Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VIII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭C__MC

People out and about more and more
    Government only kidding themselves by prolonging lock down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,908 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

That poster is right though , the knock on effect from rolling lockdowns will definitelty be a lot worse than covid will be ever,

Well if two boardsie posters are saying it then it must be true. What need of supporting evidence or any of that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

2) The absolute proliferation of the virus at the moment amongst travellers. It's absolutely rampant in travelling communities right down the west coast and has contributed to the plateau in hospitalisations we've seen. Not a word from the media on this. Instead we get another blame the students article. Pathetic

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/students-have-highest-covid-infection-rates-after-health-workers-in-third-wave-40100677.html

From what i've heard from Rathkeale and Dublin Airport, the TC have not been observing restrictions all that closely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Out and about today it looks like the kids have been released from their dungeons. I personally don't mind it but it will affect our public transport systems.

The satellite town i live in was quite busy today outside which I am sure has no impact on COVID spread, it was refreshing to see albeit a bit unsettling to think these people are the same people wanting to incarcerate inbound travelers who have negative PCR tests in 'facilities' with assistance from the defense services and Gardai yet happily meet maskless for a coffee. I guess it is a case of 'I'm alright, Jack'

Hellrazer wrote: »
    What really pisses me off is the headline tonight from our national broadcaster.

It should be

With all this doom and gloom we`ll never get out of lockdown!!

Exactly, the framing of the narrative is transparent for all to see. Any negative is seized upon with relish, conversely a positive is twisted into a cautionary tale of what could happen. The fourth estate has failed us, nothing more than a propaganda vessel for the NPHET/the Government. Only right it should be taken to task, public anger is simmering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭dalyboy

RobitTV wrote: »
    Virgin News: Gardai confirm DPP is seeking prosecution for four people in relation to Golfgate dinner in August 2020 - understood to include Galway West independent TD Noel Grealish, then-captain of Oireachtas Golf Society, and its president ex-FF TD Donie Cassidy

Legally this is going to open a big can of worms.

RTE stalwarts are now in real jeopardy after “going away party” gate.

Definitely something to keep an eye on (not both eyes in case it’s a distraction though)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

"Letting them". Jesus.

Maybe we ought to, oh, I don't know, arm them with information and let them take their own risks, these adults with more years than you or I. Most would shield on advice. Some, possibly particularly those in poorer health, might decide that they'd rather risk Covid than spend a couple of years out of what little they may have left isolated. That should be up to them.

Isn’t the recovery rate for over 70s who have Covid in the high 80% or so?? You’d swear getting it was the touch of death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

Hopefully we will get our freedom back someday....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,072 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

dalyboy wrote: »
    If he has a negative PCR test and self isolates upon his return for the accepted time then he is not harming anyone.

Do you agree or disagree with the above statement.

If you disagree please outline the threat or potential harm he presents to this country.

Can you explain how his journey is necessary?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

What about Vitamin D?

Why would people in charge of care homes admit they made errors?

Whats your angle on supermarket workers?

Hype and fear mongering for what reason?

What alternatives are there then?

Did any Government plan for this?

Genuine interest in your response

Well, we do know the NHS have been planning their response for the last ten years, it was linked by a poster earlier in this thread....a pandemic was their no 1 risk...the plan was torn up in March 2020 when they went into lockdown.

The supermarket workers have been in the front line since this thing began, in front of the public every day even before we had mask mandates, they were the only places that were open...and yet, the supermarket workforce haven't been infected...how can that be for a virus we are told is highly infectious and dangerous...it can't be both!

Vitamin D has proven to be very effective in mitigating the damage the virus does to the individual, there have been a number of links to this in this thread also.

WE knew from the first surge, care homes were a hot bed, what did the health authorities do to protect those residents for the 2nd surge? From what I can see, they did nothing different...they could have used rapid antigen tests on staff and residents but they didn't, you tell me why they didn't?

There have been alternatives, from the extreme's of Sweden/Belarus/Florida to the strictest, ourselves, Peru, Argentina, we didn't have to go as extreme as we are.

You tell me why they are pumping fear and anxiety into all of us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,688 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Well if two boardsie posters are saying it then it must be true. What need of supporting evidence or any of that?

the knock on effects of shutdowns on the world's poorest people alone is going to be pretty bad. Combined with the effects of unemployment, increased substance use, suicide, lack of schooling, lack of preventative medical care, (including inoculation programs in developing nations) , its going to be nothing short of a disaster which will still be going on long after the pandemic is over

Eg
    As many as 12,000 people could die per day by the end of the year as a result of hunger linked to COVID-19, potentially more than could die from the disease, warned Oxfam in a new briefing published today. The global observed daily mortality rate for COVID-19 reached its highest recorded point in April 2020 at just over 10,000 deaths per day.

‘The Hunger Virus,’ reveals how 121 million more people could be pushed to the brink of starvation this year as a result of the social and economic fallout from the pandemic including through mass unemployment, disruption to food production and supplies, and declining aid.

Oxfam’s Interim Executive Director Chema Vera said:

“COVID-19 is the last straw for millions of people already struggling with the impacts of conflict, climate change, inequality and a broken food system that has impoverished millions of food producers and workers. Meanwhile, those at the top are continuing to make a profit: eight of the biggest food and drink companies paid out over $18 billion to shareholders since January even as the pandemic was spreading across the globe ―ten times more than the UN says is needed to stop people going hungry.”

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2021/feb/15/risk-of-global-food-shortages-covid-increased-un-envoy-agnes-kalibata

Its not the virus causing these effects. It's the lockdowns. The poor are getting a lot poorer, but don't worry the likes of Jeff Bezos only got even richer, nothing wrong with that I guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Isn’t the recovery rate for over 70s who have Covid in the high 80% or so?? You’d swear getting it was the touch of death.

