Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Operation Transformation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,813 ✭✭✭joe40

First Up wrote: »
    I'm surprised they haven't guided Andrew to work on his strength and conditioning. He clearly has energy and motivation to burn and they could help him channel, it instead of giving out to him for running.

They would need a fitness expert for that...
    Karl is a bit of a spoofer who got into media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭First Up

How can you be a fitness expert nowadays and not have some sort of knowledge of weight training. It is probably the most popular now across both sexes.

Doesn't even have to be with weights. Body weight and resistance bands would be enough if he was coached by someone who knows what he is doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,768 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

I'm surprised they haven't guided Andrew to work on his strength and conditioning. He clearly has energy and motivation to burn and they could help him channel, it instead of giving out to him for running.

Yeah thought the same myself. Their reaction to him was pretty sour. He lost 4 pounds and should have been congratulated but instead he met a wall of tut tutting as if he is on the road to anorexia. They could have gotten their point across in a better way.

Would agree with others that Suzannas heart doesnt seem to be in it. In the argument with Karl about walking around a football pitch she had a lot of negativity like shes convinced herself that she just cant do it. Someone mentioned that dancing might have been better for her and Id tend to agree. OT seems to have this cookie cutter approach that all contestants will like running because Karl does. One size doesnt fit all like Karl seems to think, lots of people hate running but would actually enjoy cycling or swimming and be able to sustain it when the show ends. If they're not doing something they genuinely like then as soon as the camera crew departs they will stop doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,726 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Yeah thought the same myself. Their reaction to him was pretty sour. He lost 4 pounds and should have been congratulated but instead he met a wall of tut tutting as if he is on the road to anorexia. They could have gotten their point across in a better way.

Would agree with others that Suzannas heart doesnt seem to be in it. In the argument with Karl about walking around a football pitch she had a lot of negativity like shes convinced herself that she just cant do it. Someone mentioned that dancing might have been better for her and Id tend to agree. OT seems to have this cookie cutter approach that all contestants will like running because Karl does. One size doesnt fit all like Karl seems to think, lots of people hate running but would actually enjoy cycling or swimming and be able to sustain it when the show ends. If they're not doing something they genuinely like then as soon as the camera crew departs they will stop doing it.

i think thats the problem with the food/exercise combination, they have a formula and if you stick to it you will lose weight, unfortunately if you dont like either or both then its your fault for not following the "program".

its the thing that annoys me most about the program

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

I wasnt blaming him for his friends action but its scary people watching thinking jez i he doing great ill try what hea doing. There is a right and wrong way to loose weight and that varies amoung people and at what stage you of a weight lose journey you are at to maintain the long term benefits.He was asked to maintain and not loose any weight for a reason.

But he shouldn't have been asked to maintain, he still has fat to lose.

They should have told him to keep the running up even increased it to every other day and upped his calories by say 600 a day.

This would have allowed him to stay at the same weight but go for his runs and improve his cardio vascular health.

The fact he lost muscle just shows that the dietician doesn't include enough protein and the calories she has them on are insanely low.

I think I worked it out before and she had men on 1250-1400 calories a day, that is crazy low for a man but it gets rapid weight loss so the show works out for the producers in that people lose weight very quickly and it makes good tv and transformations.

However then they start going mad when they lose too much weight on these very restrictive low calorie diets, sorry they cant have it both ways.

