Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭doublejobbing 2

I

If there is another protest, I'll be there.

It isn't so much the lockdown I am up for protesting, as we are, hopefully, in to the final months of this madness.

I will protest until the day Micheal Martin faces a court, charged with criminal negligence in having left our ports of entry open in December to returnin ex pats from London, despite knowing 1 in 30 of them were infected with a more contagious strain of Covid.

I believe figures behind the scenes manipulated MM, who clearly isn't the sharpest tool in the drawer. I believe certain actors deliberately allowed this to happen for their own reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,892 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Majority of people were there to voice their opposition to continued lockdowns and restrictions, without a clear/defined end in sight. A lot of this falls on bad communication from the government.

Any protest will always attract a few scumbags and anarchists just looking to cause trouble. In this case, they stole the headlines, and succeeded in tarnishing most people's opinion of the entire protest. Media play a part in that as well.

Majority were there to take photos on their phone.

End is in sight, vaccination program will open doors like the UK.

All yesterday could achieve was a longer period of lockdown

End is in sight, vaccination program will open doors like the UK.

All yesterday could achieve was a longer period of lockdown

So where do we protest for accountability?

Why should MM and Leo get to keep their homes, their assets, their money in the bank, when millions of us are out of pocket by their negligence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,238 ✭✭✭✭JRant

GazzaL wrote: »
    The likes of People Before Profit continuously call for more lockdowns, more restrictions and more welfare benefits. They're loving life at the moment.

PBP are in a bit of a bind now, as are similar groups in government. They were all for an open immigration policy yet now what very strict travel restrictions in place. Would they be willing to fine asylum seekers 2k for breaking restrictions?

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭francogarbanzo

Keep telling yourself that my man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭showpony1

i saw an instagram post by one of the anti-lockdown pages with a video of some knacker being held face down by about ten Gardai across from the spire roaring "i didn't do annnn-ing!" while a few kids look on screaming.

The caption was "man walking with GF and his kids hopped on for no reason by Gardai" are we really expected to believe the Gardai are randomly hopping people and restraining people for no reason lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭walus

JRant wrote: »
    One of the most important duties a citizen had in a democracy is to keep the government in check. This government have repeatedly let down us citizens since this pandemic started. The nursing home fiasco at the start.
    Not putting a proper test and trace system in place.
    No alternative to lockdown looked at.
    Terrible communications over the past 6 months.
    Not scaling up hospital capacity in any meaningful way.
    Allowing 50+ thousand fly in from the UK before Christmas without so much as a test.
    Leaking constantly to the media and parliamentary parties.
    Awful "roadmap" released on Tuesday, which is basically a copy and paste of last year's awful plan.

“When governments fear the people, there is liberty. When the people fear the government, there is tyranny.” T. J.

”Where’s the revolution? Come on, people you’re letting me down!”

Keep telling yourself that my man.

Well all the video clips show it. Not much of a crowd anyhow. Saw a bigger crowd in Coppers on a sat night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭walus

Klonker wrote: »
    No proof yet that mutant variants evade vaccines. How come every other country in the world seem less worried about the new variants than us? Why have we the harshest restrictions in Europe? Why are the government leaving it 6 weeks between previous review and next review in early April. Why are we the only country in the world with non essential construction closed? People are not looking for everything to open up now but give us proportionate restrictions like the rest of the world. I don't think that's unreasonable.

Because other countries follow science. In Ireland we follow prophets - Tony, Sam and co.

”Where’s the revolution? Come on, people you’re letting me down!”

So where do we protest for accountability?

Why should MM and Leo get to keep their homes, their assets, their money in the bank, when millions of us are out of pocket by their negligence?

And u think risky more clusters will encourage the government? Did ye not learn from the mess at xmas people made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭Leftwaffe

See HSE Colm Henry was talking waffle on the radio this morning too. Telling people that the handshake is gone but hugging might return.

With all due respect Colm, f*ck off. Once the vaccine is distributed widely the likes of him will fade into obscurity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Multipass

Leftwaffe wrote: »
    Vaccinate all adults and vulnerable and open up the country.

Stop announcing daily case numbers.

Expand the health system that has been neglected for many years.

Disband NPHET and cancel the regular briefings which have made them celebrities.

Show the people proper leadership.

Except that ultimately there will still be deaths that occur from this virus. Illness and death is a part of life.

Start living our lives we will be dead long enough.

You deserve a job in government, this is the plan I’ve been waiting to see..

See HSE Colm Henry was talking waffle on the radio this morning too. Telling people that the handshake is gone but hugging might return.

With all due respect Colm, f*ck off. Once the vaccine is distributed widely the likes of him will fade into obscurity.

Henry lives in his own "monkey see, monkey do" world. People will do whatever they please when the Covid threat has receded proper, you have other asocial geniuses proclaiming the death knell of the traditional pub. Wishful thinking isn't worth a damn, never factors in human nature. And all that impotent rage at failing to control others won't change a single thing.

