Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Covid 19 Part XXXII-215,743 ROI (4,137 deaths)111,166 NI (2,036 deaths)(22/02)Read OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

SeaMermaid wrote: »
    The UK is hardly inspiring.

A damn sight more inspiring than Martin and his merry bunch of clowns at the moment imo.
    You should read some of the reports today about reduced transmission/hospitalisations from the UK. The gap between first and second doses was a risky move by the UK but it seems to be working in their favour, don't worry though there is a chance it might fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,451 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

100% That was absolutely going through my head. He was a massive pr!ck by all accounts and wrong footed a whole country.

He tricked a whole country? Wow, impressive for a man many had never heard of until the controversy last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭snotboogie

The UK are offering good news to people, a bit of hope.

We get nothing but doom and gloom.

That's the difference when you don't turn health officials into celebrities. I have no idea who the Tony Holohan equivalent is in the UK.

America have Fauci and he's been out today telling people that facemask may be around for few years.

They need to f**k into the background

That's a very harsh take on what fauci said, below is the actual transcript:

"Asked if Americans should expect to still be wearing masks into next year, Dr Fauci said: "I think it is possible that that's the case."

He added that it depended on the level of the virus in communities and potential virus variants.

"Obviously, I think we are going to have a significant degree of normality beyond the terrible burden that all of us have been through over the last year," Dr Fauci said."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,455 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

The virus has got his show record listening figures last few months they want this sh1t to continue these guys are box office for him even if they are spouting sh1t -he doesnt care abt the consequences -before this his show barely got a mention

Why anyone would think that
    a) young people are listening to Today FM ,
    or b) that anyone with sense would believe anything they hear on the Denis O' Brien School of Infonomics ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Arlene Foster has said our slowness in getting vaccines could affect their reopening phase in the North.

Just as a casual aside, to hell with Foster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Arlene in using any excuse to have a go at Ireland shocker.

In other news, water is wet.

In other news Arlene is ....(fill in your answer here)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,202 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Interesting article on when we "return to normal". It's written from a US perspective, but still relevant to us:
    https://www.theatlantic.com/family/archive/2021/02/pandemic-daily-life-normal-summer-fall/618108/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 199 ✭✭Morries Wigs

Arlene Foster has said our slowness in getting vaccines could affect their reopening phase in the North.

nice especially after they infected thousands down here with their rubbish lockdown

Not at all. People should listen to the likes of fauci in the states. It’s a nightmare over there precisely because ppl dismissed him and other experts.

He advised against mask usage at the start of the pandemic, like our medical people here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,062 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

SeaMermaid wrote:
    The UK is hardly inspiring. They are over selling their progress out from the pandemic. A quarter of the population are partially vaccinated and they have no real plans for rolling out second doses of vaccine which was demonstrated at tonights briefing and Boris bluffing around a question.
    It's already been proven that one dose of the vaccine is highly affective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,455 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Cummings argued for an earlier lockdown back last March.

Probably to suit his holiday or childcare arrangements

Arlene in using any excuse to have a go at Ireland shocker.

In other news, water is wet.

She's making a valid point as we share the island.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭daydorunrun

Well if it’s the hope that kills you, ain’t nobody dying anytime soon.

“You tried your best and you failed miserably. The lesson is, never try.” Homer.

Goldengirl wrote: »
    Probably to suit his holiday or childcare arrangements

Ah you seem to know a lot about him.

b0nk1e wrote: »
    I heard that interview. Staines in particular was an absolute disgrace. At one stage Cooper was so astonished by his palpable desperation for the vaccines to fail that he was absolutely speechless for a short time.

We'll probably never know the damage that was done to our vaccination programme today by Staines. But any young and healthy people listening to his "the vaccines won't work" rant will probably have been put off getting themselves vaccinated.

I can't help but think that was exactly his intention.

Oh my gosh. Just listened to the replay. Gerry Killeen suggesting that we could be like Manaus in Northern Brazil soon, and that vaccines will not work. He actually, literally, said those words

He should be off the radio. That was absolutely f*ckin shocking!!!!

The virus has got his show record listening figures last few months they want this sh1t to continue these guys are box office for him even if they are spouting sh1t -he doesnt care abt the consequences -before this his show barely got a mention

I stopped listening to Cooper after Trump got elected, there was only so much Trump related bile/ ****e I could tolerate.

Oh my gosh. Just listened to the replay. Gerry Killeen suggesting that we could be like Manaus in Northern Brazil soon, and that vaccines will not work. He actually, literally, said those words

who ever heard of killeen before this hes enjoying his moment

I would hope that someone is going to tell his this time that he has gone too far.

more chat more reaction more killeen thats how it works

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,411 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

You say you hope his plans succeed - but I kinda get the feeling that you really don't. You don't like Boris, we get that. But as PM he has a huge team of advisors and also has a yoke called delegation working for him too, so it's not like he is personally driving the vaccine bus around the UK himself.

