Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

On NPHET and His Highness Tony of Holohan, there are plenty of behavioural science studies on people and their actions when given power unchecked! It’s no secret that if you give someone a set of measures and remove any accountability, they will use those measures to their most extreme!

In NPHETS case, once they got the 5 level hiding from covid plan, it was only a matter of time before level 5 was implemented! It was always going to happen! It’s an as clear as day example of why we are supposed to have checks and balances in government!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,414 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

The Nal wrote: »
    Oh I agree 100%. And Harris is on Twitter giving out about the students in Limerick instead.

Ahh my mistake.

He has some neck asking for them to be expelled, the man who brought down the prev government!

Priorities lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭timmyntc

Boggles wrote: »
    Where did I say he should not get a fair trial?

Something tells me he will be pleading guilty though.

You said you didnt give a flying **** about his name being dragged through the mud by the national broadcaster before he has even had a trial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭Allinall

On NPHET and His Highness Tony of Holohan, there are plenty of behavioural science studies on people and their actions when given power unchecked! It’s no secret that if you give someone a set of measures and remove any accountability, they will use those measures to their most extreme!

In NPHETS case, once they got the 5 level hiding from covid plan, it was only a matter of time before level 5 was implemented! It was always going to happen! It’s an as clear as day example of why we are supposed to have checks and balances in government!

Nothing to do with the spread of Covid, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

I think the original point was that the main headline *should* be IMO, the fact that the HSE misses 100,000 vaccine dose target for last week. A story that affects us all and decreases the chance of us getting out of this shít show sooner.

Whatever about the reasons for it, the targets are low anyway and we are missing them.

It's a much bigger story again IMO, than some low life charged with the firework incident at the protest.

It speaks volumes that the weekly vaccine target not being met is not the headline article, rather the protestor incident is.

Has already being explained a few times

Everyone so quick to throw the book with reading the facts first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,031 ✭✭✭growleaves

It was always going to happen! It’s an as clear as day example of why we are supposed to have checks and balances in government!

Another Covidiot.

The virus loves constitutional restraints on state power, don't you know that? You're being played by the "freedumb" merchants.

growleaves wrote: »
    Another Covidiot.

The virus loves constitutional restraints on state power, don't you know that? You're being played by the "freedumb" merchants.

Agreed - if there's one thing the virus hates though, it's Holohan's bald head and "The next 2 weeks are crucial"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭Corby Trouser Press

growleaves wrote: »
    I would't bother getting into a breakdown of authority.

They seem to think that the CMO's authority is transcendent, above and beyond politics, but deigning to interfere in politics when it is deemed to further the cause he represents.

He isn't answerable to any government, he's the top-ranking medical expert - a sort of standalone figure in the pantheon of gods.

Ayatony Holohan, Supreme Leader of Ireland.

Guided by the Will of God Science.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,954 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Ahh my mistake.

He has some neck asking for them to be expelled, the man who brought down the prev government!

Priorities lads.

Yep. From initially doing very well a year ago this government has turned into a shambles. Whoever is coordinating their PR should be deported to the Barents Sea.
    timmyntc wrote: »
    You said you didnt give a flying **** about his name being dragged through the mud by the national broadcaster before he has even had a trial.

They have accurately and legally reported on him being charged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,814 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

Who gives a flying fúck?

Hopefully the cretin gets a custodial sentence.

2 reasons.

He is innocent until convicted, which is the law.

He is getting no protection from the media whatsoever. Convicted murderers and rapists get more protection than this currently alleged criminal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,567 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Why wouldn't the Media report on the case?

Do you think he should get special treatment?

Why is that?

There was no direction from the Judge to reserve his anonymity.

Do you normally get upset when people who are charged with violent crimes are named in the media?

corcaigh07 wrote: »
    2 reasons.

He is getting no protection from the media whatsoever. Convicted murderers and rapists get more protection than this currently alleged criminal.

This is to protect the victims not the culprit

2 reasons.

What protection do the media owe him unless otherwise stated by the courts?

2 reasons.

Thats him in the video and photos, clearly him.

Hes going to need Bob Massingbird to get him off this one.

The Nal wrote: »
    Yep. From initially doing very well a year ago this government has turned into a shambles. Whoever is coordinating their PR should be deported to the Barents Sea.

They have accurately and legally reported on him being charged.
    Why wouldn't the Media report on the case?

Do you think he should get special treatment?

Why is that?

There was no direction from the Judge to reserve his anonymity.

Do you normally get upset when people who are charged with violent crimes are named in the media?