And u think risky more clusters will encourage the government? Did ye not learn from the mess at xmas people made.

When will MM and LV face criminal negligence proceedings? That should be the main topic of debate now.

Henry lives in his own "monkey see, monkey do" world. People will do whatever they please when the Covid threat has receded proper, you have other asocial geniuses proclaiming the death knell of the traditional pub. Wishful thinking isn't worth a damn, never factors in human nature. And all that impotent rage at failing to control others won't change a single thing.

The rage is more evident here than in anything Henry said which was entirely inoffensive. The point made was people may choose not to handshake not that they will be required not to handshake. Cultural norms are a strange thing and may seem immovable until they are not. If, for example 20% of the population were still uncomfortable with handshaking after vaccination is complete, a strong social pressure will emerge. People who wish to handshake may become reluctant to to do for fear of offending or embarrassing the person they meet. Two “hand shakers” may end up using some other gesture as they are unaware of each other’s preferences. Very quickly handshaking could die. I don’t believe that is what will happen but can see how it could

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,149 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

The traditional pub is dying though, and not because of covid, but because attitudes to alcohol and the role of the pub as a social space is radically changing. The number of pubs in Ireland has declined by at least 20% in the last 15 years despite the population increasing. The niteclub scene, in led to believe is even worse, with the likes of dating apps really stealing their customer base.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,260 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

The rage is more evident here than in anything Henry said which was entirely inoffensive. The point made was people may choose not to handshake not that they will be required not to handshake. Cultural norms are a strange thing and may seem immovable until they are not. If, for example 20% of the population were still uncomfortable with handshaking after vaccination is complete, a strong social pressure will emerge. People who wish to handshake may become reluctant to to do for fear of offending or embarrassing the person they meet. Two “hand shakers” may end up using some other gesture as they are unaware of each other’s preferences. Very quickly handshaking could die. I don’t believe that is what will happen but can see how it could

I can also see a case of the sign of peace handshake in churches being done away with
    It was never a good idea anyway and I hated the very idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭pottokblue

Was nice to watch tv yesterday and still see french people greet each other with "la bise" at the railway station albeit with surgical masks on. I'm mostly doing covid elbow bumps as greeting but looking forward to returning asap to the handshake, fist pump, hug, kiss/bise and down the road the regular smile....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    I can also see a case of the sign of peace handshake in churches being done away with

Peace be with you

iamwhoiam wrote: »

giphy.gif

Living with COVID should be about living with COVID.

In practical terms, this should mean gradually opening up until an equilibrium is reached - where cases fall within an acceptable range that does not overwhelm the health service.

The Irish approach may not be called "Zero COVID", but it certainly approximates in that direction.

It's a shame that NPHET have the Government in their jaws, crushing any prospect of opening up to even a limited extent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

Ok, did I just see a pic of a woman wearing a t-shirt at yesterday's little get together saying "Save our Children from the Reptilians"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,442 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

Living with COVID should be about living with COVID.

In practical terms, this should mean gradually opening up until an equilibrium is reached - where cases fall within an acceptable range that does not overwhelm the health service.

The Irish approach may not be called "Zero COVID", but it certainly approximates in that direction.

It's a shame that NPHET have the Government in their jaws, crushing any prospect of opening up to even a limited extent.

"Schools to re-open on phased basis from March 1"

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40229744.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,263 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Vaccinate all adults and vulnerable and open up the country.

Stop announcing daily case numbers.

Expand the health system that has been neglected for many years.

Disband NPHET and cancel the regular briefings which have made them celebrities.

Show the people proper leadership.

Except that ultimately there will still be deaths that occur from this virus. Illness and death is a part of life.

Start living our lives we will be dead long enough.

This would be the opposite of showing leadership in my opinion.

Leadership is guiding the public through challenging times and helping them adapt to change while offering hope and keeping them informed.

Your idea would likely land the public in a position of ignorance and put lives at risk as a result.

It wouldn't be a good idea to not keep the public informed.

john4321 wrote: »
    "Schools to re-open on phased basis from March 1"

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40229744.html

Negligible in the total context of how an entire society "lives".

That's like throwing scraps to hungry lions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,263 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

py2006 wrote: »
    Ok, did I just see a pic of a woman wearing a t-shirt at yesterday's little get together saying "Save our Children from the Reptilians"...

Yes, yes you did.

Apparently babies are being buried as we speak in the foundation of the new Children's hospital!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭darconio

Well all the video clips show it. Not much of a crowd anyhow. Saw a bigger crowd in Coppers on a sat night

LOL :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,633 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Yes, yes you did.

Apparently babies are being buried as we speak in the foundation of the new Children's hospital!

The bits that are aren’t eaten by RTE, that is.

Yesterday’s protest really was a carnival for scumbags and weirdos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,442 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

Negligible in the total context of how an entire society "lives".

That's like throwing scraps to hungry lions.

I think its a very positive step getting children back into education and will benefit children and parents.