Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VIII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

JRant wrote: »
    Just on the pandemic response. NPHET were created by Leo's department at the last minute to lead the charge. I always thought the Government task force on Emergency planning would have done a far better job. They had the inter-departmental experience, Garda/HSE/Government departments with previous knowledge of responding to large scale events.

I wasn't aware of that, thanks.

So Tony was given the position of leading us through alone, at a time when we hadn't formed a new Government...we were at the mercy of the ego of a health bureaucrat given never been seen before power who is the staunchest believer in the untried and untested inhumane strict lockdowns*

I always thought this couldn't have happened us at a worse time, Varadkar and Martin are ineffective leaders, both had a poor election in Jan 2020.

*I consider his policy of locking the over 70s in their own homes depriving them of access to their children and grand children for 3 months to be inhumane...a policy that will have a long term effect on those people as a consequence of all the fear and anxiety that has been pumped into them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,908 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

There will be a lot more lockdown related deaths in Ireland than Covid deaths.

Great to have a poster who can foretell the future. Any chance you could PM me the weeken's Lotto numbers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,886 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

People are crying out for construction to be allowed re-open because of the housing crisis. And the Healthcare Crisis is why we have to lockdown. There will be a lot more lockdown related deaths in Ireland than Covid deaths.

Where we are there is plenty of construction going on and the local centra shop is full of contruction workers!!

Housing crisis was there before covid. Plenty of houses for sale outside Dublin and within budget of loads

And if we really want to solve the housing crisis, get on to your TD about the nursing home scheme, where people are not selling the empty houses as the government will take the money, hence houses left vacant for years!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Where we are there is plenty of construction going on and the local centra shop is full of contruction workers!!

Housing crisis was there before covid. Plenty of houses for sale outside Dublin and within budget of loads

And if we really want to solve the housing crisis, get on to your TD about the nursing home scheme, where people are not selling the empty houses as the government will take the money, hence houses left vacant for years!!!

Would their budget be taking into account the job they have in Dublin by any chance??

If working remotely, commute or work outside dublin.

If you can't afford an area, you find one you can. You live where you can afford and don't make the mistake of 2005-2008.

House prices are lower than then also and people managed to buy in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,227 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Yep. An affordable house in Leitrim is great for the Dublin City based worker :pac:

pjohnson wrote: »
    Yep. An affordable house in Leitrim is great for the Dublin City based worker :pac:

Well maybe then you need to get a job in Leitrim.

Clonee, Balbriggan same price as some houses in Leitrim

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,086 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Russman wrote: »
    Now I'm not suggesting that government have got everything right with the restrictions, not for a second, but I think they got far more right than wrong, and as a government they have to IMO err on the side of caution.

And Id be of the complete opposite view that they have done a lot more wrong than they got right.

And I honestly feel that this comes from the lack of cohesion in the government ie different ministers giving different interviews with opposite opinions.

They are a very weak government with no real stand out leadership.

Probably a bit too over cautious which is not helping peoples opinion of them.

They treat the general population like we are toddlers, even down to the covid advertisements which look like a green cross code ad from the 80s.

Just treat us like the adults that we are.

And tell the ****ing truth. If you havent got a plan tell us you havent got a plan but stop the spoofing. We might respect you more for it.

In saying that Im not sure there is any politician or political party in this country could have or would have done things differently had they been in government when the virus hit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

They are talking about concerts by June / July in Majorca - Link

"It is anticipated that the public will be able to attend the concerts because of the decrease in the coronavirus infection rate. It remains to be seen what health measures and capacity restrictions will apply"

Any predictions about Ireland? :D:D

Hellrazer wrote: »
    And Id be of the complete opposite view that they have done a lot more wrong than they got right.

And I honestly feel that this comes from the lack of cohesion in the government ie different ministers giving different interviews with opposite opinions.

They are a very weak government with no real stand out leadership.

Probably a bit too over cautious which is not helping peoples opinion of them.

They teach the general population like we are toddlers, even down to the covid advertisements which look like a green cross code ad from the 80s.

