Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This weeks Classic Irish bargains that I'm not buying

• Registered Users Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭Tzardine

I am a sucker for old fords from the 80s and 90s. I have a couple in the shed.

But the Escort Cosworth is one of the most overrated cars they ever made. Built on a rubbish platform, and the engine is not much to write about in standard form. Very underwhelming to drive. A car that is over hyped.

And that one is overpriced by a fair bit. A low mileage concourse one would do well to get that.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭kev1.3s

Tzardine wrote: »

But the Escort Cosworth is one of the most overrated cars they ever made. Built on a rubbish platform, and the engine is not much to write about in standard form. Very underwhelming to drive. A car that is over hyped.

And that one is overpriced by a fair bit. A low mileage concourse one would do well to get that.

Over rated it might be but it is without doubt an icon.
    I personally don't think that's too overpriced.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭oceanman

all fords were always overrated and still are i think...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,856 ✭✭✭CoBo55

kev1.3s wrote: »
    Over rated it might be but it is without doubt an icon.
    I personally don't think that's too overpriced.

One year away from cheap tax too, it did well to make it this far.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭KevRossi

It doesn't seem to be overpriced, they're making €38-50,000 in other markets. And that one is registered here.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭Tzardine

KevRossi wrote: »
    It doesn't seem to be overpriced, they're making €38-50,000 in other markets. And that one is registered here.

The one advertised is a high miler though, and a little rough around the edges, ripped seats for example.

I think it's priced very optimistically.

• Registered Users Posts: 594 ✭✭✭slipperyox

€45k on dd will get you into Ferrari ownership.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,693 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

slipperyox wrote: »

I'd rather have a Cosworth sitting in the driveway

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

slipperyox wrote: »
    PsychoPete wrote: »
    I'd rather have a Cosworth sitting in the driveway

I was wayching a lad on youtube last week who is doing up a Ferrari 512 BBi "barn find" with very little mileage. He took out the engine to change belts, water pump etc. Then discovered no compression one one cylinder. Tune in for the next episode.

One of the comments went, "If you can't afford a new Ferrari you can't afford to maintain a second hand one."

• Registered Users Posts: 5,968 ✭✭✭con747

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,266 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

con747 wrote: »

I love that he lists himself as a private dealer when the only pictures are clearly in a dealers yard.

sligojoek wrote: »
    I was wayching a lad on youtube last week who is doing up a Ferrari 512 BBi "barn find" with very little mileage. He took out the engine to change belts, water pump etc. Then discovered no compression one one cylinder. Tune in for the next episode.

One of the comments went, "If you can't afford a new Ferrari you can't afford to maintain a second hand one."

I think that's Ratarossa. I've watched a fair bit of his stuff, but sometimes I think he's going towards 'Hoovie's Garage' where it's all a bit dramatised for the camera. Hard to say, but he's had an interesting couple of years and there's some good stuff in it.

I think this guy linked below is good. He bought a cheap 308 and it's been a headache. He does a rough sum of the interim costs in this video. Overall I think it's honest stuff and there's a lot of good tips in his videos if you're looking at buying one.

Bear in mind he does a lot of the work himself and he's handy with a spanner. He also deliberatly got a cheap one, but you never know I guess until you own one.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,459 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

That bodykit makes it look like a 90s XJS rather than 1979. Early XJS had their teething problems but at least the styling was more simple and pure. Not a fan of the later look, but the cars became more robust.

• Registered Users Posts: 65,037 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Beauty but you will need pockets as deep as those of Harry Metcalfe's farmers jacket to keep it on the road :D

• Registered Users Posts: 569 ✭✭✭Peter T

unkel wrote: »
    Beauty but you will need pockets as deep as those of Harry Metcalfe's farmers jacket to keep it on the road :D

Typical farmers, crying out their always broke and a bunch of fresh gear in the yard :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,968 ✭✭✭con747

Cheap 08 Alfa Romeo 147 €550 one for the future https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/alfa/27357826

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,300 ✭✭✭BrianD3

That Renault did 1500 miles per year each year, and even managed 700 in the 6 months before lockdown. Looks like a 'get-the-paper-and-milk-every-day-and-bingo-on-Tuesdays-and-mass-on-Sunday' kind of car. Was NCT'd at the same time every year as well which is a good sign.

New NCT, cheap tax, cheap insurance, cheap parts. I like it, would be great value for a grand.
    Yep - loads of new body parts available on the likes of Taros Trade e.g. the faded grey bumpers and side rubbing strips could be gotten for around 200 quid plus shipping. Then fit new but age appropriate number plates. Polish and wax paint. Hubcap from ebay. Even assuming that the car has dings and paint issues that can't be seen in the photos, it might end up as one of the nicest left on the roads in UK/Ire.

