Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXIII-231,484 ROI(4,610 deaths)116,197 NI (2,107 deaths)(23/03)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,592 ✭✭✭forumdedum

If one of them goes to the local spar with no masks or social distancing it’s an issue.

Are masks still 50% safe? Also, many people think less than 1 metre is social distancing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

spookwoman wrote: »
    Probably hear tomorrow about the party broken up on the grand canal in dublin

We're going to hear more and more about these and not just parties.
    We're getting to the point with cases getting lower, where any large cluster will popup in the figures (remember the LOKdown). With vaccinations in nursing homes and hospital staff, they will be mainly in the public.
    The public anger will be directed at various clusters and they will be seen as the bad guy, despite clusters popping up all over the country for various reasons all during the pandemic. When cases flat line, that's when the clusters/outbreaks are visible (despite always being there). It's like we need an enemy other than the virus and the government to focus on.

I've a fear the media are gonna latch onto them and it will be worse (in their eyes) as a variant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,676 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

spookwoman wrote: »
    Probably hear tomorrow about the party broken up on the grand canal in dublin

Wait til Paddys day

can see a lot of people saying '**** it ill going to get a few takeaway pints' and drink them in a park/canal etc. Me thinks guards will be everywhere that day breaking up gatherings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭techdiver

Turtwig wrote: »
    You did the miss of the spirit of it and I don't feel you're quite understanding it yet either.

The original context was he replying to a poster who said it was very easy for Mr Reid to complain about the actions of others when he was living a different life to them. The point that you seem to be partially acknowledging but not quite going all the way is that we have no idea how easy or difficult anyone's life is. To assume that lockdown is easy for Holohan or Reid is a very dangerous assumption. We don't know anything about their life.

I think the problem or more perception is that the people making the decisions to put people out of work through restrictions are in no way effected by them. As someone who hasn't been impacted (in fact in some ways life is better for me since I no longer have a horrible commute each day) as I have worked from home full time since last March, I can still empathise and see the perceived problem with people making decisions that are the least impacted by them.

For many people they have been essentially unemployed or underemployed for a year now. That will have major knock on effects on their financial well being in the future. Despite the rhetoric we are not all in this together. Some are more than others and the ones making the decisions, rightly or wrongly are the least impacted by those decisions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭techdiver

LAZYIRISH wrote: »
    G

Goodness
    Bless you . Bless you all that think of the least favourite Irish, the least common of us all that dont earn as much you know just above the average wage if those that think they are higher class than those of us ... you know maybe there spouse are of higher quality than us . Haha we are quite dull har har but please excuse me I higher i am because i am married and better you know to a guard and teacher haha I'm proper though aM'nt I...... please except me

Eh, what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

techdiver wrote: »
    I think the problem or more perception is that the people making the decisions to put people out of work through restrictions are in no way effected by them...
    the ones making the decisions, rightly or wrongly are the least impacted by those decisions.

"In this together" is a terrible phrase. We're all interconnected into the larger society. Those links as you rightly point are far from evenly distributed.

I actually do think it's important the ones making decisions are not impacted directly by them. It's a principle society has run on for centuries. How much trust we can place in the decision makers and how competent their decision making is another matter. Nevermind their level of benevolence.

I found it really strange people suggesting Holohan would not have been of sound mind because of his personal issues. Yet at the same time complaining the government or NPHET weren't on PUP or CRSS. The double standard in expectations for competency felt a bit much.

Anyway I digress this is straying from the original flashpoint. Namely, we shouldn't assume government members or whomever are immune to negative effects of the restrictions they impose. Less impacted seems a fair assumption; zero impact an unfair one. We should also be very careful before we make any assumptions about the quality of life of any individual in society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Wait til Paddys day

can see a lot of people saying '**** it ill going to get a few takeaway pints' and drink them in a park/canal etc. Me thinks guards will be everywhere that day breaking up gatherings

The Guards will be stopping people leaving the country and guarding those coming in who will be quarantining. Don’t worry about the community spread, just blame it on the foreigners and those trying to escape.

XsApollo wrote: »
    A company came out and fitted a front door for me the other day.
    I was waiting since September , don’t know why they did it now and I didn’t ask if it was allowed or not.
    They are a reputable big enough company so I dunno if they were flouting restrictions or not?

I was trying to find it out or not, I was holding off on work as I thought it was not allowed only emergency cases

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,295 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Auckland to begin seven-day lockdown as Covid case confirmed.

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2021/0227/1199696-coronavirus-new-zealand/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,215 ✭✭✭prunudo

mcburns07 wrote: »
    No offence but those of us who like to visit gyms can't even get a repetitive workout in :pac:

I agree the 5km rule is a load of nonsense but not being able to go for a long non repetitive cycle is a first world problem right now.