Further, it's important to remember that all of the early errors in this for the UK came during the iron fist in the velvet glove period that was of one Dominic Mckenzie Cummings. Like it or not, Boris is overseeing an almighty roll-out of vaccines... one of the most advanced in the whole world, having already scored huge on the backing/funding of vaccines and then contracting the quantities for the UK. That all seems pretty damn impressive to me as I sit here waiting for my jab inside the mighty EU.

I think I remember you saying at some point that you work in a supermarket, yes? So forgive me if I take your opinions on Boris with no more than a smirk. And if I needed to know anything else about you before coming to an informed judgement on you, then your talk about fangirls fawning over Boris brings it to me.

People need very, very optimistic right now. Everyone knows that these plans may have to be rolled back somewhat at some point... but just today... for one day... can we not enjoy that someone, somewhere, currently, is doing something that appears to be working; enacting a plan that has purpose and offering hope to everyone that just maybe, this one may actually be the right way to get us all out of this sh!t.

I'd rather see the UK succeed than win a few Internet brownie points, because it'd show all of us that a clear pathway out of this can be achieved and that the worst of this can be put behind us. Ultimately success in beating the virus and returning to a semblance of normal life means more to me than winning the meaningless back and forth here.

In retrospect I shouldn't have used the word "fangirls" because it does have mocking and misogynistic connotations, so I regret that.

But I still think my essential point stands: that of people not using the same amount of cynicism and critical thinking regardless of who it is that's delivering the message and what it is that is contained in that message.

As for bringing where I work into it. Maybe I don't know much after all, but I know a cheap shot when I see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,685 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

I posted on a different thread that anyone listening to that will have needed a stiff drink.

I couldn’t believe what I was hearing.

more chat more reaction more killeen thats how it works

That true, I only listed to the recap just now to see how ridiculous he was being.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Deusexmachina

I will NEVER forget Marion Finucaine discussing the economic collapse in an interview a couple of years before she died. She said that, while everyone was terrified and depressed, it made for 'great listening figures' for her programme.

That Battle Axe and her cronies in RTE kept the fear and negativity at full volume to sell the adverts.

And we see it happening again with Covid. They have no shame. I hope there is a groundswell reaction to their 'broadcasting charge' with lots of civil disobedience - like when Irish Water got handed their arses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,873 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Some people just loving the limelight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,601 ✭✭✭bennyl10

eagle eye wrote: »
    It's already been proven that one dose of the vaccine is highly affective.

For 4 weeks it is yes
    Sure

Then it drops without a booster/finisher

Arghus wrote: »
    I'd rather see the UK succeed than win a few Internet brownie points, because it'd show all of us that a clear pathway out of this can be achieved and that the worst of this can be put behind us. Ultimately success in beating the virus and returning to a semblance of normal life means more to me than winning the meaningless back and forth here.

In retrospect I shouldn't have used the word "fangirls" because it does have mocking and misogynistic connotations, so I regret that.

But I still think my essential point stands: that of people not using the same amount of cynicism and critical thinking regardless of who it is that's delivering the message and what it is that is contained in that message.

As for bringing where I work into it. Maybe I don't know much after all, but I know a cheap shot when I see it.

Agree with all except the critical thinking .
    I will always be critical everytime a politician , any politician, opens their mouth .

And that bit about the workplace by the other poster was just unnecessary and irrelevant .
    You are one of the most level headed and intelligent posters on here .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

The thing about the UK's plan is that it all rests on the reopening of schools going well.
    Their own data suggests it won't.

There's also been notable outbreaks of B117 in kids and schools in Italy, Israel, Denmark, the US, Canada and others.

I'm cautious to make any predictions as I was wrong about schools opening last year. I thought it would go a lot worse than it did.
    But look at us now, struggling to beat down this variant with a lockdown that is harsher than we had used in October. B117 is a different beast.

Fingers crossed for them, but it seems unlikely to pan out as planned.

Arghus wrote: »

Fair play for acknowledging that the use of the fangirls mocking label was ill advised.
    Mentioning where you work was a cheap shot but that's a risk you take when you offer up any personal information. Plenty of posters here have been victim to cheap shots also , I note those that thanked your post with some amusement.
    Anyway don't let it get you down, your job doesn't define you. There is clear intelligence in your posts, even if I disagree with you sometimes.

Dr. Bre wrote: »
    Some people just loving the limelight

Philip Nolan in particular - Boredom Central in cognitive form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Fair play for acknowledging that the use of the fangirls mocking label was ill advised.
    Mentioning where you work was a cheap shot but that's a risk you take when you offer up any personal information. Plenty of posters here have been victim to cheap shots also , I note those that thanked your post with some amusement.
    Anyway don't let it get you down, your job doesn't define you. There is clear intelligence in your posts, even if I disagree with you sometimes.

I'd agree with that sentiment. Keep the opinions coming Arghus. I tend to agree with you but sometimes I don't. You always make me think though.