• Registered Users Posts: 65,037 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Cheap 08 Alfa Romeo 147 €550 one for the future https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/alfa/27357826

I don't think we've ever a banger as young as 12 years old in this thread before :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 9,615 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

BrianD3 wrote: »
    Yep - loads of new body parts available on the likes of Taros Trade e.g. the faded grey bumpers and side rubbing strips could be gotten for around 200 quid plus shipping. Then fit new but age appropriate number plates. Polish and wax paint. Hubcap from ebay. Even assuming that the car has dings and paint issues that can't be seen in the photos, it might end up as one of the nicest left on the roads in UK/Ire.
    Nope, I owned the nicest and earliest one left. Its in Laois now.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭oceanman

That Renault did 1500 miles per year each year, and even managed 700 in the 6 months before lockdown. Looks like a 'get-the-paper-and-milk-every-day-and-bingo-on-Tuesdays-and-mass-on-Sunday' kind of car. Was NCT'd at the same time every year as well which is a good sign.

New NCT, cheap tax, cheap insurance, cheap parts. I like it, would be great value for a grand.
    think it has to be 30 years old to get the cheap tax..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,503 ✭✭✭TrailerBob

BrianD3 wrote: »

My first set of wheels was a 1994 clio RN in wine with body coloured bumpers and factory front foglamps. It wasn't bad when I got it, and only 6 years old..but I was young and well... it went for 250 quid at an auction about a year later.. fun car to go for a small hatch with no sporty illusions, and more comfortable than anything of its time.

oceanman wrote: »
    think it has to be 30 years old to get the cheap tax..

I meant it's cheap to tax. €330 per annum I think.

NCT to 11/21 on this, €3,000. Seems to be a decent price for a car that's not perfect but very useable. Might be crusty at the back left wing? Was this owned by a boardsie at some stage. It looks familiar.

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/mercedes-190/27362439

NTEwNzExMGQxZjRhZDY1OTNhMjE3N2VlNjFiMWI4NTGBX19Q1fT0ul_XnCm0LjnxaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNzI1Mjc5NjV8fHwxMjAweDEyMDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

I really like this. They used to be everywhere at one stage. Very decent price at €5,950. 1966, but restored in 2005.

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/1966-leyland-550-fg/27362629

OWQ0M2ViMjIyM2U5YmY0ODg4NmQ0ODcyZjIwMzc0ZjM-dUDAXlHOZ4-PFk_BnqyQaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNzI1MjkwMzN8fHwxMjAweDEyMDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 5,862 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

NCT to 11/21 on this, €3,000. Seems to be a decent price for a car that's not perfect but very useable. Might be crusty at the back left wing? Was this owned by a boardsie at some stage. It looks familiar.

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/mercedes-190/27362439

NTEwNzExMGQxZjRhZDY1OTNhMjE3N2VlNjFiMWI4NTGBX19Q1fT0ul_XnCm0LjnxaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNzI1Mjc5NjV8fHwxMjAweDEyMDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg
    based on what folks have been asking recently I think that does indeed look like a bit of a bargain.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,074 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Cheap, especially with NCT, but I couldn’t live with that colour.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,865 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

https://www.donedeal.ie/

I really like this. They used to be everywhere at one stage. Very decent price at €5,950. 1966, but restored in 2005.

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/1966-leyland-550-fg/27362629

OWQ0M2ViMjIyM2U5YmY0ODg4NmQ0ODcyZjIwMzc0ZjM-dUDAXlHOZ4-PFk_BnqyQaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNzI1MjkwMzN8fHwxMjAweDEyMDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

My Dad had a BMC version of this, back when I was small enough to stand alongside /sit on the switch panel to the right of the steering wheel, with the two lads working for him on the passenger seat and engine cover, the original crew cab

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 5,069 Mod ✭✭✭✭kadman

In all fairness the Leyland got a lick o paint here, lick o paint there resto, especially around the
    chassis and cab area.
    Painting metals around brackets different colours, and matching bolt covers instead of new bolts
    would give me cause for concern. So it needs a good inspection in case its a potential money pit.

And do commercial classics commercials all need a cvrt now , open to correction here.

Cheap, especially with NCT, but I couldn’t live with that colour.

It's not as bad in real life. I had one in that colour in Germany for a few months, wasn't too keen on it at the beginning but it sort of grew on me. Sills needed to be done for the TUV so we put export plates on it, drove it to Mauritania and sold it there.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,074 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

I like the look of this one:

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mercedes-benz-190e/27358348

ZmY4OWI2YmJmMjE5NmQ1ZTg3OGMzMjRkNWJkY2Q3NTAcsxG5ZbVPN5JzuHlGIuCWaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNzI1Mjc3MzV8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

ODA3NTBlMTA2NDVlZDY0YjYyMmRkZGVkZGE1ZThlNzBd44Zie5UjN_21ZP5OZo6TaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNzI0OTY2MTN8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

1.8 "Exklusiv" which was only for the Irish market. They were badged as something else in the UK, but were basically last of the line w201s before the C Class came to showrooms. They were available in this nice blue, black and a burgundy colour. Came with nice seats too

I think €4k is a bit saucy for a 1.8 manual with no NCT and 10 owners though

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 5,069 Mod ✭✭✭✭kadman

NCT excuse with covid is BS, as we all know NCT is happening as usual