I think they could do with a better nutritionist and a better trainer tbh as neither seem to have a clue but that's an argument for another day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭nj27

Caught some of this last night, how is a 5'5 woman who weighs as much as a prop forward in an international rugby squad gaining weight on a diet and exercise program? If she did no exercise and ate 25% less food each meal and made no other changes she'd have lost weight. Lock her up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,302 ✭✭✭DenMan

Caught up with the newest episode today. For some reason Andrew is starting to annoy me a little bit now the past few weeks. It's fantastic he's lost so much weight and has taken to running so well, it just seems like he's got a little bit cocky imo. Talking about beating Karl on the 5K on the day and he doesn't take criticism very well. Maybe it's just me but I think he's eating less than what his plan is the past few weeks. I just don't get Susuana at all being honest, she's lazy and is where she is for a reason. She just screams drama queen, I can't do this, I can't do that, give me a break! She has a neighbour, practically a full time fitness instructor to her during a pandemic and she still struggles walking on country roads. I want her to do well but I can see right through her, half hearted words that don't involve real action or commitment in any way, we'll see, maybe, possibly, try etc, all defeatist words from someone who really doesn't want to be there. They have cameras in the houses so I'd be interested to see the footage when she's measuring out her ingredients, I'd say her portion sizes are still bigger than what they should be, nobody gains weight three times in seven weeks, something very fishy about it.

Hazel and Sharon have both done fantastic and well done to the both of them. They've really grown as human beings throughout the show and their confidence has shot up. Paul is still Paul imo, although he has improved a bit. He was on the radio during the week with Dr Sumi and he was talking about how sticking to the plan is vital and that he's done it. I was driving at the time and thought I was in the Twilight Zone for a minute listening to it, surely this wasn't the same man who fought with the experts saying the plan didn't suit him and didn't want to use the microwave. I hope it works out for him post OT and he brings his new changes into his daily life. His breathing has improved and he has lost some weight. Benefits for him to build on and I agree with another poster who said he gives the impression he can't wait for the show to end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Arduach

Hazel and Sharon, both excellent. I look at the careers they are in and it's clear they are workers. If you're a worker, you can achieve most of your goals.

Suzanne.. She just doesn't want to put herself in the least bit of pain. Whenever any of us start at a low base there's plenty of pain to endure to reach physical fitness, the right body size and shape. She's a china doll. I can't see her being productive in anything she does.

Paul is a bit bull thick. He'll work more than Suzanne but he's stubborn in his habits. He'd take 'managing' full time. Bubbles has probably had her hands full for years. Not that he wouldn't be good natured, but he'd always know best!

Andrew has gone a bit prima donnaish for me last night. Ok the guidance isn't the best. But he's lost sight of the real goal and just wants to compete with, or beat, Karl in the 5k. That's short term thinking. I'm sure he did more than 6 min extra running! You can hide an awful lot, re. exercise, food portions etc, even to yourself..but the scales won't lie.

I think I worked it out before and she had men on 1250-1400 calories a day, that is crazy low for a man but it gets rapid weight loss so the show works out for the producers in that people lose weight very quickly and it makes good tv and transformations.

However then they start going mad when they lose too much weight on these very restrictive low calorie diets, sorry they cant have it both ways.

I think they could do with a better nutritionist and a better trainer tbh as neither seem to have a clue but that's an argument for another day.

Given that public health advice is that men eat 2,500 calories a day 1,250-1,400 is ridiculously low. I remember losing weight and the app MyFitnessPal recommeded no less than 1,700 per day and it would be giving you warnings if you consistently logged less calories than that. I did try to drop below 1,500 at one stage but its not worth it as you're just going around hungry at the end of the day.

If theyre putting the men on 1,250-1,400 calories per day that sounds more like shock therapy on their bodies just so the producers have some results to point at by the end of the series. Id actually say it is irresponsible advice.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,169 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

Just watching now. Absolutely agree that they handled things wrong with Andrew at the weigh in. I'm glad he stood up for himself and got his viewpoint across. I felt sorry for him, especially after he talked about how his confidence has improved so much. He wouldn't be human if he wasn't disappointed with the way they reacted towards him.

If anything, in my opinion, it showed up Karl in particular, and also Aoife. Neither of them impress me, as being experts in their respective roles.

nj27 wrote: »
    Caught some of this last night, how is a 5'5 woman who weighs as much as a prop forward in an international rugby squad gaining weight on a diet and exercise program? If she did no exercise and ate 25% less food each meal and made no other changes she'd have lost weight. Lock her up!

