Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Chat. (MOD NOTE post# 3949 and post#5279)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,956 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Cass wrote: »
    The thing about bullcrap [not you, the fake claims] is you have to identify it and call it out no matter where it is.

nNo new President does a state of the union address in their first term.

Trump Feb 4th 2020 1st term

Barrack Obama...He made six states of the union addresses.Guy wouldnt shut up! 20101st term,11,12,13,14,15,16

Bill Clinton 1994 1st term.

Bush Snr Jan 29th 2002 1st term "Axis of Evil"

Think what we are getting wrong is we are expecting it within his 1st 100 days
    Not within his first term of office.
    .But it was announced with big fanhare that Biden was speaking on Feb 23rd a state of the union...£ days ago.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Munsterlad102

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Funny you never hear the Burn Loot Murder crowd protest in Americas biggest illegal shooting range.AKA Southside of Chicago any weekend when you have an average of 10to 20 Black on Black shootings?In a city with THE strictest gun control in the entire USA?

Yeah more Americans were killed in Chicago than in Afghanistan and Iraq, really makes you wonder what the dems agenda a built on.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭tudderone

Yeah more Americans were killed in Chicago than in Afghanistan and Iraq, really makes you wonder what the dems agenda a built on.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,469 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

The thing about bullcrap [not you, the fake claims] is you have to identify it and call it out no matter where it is.

No new President has done a state of the union address in their first year in the last 30 odd years.

Trump Feb 4th 2020 1st term
    I meant year, not term. Obviously they do state of the union addresses in their term(s), what i meant to say was first year.

Trump. Won in 2016, took office in Jan 2017, gave first SoTU in 2018.

Obama. Won in 2008, took office in Jan.2009, gave first SoTU in 2010.

Bush Jr. Won in 2000, took office in Jan. 2001, gave first SoTU in 2002.

Clinton. Won in 1992, took office in Jan. 1993, gave first SoTU in 1994.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users Posts: 39,069 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I meant year, not term. Obviously they do state of the union addresses in their term(s), what i meant to say was first year..

Spot on.
    The trend continues back for decades.
    Complaining that Biden hasn’t done one in his first 5 weeks is baffling stuff.
    This little snippets of misinformation exist purely to mislead the clueless. Post on FB, or some other echo chamber, to people who’ll just swallow it with bother to look into it. As you pointed out it took 2 minutes to check. Unfortunately retweeting is instant.

I meant year, not term. Obviously they do state of the union addresses in their term(s), what i meant to say was first year.

The first State of the Union addresses by presidential term since 1981:

President Ronald Reagan (first term): February 18, 1981
    President Ronald Reagan (second term): February 06, 1985
    President George H.W. Bush: February 09, 1989
    President Bill Clinton (first term): February 17, 1993
    President Bill Clinton (second term): February 04, 1997
    President George W. Bush (first term): February 27, 2001
    President George W. Bush (second term): February 02, 2005
    President Barack Obama (first term): February 24, 2009
    President Barack Obama (second term): February 12, 2013
    President Donald Trump (first term): February 28, 2017

Be as it may Ol Joe announced with great fanfare that he was doing a SOTU address four days ago.[23/2/21]Which would be quite a good morale booster what with Covid,Texas,etc,or at least give some direction as to where they intend to go in this administration.
    But its been crickets so far, apart from some lame excuse about "right-wing terrorist plots"...Which is as believable as flying unicorns. Considering DC is an armed encampment with a division strength worth of NG still in place.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

President Ronald Reagan (first term): February 18, 1981
    Not his first year in office though.
    President Ronald Reagan (second term): February 06, 1985
    Incumbants usually do a SoTU in their first year of the second term.
    President George H.W. Bush: February 09, 1989
    The last President to give SoTU in his first year.
    President Bill Clinton (first term): February 17, 1993
    President Bill Clinton (second term): February 04, 1997
    President George W. Bush (first term): February 27, 2001
    President George W. Bush (second term): February 02, 2005
    President Barack Obama (first term): February 24, 2009
    President Barack Obama (second term): February 12, 2013
    President Donald Trump (first term): February 28, 2017

Seeing a pattern?
    Be as it may Ol Joe announced with great fanfare that he was doing a SOTU address four days ago.[23/2/21]
    There is no reason he cannot, i merely pointed out the absurdity of claiming he hasn't done one yet when for the last 30+ years no President has in their first year.
    Which would be quite a good morale booster what with Covid,Texas,etc,or at least give some direction as to where they intend to go in this administration.
    I foresee an utter trainwreck myself.
    But its been crickets so far, apart from some lame excuse about "right-wing terrorist plots"...Which is as believable as flying unicorns. Considering DC is an armed encampment with a division strength worth of NG still in place.
    Frankly a President can write on the back of a pack of smokes that "all is well and continue doing what you're doing" and his duties for the state of the union are fulfilled.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

On a lighter note, Anyone engaging in DIY barbering ? I bought a clippers in Argos during the first lockdown, and have been using it every month or so. This morning i decided i needed a trim and got it out. Put in the wrong number blade, and now i look like an extra from "Apocalypse now" :o.

