Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What do you really miss doing ?

• 16-02-2021 12:20am
    Registered Users Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭

I know everyone misses Family/Friends but what do you really miss doing that you can't do right now due to restrictions and Covid?

I miss travel. A lot.
    I miss going out to dinner with my Husband and friends.
    I miss Concerts and Matches.
    I miss watching the kids play their matches from the sidelines.
    I miss going to the Hairdresser !

• Registered Users Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

Living a life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,492 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

The spontaneous walking into a pub, ordering that first pint, and within the next half hour a cohort of your friends have joined you without prior arrangement.

A breakaway somewhere in Ireland with the other half, and stumbling across a rural pub with a bit of music session like this going on:

That excitement after passing through security in the airport knowing your only a few hours away from some foreign country.

The reverberation around a packed stadium during a inter-county GAA game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭Boggerman12

Going to matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,823 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

Pretty much everything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,207 ✭✭✭✭Oscar Bravo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,239 ✭✭✭Be right back

Hugging people.

• Registered Users Posts: 257 ✭✭Pigeon Chaser

Going to matches.

Watching my kids play sport/dancing/drama

Pints

Golf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭doublejobbing 2

Pints.

Buying clothes (I don't do online generally)

Working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,414 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Shaking someone's hand, be it a stranger or a friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,151 ✭✭✭✭josip

Climbing a hill in the middle of nowhere in all weather and being the only one for miles around.
    But no, can't do that.
    Covid'll get ya.

The spontaneity of living. Not Groundhog Day. Everything .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭shaddupayaface

Having the freedom to go and visit my parents for a couple of hours without having to rehearse some bullsh!t excuse why i’m 5km from my home.

Championship football matches in the summer and pints after it with the lads.
    Heading to the pub when you want too
    Random weekends away.
    Football trips across the pond.
    Getting on a plane and heading away to the sun

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Samsonsmasher

I miss the Duomo as seen from the Belvedere where I kissed a beautiful girl..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

Going on a random drive.

Playing and watching football.

Pints with friends.

Travelling.

A nice relaxing haircut.

Not interacting with annoying Guards.

People minding their own business.

Freedom.

• Registered Users Posts: 184 ✭✭Sir montygom

Really miss knowing what day of the week it is....every day feels like a weird mix of a Good Friday and bank holiday Monday... .. have to start buying the daily news paper again and delete the Journal app !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,355 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

A match. Rugby or hurling, of a Saturday or Sunday. Train into town, meeting friends and cousins, a pint or two before and after, maybe a late bite to eat, restaurant pizza or a curry.

Its the sort of good day a person needs to balance out the odd bad one.

I've heard said the secret to happiness is, someone to love, something to do and something to look forward to. I think 2 and 3 are a struggle for many this last year. Those have difficulty with No 1 also makes for a tough time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

Travel. Honestly used spend half the time between trips perusing travel sites. My mental health is really starting to toil now being stuck not only on an island I don't especially like but within 5km of Waterford of all places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,151 ✭✭✭✭josip

Travel. Honestly used spend half the time between trips perusing travel sites. My mental health is really starting to toil now being stuck not only on an island I don't especially like but within 5km of Waterford of all places.

Sweet mother of god. Tell me you're on the Kilkenny side at least? :)

Going to the gym, riding my motorbike further than the distance to work. Everything else that we took for granted.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

josip wrote: »
    Sweet mother of god. Tell me you're on the Kilkenny side at least? :)

Not that it has a "good" side, but how would that be an improvement? Sure you'd need to deal with the gardai for something as simple as a trip to Tesco or Lidl then. But no, I'm not on any side of it. Slap bang in the middle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,779 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Lucky enough here and appreciate all I/we have - there are people in far worse situations.

I miss meeting people though - be that for a game of golf, at a match, in town, dropping the kids off at whatever they are doing.

Probably makes me appreciate more what I do have and perhaps look more kindly on those with limited mobility or a disability, or indeed a mental illness.
    There's lots of things I don't miss too - so the future will be interesting.

Lets hope things start to be less restricted over the coming weeks and months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

I miss the sea. I would have gone to the coast several times per month, but haven't seen the sea since last February.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 824 ✭✭✭The chan chan man

Not waking up everyday wondering if i should top myself.

