Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,879 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Graham wrote: »
    It's the population adhering to the restrictions that are paying for it, and construction, non essential retail, etc etc etc.

You're right, it's the lads who've been hiding under their beds for the last year who are the real heroes of this story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

Then the numbers will take longer to drop and the restrictions will be in place for longer.

Who cares? Your dammed if you do and dammed if you don't. Nothing positive coming from the government. The game is up pal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭uli84

“ Though no final decision has been made by Uefa, there is growing speculation that Dublin will ultimately lose their Euro 2020/2021 games given the level of ongoing Covid-19 restrictions here. The nationwide Level Five Covid response has been extended to 5 April, with few substantial relaxations expected until at least May.”

It is only at Level One of the government’s plan that the Aviva Stadium could host a capacity consistent with Uefa’s expectations for the tournament.

Losers hahahah, whole Europe is laughing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Monster249 wrote: »
    Do you honestly expect people to blindly abide for over a year? As time goes on less people will and that's unavoidable. You might not like it but that's the truth.

Most people will abide by the rules. That much is clear now. Any rule breakers or voices of dissent will be very quickly rounded upon by the media and our politicians and publicly shamed.

I find it amazing how many people think that everything will open up soon given what we have seen over the past year both in terms of an easily manipulated critical mass of the public combined with one of the most risk averse, conservative public advice panel on the planet.

The timeline for this year will be similar to last year with a very limited reopening of hospitality in July but with the spectre of variants and need to another round of immunisation booster shots coming to the foreground at the end of the summer.

Then we will get into the familiar territory of preserving hospital capacity, limit contacts etc.

The fear of Christmas 2021 ensures that in order for public compliance to be controlled then limited personal liberties will only be granted and the continued campaign of fear and demonisation of any form of dissent will need to be maintained until this time next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭alexonhisown

And more and more people will break the restrictions as they see countries with similar numbers to us open up.

But it’s not just about countries with similar case numbers, we need to take into account who has been vaccinated here. My father is 88 and only had his first vaccine last Friday. And we also need to see what happens in a few weeks with schools reopened now.
    I don’t blame people breaking the 5k restriction to meet up with family on a beach or park for a walk.
    I do think click and collect and the 5 k rule should be abolished.

I haven’t been stopped by gardai in a few days, i was getting stopped every day up to now, probably because schools are back and too many cars on road to have checkpoints

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I find it terrifying. The obedience. The compliance. The unthinking following of orders. The transformation of the media into a mouthpiece. The ascendance of administrators. The suspension of ancient liberties and family customs. The forced internment of healthy citizens and visitors. A TD suggesting that armed soldiers should patrol these internment centers, and not being pilloried for it. All for the common good and national interest, of course. All for the collective.

The traits are within us to slip into a real totalitarian nightmare, given the right circumstances. And malevolent individuals are no doubt noting what the people are willing to put up with, and what it takes to get them there. And all it took was a virus with a mortality rate of what, 1%?

It makes my blood run cold and the hairs stand up on the back of my neck.

Very well said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭JMNolan

I find it amazing how many people think that everything will open up soon given what we have seen over the past year both in terms of an easily manipulated critical mass of the public combined with one of the most risk averse, conservative public advice panel on the planet.

I agree 100% with the bolded section but we will open soon. Not on our timeline but that of the US/UK/France/Spain etc. They will open a lot earlier and we will follow. We always follow.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

You're right, it's the lads who've been hiding under their beds for the last year who are the real heroes of this story.

I don't know anyone that's been hiding under their bed.

Or are we just back to the childish 'scaredy cat' line of attack again?

uli84 wrote: »
    “ Though no final decision has been made by Uefa, there is growing speculation that Dublin will ultimately lose their Euro 2020/2021 games given the level of ongoing Covid-19 restrictions here. The nationwide Level Five Covid response has been extended to 5 April, with few substantial relaxations expected until at least May.”

It is only at Level One of the government’s plan that the Aviva Stadium could host a capacity consistent with Uefa’s expectations for the tournament.

