Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Lidl Led lenser's

• 16-02-2021 2:31pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭

Just a quick heads up. Lidl are selling small led lenser torches today for 14.99. I picked one up and its powerful, perfect size for a jacket pocket, and very well made. There wasn't many in the shop this morning, so i'd be quick if you want one.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,454 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Did you buy it?

If you did any chance to test it tonight and see if its actually any use?
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭tudderone

Cass wrote: »
    Did you buy it?

If you did any chance to test it tonight and see if its actually any use?

Yes, bought one, took it out of the packet and its nice quality, has a good feel to it unlike the aliexpress stuff. Its an evo220. For something to have in your coat pocket out stalking or in the glovebox of the car, i don't see how you can go wrong for 15 quid.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭cookimonster

I bought one the previous time they were there. Brilliant light weight with a great out put for its size.
    For the price well worth picking up.

Balls. Don't fecking believe it.

Went into town for some messages with the intent to get one of these and came home without buying one. Feck it.

I'll check again tomorrow.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Another thing they have, left over from last week that maybe of interest to shooters, is 0-25mm micrometers for 8 euros. I have my own set of Mitutoyo's, but i bought the lidl one for giggles and its surprisingly good.

• Registered Users Posts: 551 ✭✭✭JP22

Modern LED torches have come on in leaps and bounds over the past few years and if you get a reasonably good one are a great investment, battery's life is generally very good hence one always in glovebox of car.

I have another for fishing, great for crossing rivers, super wide to pinpoint beam out to 100 odd yards.

If river/canal fishing/rough shooting, wear around your neck on lanyard with torch in pocket, some are sealed better than others.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,906 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

I like some of the modern torches, I did buy a new LED head torch from Varusteleka recently , its a Fenix HM65R and it really is a nice bit of equipment.
    Red and white in two separate lenses. Not cheap but you do get what you pay for.

• Registered Users Posts: 35 kjl412

Just went down and picked up one of those stitches in Lidl. Actually feels decent and a good light for the money as far as I can tell. Thanks for the heads up.

As expected went back in today, none left. Will try another store tomorrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭clivej

Good few in Kilkenny today, 2 types one was a rechargeable unit.
    I also picked up a multi tool for €7. I'll keep that in my car.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,772 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Don’t be shy buying a Lenser, they’re quality stuff.

I’ve seen Fiskars spades, hand saws and chopping axes as well today. Good quality stuff as well.

Thanks for that.

Few bits i'll look for when checking for the LED lenser.

• Registered Users Posts: 6 Willow2009

tudderone wrote: »
    Just a quick heads up. Lidl are selling small led lenser torches today for 14.99. I picked one up and its powerful, perfect size for a jacket pocket, and very well made. There wasn't many in the shop this morning, so i'd be quick if you want one.

Hi poped down and picked 2 up for the cat glove box’s. Seems decent enough and a good light for the price Thanks for the info

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

Picked up one for Dad, he was looking for something like that. Cheers.

First they came for the socialists...

Ok, all of ye are just taking the piss now with yer "i just popped down and picked one up".

Feckers.

Still cannot find one. Its getting to the point i want one now simply because i cannot get it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭Rosahane

It might be worth contacting Lidl and asking where there is stock locally. I bought a cheap pair of boots from them last summer to use as wading boots but they were a little too small with the wader stocking and local store had no bigger sized left. Contacted Lidl and they got back to me with availability in another store reasonably close.

Incidentally, for (I think) €29.95 they are as good a wader boot as ones for which I paid over €100!

• Registered Users Posts: 551 ✭✭✭JP22

Ok, all of ye are just taking the piss now with yer "i just popped down and picked one up".

Feckers.

Still cannot find one. Its getting to the point i want one now simply because i cannot get it.

Lidl Kildare Town had half a dozen left this morning, may be gone now though.

• Registered Users Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Asus1

Lidl clane in Kildare had maybe 20 left about an hour ago.Some weight for such a small torch.

Feckers.

I always make a point of popping into Lidl on tuesdays and thursdays. Some of their tools and bits and bobs on the middle Aisle, are really good for the money. Not professional standards, but plenty good enough for messing around at home.

• Registered Users Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Asus1

Anyone have a warranty registration card in the packet.Online they say they do a 7 year warranty with all torch's.It was only €15 but if there's a warranty available might as well register it.

• Registered Users Posts: 457 ✭✭richiedel123

Feckers.

Picked up 2 this evening and there was 4 or 5 more left. You can have one of the ones I got if you want. If your over my way give me a shout

Did you get it in Roscrea?

• Registered Users Posts: 457 ✭✭richiedel123

Did you get it in Roscrea?

Nope they were all out. Was passing through birr and got them. Had 5 or 6 left there. Nice little torch for the money

My mate contacted me yesterday to say he had two and I could get one. Generous offer, and not the first one ireceived, but he mistakenly bought the led work torch (which i still bought of him cos its nice) so took a trip to Roscrea today and they didn't even have them advertised. I did buy the wet/dry vac, pump, welding magnets, sand blasting gun, and some donuts so not a totally wasted trip. :D

Its really not important, just the fuss over them and being hard to get made me want it. I'll live without one, but I want to thank everyone that contacted me with offers to go find one and send it to me.

Faith in humanity restored lads.

Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,153 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

Asus1 wrote: »
    Anyone have a warranty registration card in the packet.Online they say they do a 7 year warranty with all torch's.It was only €15 but if there's a warranty available might as well register it.

Try finding that model online? Best I could find was that its obsolete, certainly there is no EVO220 (or EV0110 which Lidl had back before Christmas) listed on ledlenser.com .

I didn't even bother keeping the packaging I just dumped the lot in the bin as I came out of the door at Lidl after fishing out the little strap.

Any damage you do to them will be through abuse. One thing thats worth bearing in mind is that the lens is probably plastic so will scratch if left to rattle around with say tools. The lens is however set back slightly which reduces the chance of scratches.

Wake me up when it's all over.

My mate contacted me yesterday to say he had two and I could get one. Generous offer, and not the first one ireceived, but he mistakenly bought the led work torch (which i still bought of him cos its nice) so took a trip to Roscrea today and they didn't even have them advertised. I did buy the wet/dry vac, pump, welding magnets, sand blasting gun, and some donuts so not a totally wasted trip. :D

Its really not important, just the fuss over them and being hard to get made me want it. I'll live without one, but I want to thank everyone that contacted me with offers to go find one and send it to me.

Faith in humanity restored lads.

Thanks.

Those welding magnets with two square pieces joined by bars ? Stupidly strong they are. Went to pick one up out of the basket for a look and couldn't, they were all stuck together and to the basket :eek:

The problem with them is if you grind near them the sh1t sticks to them and its a pain to get it off again.

tudderone wrote: »
    Those welding magnets with two square pieces joined by bars ?
    Thats the one.
    Stupidly strong they are. Went to pick one up out of the basket for a look and couldn't, they were all stuck together and to the basket :eek:
    Same problem myself, then it stuck to the fecking hoover i bought. I looked like something out of Monty Python or Inspector Clouseau.
    The problem with them is if you grind near them the sh1t sticks to them and its a pain to get it off again.

Yeah. I have about half a dozen already but at a fiver cannot pass them up. The air line is good at cleaning them though. Few quick blasts and most of it is off.

• Registered Users Posts: 270 ✭✭keith s

I missed this, would have probably got one just for the sake of it.

I have a nice little torch I got in Euro Giant for 5 quid. It takes 3 of them skinny batteries or 1 x 18650.
    I've have it about 2 years and it's powerful enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 270 ✭✭keith s

Similar to this one