The upcoming mental health crisis will be like nothing ever seen before. Mark my words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,996 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Like many others, the spontaneity of just doing things and going somewhere as you feel like it. And calling up friends and family for a meet up on a whim

God I miss my family. Friends too, but they are missing their families too.

Unreal times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Shaking someone's hand, be it a stranger or a friend.

I miss this the most I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,075 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Everything that's been mentioned but mainly its the sense of freedom, the ability to be spontaneous. You know when your just having a stroll around town and you bump into a friend have a laugh, shake hands and sure feck it will we have a sneaky pint which turns into a out out night. Or something as simple as sitting at home a little bored and going feck it an jump in the car to go for a drive ending up somewhere random and getting grub. So basically enjoying life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,996 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Not waking up everyday wondering if i should top myself.

The upcoming mental health crisis will be like nothing ever seen before. Mark my words.

I doubt you are alone, but try not be extreme, you have many fellow travellers on that journey who try to get on with it, tough as it is. Some do, some can’t or won’t. It sure is not easy, going on for so long now. Hope you will ride out the storm my friend.

• Registered Users Posts: 282 ✭✭_ZeeK_

Reading this thread, there seems to be a theme emerging: Pints, pints, pints..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sexual Chocolate

Pub and being able to go out on a drive. As was pointed out a few days ago since the 2nd of October we've had 8 days of nationwide travel.

• Registered Users Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Dual wheels

Farting in lifts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭DaSilva

Seeing my family. I have vulnerable people in my family so everybody is very careful to avoid exposure. Despite that though, we can't see each other because simple people need simple blanket rules with punishments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

I miss going to the pub and travelling.

• Registered Users Posts: 114 ✭✭babynice

I miss having a routine in my life. I used to work during the week and go to the gym in the evenings, or maybe meet up with a friend. I’d nearly always head off to another county for a day trip during the weekend.

Now I’m just at home all the time by myself. I try to get out for a walk but in the last few weeks I’ve lost all motivation.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭opinionated3

Miss simple things like giving my mother a hug, or shaking someone's hand that I haven't seen in a while. Miss golfing with my friends that I haven't seen since last October, meeting my father in law for a pint at the weekends watching the sport on the TV in the corner of the quiet country pub.
    They're very simple things but never in a million years would I have believed that they would be considered "dangerous" activities by a few scientists that I've never heard of in my life. I'll certainly never take the simple things for granted ever again, that's for sure. Life is very short and it's for living, not simply existing which is what we're doing now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

I miss not having to live in fear every month of not having enough money to pay my rent for me and my family, because my work and right to earn money and run my business has been deemed "unessential".

I miss not seeing my mother struggling every day to care for my sister who requires around the clock 24 care and whose daycare facility which provided the one bit of relief for her has been running at 0-50% capacity since last march. Or the look on her face as they tell her again that due to Covid they are cancelling her few precious days of respite.

But nothing matters these days except Covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭almostover

Things I miss most,

Playing sport. GAA and golf were my outlets.

Watching live sport. GAA and Rugby. I try to go to a 6N game every year. Love the football and hurling championships in the summer.

Visiting my parents. If I do this no I would have to break rules and risk a fine. Not to mention have the mental image of a scolding Tony Hoolahan in my head accusing me of being an older person killer.

Going for a spontaneous drive with my GF. Just taking off of a Sunday going somewhere nice and having a meal out. A simple pleasure.

Meeting friends. In any setting. Not just for a pint. Just meeting other people and having a laugh for a few hours.

Foreign travel. The GF and I get away at least once per year.

Freedom to pick and choose to do what I want when I want.

It has been tough the last while. Just one last push and the summer should bring some normality.

Going to GAA and soccer matches, visiting the parents whenever I want, being able to work without wearing a mask for 8 hours straight, and not having to clean every item when I get home from shopping.

Being able to make my own choices

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

_ZeeK_ wrote: »
    Reading this thread, there seems to be a theme emerging: Pints, pints, pints..

So what? It’s a social outlet for many people but it’s now demonised as if they were raging alcoholics.

