Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXIII-231,484 ROI(4,610 deaths)116,197 NI (2,107 deaths)(23/03)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,652 ✭✭✭timmyntc

wes wrote: »
    Gyms are one of the worse places to open up:
    C.D.C. Traces Covid Outbreaks in Gyms, Urging Stricter Precautions

Anyone opening up a gym during the height of the recent wave very likely contributed to it, and has gotten people killled. Needs to be far harsher punishments for something so blatant.

Did you even read your article?

Outbreaks were linked to gyms with no rules on masks or distancing.
    Subheading of that article: "Coronavirus cases at fitness centers in Chicago and Honolulu were linked to carelessness about masks and symptoms, federal health officials found."

It does not say that gyms are the worst place to open up. Pure hyperbole from yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭Tork

Turtwig wrote: »
    When will Denmark be able to avail of these extra vaccines?

Looks like they already have them. Sorry...copy and paste not working too well on my phone today

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/world/europe/covid-19-how-denmark-plans-to-finish-vaccinating-by-june-27th-1.4492192

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭Tyrone212

timmyntc wrote: »
    Fair play to him.
    Unless you think 1 gym being open contributed to the entire surge? :rolleyes:

That's an exceptionally thick take on things. Luckily not every gym owner was as reckless staying open in late December and January as him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,748 ✭✭✭firemansam4

timmyntc wrote: »
    Fair play to him.
    Unless you think 1 gym being open contributed to the entire surge? :rolleyes:

Seriously with attitudes like this no wonder we had the mess after Christmas...

It was this and many other incidents like this of businesses blatantly disregarding public health measures that helped bring about the massive surge in cases after Christmas.

So you say fair play to him for doing that, do you also say fair play to all of the other people and businesses that broke the rules which contributed to the massive spike in deaths after Christmas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Salvation Tambourine

The terms around poor mental health have become seriously debased as campaigning and grifting around the issue has become more fashionable.

People are clearly self reporting as depressed, when it's clear that they are not really, at least not clinically. Being fed up/bored and unhappy is not in and of itself "poor mental health"

Most people haven't ever thought hard about their own mental health or have ever endured such a long period of restrictions to their lives. I can honestly say that (aside from bereavements etc.) I have never, ever in my life felt as low as I have during this lockdown. I have not lost financially, I've not had anyone die, the last six months I've had the joy of having my first child and watching her grow, I'm one of the lucky ones.

However, there is absolutely no doubt that these lockdowns have had a massive negative impact on my mental health. We are constantly been told that 'it's okay not to be okay', we are constantly told to talk and share our worries and fears. I would like to think you don't have to be clinically depressed in order to seek help or talk to people about your poor mental health.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,517 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

Where is the link? I would have thought it reasonable to support protest against draconian lockdown measures while not being 'right wing' and/or 'anti-foreigner'?

I have no time for fascist loopers - genuinely want to know what is behind this reporting

Ben Gilroy is involved. He is all of the above. Not only that, he's directly responsible for giving people terrible advice that could cause them to incur legal penalties, including prison. He has been held in contempt of court numerous times and is legally banned from providing legal advice.

To top it off he is an anti-eviction and anti-landlord protester, while also being a shady landlord himself. He's involved, perhaps personally I can't remember, in illegal evictions for property owned by him or his mates.
    https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40231952.html%3ftype=amp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

I'm probably going to regret asking:

Did gript actually produce any evidence of their claims about ISAG?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭CoronaBlocker

The portrayal of Boris as a 'spoofer' is wearing thin.......

More than 18 million people in the UK have received at least one dose of a coronavirus vaccine - part of the biggest inoculation programme the country has ever launched. The number of first doses administered each day had been steadily climbing since December - reaching more than 400,000 a day mid-February.(BBC)

Ireland vaccines administered to date 359,616 (as of today)

Luke O'Neill said this morning that his infamous non-essential jaunt up to Scotland last week was actually to a plant of a new vaccine producing company where he signed another monster deal for vaccines - so once again wiping the eye of the EU (because it's actually a French company). He's far from the fool he is oft cited as being.

Pamela Anderson once said she's happy if everyone thinks she's a bimbo because it means it's a much easier situation in which she can operate her business.

When people expect less they get complacent and you can surprise more. A good insight.

And what does this mean for the EU?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,276 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭Coybig_

UL president announces a 100 euro fine for somebody caught leaving their home without a valid excuse.

UL are funding gardai patrols in housing estates near the campus.