Just treat us like the adults that we are.

And tell the ****ing truth. If you havent got a plan tell us you havent got a plan but stop the spoofing. We might respect you more for it.

In saying that Im not sure there is any politician or political party in this country could have or would have done things differently had they been in government when the virus hit.

I think it is a very difficult time to be a leader where ever you are, but be a leader you must.

We got a very revealing glimpse into the mindset of Tony Houlihan when he made his return from absence in Oct, a day early, on a Sunday he took it upon himself to undermine the Government and NPHET (who only the previous Thursday indicated no great concern) and go straight to the National Media about the need to go into to Level 5 immediately.

These were the actions of a man gone rogue at the highest level of Government at a time of crisis.

He should have been made to step down, the role has got the better of him!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,086 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

NPHET should never have been allowed to speak to the media.
    It all should come from the government.
    The tail is wagging the dog there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

RobitTV wrote: »

"It is anticipated that the public will be able to attend the concerts because of the decrease in the coronavirus infection rate. It remains to be seen what health measures and capacity restrictions will apply"

Well Leo has said no mass gatherings

“I don’t see mass gatherings happening, I don’t see people filling stadiums and things like that, at least until we have 70 or 80 per cent of the population vaccinated and we know that it works in terms of reducing hospitalisations and deaths. Then we’re in a totally different space.

“My best guess ... is that we’ll have a relatively normal summer in that the shops will be open, personal services will be open and domestic tourism will be a real possibility. And potentially outdoor gatherings of 10 to 15 people, maybe even 50 but nothing beyond that until we have a critical mass vaccinated of 70 to 80 per cent; we’re aiming for September for that.

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/economy/leo-varadkar-i-want-to-make-sure-this-pandemic-is-a-lost-year-not-a-lost-decade-1.4480399

They way this government are talking and the likes of Ronan Glynn I'd be surprised if we see mass gatherings before 2022

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

I think it is a very difficult time to be a leader where ever you are, but be a leader you must.

We got a very revealing glimpse into the mindset of Tony Houlihan when he made his return from absence in Oct, a day early, on a Sunday he took it upon himself to undermine the Government and NPHET (who only the previous Thursday indicated no great concern) and go straight to the National Media about the need to go into to Level 5 immediately.

These were the actions of a man gone rogue at the highest level of Government at a time of crisis.

He should have been made to step down, the role has got the better of him!

Now now can't be criticizing St Tony

He can do nothing wrong in the minds of many and especially in the media

I wasn't aware of that, thanks.

So Tony was given the position of leading us through alone, at a time when we hadn't formed a new Government...we were at the mercy of the ego of a health bureaucrat given never been seen before power who is the staunchest believer in the untried and untested inhumane strict lockdowns*

I always thought this couldn't have happened us at a worse time, Varadkar and Martin are ineffective leaders, both had a poor election in Jan 2020.

*I consider his policy of locking the over 70s in their own homes depriving them of access to their children and grand children for 3 months to be inhumane...a policy that will have a long term effect on those people as a consequence of all the fear and anxiety that has been pumped into them!

NPHET was formed prior to the 2020 election.

TH was the CMO prior to NPHET being formed and was always going to have the lead position in any pandemic response. Or maybe it should have been Micheal McNamara?

*a few of the denizens of this thread advocate continued lockdown of the over 70's so they can visit the gym guilt free

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Now now can't be criticizing St Tony

He can do nothing wrong in the minds of many and especially in the media

Now you said it, the media instead turned on the weak Varadkar who said at the time we simply couldn't afford another lockdown level 5.

Another poster said it a few days ago...the media are a major part of the problem.

NPHET was formed prior to the 2020 election.

TH was the CMO prior to NPHET being formed and was always going to have the lead position in any pandemic response. Or maybe it should have been Micheal McNamara?

*a few of the denizens of this thread advocate continued lockdown of the over 70's so they can visit the gym guilt free

You can safely shield the over 70s instead of locking them down...there is a difference.

