Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VIII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

MOR316 wrote: »
    No clue why that was put up in the first place

the owners were probably hoping to ride a wave of good publicity and get an increase of business from the mural post covid, not realizing how much of a long haul it'd be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

MOR316 wrote: »
    Ha, he's a footballer whose called, "Slabhead"
    I was making a joke

There's nothing wrong with a field or any of the things you listed.

Ya and I get the joke now sorry just don’t follow soccer so would t have a clue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭showpony1

wakka12 wrote: »
    I'm really stunned by this revelation tonight. I really naively thought normality was coming in May or June. God how wrong I was. WHAT is the hesitation with the vaccine, it's not being said outright. I do not get it at all, I cannot get my head around. Is the vaccine going to work to reduce hospitalisations and deaths among the at risk groups or not? All the studies from Israel are showing extremely positive results and yet restrictions to protect nobody will be in place even after all those at risk will be protected by vaccines. So what are further restrictions for?

Unfortunately now the prospect of more restrictions next Autumn no longer sound far fetched

Until all of us are vaccinated we must behave as if none of us are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,532 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

showpony1 wrote: »

While other countries live alongside the virus after the most vulnerable are vaccinated

Like what are we trying to prove ? the good boys of Europe setting the bar ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,319 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

PTH2009 wrote: »
    While other countries live alongside the virus after the most vulnerable are vaccinated

Like what are we trying to prove ? the good boys of Europe setting the bar ?

What other countries?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭dalyboy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Penfailed

I'd be gone if I was a young fella...I've seen a side to us Irish that I never thought I'd see, I knew we were subservient but I'm surprised at how easy it has been achieved.

Are you putting yourself in the subservient group?

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,252 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

dalyboy wrote: »

If you read those links it's clear that nothing is confirmed regarding France reopening cultural events. They have some quotes from an industry rep saying they are willing to adapt, but it's an evolving situation and they've received no information from government - and it also ends with a story about an event for later in the Summer which has just cancelled without waiting to see what will happen. It's a deliberately misleading headline - if you look at the information there's very little there. There's nothing definite or confirmed in any of that, apart from the cancellation. Read past the headline.

The article about Bavaria is also full of caveats that things may or may not happen based on how case numbers pan out over the next while. There's not much there either in the way of guarantees.

Fair play to Israel I guess. Vaccinating your population at a furious rate gives you options.

wcooba wrote: »
    but I can't recall another EU country where people are effectively under house arrest for 10 months or so.

It didn't happen here either.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,646 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

NPHET said no to construction

Tony’s got Ireland’s destiny in his hands

What science does NPHET have regarding construction that the rest of the world doesn’t?

NPHET are now all powerful, especially after Christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,153 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

showpony1 wrote: »

It should be be like that. When the older people are done by Easter there should be some let up

it has inspired people to ring Gardai on neighbours if they dare to accept even someone calling to the front door to deliver a gift. It is insanity of the highest order

You are kidding yourself if you think this is only happening in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Windmill100000

Penfailed wrote: »
    You are kidding yourself if you think this is only happening in Ireland.

Of course it's happening everywhere. There was a story of ice cream vans being reported in the UK last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

Once the over 70s are vaccinated everyone should do as they please. Enough is enough.

thebaz wrote: »
    Ireland will have the longest lockdown of any country, as its complacent citizens are controlled by NPHET and our Nanny state.
    No questions asked, so much for a country of Rebels.

Are you a complacent citizen? Are you asking questions? Are you rebelling? ...or just posting on Boards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Lantern Jaw

Any chance of at least takeaway pints?

Plenty of places in Swords as well. Got a few last Sunday 1st pints since before Xmas. They're in a glass as well, 5er a pop. Problem is all pubs are running out of guinness, guinness haven't delivered since early Jan after the government had a "word". So as well as keeping pubs shut, their also taking away any bit of revenue they had coming in.

Not surprised at all by the announcement or the manner of it. Myself, Fintan and a few others have been calling this since last May now.

At the moment, MM is buying time to try and think of a way of sell staycations with no hospitality.

