Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXIII-231,484 ROI(4,610 deaths)116,197 NI (2,107 deaths)(23/03)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

So hospital numbers ended at 574 at the end of the month
    Still two days of data to go!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Exactly it won't work in this country unfortunately but sure keep banging that drum anyway

She will , she will ad nauseum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

How do you find a way of doing it while sharing a land border with another country?

Ask Thailand, Hong Kong and Cambodia how to do it maybe?

She will , she will ad nauseum.

Camomile tea is good for nausea, Plumb, though it may not work where the disease is endemic to the sufferer.

Gruffalux wrote: »
    Ask Thailand, Hong Kong and Cambodia how to do it maybe?
    The first two use mandatory tracking apps and in the last one 75% live in rural areas and are out in the open air a lot.

is_that_so wrote: »
    The first two use mandatory tracking apps and in the last one 75% live in rural areas and are out in the open air a lot.

And.......?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,334 ✭✭✭giveitholly

And.......?

Thats why it wouldn't work in Ireland,do you honestly think all the population would agree to a Big Brother style government who can track every movement you make?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

We've recently sent a robot to Mars, we fly in the sky like birds for travel, we're communicating with each other using electronic devices over wireless networks through the internet and we even came up with a vaccine for this novel virus within a year.

But people actually think it's impossible to close a land border, something humans have already been doing for 1000s of centuries...

And.......?
    I really can't help you if you're not prepared to join the dots. It's fine that you randomly point at countries of low incidence of COVID but at least look at the strategies they use and how they might not work elsewhere.

Oranage2 wrote: »
    We've recently sent a robot to Mars, we fly in the sky like birds for travel, we're communicating with each other using electronic devices over wireless networks through the internet and we even came up with a vaccine for this novel virus within a year.

But people actually think it's impossible to close a land border, something humans have already been doing for 1000s of centuries...
    How do you close a land border where some people live on one side of the border and work on another,Unless you live along the border you haven't a clue how complex it is. Oisin Mcconville was on tv months ago telling us it wouldn't work, I think these people have a better grasp of reality than random people on here

The world is a complicated place and none of your examples include politics. Politics got us to where we are today, a world where such things are possible.

Camomile tea is good for nausea, Plumb, though it may not work where the disease is endemic to the sufferer.
    Any cure for constant repetition?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,138 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Game in New Zealand, this could be us. Oh hang on. Zero covid still won't bring anyone normal back.

545133.jpg

It's definitely complicated and might not consist of a complete border closurer but there are solutions. I suggested fines about 6 months ago, border check points (we had Gardai check points during the mad cow disease outbreak), mandatory covid tests. There are plenty of solutions, i have already come up with three in the space of 2 minutes whilst sitting on the John, I'm sure our great leaders know better than randomers on the internet can come up with something better.

Any cure for constant repetition?

I will defer to your long practice and expertise on the matter of repetition, Plumb. You are the grand master.

It's definitely complicated and might not consist of a complete border closurer but there are solutions. I suggested fines about 6 months ago, are check points (we can Gardai check points during the mad cow disease outbreak), mandatory covid tests. There are plenty of solutions, i have already come up with three in the space of 2 minutes whilst sitting on the John.
    It's easy come up with solutions on the bog,congrats,but it's a different ball game trying to implement them and getting them to work,sure didn't you just admit it in the first sentence of the above post

It's definitely complicated and might not consist of a complete border closurer but there are solutions. I suggested fines about 6 months ago, border check points (we had Gardai check points during the mad cow disease outbreak), mandatory covid tests. There are plenty of solutions, i have already come up with three in the space of 2 minutes whilst sitting on the John.

