Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This weeks Classic Irish bargains that I'm not buying

• Registered Users Posts: 463 ✭✭Testacalda

Your man is deluded if he thinks a base spec 2.0 manual Granada will command €5k in that state, or any state for that matter.

Is that water lying under the handbrake? :pac:

An interesting to that Granada alright, but at €5000, his bluff might be called and he'll have to restore it himself, as he says in the ad.

He mentions a few times the extensive work it needs, must be pretty rough or very messed with

• Registered Users Posts: 12,074 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/renault-clio/27311163

NzAzZTdhOGIyOTM3YjViMTczNzFhYTM2OGIxZDgyOTV1jCFFnPYZX3-mM6pdi4cUaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNzE5MTg0NTZ8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

OTQ1Mjg5N2YzOGE5NTQzMGY0MmEzYzYwNjRkOGRkZDjvgbWgDZGTl8f2-Ih5yBGqaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNzE5MTg0NjB8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

I really like this early 3 door Clio. Small miles and fresh NCT, €1450

Check out the blue carpets!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Andrew33

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/renault-clio/27311163

NzAzZTdhOGIyOTM3YjViMTczNzFhYTM2OGIxZDgyOTV1jCFFnPYZX3-mM6pdi4cUaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNzE5MTg0NTZ8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

OTQ1Mjg5N2YzOGE5NTQzMGY0MmEzYzYwNjRkOGRkZDjvgbWgDZGTl8f2-Ih5yBGqaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNzE5MTg0NjB8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

I really like this early 3 door Clio. Small miles and fresh NCT, €1450

Check out the blue carpets!
    Looks spotless. Shame about the missing rear wiper

• Registered Users Posts: 8,717 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

Always loved the dashboard in those clios. If you gave those bumpers a shot of some texture black paint, it would really tidy up the outside

• Registered Users Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭TigerTim

Down to €1K now.

T.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Andrew33

TigerTim wrote: »
    Down to €1K now.

T.
    Would definitely go for the 4x4 estate version but that hatch leaves me cold.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,915 ✭✭✭CoBo55

TigerTim wrote: »
    Down to €1K now.

T.

At least he's going in the right direction...

• Registered Users Posts: 28,127 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

KevRossi wrote: »
    Totally overpriced, but historically speaking a very interesting car. 87-C-1 .

We're the rules back then the same as now, 1 is reserved for the Lord Mayor or Mayor, would make it Thomas Brosnan's car.

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/skoda-estelle-120l/27315562

YWI3MjRmN2MwODk4OGFiMWRmOTdiYjUzNmU2ZDRlZmIuHIVnGTPmTb4ACCwKxB8iaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNzE5NjU4NDJ8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

This is cool, could be an interesting project.

Skoda Estelle, €700

• Registered Users Posts: 65,147 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

That has gone off the scale in my WantOMeter :D

So realistically what's the story with a UK reg car over 30 years old?

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 5,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭kadman

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/skoda-estelle-120l/27315562

YWI3MjRmN2MwODk4OGFiMWRmOTdiYjUzNmU2ZDRlZmIuHIVnGTPmTb4ACCwKxB8iaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNzE5NjU4NDJ8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

This is cool, could be an interesting project.

Skoda Estelle, €700

Great little car. I drove many of the skoda models from this era, and worked on the engines too.
    Best handling car for comfort I ever drove in fairness.

Engines were best looked after with very frequent oil changes, every 2000 miles.

I could not get my hand on a decent engine at the end, so I swapped in a Datsun cherry engine, and it carried on great.

Sold it after a few years for rallying.

Should a potential boards member buy it, I am sure I have a few skoda manuals FOC.

Mods, can we start a thread for Duke's ex's?
    unkel wrote: »
    Wrong forum, you dirty bugger :p

Lol, you couldn't make this up.

My old 924

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/2-porsche-for-sale/27322972

NWI5YTk3ODdjOWZmYjA1YTE0ZTM4YWM0NTM4Y2VjMWLkxuLaByrlaiddY2cxBKtBaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNzIwNTA4ODh8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

My dad had this, then me. He paid a good bit more than €2k for it. If there's nothing major wrong with it its an absolute bargain. Bodywork is/was absolutely perfect on it

• Registered Users Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭KevRossi

I think I posted the 924 about a year ago, or maybe last summer. Has no NCT according to the site and possibly never had one? Should be NCT exempt nest year. When did the family O'Smiley last own it, Duke?

Boxster NCT ran out last August. Could be someone looking to get rid as they can't fix them - shades of 2009-13 all over again?

Should have put up two separate ads either way.

Both are very cheap, I suspect issues. I seem to remember the 924 never had an NCT from when we discussed it last year? Even with some issues, the 924 is very good value for money, these have shot up in value in the last year. I guess the same can be said for the Boxster, their lowest point was 5 years ago and prices are only going one way. Automatic though, which is not desirable. Unless you actually are a hairdresser :pac:

Agree that it's a bit of a lazy ad, with the 2 cars in it together and almost zero info on either

I don't recall it being for sale at any time last year. I think when you posted it Kev it was when I had it in late 2019.