I love how people with fresh haircuts are asked who done it for them, as if they were crack dealers and the other person was trying to get a fix. I've cut my own hair for years now. Its not great, but it short. First time i done it i made such a balls of it i had to shave the entre head, but i've gotten better at it over the years.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

I let herself at it with a clippers, number 2.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Feisar wrote: »

Manscaping. Well done. Might as well get a pejazzle while you are at it. :D

tudderone wrote: »

Every one of those fcukers are part of the reason we are still in lockdown and why we'll remain in lockdown for another while yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

BattleCorp wrote: »

Prince Albert is enough of an ornament on its own!

First they came for the socialists...

I'd be quite happy to live the rest of my life and never think about that sentence again. :D:D:D

Hah.

200.gif

Every one of those fcukers are part of the reason we are still in lockdown and why we'll remain in lockdown for another while yet.

Not to mention it'll completely over shadow the peaceful protestors and the message they wanted to convey.

This lockdown is going to run its course, and i wouldn't be surprised if we had another if a new strain of this bloody virus appears. I don't think any amount of protest is going to change that.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,629 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

On a lighter note, Anyone engaging in DIY barbering ? I bought a clippers in Argos during the first lockdown, and have been using it every month or so. This morning i decided i needed a trim and got it out. Put in the wrong number blade, and now i look like an extra from "Apocalypse now" :o.

What caused me a lot of trouble at the start was trying to do the fade at the back near the neck.. one slight slip of the razor while doing the shortest section and it is noticeably crooked.. so to correct you've got to make a new shortest line a little bit higher... 5 minutes later and half the back of my head would be bald -_-

s-l300.jpg

Frankly a President can write on the back of a pack of smokes that "all is well and continue doing what you're doing" and his duties for the state of the union are fulfilled.

It's kind of considered their version of the Queen's speech. Wouldn't do having Liz reading her's off the back of the Royal household shopping list either.:)
    Hence the fuss about this.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,855 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

It's kind of considered their version of the Queen's speech. Wouldn't do having Liz reading her's off the back of the Royal household shopping list either.:)
    Hence the fuss about this.

What fuss?

The fuss being created by a few middle aged guys on an Irish shooting forum?

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

In 24 hours we go from US presidential state of the union speeches to DIY barbering,via a little scuffle in Grafton street,which will now be the start of more to come...
    Gotta love Leos two-faced statement. " I agree with political protest,but not just now as people have no reason to congregate under Covid restrictions!":rolleyes:

Applied to anywhere else like Myanmar or Russia. "Oh people have a right to protest,but not now as there is martial law or a suppression of protests by order of the Kremlin" :rolleyes::rolleyes:
    Lucky to have my own personal barber in my better half,as she does it for a living! Would look like Cousin Id from the Adams family otherwise by now.

I LOVE this thread!!:D:D:D

In 24 hours we go from US presidential state of the union speeches to DIY barbering,via a little scuffle in Grafton street,which will now be the start of more to come...
    Gotta love Leos two-faced statement. " I agree with political protest,but not just now as people have no reason to congregate under Covid restrictions!":rolleyes:

Applied to anywhere else like Myanmar or Russia. "Oh people have a right to protest,but not now as there is martial law or a suppression of protests by order of the Kremlin" :rolleyes::rolleyes:
    Lucky to have my own personal barber in my better half,as she does it for a living! Would look like Cousin Id from the Adams family otherwise by now.

I LOVE this thread!!:D:D:D

According to the know-alls in the Sunday papers, both ff and fg are getting a kicking in the polls, over the glacial pace of the vaccine roll-out. If they don't get their finger out we'll all have prison pallor before we get the jab.

Rub of an oily rag, be grand !

Chinese SKS...
    Any of ye lads do any magnet fishing here? There must be plenty of interesting stuff in our waterways.

Chinese SKS...
    Any of ye lads do any magnet fishing here? There must be plenty of interesting stuff in our waterways.

There is a French channel of magnet fishers on youtube, the gear they pull out is unreal !

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 1,434 Mod ✭✭✭✭otmmyboy2

Chinese SKS...

Not personally, but I do know when a certain bridge in a large city in Ireland was dredged in advance of some public works being done they turned up all sorts.

Few Webleys, grenades, several sundry pistols, ammunition, a broomhandle Mauser, etc.

Fun time at the range altogether if you ask me :D

Never forget, the end goal is zero firearms of any type.

S.I. No. 187/1972 - Firearms (Temporary Custody) Order - Firearms seized

S.I. No. 21/2008 - Firearms (Restricted Firearms and Ammunition) Order 2008 - Firearm types restricted

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2009 - Firearms banned & grandfathered

S.I. No. 420/2019 - Magazine ban, ammo storage & transport restricted

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2023 - 2023 Firearm Ban (retroactive to 8 years prior)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

I have a sneaky suspicion a lot of those magnetic fishing youtube channels are big into release and catch.