Losers hahahah, whole Europe is laughing

Dont be ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

17larsson wrote: »
    The outrage over that house party in Limerick on Newstalk this morning was hilariously saddening (I didn't think those two words could go together).

Some expert on something was on saying how this was so much worse than kids hanging around at a local skate park because "there was singing, hugging, and dancing going on and it was absolutely disgraceful".
    If you were straining to hear the words and just going by the tone he was using you'd think he was talking about a murder that took place.

I really hope this young generation are strong minded enough to see through this crap

I found Harris and McEntee - 2 ministers of a democratically elected government let's not forget - very sinister regarding the students.

Demanding a pound of flesh and demonising the participants for the mere audacity not to cower in fear from the 99.5% survival virus.
    This is vindictive behaviour from two fcuking ministers.

paw patrol wrote: »
    I found Harris and McEntee - 2 ministers of a democratically elected government let's not forget - very sinister regarding the students.

Demanding a pound of flesh and demonising the participants for the mere audacity not to cower in fear from the 99.5% survival virus.

Ya, found that odd alright as RTE had an indoor gathering - no issue, guards had a party indoors - no issue. Seems the politicians only like to take on easy targets, i.e. students and working people protesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,567 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

JMNolan wrote: »
    I agree 100% with the bolded section but we will open soon. Not on our timeline but that of the US/UK/France/Spain etc. They will open a lot earlier and we will follow. We always follow.

No we don't.

The US is an absolute basket case, whose President described the actions of a couple of states yesterday as "Neanderthal".

The UK have clusterfooked the pandemic from the start, not once have we followed their lead and in reality we had to over compensate for the Norths folly, who have now seen sense and are following a more conservative approach.

France are starting their 3rd Wave and their problem seems to be going forward is actually getting people voluntarily vaccinated.

The Government of Spain washed their hands of the pandemic last summer and handed it over to the regions.

So no, we have followed none of those countries in the past 12 months and are not likely to in the future either, because that would be dangerously stupid.

Where’s the public’s pound of flesh for the fact that Covid positive patients were put into nursing homes that we then not protected?

Why do we not get to hold anyone’s feet to the fire over the fact that around 50% of all hospital Covid cases this year were acquired in hospital?

No let’s easily distract and anger the public whilst also turning themselves against each other over students who’ve been largely obedient for 12 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,053 ✭✭✭✭titan18

I agree. Removing the 5k and click and collect restrictions would be enough for now.

Hairdressers and the rest of construction should open too imo.

Boggles wrote: »
    No we don't.

The US is an absolute basket case, whose President described the actions of a couple of states yesterday as "Neanderthal".

The UK have clusterfooked the pandemic from the start, not once have we followed their lead and in reality we had to over compensate for the Norths folly, who have now seen sense and are following a more conservative approach.

France are starting their 3rd Wave and their problem seems to be going forward is actually getting people voluntarily vaccinated.

The Government of Spain washed their hands of the pandemic last summer and handed it over to the regions.

So no, we have followed none of those countries in the past 12 months and are not likely to in the future either, because that would be dangerously stupid.

Must be just a co-incidence so that the UK started mandatory hotel quarantine in February and two weeks later Ireland signs off on mandatory hotel quarantine plans. Absolute pure co-incidence because not once have we followed their lead.

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-56064759?xtor=AL-72-%5Bpartner%5D-%5Binforadio%5D-%5Bheadline%5D-%5Bnews%5D-%5Bbizdev%5D-%5Bisapi%5D

https://www.rte.ie/news/2021/0217/1197571-covid-19/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭uli84

In the meantime Free GP care for children aged between six and eight that was meant to go ahead last year delayed indefinitely, probably not just that.

Where’s the public’s pound of flesh for the fact that Covid positive patients were put into nursing homes that we then not protected?

Why do we not get to hold anyone’s feet to the fire over the fact that around 50% of all hospital Covid cases this year were acquired in hospital?

No let’s easily distract and anger the public whilst also turning themselves against each other over students who’ve been largely obedient for 12 months.