The car came from a 924/44 expert in Louth. It was a very well sorted example, not a speck of rust on it anywhere and the paint was pretty much perfect. Engine, suspension etc was totally rebuilt. It was a very good car. A total bargain at €2k if it hasn't deteriorated too much in that time

Here she is in happier times

48366098737_70011a13bc_c.jpg

48365965111_74edaf1325_c.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 594 ✭✭✭slipperyox

Some serious rust can develop in the rear, around the suspension. In fact the only way to address is cut a hatch in rear wheel well to access welding.

Not saying this has it, but you will spend €€€ if.

€2k is good value, and the 1.8T swap is well documented if your bored ...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭MAJJ

Duke, I only saw this forum and the Irish and Foreign threads when I saw your Porsche for sale originally. It woke me up to the potential of reasonable classics and I hope to get my first shortly.

924 gone

slipperyox wrote: »
    924 gone

Not surprising

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/1990-mitsubishi-colt-gti-2yrs-nct-taxed/26890466

NGYzZDFjODA3MTZlYjdmNGYyYzZlMTk4NDZkYTA0OTl_R9bXqYyBAxDTrDsn27jVaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNzIwODg4ODB8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

I think this is really cool. 1990 Colt 1.6 GTI

Original Irish, two years NCT, €4450. Doesn't seem an awful lot of money really, for a 90s Jap hot hatch.

• Registered Users Posts: 221 ✭✭Ryano87

I can confirm that 924 is staying within the boards community.. it has a few electrical gremlins seemingly and needs an alternator and general tidying.

I haven't seen it in the flesh yet but took a chance as I have been on the lookout for one and have been unable to travel due to lockdown.

Thanks Duke... Bought it when I saw it on this thread!

That’s brilliant! Best of luck with it. I’d be interested to hear more about it when you get it. Even with that bit of fettling needed it seems a very good price. You’ll enjoy cruising around in it with the roof off this summer :)

I still have a nice wooden steering wheel for it back in my parents house in Dublin, and possibly a few other bits that the buyer at the time didn’t want, but nothing major or expensive really.

I’ll pass you on the details of a very sound chap up in Louth who has a few of these for parts and is very knowledgeable on them generally. He’s not the chap I bought it from, but he knows him (and the car) and could probably tell you more about it than I can!

Ryano87 wrote: »
    I can confirm that 924 is staying within the boards community.. it has a few electrical gremlins seemingly and needs an alternator and general tidying.

I haven't seen it in the flesh yet but took a chance as I have been on the lookout for one and have been unable to travel due to lockdown.

Thanks Duke... Bought it when I saw it on this thread!

Good man, well wear! You got it at a very good price, tell us did you negotiated him down a few hundred quid too? :p

These cars are very enjoyable and will go up quite a bit in value. See what happened in recent years with other Porsches that were once just a few grand to buy, like the 928 and 944

Are you planning to get the car sorted and tested or will you wait until it is NCT exempt?

• Registered Users Posts: 221 ✭✭Ryano87

I'll be honest I paid full price without haggling (which is very unlike me!) But I'm happy for the most part... In the grand scheme of things a hundred won't make or break me and i had a feeling the car wouldn't hang around so just said feck it!

I'll get it sorted for sure.. assess what it needs and then take it from there.

I already have a fully restored MG midget and an MGB GT which I struggle to find time to drive so god knows when the Porsche will be out!

https://ibb.co/VH6S47j
    https://ibb.co/T8LxrLy
    https://ibb.co/JqDG3tb

Wow that first picture is spectacular!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,915 ✭✭✭CoBo55

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/1990-mitsubishi-colt-gti-2yrs-nct-taxed/26890466

NGYzZDFjODA3MTZlYjdmNGYyYzZlMTk4NDZkYTA0OTl_R9bXqYyBAxDTrDsn27jVaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNzIwODg4ODB8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

I think this is really cool. 1990 Colt 1.6 GTI

Original Irish, two years NCT, €4450. Doesn't seem an awful lot of money really, for a 90s Jap hot hatch.

That's an absolute beauty. I normally hate lowering etc but that car has been done very tastefully hopefully it will pass on to an equally careful owner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

https://www.gumtree.com/p/bmw/bmw-e28-1984-525e-classic-/1395918344

Seen as Deane has one for €11k, this seems good value, and NI reg.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭Tzardine

slipperyox wrote: »
    https://www.gumtree.com/p/bmw/bmw-e28-1984-525e-classic-/1395918344

Seen as Deane has one for €11k, this seems good value, and NI reg.

Looks quite tidy, but with 300,000 miles ( 500,000 km in our money) it would put a lot of people off.