Really well said, and so funny!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,557 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Just watching now. Absolutely agree that they handled things wrong with Andrew at the weigh in. I'm glad he stood up for himself and got his viewpoint across. I felt sorry for him, especially after he talked about how his confidence has improved so much. He wouldn't be human if he wasn't disappointed with the way they reacted towards him.

If anything, in my opinion, it showed up Karl in particular, and also Aoife. Neither of them impress me, as being experts in their respective roles.

Two wafflers

What was with Aoife and her matter of fact claim that Andrew lost 2 lbs of muscle? Did she actually get this weight and do a chemical and biological analysis on it?

Andrew is still slightly overweight based off BMI; so instead of those two telling him to lose no weight, they should be praising him for continuing to shed lbs.

It’s not like he’s killing himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Baffling when you see how they reacted to Susanna in comparison to Andrew. They were quite harsh on Andrew for losing when they told him not to but almost complementary of Susanna despite the fact she is relentlessly gaining. Have they just realised she is a lost cause and don’t see the point? If it was anyone else, say Paul for example, who was gaining to such a degree they would be gone through him. I don’t understand their approach towards her at all. There’s clearly something going on with her that we’re not seeing.. Andrew looks great, very trim and fit but I’ve a feeling he’s not done losing weight. He’s losing it so quickly now I think he’ll find it hard to know when to stop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,557 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Yes, the lady who seems to be fooking heavier now than when she first started gets no criticism. Absolute joke of an effort.

Funny woman, though. Very likable..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,813 ✭✭✭joe40

Given that public health advice is that men eat 2,500 calories a day 1,250-1,400 is ridiculously low. I remember losing weight and the app MyFitnessPal recommeded no less than 1,700 per day and it would be giving you warnings if you consistently logged less calories than that. I did try to drop below 1,500 at one stage but its not worth it as you're just going around hungry at the end of the day.

If theyre putting the men on 1,250-1,400 calories per day that sounds more like shock therapy on their bodies just so the producers have some results to point at by the end of the series. Id actually say it is irresponsible advice.

Absolutely, and with a calorie deficit like that, the exercise is going to have very little effect on weight loss.
    I know exercise is vital for fitness, well being, mental health etc but in terms of weight loss the effect from exercise is minimal.
    If you had two sets of leaders one just did the diet only, no exercise, the weight loss would be similar.
    I know their fitness would not improve but I think it is a mistake to imply that exercise has any significant effect on weight loss.

Diet causes weight loss, exercise brings a whole range of other benefits but has minimal effect on weight.

The exercise is beneficial even without weight loss.

Baffling when you see how they reacted to Susanna in comparison to Andrew. They were quite harsh on Andrew for losing when they told him not to but almost complementary of Susanna despite the fact she is relentlessly gaining. Have they just realised she is a lost cause and don’t see the point? If it was anyone else, say Paul for example, who was gaining to such a degree they would be gone through him. I don’t understand their approach towards her at all. There’s clearly something going on with her that we’re not seeing.. Andrew looks great, very trim and fit but I’ve a feeling he’s not done losing weight. He’s losing it so quickly now I think he’ll find it hard to know when to stop

Yeah from last nights show Im guessing that when the leaders show up at the studio they are weighed off camera and then the four 'experts' have a chat on how they're going to respond to it when the result is shown on camera. Not one of them criticised Suzanna for what was her third weigh in with weight gain, Id say the four of them basically arrived at the conclusion that its the penultimate week so whats the point at this stage. Then with Andrew they're all working in tandem again by giving out to him. Its clear to me the four of them are acting as a unit and it isnt always for the benefit of the participant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Sandor Clegane

Susuana should of been kicked out of this long ago, she's getting fatter as the show goes on, she's absolutely pathetic.