How?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 299 ✭✭DessieJames

Great to have a poster who can foretell the future. Any chance you could PM me the weeken's Lotto numbers?

That poster is right though , the knock on effect from rolling lockdowns will definitelty be a lot worse than covid will be ever, anyone who doesnt believe that is in for a rude awakening when the truth about all this comes to light in the years to come.

...the media are a major part of the problem.

The media are completely one sided. Anyone with a differing opinion than NPHET are shut down very quickly.

There is no alternative view point even allowed to be discussed.

Most interviews do not have an opposing interviewee - its all one sided.

I genuinely think there is a fear in the media among reporters that if anyone says anything different to the governments then their career could possibly be affected in the future and that is why no one is questioning these government/nphet decisions.

Hellrazer wrote: »
    The media are completely one sided. Anyone with a differing opinion than NPHET are shut down very quickly.

There is no alternative view point even allowed to be discussed.

Most interviews do not have an opposing interviewee - its all one sided.

I genuinely think there is a fear in the media among reporters that if anyone says anything different to the governments then their career could possibly be affected in the future and that is why no one is questioning these government/nphet decisions.

yeah the likes of Zara King springs to mind, stands there every evening reading out case numbers, not once has she ever remeotely asked NPHET any sort of hard questions, so yeah i think your right here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭Whiplash85

yeah the likes of Zara King springs to mind, stands there every evening reading out case numbers, not once has she ever remeotely asked NPHET any sort of hard questions, so yeah i think your right here.

Yeah Zara was honoured with some kind of projected image onto a Galway city landmark recently. Maybe that was her reward for her brave reporting. Nearly made me puke on my keyboard when I saw it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

Virgin News: Gardai confirm DPP is seeking prosecution for four people in relation to Golfgate dinner in August 2020 - understood to include Galway West independent TD Noel Grealish, then-captain of Oireachtas Golf Society, and its president ex-FF TD Donie Cassidy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

[U[/U]
    Virgin News: Gardai confirm DPP is seeking prosecution for four people in relation to Golfgate dinner in August 2020 - understood to include Galway West independent TD Noel Grealish, then-captain of Oireachtas Golf Society, and its president ex-FF TD Donie Cassidy

Woohoo some good news eventually.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

im sure we'll be open for concerts in time for the rolling stones 100th anniversary tour at which point mick jagger and the boys will be heads in glass jars like in futurama

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

Tracy Chapmans song revolution is as relevant today as it was when she wrote it.

Whiplash85 wrote: »
    Yeah Zara was honoured with some kind of projected image onto a Galway city landmark recently. Maybe that was her reward for her brave reporting. Nearly made me puke on my keyboard when I saw it.

seen some call her miss piggy online but i dont agree with personal attacks, i just think its pathetic how she and the rest of them jusrt give NPHET an easy time of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Well maybe then you need to get a job in Leitrim.

Clonee, Balbriggan same price as some houses in Leitrim

There's a reason for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭landofthetree

The public will be apoplectic with rage if Europe is back to near normal and they can't travel due to no access to vaccines.

This is only optics. Not one of these people will face any penalties for Golfgate.

I can see the conversation with Drew Harris and Micheal -
    "Drew will you ever do a few of these golf gate lads - the gen pop are getting a bit restless over there on that oul boards thread - better make it look like we`re doing something to make it look like we`re as answerable as they are. Dont worry - you wont have to waste time going to court or anything like that and disrupt your airport checks. They`ll all get away with a slap on the wrist"

How?

Well you accept the importance that the over 70s need exercise and some kind of social activity, you know, being human beings and all, and you start from there!!!

Dedicated shopping days, cafes, parks, community centres ... supply them with Vit D, provide them with rapid antigen testing kits, let them go to mass which could easily be done safely....see their grand kids, treat them like the grown adults they are instead of telling them not to leave their homes!

You are beyond reasoning with if you think we have done a service to our over 70s...who should have their golden years to look forward to now many of them will never be the same again!!!

The recovery rate for those in the over 7os does not justify the cost to their quality of lives!