They have plastered his name and address all over the media - while the Judge didnt make an order to reserve his anonymity, all he did was state that he could not hear the trial and it must be dealt by a higher court given the severity of the offences - so I assume there may be a jury trial.

Not only is plastering his face & name across the media before his trial pretty ****ty, but it could make it harder to find non-biased jurors also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭OwenM

Got it. The minister of health is more qualified to speak on an ongoing pandemic than the Chief Medical Officer because he doesn't say what you want him to say.

Because the CMO gets to broadcast NPHET recommendations that haven't been filtered and balanced with political, social and economic realities. NPHET have an asymmetric risk, nobody dies and they economy burns to the ground but they smell of roses cos hey, were all healthy...

Someone else here posted a comparison with the RSA, if Holohan was in charge of it and had the same influence, the national speed limit would be 20km/hr and we would all have to wear helmets inside the car, probably with a mask too. The next bend is crucial....

What protection do the media owe him unless otherwise stated by the courts?

None. Just highlighting RTE's bent eagerness to over report this. Independent did the same thing but not at the top of their news. Irish Times had the grace to report the story but not the portrait photo.

They have plastered his name and address all over the media - while the Judge didnt make an order to reserve his anonymity, all he did was state that he could not hear the trial and it must be dealt by a higher court given the severity of the offences - so I assume there may be a jury trial.

Well no, he set bail conditions.
    Not only is plastering his face & name across the media before his trial pretty ****ty, but it could make it harder to find non-biased jurors also.

Chances are he won't be facing a jury.

But if he does and if he is convicted, I imagine that will be more to do with the DNA, the eye witnesses, and the reams of video evidence and not the fact that the media reported on the case, wouldn't you think?

Do you always get this upset when someone is accused of a violent crime is named in the media?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

It's all to kill future protests

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,097 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

SnuggyBear wrote: »
    It's all to kill future protests

I think its going to have the exact opposite effect.

None. Just highlighting RTE's bent eagerness to over report this. Independent did the same thing but not at the top of their news. Irish Times had the grace to report the story but not the portrait photo.

You seem more upset at the reporting of the crime then the actually insidious violent crime that took place.

Well no, he set bail conditions.

Chances are he won't be facing a jury.

But if he does and if he is convicted, I imagine that will be more to do with the DNA, the eye witnesses, and the reams of video evidence and not the fact that the media reported on the case, wouldn't you think?

Do you always get this upset when someone is accused of a violent crime is named in the media?

You're missing the point - if he gets found innocent, he has already had his reputation ruined by the national broadcaster.

Hellrazer wrote: »
    I think its going to have the exact opposite effect.

Precisely.

If protestors cared about the law/restrictions, they'd never have gathered in the first place.

Having Merriman locked up will only serve to embolden them further.

You're missing the point - if he gets found innocent, he has already had his reputation ruined by the national broadcaster.

I'd imagine it's already ruined by the videos going round

You seem more upset at the reporting of the crime then the actually insidious violent crime that took place.

More quippy one liners from the usual suspects, can someone not be annoyed by both things?

You don't get found innocent, you get that presumption entering court, you either leave with it or you don't.

The media have factually reported on the courts, which are in the public interest.

Again, I don't see how that is so upsetting, especially given the absolute reams of evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭Allinall

His reputation is already ruined.

Have you seen his previous?

SAMTALK wrote: »
    I'd imagine it's already ruined by the videos going round

We can have whatever opinions we want of him - but officially he is innocent until convicted in court. Even if theres a 99% certainty its him and he'll be found guilty, the media shouldnt be gambling on the outcome of court cases.

You don't get found innocent, you get that presumption entering court, you either leave with it or you don't.

The media have factually reported on the courts, which are in the public interest.

Again, I don't see how that is so upsetting, especially given the absolute reams of evidence.

It just flies in the face of due process - I know legally RTE et al can report on this, but really they shouldnt get to name & shame until after conviction. More an issue with the system in Ireland.
    Allinall wrote: »
    His reputation is already ruined.

Have you seen his previous?

No but I have no doubt he's a scummer. I mean, look at the cabbage head on him.
    But it's besides the point really.

Theres no presumption of innocence. If there was he wouldn't have been charged.

He is innocent until convicted. No presumed innocent or presumed guilty about it.

Either way, (I dont mean you) good boring to see the usual "RTE/Gardai suppressing our right to protest" sh1te being trotted out again. Same with the Jobstown protests.

I mean, its almost like if you fire off an explosive in a persons face or keep an elderly women trapped in a car while an angry mob block the road and throw stuff, you're labelled a prat. And thats the game.

https://twitter.com/DavidBrentMovie/status/801440074084782084