100% , no accountability.
    As I said months and months ago , the entire trick is the place the responsibility on the public to remove any responsibly or basic level of success from the state's agencies. This the plan to create this bogeyman of teenagers willing to kill their granny's for a ride at a house party or sneering at the person who wants to enjoy a few pints. Utter deflection with a very nasty undertone.

In fact the one measure they couldn't foist on the public was vaccine distribution and that is not going great. Go Figure.

Covid is still knocking about nursing homes, my granny got it in early Feb in her nursing home. Thankfully it didn't bother her and she back now from isolation.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

Enforcing the law is now a 'pound of flesh' vindictive behaviour?

What a bizarre outlook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Even more disturbing is the students are being forced to watch a "documentary" by RTE - a one sided fear mongering pile of shyte, and then write a 2000 word essay on their actions.

This is like a reeducation camp, the Chinese would be proud.

What a bizarre outlook.

Does the law mention expulsion?

What a bizarre outlook.

maybe read or listen to what they actually said.

Here is a hint , the comments went further than law enforcement.
    The gardai enforce the law not Harris or McEntee on their personal crusade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

It's gas as well that it's the people on the left - the so called liberals that are wanting more and more authoritarian jackboots locking us up forever...

Must be just a co-incidence so that the UK started mandatory hotel quarantine in February and two weeks later Ireland signs off on mandatory hotel quarantine plans. Absolute pure co-incidence because not once have we followed their lead.

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-56064759?xtor=AL-72-%5Bpartner%5D-%5Binforadio%5D-%5Bheadline%5D-%5Bnews%5D-%5Bbizdev%5D-%5Bisapi%5D

https://www.rte.ie/news/2021/0217/1197571-covid-19/

Because we share a small island with part of it, it needed to be in tandem.

This isn't a secret or hard to understand.

Because we share a small island with part of it, it needed to be in tandem.

This isn't a secret or hard to understand.

Ah ya, tandem, but one goes first and the other follows. Haha, sure ;). Think that's called following.

It's gas as well that it's the people on the left - the so called liberals that are wanting more and more authoritarian jackboots locking us up forever...

The contemporary incarnation of the workers party seem determined to keep people out of work.

Ah ya, tandem, but one goes first and the other follows. Haha, sure ;). Think that's called following.

Yes, it was Ireland that went first.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/politics/arid-40212599.html

We had to bypass the contrarians up North and go straight to Westminster.

Yes, it was Ireland that went first.

We went first in tandem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,879 ✭✭✭facehugger99

I find it terrifying. The obedience. The compliance. The unthinking following of orders. The transformation of the media into a mouthpiece. The ascendance of administrators. The suspension of ancient liberties and family customs. The forced internment of healthy citizens and visitors. A TD suggesting that armed soldiers should patrol these internment centers, and not being pilloried for it. All for the common good and national interest, of course. All for the collective.

The traits are within us to slip into a real totalitarian nightmare, given the right circumstances. And malevolent individuals are no doubt noting what the people are willing to put up with, and what it takes to get them there. And all it took was a virus with a mortality rate of what, 1%?

It makes my blood run cold and the hairs stand up on the back of my neck.

I fully agree - it is frightening to see how easily people are manipulated and controlled by fear; gladly trading away hard-won democratic freedoms on the promise of safety.

The current Government are incompetent cowards but perhaps next time a more sinister party will be in power - maybe even one who takes their orders from a so called 'army council' of terrorists.

There is a huge potion of the electorate that are gullible, cowardly, incapable of independent thought and easily manipulated. That is a far more worrying prospective than a virus that is harmless to the vast majority.

We went first in tandem?

Yep, because these things just happen without plans, proposals and cooperation.

Your idea that we follow the 4 countries you listed is not borne out in anything resembling reality.

It's complete and utter nonsense.

But again completely keeping up with the tone of this thread, facts just seem to die on impact.

Yep, because these things just happen without plans, proposals and cooperation.

Your idea that we follow the 4 countries you listed is not borne out in anything resembling reality.

It's complete and utter nonsense.

So we thought it first and the uk did it first? ahahaha, we're even worse so