Not a chance we’ll see pubs/restaurants until the majority of the population are vaccinated. Maybe not even then. There’ll be another reason not to when we reach that point.

Unfortunately we have finances to survive until 2023 according to Leo. Scary thought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Golfman64

hynesie08 wrote: »
    What other countries?

Golf is open in Scotland and many regions in Spain. In fact it has been since after the first lockdown when it was obvious that it is safe.

There are many examples of nuance like this across industry and sports which are being ignored by government.

Now is the time for nuance. Small openings of safe activities will help the buy in and trust moving forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Golfman64

Not surprised at all by the announcement or the manner of it. Myself, Fintan and a few others have been calling this since last May now.

At the moment, MM is buying time to try and think of a way of sell staycations with no hospitality.

Not a chance we’ll see pubs/restaurants until the majority of the population are vaccinated. Maybe not even then. There’ll be another reason not to when we reach that point.

Unfortunately we have finances to survive until 2023 according to Leo. Scary thought

It is a truly scary abuse of power at this point. Reading LV’s comments on Aer Lingus and the aviation industry is like they intend to keep this heavily restricted for years.

Even more unfortunately FF, FG and Greens will be decimated in the next election and we’ve no decent alternative currently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,646 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Donnelly on newstalk suggesting we can’t open construction because people will want to play golf

There’s the science we are following

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

Go on then, what's the logic behind this little conspiracy theory?

Who still thinks this has something to do with preserving our health system?

Me. What do you think it's about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭FlubberJones

**** this and all the horses they rode in on, I'll 100% be going away somewhere before May, most certainly the UK for a long weekend and a high probability of Europe, possibly Italy.
    There'll be ways to get around things and I'll find them, but this country is becoming a joke, they are literally clueless and have nothing but lockdowns, I see no positivity regarding the vaccine rollout and these scaremongering bellends in charge should be voted out as soon as is the opportunity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭opinionated3

**** this and all the horses they rode in on, I'll 100% be going away somewhere before May, most certainly the UK for a long weekend and a high probability of Europe, possibly Italy.
    There'll be ways to get around things and I'll find them, but this country is becoming a joke, they are literally clueless and have nothing but lockdowns, I see no positivity regarding the vaccine rollout and these scaremongering bellends in charge should be voted out as soon as is the opportunity.

The only problem with your statement is there is no alternative to vote for in this country. Think I'll be saving myself a journey to the ballot centre next time around. IMO your vote is too precious to be wasted on spineless idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

Back to this nonsense again :rolleyes::pac: Asking the same question for a year now.

Remember its all about the 'normal' - whatever that entails.

161372266484686922?4086095917

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭vladmydad

Tony Holohan IS the Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Multipass

Gael23 wrote: »
    It should be be like that. When the older people are done by Easter there should be some let up

I agree, but that’s the problem - the over 70s won’t be vaccinated by Easter.. My 89 yr old Dad has no appointment yet, but has been told 3 weeks. That’s mid March, so his 2nd shot would be sometime in April. I’d say we’ll be lucky if the elderly are vaccinated by June at this stage. Which is a total joke, but we have the EU to thank for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭kilns

Here in Switzerland, our cases are at 1026 for a 7 day average (nearly double Irelands population).

We have been on lockdown like Germany since early January but not as strict as Ireland, the ability to go further than 5km and ski resorts are also open.

However from March 1st, we begin to re-open with Zoos, musuems, public gardens etc. Non-essential shops and restuarants likely to follow on April 1st.

I understand that Ireland is in a different situation and the ICU beds need to be protected and Switzerland has possibly the best healthcare system in the world, so its different.

But its about offering hope, the opening of Zoos and animals parks here is huge and a big thing for suffering parents.

All i can see in Ireland is no hope and no real time frame to let people say ok, this will open definitely on this date. They could say, if cases are below a certain number on this date, we open up etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,012 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

544176.jpg

Seven Worlds will Collide

Graham wrote: »
    Go on then, what's the logic behind this little conspiracy theory?

No conspiracy.
    Just a bunch of overpaid politicians that can’t be bothered to lead so they’ve handed the keys to a bunch of overpaid doctors with no economic knowledge and strong feelings against alcohol and social activity.