Id say they are afraid to go harder on her because of race issues, they don't want to be accused of anything, but anyway shes the most pathetic contestant I have ever seen on this show.

But the "experts" are just as pathetic, she's wasted everyone's time from the very start and they have failed to call her on it.

Complete joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,817 ✭✭✭Addle

I agree that the last show has really shown up the ‘experts’.
    It’s like everything I guess, all down to the individual really.
    They really do with shaking up the format though.

Susuana should of been kicked out of this long ago, she's getting fatter as the show goes on, she's absolutely pathetic.

Id say they are afraid to go harder on her because of race issues, they don't want to be accused of anything, but anyway shes the most pathetic contestant I have ever seen on this show.

But the "experts" are just as pathetic, she's wasted everyone's time from the very start and they have failed to call her on it.

Complete joke.

I was thinking the exact same but just didnt bother writing it because I didn't want to get into an argument with someone so didn't bother.

You are 100% right, she's a lazy clown who should have been booted off the show week 3. Would have made for better television tbh

It was so clear to see how it would go from the start, she's morbidly obese and thinks she's a goddess or something. Delusional doesn't cover it, the lack of self awareness is frightening.

I feel bad for her son, he seems like a good guy.

I wouldn't be as sympathetic towards Andrew. He basically went against the experts' advice and threw his rattler out of the plan when they weren't delighted with the weight loss they said they didn't want to see.

There's a lot of giving out about Aoife or Karl, but like it or not they form part of a panel of experts. When people sign up to the show a major part of it is taking the experts' advice.

Andrew was told to maintain his weight, I don't see what he has to cry about when he loses 4 ibs.

I think their lack of criticism of Suzanna is wrong. As a poster mentioned, I think they are pussy footing about due to race and trying to appeal to all ethnicities. It's a cop out.

I was thinking the exact same but just didnt bother writing it because I didn't want to get into an argument with someone so didn't bother.

You are 100% right, she's a lazy clown who should have been booted off the show week 3. Would have made for better television tbh

It was so clear to see how it would go from the start, she's morbidly obese and thinks she's a goddess or something. Delusional doesn't cover it, the lack of self awareness is frightening.

My 88 year old mother can walk 500m much more quickly than her, and not be as breathless. I watched the show with her last night and she couldn't believe this lady was in her 40s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,441 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Andrew and his husband were on first dates tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭BuboBubo

Arduach wrote: »
    Hazel and Sharon, both excellent. I look at the careers they are in and it's clear they are workers. If you're a worker, you can achieve most of your goals.

Suzanne.. She just doesn't want to put herself in the least bit of pain. Whenever any of us start at a low base there's plenty of pain to endure to reach physical fitness, the right body size and shape. She's a china doll. I can't see her being productive in anything she does.

Paul is a bit bull thick. He'll work more than Suzanne but he's stubborn in his habits. He'd take 'managing' full time. Bubbles has probably had her hands full for years. Not that he wouldn't be good natured, but he'd always know best!

Andrew has gone a bit prima donnaish for me last night. Ok the guidance isn't the best. But he's lost sight of the real goal and just wants to compete with, or beat, Karl in the 5k. That's short term thinking. I'm sure he did more than 6 min extra running! You can hide an awful lot, re. exercise, food portions etc, even to yourself..but the scales won't lie.

I agree with all your comments except the last paragraph. The "experts" treated Andrew terribly imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,658 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

I was glad to see Andrew speak up for himself this week.
    I don't think he'd have had the confidence to do so a few weeks ago, and that in itself is very positive. January Andrew would have cried.

He has followed the plan to the letter, and although he was asked to eat more etc.. him losing the weight shouldn't have been used as a criticism.
    Instead, what do we now need to do, to change the plan, to maintain your weight, while allowing you continue to exercise etc...

As for Susuana, jeez but she needs to realise she is losing weight for herself, not for the panel of experts.