God forbid a person enjoys themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,642 ✭✭✭✭fits

I miss sleeping past 4:30 am

I miss my kids having a structured day and attending preschool

I miss having a job

I miss having time to myself.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭opinionated3

Lundstram wrote: »
    So what? It’s a social outlet for many people but it’s now demonised as if they were raging alcoholics.

God forbid a person enjoys themselves.

Exactly. And it goes both ways, I know the publican whose pub I frequent is definitely suffering mentally from lack of interaction with his customers. It's sad to see but hopefully by September he might be given a chance to open up again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭prunudo

The spontaneity of doing anything at short notice, whether its going to a beach 10km away, going to a quiet forest or mountain, going shopping to replace a worn pair of jeans, going to a cafe for a Saturday morning fry, going for a pint without having to eat a meal.
    The list is endless tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 476 ✭✭Goodigal

I miss seeing and hearing the sea

I miss just going in and out of the shops just browsing and chatting with friends (and maybe even trying on clothes! What's that?!)

I miss office chats

I miss spontaneity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

I miss my friends

I miss my hairdresser

I miss just deciding on a whim to get in the car and go somewhere

I miss when people could stop and talk to you and not move away like you have the plague

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Having a different answer to what do I need to do today?
    Like others concerts, theatre, congregating and a weekend plan to go somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,963 ✭✭✭Chris_5339762

COVID killed a year long long-distance-relationship and I lost my best friend too. And now that its over, there are no prospects because you can't date, and the underground casual sex scene I can't get involved with because I was temporarily living with my parents before all this kicked off. And thats now permanent. (Until my folks are vaccinated I can't meet anyone, as my parents are vulnerable).

I miss travel, bigtime, getting off the plane to nice warm sunshine and a different culture.
    I miss PLANNING travel, that was part of the fun.
    I miss gig trips to London which felt like a second home and I miss my friends there.
    I miss the odd hug or a handshake.
    I miss relaxing when around other people.
    I miss eating with people at work. We have to sit at our desks for teabreak in the hospital.
    I miss my parents. They've changed. They're paranoid of everything and meet no-one.
    I miss my mums health, she is deteriorating into what I suspect is undiagnosed parkinsons but she is point blank refusing to even ring the doctor until COVID is over.
    I miss the thought of a future meeting and living with a partner. Due to the above, and the fact I'm an only child, I will be pushed into full-time caring duties in the next few years.
    I miss trip to Dublin to meet friends or go on a hike.
    I miss the odd meal out.
    I miss being able to do ANYTHING apart from work - home - work - home - work - home.
    I miss having something to look forward to.
    I miss my own mental health. Despite having enough money, and still earning, and not having any REAL worries, I'm miserable and depressed.
    I miss laughter. No-one is laughing anymore. I haven't laughed in weeks, maybe months.
    I miss not panicking about every interaction with humans, despite being vaccinated fully myself.
    I miss not feeling sad all the time.
    I miss not being an absolute hypochondriac about my own health anymore

Theres loads of other things, not just these. I miss them all. However, these sacrifices must be made for the time being, to protect vulnerable people and ensure hospitals don't get overwhelmed. I fully agree with the restrictions because we can't be trusted as a society (see Christmas), but the mental health issues will be horrendous in years to come.

• Registered Users Posts: 200 ✭✭darem93

I'm not going to deny it, I do really miss the nightlife and socialising aspect a lot.

I miss being able to go out at like 10.30pm and still knowing there was a long night ahead. Or going for a few quiet ones in the local pub, which ends up with a group of us getting a minibus into town and coming home from the nightclub at 5am drenched in sweat from all the dancing we had done. Stuff like that seems like a whole other lifetime ago.

I do also miss being able to jump in the car and drive wherever I want. Or heading to Dublin or Belfast just to stroll around the shops and coming home with the boot full of clothes.

Hopefully when things do return to normal (although this phrase is nearly becoming like "when I do win the lotto"), we will appreciate things so much more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,239 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Due to Dublin being inexcusably unaffordable to live in, all my mates live down the country. So I haven't seen them in a year outside a ****ing screen. Taking the kids swimming on a Saturday afternoon. Going for a drive in the Wicklow mountains. The ability to go 'I think I'll go here today' without making sure it's inside 5km from the house and doesn't require a haz-mat suit to go to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

I miss not being able to give my friends a hug when they are going through a hard time