No offense taken at all, my point was just that the arguement of cycling being okay within 5km wears thin after many months if your usual training involves clocking up 150km or more in a week or trips to the forest to go mountain biking.
    Its like the people who tell you you can do weights in the sitting room of you miss the gym that much. A week or two of home exercises and you start missing/needing the proper machines and equipment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

Jim_Hodge wrote: »

A nightmare! One case. 7 whole days! The inhumanity. No wonder they had to find a photo of Jacinda looking like hell. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,259 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

prunudo wrote:
    No offense taken at all, my point was just that the arguement of cycling being okay within 5km wears thin after many months if your usual training involves clocking up 150km or more in a week or trips to the forest to go mountain biking. Its like the people who tell you you can do weights in the sitting room of you miss the gym that much. A week or two of home exercises and you start missing/needing the proper machines and equipment.

Plenty of us breaking restrictions to get our training in I'd imagine, looks like we 're going mountain biking this weekend, ignore restrictions folks, you 'll be grand

Jim_Hodge wrote: »

And that for me is where Killeen, Staines, McConkey and the rest of the zero covid crowds argument falls flat. Even with tigther regulations our borders are much more porous than NZ so how can they say we'll never need lockdowns again if we follow their advice of zero covid.

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    Plenty of us breaking restrictions to get our training in I'd imagine, looks like we 're going mountain biking this weekend, ignore restrictions folks, you 'll be grand

Wouldn't go as far as to say as ignore them, just be sensible in the ones you push the boundaries on ;)

New Zealand with the same size population as us has had 26 Covid deaths. We have had 4274 more deaths than them from Covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Gruffalux wrote: »
    A nightmare! One case. 7 whole days! The inhumanity. No wonder they had to find a photo of Jacinda looking like hell. :P
    Different week, different lockdown! That's about the 5th one of those. They are at least two months behind us on vaccinations and it will, in all probability, be repeated as they progress through it, probably multiple times.

is_that_so wrote: »
    Different week, different lockdown! That's about the 5th one of those. They are at least two months behind us on vaccinations and it will, in all probability, be repeated as they progress through it, probably multiple times.

Good God, don't tell me they have been about 2 or 3 weeks in lockdown in total for the past year while we have had a year of almost constant lockdown, hardly had any craic at all, and have 4274 more deaths than them!

Gruffalux wrote:
    New Zealand with the same size population as us has had 26 Covid deaths. We have had 4274 more deaths than them from Covid.

Nz doesn't have a complicated history of division, and isn't connected to a union whereby one of its core values is 'free movement'

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    Nz doesn't have a complicated history of division, and isn't connected to a union whereby one of its core values is 'free movement'

Ah well that's alright then. The extra 4274 deaths is understandable.

Gruffalux wrote:
    Ah well that's alright then. The extra 4274 deaths is understandable.

Of course it's not understandable nor acceptable, but they cannot be compared, we cannot implement such restrictions as it is 'politically sensitive'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

OMG New Zealand are so **** at lockdown. We are grand masters at this stage.

"Shut everything indefinitely, including schools"

was the meaningful hospitality in December / Christmas worth it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Good God, don't tell me they have been about 2 or 3 weeks in lockdown in total for the past year while we have had a year of almost constant lockdown, hardly had any craic at all, and have 4274 more deaths than them!
    I'm merely observing what is likely to happen this year. The NZ approach has never been a suitable strategy for us, so what they are doing is just another news report.

is_that_so wrote: »
    I'm merely observing what is likely to happen this year. The NZ approach has never been a suitable strategy for us, so what they are doing is just another news report.

Tell the extra 4274 dead people, the people who loved them, and the 10% of people who got Covid and have long term effects from it that it is just another news report.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

The horror their last lockdown was 3 days. Must be very tough mentally to stay home for that length of time.

Also why don't they just do the 48 hours contact tracing? You don't need to actually find every case, just keep repeating "our contact tracing is as world class as South Korea's and there are no cases from travel." The idiots actually believe it.

Then when it's really high just say "contact tracing isn't that important" and don't test close contacts. That helps the numbers and let's people feel better about what's going on.

Rinse and repeat....

We really could show them a thing or two.

She clearly needs some more advisors to help her come up with this ****. They are great for talking points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,334 ✭✭✭giveitholly

Not this Zero-Covid crap again,how does that work with an open land border with another country who at the start of the pandemic decided to let the virus rip through the population and then quickly changed its mind.

At least we can truly say at the end of all of this when it comes, with all the extra death and population morbidity and long term hard lockdowns and unemployment and emotional suffering and families sundered for more than a year etc etc, that we know how it does not work.

Exactly it won't work in this country unfortunately but sure keep banging that drum anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,072 ✭✭✭jackboy

It’s not crap, it’s an alternative solution. If covid had a much higher death rate we would have 100% found a way to do it. We haven’t tried it because we have decided we can accept the numbers dying from Covid.

jackboy wrote: »
    It’s not crap, it’s an alternative solution. If covid had a much higher death rate we would have 100% found a way to do it. We haven’t tried it because we have decided we can accept the numbers dying from Covid.

How do you find a way of doing it while sharing a land border with another country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

So hospital numbers ended at 574 at the end of the month