It's probably 80% for people in care homes, it's a lot higher than that for most over 70s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

ceadaoin. wrote: »

Its not the virus causing these effects. It's the lockdowns. The poor are getting a lot poorer, but don't worry the likes of Jeff Bezos only got even richer, nothing wrong with that I guess

Yeah because he was really struggling pre covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Idbatterim wrote: »
    You are right, how do you see this decision playing out in the medium term though? They are creating far bigger issues for themselves down the road

I think they'll buy time until after Easter

Cases, hospitalizations, ICU should be on a much better footing then

They'll need a proper plan then about reopening and to start giving people hope again as opposed to downplaying everything

If they don't give dates then they'll need a proper transparent metric

If cases are x
    Hospital are Y
    ICU z then the following happens

Very hard to remain onboard of you don't have dates or transparent figures to aim for

However they are already losing peoples compliance and it will get worse the slower they ease things

My friend hasn't seen his partner since 20th of December

No way are they waiting until intercounty travel comes back to see each other again as that could be 5-6 months the way Leo & Co are spinning

It's unreasonable to ask couples like that to keep apart for that length of time

So they're going to meet on March 5th

They given the government 10 weeks and 4 days and two lots of announcements at that stage

There might be SFA open but at least they'll see each other

They won't be waiting as long to see each other again either despite the threat of a fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,688 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Boggles wrote: »
    Yeah because he was really struggling pre covid.

Did I say he was? What's your point? Amazon's profit doubled in 2020. So now the most ridiculously rich man in the world is hoarding even more wealth that's been taken away from the rest of us. Nothing to see here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

It's a lot higher than that. It's about 96% recovery rate for people in early 70's. But if you thought 20% death rate in 70 year olds was not worrying then you're a bit out of touch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,236 ✭✭✭✭JRant

So they would have been better doing nothing until a stable government was formed. Jesus

It would have been better to have the government task force appointed first and then work from there. This is a group with actual experience in dealing with national emergencies. Alas, Leo went off reservation and decided he wanted a new shiny toy called NPHET.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Did I say he was? What's your point? Amazon's profit doubled in 2020. So now the most ridiculously rich man in the world is hoarding even more wealth that's been taken away from the rest of us. Nothing to see here

They also doubled their profit in 2019.

They are a colossal money making business, it's what they do.

What it has got to do with the easing of restrictions in Ireland is anybody's guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭landofthetree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

And in the Uk they are talking about being allowed outdoor dining for Easter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭bloopy

https://twitter.com/fergalbowers/status/1362095793830653952?s=21

Are we heading into the arse covering stage of the pandemic now?
    Or have the WHO decided to become a bunch of unfeeling granny killers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,228 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

the knock on effects of shutdowns on the world's poorest people alone is going to be pretty bad. Combined with the effects of unemployment, increased substance use, suicide, lack of schooling, lack of preventative medical care, (including inoculation programs in developing nations) , its going to be nothing short of a disaster which will still be going on long after the pandemic is over

Eg

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2021/feb/15/risk-of-global-food-shortages-covid-increased-un-envoy-agnes-kalibata

Is Bezos the new Bill Gates or something controlling the world? Do you think he is controlling NPHET? Whats the link with Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭frank8211

Well you accept the importance that the over 70s need exercise and some kind of social activity, you know, being human beings and all, and you start from there!!!

Dedicated shopping days, cafes, parks, community centres ... supply them with Vit D, provide them with rapid antigen testing kits, let them go to mass which could easily be done safely....see their grand kids, treat them like the grown adults they are instead of telling them not to leave their homes!

You are beyond reasoning with if you think we have done a service to our over 70s...who should have their golden years to look forward to now many of them will never be the same again!!!

The recovery rate for those in the over 7os does not justify the cost to their quality of lives!

Sure but no seeing grandkids if the latter are back at school

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Bigfatmichael

A lot of counties are perfectly fine for opening up fully.

How could you go about this though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,236 ✭✭✭✭JRant

What's important is that he got to brief the FG party members first. Can't be giving the proles the news. No, it's got to go to the party first and by default the media (usually the Irish Times) for a little bit of spinjitzu.

Honestly, we could go to level 3.5 in the morning and cases would continue to decrease, just like in October. The hospitals are no longer at or anywhere near capacity and doing a great job. Waiting to get to single digits cases before lifting any of the level 5 restrictions would be mental stuff. Even push it out to April is bananas.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

What a joke

Causing further pressure on house prices by not allowing construction

Leo the plank was on about getting people to spend money they've saved when things open up

For many the savings are going towards a deposit

Now thanks to Leo those people will have less supply to aim for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭alentejo

So the governments time line for reopening

March - Leaving cert students and up to 1st class primary schools to open
    April - All students back in school - Construction back open
    May - Non essential retail open or just Click and collect??
    June - Outdoor dining only - No cross border county travel
    July - tba

........October budget - tax increases and budgets slashed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Look at the IT headline tonight....

If it isn't clear as day that the media have a vested interest in prolonging negative stories that is it...

On a day we record probably the lowest number of cases in months we get this...

Covid-19: Pandemic death toll passes 4,000 as 57 further deaths reported by Nphet

Time for people to wake up and say enough is enough to our media overlords

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Absolute shower of pricks

alentejo wrote: »
    So the governments time line for reopening

March - Leaving cert students and up to 1st class primary schools to open
    April - All students back in school - Construction back open
    May - Non essential retail open or just Click and collect??
    June - Outdoor dining only - No cross border county travel
    July - tba

........October budget - tax increases and budgets slashed

Looks that way alright

Slow painful death by 1000 cuts

We'll be lucky if the generous government allow staycations this summer