Arduach wrote:
    Andrew was told to maintain his weight, I don't see what he has to cry about when he loses 4 ibs.

But he was given no guidance on how to do that. He has got hooked on running and fitness which is great but the "experts" don't seem to have suggested any ways to use his energy and enthusiasm to build muscle mass (which he needs) instead of losing weight (which he doesn't)

The guy needs to get advice from real experts. Karl Henry is a one dimensional chancer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 RebeccaK21

But he was given no guidance on how to do that. He has got hooked on running and fitness which is great but the "experts" don't seem to have suggested any ways to use his energy and enthusiasm to build muscle mass (which he needs) instead of losing weight (which he doesn't)

The guy needs to get advice from real experts. Karl Henry is a one dimensional chancer.

I was so shocked when I watched the last episode. Andrew said he did 6 more minutes of running that he was supposed to, and I think besides that, he really does follow the plan to the letter.
    Not only is Karl a one dimensional character, the plan is. There is no nuance in the plan, or personalisation, as we've seen especially so many times this series. The food Andrew is on is obviously insufficient for maintaining weight while exercising. An extra slice of toast or more porridge or whatever isn't going to do it.
    He should be really proud of himself, and I'm so glad he's found that he loves running.
    The contrast between his weigh-in and Susanna's is actually embarrassing to see from the 'experts'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭lisasimpson

I agree she was lazy and she needs to take responsibility for it not working out.but saying she is delusional goes back to her heritage. Warning signs were there from 1st episode that the shows one size fits all plan wasnt going to work
    On episode 1 she said that in Nigeria society thinks the bigger you are the more beautiful society counts you. Alarm bell number 1
    Its was also clear to see she was never going to be your 5k sort of person. Alarm bell number 2. She fitness plan should have been altered. Karl henry is a one trick pony when he comes to fitness and its clear for a number of series he isnt great. Make fitness fun for her. She came across as a fun person include dance into her routine for example. So many ways to do fitness than pounding the pavements sure poledancing is a legit form of fitness class nowadays great for upper body strenght
    Alarm bell 3. In 2 seperarte episodes she says shes missing african food. Aoife took a lazy approach here too. She only lookes at planteen in reference. Surely Aoife could have looked into herbs ans and spices to add african flavour to her menu plans? The planteen thing would be like someone focusing on spuds to an Irish person..
    Suzanne, Karl and Aoife all have some blame here.
    Andrew i got the feeling the other night if not careful he could be the sort to take weight loss too far. People can get addicted to it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Bill Ponderosa

Would agree on Andrew throwing the toys out of the pram. They told him to maintain weight then he goes and loses 4 pounds and is wondering why everyone isn't patting him on the back.

Wouldn't be surprised if he's using weight loss pills or similar as his loss has been excessive. Seems desparate for attention, apparently on first dates also last night.

RebeccaK21 wrote:
    There is no nuance in the plan, or personalisation, as we've seen especially so many times this series. The food Andrew is on is obviously insufficient for maintaining weight while exercising. An extra slice of toast or more porridge or whatever isn't going to do it. He should be really proud of himself, and I'm so glad he's found that he loves running. The contrast between his weigh-in and Susanna's is actually embarrassing to see from the 'experts'.

Both cases illustrate the difference between a TV show and a serious exercise programme. The African woman is clearly a hopeless case but she'll be carried to the finish line because that's what the show requires.

Andrew is more complex and a bigger challenge because it's the first time a participant has gone beyond the simplistic picture the programme is designed to show. He is an interesting case study but his needs (and maybe potential) can't be easily packaged for the couch potatoes the show is intended to impress and motivate.

Scolding him for running while not suggesting alternatives shows how limited the programme - and its panel of "experts" - really is. I'm sure he will finish it out but I hope he moves on to get better advice when the cameras aren't rolling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,817 ✭✭✭Addle

apparently on first dates also last night.

Off topic, but I presume that was a repeat? Did he meet his husband on a tv show?