This is disgraceful. I notice they are refusing to patrol quarantine hotels, but the students are a soft touch. Civil liberties, what are those? Who the absolute f*ck do they think they are?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,467 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Coybig_ wrote: »
    UL president announces a 100 euro fine for somebody caught leaving their home without a valid excuse.

This is disgraceful. I notice they are refusing to patrol quarantine hotels, but the students are a soft touch. Civil liberties, what are those? Who the absolute f*ck do they think they are?

UL president actually announced that they'll fund the Garda patrols which are on campus and in the immediate facility, if you request Gardai for additional work you pay the overtime, same as sporting organisation pay the overtime for matches, the fines are the same fines that are legislated for as it is. Sure if your stopped at a checkpoint for a non essential reason it's a €100 fine. Your portraying it that UL are issuing the fine.

The patrols are on public property, the hotels are private property which Gardai would require a warrant to enter unless a crime is being committed.

It's literally making sure guidelines are being adhered to, same as every other checkpoint you come across or any patrols in public areas.

What's the issue here ?

UL president actually announced that they'll fund the Garda patrols, the fines are the same fines that are legislated for as it is. Sure if your stopped at a checkpoint for a non essential reason it's a €100 fine.

The patrols are on public property, the hotels are private property which Gardai would require a warrant to enter unless a crime is being committed.

What's the issue here ?

The issue here is young people being harassed if they dare to leave the house. The issue is gardai driving around housing estates watching peoples front doors. How can you think this is acceptable?

Loose talk of vaccine certificates/passports, handy on-the-spot fines, open talk of restrictions up-to and including next winter in government documents... we need to be very careful now of letting what is important today - for health reasons - not become normal tomorrow after the health crisis has abated. As vaccines roll out further we need to be mindful that all of these emergency restrictions need to be clawed back and struck off the books.

It's a good time to keep the eyes open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,467 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

The issue here is young people being harassed if they dare to leave the house. The issue is gardai driving around housing estates watching peoples front doors. How can you think this is acceptable?

Ah come on that's not what is happening.

Every person in the country is subject to the same legislation. If you or I leave the house for a non essential reason and get stopped we're open to a fine, no difference here now is there ?

As with every Garda checkpoint they use their discretion when it comes to fines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Nobody's talking about harrassing young people for leaving their house. Quit with the hyperbole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,337 ✭✭✭giveitholly

Well if you heard the UL students yesterday evening on radio 1 drivetime you might have a different opinion. Students didn't care and were meeting up in groups of 10-15 in houses,couldn't see anything wrong with this. Plus also larger house parties going on as well. Most students who spoke didn't care if they got Covid because the chances of them getting sick is minuscule(according to them).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

I'm probably going to regret asking:

Did gript actually produce any evidence of their claims about ISAG?

They've provided screenshots to internal e-mail conversations among the group on what they're planning, strategy's and how to do whatever it takes to further their own agenda - fact or not.

Here is their latest article regarding the media and Róisín Shortall - so disappointed in the Opposition of this country that they'd just row in with a bunch of extremists.

https://gript.ie/zeroleaks-on-their-media-friends-matt-cooper-tries-to-look-impartial/

However what I find the most disturbing - is the neglect of any media outlets in which they've appeared on since to question them about this. Or about anything to do with their strategy full of holes.
    The gall of Anthony Staines to tweet that Luke O'Neil is a 'brave man' when he tweeted vaccine information today shows they're in bed with our mainstream media outlets. The lunatics have indeed taken over the asylum.

P.S. Gript is not an organisation I would follow or promote normally, but they're the ones with the evidence here and members of ISAG plus mainstream media should be questioned about their behaviour.

Ah come on that's not what is happening.

Every person in the country is subject to the same legislation. If you or I leave the house for a non essential reason and get stopped we're open to a fine, no difference here now is there ?

I dont have gardai being paid by an external body to drive around my estate looking at my bloody front door, do I? Specifically looking for one group of people!

Does that remind you of anything? Police driving around paid to enforce laws against one specific group of people?

I cannot believe that you are arguing this. It's insane what some people see as acceptable now.

I dont have gardai being paid by an external body to drive around my estate looking at my bloody front door, do I? Specifically looking for one group of people!

Does that remind you of anything? Police driving around paid to enforce laws against one specific group of people?

I cannot believe that you are arguing this. It's insane what some people see as acceptable now.

Careful now.

seamus wrote: »
    Nobody's talking about harrassing young people for leaving their house. Quit with the hyperbole.

The gardai are being paid by an external body to patrol and fine (specifically) students in a number of specific housing estates. Thse students are to be fined if they as much as leave their house without a valid excuse.