Thanks for the visual... 🤮

I will defer to your long practice and expertise on the matter of repetition, Plumb. You are the grand master.
    Not at all, but I will respond if the humour takes me when I see someone advocating Zero Covid. That ship sailed 12 months ago and it wasn't possible then either. Calling for Zero Covid now with vaccination taking place and a significant portion of the populace getting pissed off with restrictions is beyond stupid.
    Btw the countries you like to reference prehaps acquaint yourself with their culture and means of governance then transpose your new knowledge to our society and governance structures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,138 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

It's definitely complicated and might not consist of a complete border closurer but there are solutions. I suggested fines about 6 months ago, border check points (we had Gardai check points during the mad cow disease outbreak), mandatory covid tests. There are plenty of solutions, i have already come up with three in the space of 2 minutes whilst sitting on the John, I'm sure our great leaders know better than randomers on the internet can come up with something better.

So at these border checks do we stop people crossing completely or are people working either side allowed.

Do they call toilets 'johns' in China? You're still living there right?

It's easy come up with solutions on the bog,congrats,but it's a different ball game trying to implement them and getting them to work,sure didn't you just admit it in the first sentence of the above post

If the government have the power to lockdown the country (3 times) then they've the necessary power to implement what I said. In fact they're doing it now, albeit 6 months and 2 lockdowns too late

And if we had strong leadership, we would have had some border restrictions as soon as we realized the north was letting it run rampant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭Cork2021

And welcome to the Zero Covid Nutters alliance! Has the thread been infiltrated by ISAG pot heads......

Absolute nonsense being spouted here this morning!

Zero covid isn’t reality, we are not New Zealand!! Time to move on from that debate to be honest!
    It should’ve happened along side NI last year. Far too late for that strategy now!

Do they call toilets 'johns' in China? You're still living there right?

Well if you had any common sense you'd realise that they don't speak English in China and they'd have their own word for it in their language

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,594 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

Some chance of closing the border when the north opens up with most of their citizens vaccinated, there will be lines of cars heading north, as for closing the airports, we are only a little state in the eu, we have to be good Europeans. Saw the case numbers for France and Italy yesterday for the first time in a while, must be 4 times higher than the last time I looked at them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

niallo27 wrote: »
    Game in New Zealand, this could be us. Oh hang on. Zero covid still won't bring anyone normal back.

545133.jpg

Very disingenuous post.

Super Rugby fixtures last season and this season had crowds attending. Just this weekend the Crusaders game had a capacity crowd of 15,000. In contrast to almost every rugby game last year and this year in Ireland and Europe that had no crowds.

By all means criticise zero covid but not which such weak bullsh1t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Windmill100000

Just read Auckland going into a 7-day lockdown.

Cork2021 wrote: »
    And welcome to the Zero Covid Nutters alliance! Has the thread been infiltrated by ISAG pot heads......

Zero covid isn’t reality, we are not New Zealand!! Time to move on from that debate to be honest!
    It should’ve happened along side NI last year. Far too late for that strategy now!

Hahhahahahah! We are nutters because what we advocate SHOULD HAVE BEEN implemented ... but now it is too late. :pac::pac::pac:

At least you know I WAS right sometime back then. :p

Anyway it is never too late to allow a virus to die out. It needs bodies to replicate in and when it does not have them it dies out quite quickly and we are back to low low numbers. Then you take the low low numbers and smash it completely with strict test trace isolate and good quarantine measures.
    You can reduce amounts of Covid virus in the community slowly, painfully, protractedly, and uselessly with long drawn out arduous lockdowns that drive everyone insane and still lose loads of people to death and long Covid, or you can be smart like countries that will not tolerate the health burden on their citizens.
    The way we are going we will be fecking pin cushions for endlessly changing, repeated experimental jabs for years to come. It was never the sensible humane response to allow endemia. Well, unless you have shares in pharmaceutical companies.

Well if you had any common sense you'd realise that they don't speak English in China and they'd have their own word for it in their language

I have plenty of common sense, for example I don't log on to Weibo and tell Chinese people what they should be doing. I don't live there, it would be presumptuous and antagonistic of me if I did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,072 ✭✭✭jackboy

Cork2021 wrote: »

Typical, just insult those with alternative viewpoints. Easier than debating.

You would swear that NZ are the only country in the world that tried for ZC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭Cork2021

Christ!