the population done, when 1 or 2 cases pop up in the future it'll be a case of just carrying on!

We'll find out soon enough anyway, they'll have their population done in no time the way those lads operate.

Really?

Why would you think the Far Right would want to tell lies and try sow an narrative that the establishment is not be trusted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,053 ✭✭✭✭titan18

I see Germany lifting restrictions and have a pretty decent plan in place for it over the next few months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,234 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Absolutely nothing, especially when the organiser was a foreigner and half the musicians that were supposed to perform before the Green was closed are Black.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Sobit1964

Really?

Why would you think the Far Right would want to tell lies and try sow an narrative that the establishment is not be trusted?

Just stop. You have been caught out. Don't double down with the 'Far Right' rubbish. It's not credible, nor are your posts claiming it is.

Sobit1964 wrote: »
    Just stop. You have been caught out. Don't double down with the 'Far Right' rubbish. It's not credible, nor are your posts claiming it is.

He's just embarrassing himself at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

100%

I traveled in both Spain and Italy last summer and it was striking how different both were to Ireland.

Northern Italy in particular, the supposed European epicenter of this deadly virus had swimming pools, water parks and nightclubs open. People were actually 'living with Covid'.

Meanwhile in backward Ireland people were still tuning in for the daily angelus misery-fest where case numbers were read out with po-faced solemnity and George Lee blubbed about R-numbers. We have a far higher proportion of the population under the age of 65 and we have cowered in terror from this social-media pandemic. We have a weak Government and weak-minded fools cheering them on

Ironically it's the lockdown-cheerleaders, who could have most done with seeing what is happening in other countries, that would have most benefited from coming out from under their beds and doing a bit of traveling.

Again this doesn't help any argument you are trying to make

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Sobit1964

In amusing news from the UK via skynews:

Nearly half of over-80s with both vaccine doses breaking lockdown rules...

I get the image of grannies knacker drinking in big not socially distanced groups - good for them!

Sobit1964 wrote: »
    SnuggyBear wrote: »
    He's just embarrassing himself at this stage.

I'll go with the Commissioner on this one lads.
    The vast majority of those who took part belong to a number of factions including anti-vaccine, anti-mask and anti-lockdown far-right, far right groups, and those intent on trouble and disorder

It's hardly news.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 452 ✭✭Sharpyshoot

titan18 wrote: »
    I see Germany lifting restrictions and have a pretty decent plan in place for it over the next few months.

It would be more beneficial if we had a plan also.

@Boggles,
    Here's just one example of the right-wing racists at the protest on Saturday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,053 ✭✭✭✭titan18

It would be more beneficial if we had a plan also.

Yup, I like the German plans. Give clear incidence rates and what will open when they get below those. They were being one of the more cautious too all along so they're clearly not as worried about the variants as our shambles are.

@Boggles,
    Here's just one example of the right-wing racists at the protest on Saturday

Gript Media?

Anyway I have watched that lads videos, 2 long anti vax speeches and a crowd roaring constant vile abuse at Guards. It's an hour I'm never getting back.

Again just confirming the Commissioners summation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

The thread being successfully derailed i see

Was it ever on the rails?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭dalyboy

titan18 wrote: »

Germany is going reopen businesses and society from next week and they’ll review and proceed “every 14 days”.

Incredible how a civilised and economically advanced nation of proactive leadership can make a spectacle of Ireland’s bumbling leaderless government. (What was being touted in Ireland? Every 6 weeks to “review” our pathetic reopening. Hahaha)

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.dw.com/en/coronavirus-germany-extends-lockdown-with-plan-to-relax-restrictions/a-56763824

Gript Media?

So because he is interviewed on gript, nothing he says is valid?
    Maybe he is voicing his opinion on Gript because no one of the mainstream media will let him him has his voice there.

I don't want Gript to be the voice of the people but none of the mainstream channels are allowing people like him or me to voice their frustrations.

So because he is interviewed on gript, nothing he says is valid?
    Maybe he is voicing his opinion on Gript because no one of the mainstream media will let him him has his voice there.

I don't want Gript to be the voice of the people but none of the mainstream channels are allowing people like him or me to voice their frustrations.

I'm not really interested in his opinion TBH and for someone who doesn't want GRIPT to be the voice you do link to them a lot.

His video which you linked to and I watched confirm exactly what the Commissioner has said.

If the assertion is this lad has more information than the security forces of the state, then that is plain nonsense.

The Far Right like they have done elsewhere are using the pandemic to sow lies and mistrust.

That isn't my opinion, and with the greatest respect to Paddy the Comedian or whatever he styles himself as, he hasn't a fúcking clue what is going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Was it ever on the rails?

Do you think its possible for someone to take issue with lockdown restrictions and for that person not to be a nutbag?

His video which you linked to and I watched confirm exactly what the Commissioner has said.

Honestly did you see anyone in his videos reacting badly to him because of the colour of his skin?

If what the Garda Commissioner said is true then surely at least one person would have reacted hostilely towards him.

Honestly did you see anyone in his videos reacting badly to him because of the colour of his skin?

If what the Garda Commissioner said is true then surely at least one person would have reacted hostilely towards him.

What I saw in his video was 2 long anti vax "speeches" and a bunch of "good people" roaring vile abuse at the Guards.

What you have decided the Commissioner stated is that everyone that was at the "riot" (Leo) were far right racists.

That's plainly false.
    The vast majority of those who took part belong to a number of factions including anti-vaccine, anti-mask and anti-lockdown far-right, far right groups, and those intent on trouble and disorder

I never suggested nor did Harris that the weirdo's that showed up who were telling the guards they were Luciferians trying to depopulate Ireland by killing people with vaccines, or RTE were grounding up babies were racist.

But it certainly all stems from the same weak minded well.

These people in a time where it has never been easier fact check something have willingly decided to enclose themselves in their echo chambers and cut themselves off from functioning society, our understaffed mental health care system certainly isn't helping either.

The restrictions have little impact on their lives, and I imagine most of the fear is coming from the thoughts of their benefits been cut from the economic damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

It's a way of delegitimizing people.

Far right, racist, nazi, anti vax - if the media make people believe that everyone that is critical of lockdown is one of the above, than "normal" people will be afraid to admit they are against the current lockdowns.

Prevents it from reaching that critical mass...

Remember, the purpose of propaganda is not to convince you of an argument but to convince you that you are in the minority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭francogarbanzo

I never suggested nor did Harris that the weirdo's that showed up who were telling the guards they were Luciferians trying to depopulate Ireland by killing people with vaccines, or RTE were grounding up babies were racist.
    You mean like the few 100 racists and weirdos who broke the law, attacked people with bottles and fireworks and stood around singing Aslan's Crazy World whilst simultaneously shouting out "Shove your F'ing Vaccines up your Arsé"?

I'm going to head out and a limb here and suggest, no.
    Do you think the general populous was representative of the collection of weirdos and racists who showed up to riot on Saturday?
    So it's the gubbermints fault these people are racist violent mentally unwell scum?

Nah, you didn't suggest it, you stated it clearly.