This is not hyperbole and your attempt to play it down, as you have many other issues, is not surprising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

They've provided screenshots to internal e-mail conversations among the group on what they're planning, strategy's and how to do whatever it takes to further their own agenda - fact or not.

Here is their latest article regarding the media and Róisín Shortall - so disappointed in the Opposition of this country that they'd just row in with a bunch of extremists.

https://gript.ie/zeroleaks-on-their-media-friends-matt-cooper-tries-to-look-impartial/

However what I find the most disturbing - is the neglect of any media outlets in which they've appeared on since to question them about this. Or about anything to do with their strategy full of holes.
    The gall of Anthony Staines to tweet that Luke O'Neil is a 'brave man' when he tweeted vaccine information today shows they're in bed with our mainstream media outlets. The lunatics have indeed taken over the asylum.

P.S. Gript is not an organisation I would follow or promote normally, but they're the ones with the evidence here and members of ISAG plus mainstream media should be questioned about their behaviour.

There is absolutely zero there to suggest ISAG were "instructed to “look for ways to increase insecurity, anxiety, and uncertainty” "

There isn't necessarily something wrong with advocacy groups getting advice from a PR communications agency.

Gript need to provide a lot more evidence to support their claims and frankly given that it's gript I think I'm going to see pigs fly before they support any claim they make. Hence why no outlet is taken it seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭maebee

Well if you heard the UL students yesterday evening on radio 1 drivetime you might have a different opinion. Students didn't care and were meeting up in groups of 10-15 in houses, couldn't see anything wrong with this. Plus also larger house parties going on as well. Most students who spoke didn't care if they got Covid because the chances of them getting sick is minuscule(according to them).

I know two people who are students there and both agreed that it's party central mid-week and at weekends. Both told me that the covid is rampant on campus but it's ok coz they're only getting mild symptoms and are not going to their own families' homes. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 694 ✭✭✭Summer2020

marno21 wrote: »
    Paul Reid unhappy with people out and about

If he’s unhappy with the amount of people out and about during weather warnings he’d better prepare himself for the amount out and about during dry sunny weather.

Exactly this. The lockdown is for all intents and purposes finished. Yes businesses will still be closed but a sizeable number of people have now had enough and will to break nonsensical 5k limit. A limit which was stupidly tied into an anti eviction rent policy and this is the only reason they can’t remove it at present. Yet another example of the ham fisted approach this govt have taken to the management of all of this. The majority of people I think will do as they please now as much as they can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,337 ✭✭✭giveitholly

maebee wrote: »
    I know two people who are students there and both agreed that it's party central mid-week and at weekends. Both told me that the covid is rampant on campus but it's ok coz they're only getting mild symptoms and are not going to their own families' homes. :rolleyes:

Exactly what the students on the radio said yesterday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

My son's experience is the opposite, he's in LIT. Shares a house with 5 other lads. No parties other than take away drinks for themselves.
    I did say on this forum it wouldn't be long before the young are blamed again.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭maebee

My son's experience is the opposite, he's in LIT. Shares a house with 5 other lads. No parties other than take away drinks for themselves.
    I did say on this forum it wouldn't be long before the young are blamed again.....

I wasn't blaming them at all. I was just confirming Holly's post about the UL students on the radio yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Deusexmachina

The finger pointing and ‘ maskier than thou’ on here is saddening.

If students are having parties at the moment (which I bet is very much the exception), who can really blame them.

We are all human and the vast majority of us in Ireland are being incredibly compliant to some of the longest and severest restrictions in the world.

If you want to point the finger at anyone, aim it at the EU vaccine negotiators and our own dreadful government communications.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭spakman

My Johnny... ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 26 Thornysheep

To whom or what body are UL making a payment for these Garda patrols? I am not aware of any facility for a private person or body to pay for Gardai. Are they paying the Gardai directly? What if the Dalkey residents decide to pay the Gardai for patrols in their area while murder and mayhem take place elsewhere? Would this also be acceptable to some on here? The Gardai should be above all influence. This is both sinister and dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Rockfish

There is absolutely zero there to suggest ISAG were "instructed to “look for ways to increase insecurity, anxiety, and uncertainty” "

There isn't necessarily something wrong with advocacy groups getting advice from a PR communications agency.

Gript need to provide a lot more evidence to support their claims and frankly given that it's gript I think I'm going to see pigs fly before they support any claim they make. Hence why no outlet is taken it seriously.

https://gript.ie/look-for-ways-to-increase-insecurity-anxiety-and-uncertainty-zero-covid-document/