Tell us about your new improved government regulations compliant cycle part II

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,328 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Trees were horizontal this morning it was so windy and by the time it dies down i had been roped into digging up the garden.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 54,497 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

that's what i ended up doing too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 149 ✭✭BiggJim

Just did my first 30k cycle (30.6) in 1:27. Wasn't too bad bar a bit of discomfort/numbness in the hands.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 54,497 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

no harm takign your hands off the bars occasionally and shaking them.

Who will steer the bike though?

Yeah I did, I don't have drop bars so try to play about with hand position too but I'm sure it'll get better with time.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 44,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Was the numbness due to cold or to the position of your hands on the bars?

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭jrby

BiggJim wrote: »
    Just did my first 30k cycle (30.6) in 1:27. Wasn't too bad bar a bit of discomfort/numbness in the hands.

did you have a back operation recently?

I've some bulges in my spine and have been referred to a surgeon. Not looking forward to that.

Was the numbness due to cold or to the position of your hands on the bars?

Position on bars. Only noticed toward the end and it faded very quickly not too worried.

jrby wrote: »
    did you have a back operation recently?

I've some bulges in my spine and have been referred to a surgeon. Not looking forward to that.

No Jesus lol just from leaning on the bars. It's fine I'm really not worried about it, it was my longest ride yet.

Hopefully they can manage your back problems conservatively.

yeah, i was out - lightish long sleeve top and leggings (not bib leggings) and got home thinking shorts would have been better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

BiggJim wrote: »

Would a pair of these help you?
    They give you a couple of different hand positions.

https://www.chainreactioncycles.com/ie/en/lifeline-ergonomic-handlebar-grips/rp-prod155625

I don't think BiggJim will be able to respond, looks like he's been banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

Oh dear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭sy_flembeck

Joined Feb '21. That must be some kind of record

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,277 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Probably because he forgot the #allwithinmy5km disclaimer on his 30km cycle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭JMcL

positron wrote: »
    Google Maps did that to me once. Dead end with a gap in the hedge opening to a field full of something.

Of the apps I've tried so far, Komoot is by far the best. One free map (usually covers your county). Managed to do a lap of Co. Louth using their free map - easy to fine tune your route on the website, and the follow / tweak during the ride. And mainly, no dead ends.

Made the mistake of using Google maps for a ride in France a few years ago, and learned a lesson. Going through a huge pine forest in the Medoc, the phone was adamant I should turn right down a "track" that was probably not even much of a track if at all when the forest was planted. This was their normal cycling navigation, not some off-road variant

So turned into a much longer than anticipated 120km spin in torrential rain, last 30km or so practically without brakes (flat down there thankfully) as the rain mixed with very fine sand thereabouts made mincemeat of the disc pads

I use Komoot these days, but have used https://cycle.travel/ before which was quite decent if you've got something else to do the turn-by-turn on the phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭wheelo01

Weepsie wrote: »
    35km in 90 mins and then consumed it all back in pancakes

Feckin forgot pancakes, dagnabbit!!

Got out today myself, 41 km at 24kph - jeez that wind was strong, but luckily it wasnt gusty, but it was ALWAYS a headwind for me. :D

Up towards Tallaght, over by knocklyon, Rathgar, City Centre, to the Pheonix Park and home.
    Damn you Mercian Pro for your looping idea, I keep getting "lost" and ending up on tracks, or car parks.

Bike needed a good wash when I got home, she's now sitting up in the box room drying.

I really gotta explore the park more.

https://strava.app.link/uSIktDcCVdb

nice day out there; feels like a decent spring day on the atlantic seaboard with that wind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,362 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Its lovely out there today, got my spin in in the morning before work.
    Pity its all going to crap again for the weekend.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 16,136 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Out for the last three days, trying to get my Feb Strava climbing challenge back on track. Replaced the snow tyres with my Schawlbe G-Ones last night and the difference was very satisfying. While the G-Ones still aren't the fastest at a 38c semi-knobbly I saw about 20% of a speed increase from the spikers for a similar effort. I reckon I'll just turbo any further ice days this year. 26k with 400m of climbing at 22kph today. Nasty enough head winds on Edmonstown road but grand outside of that, could have been sketchy further up so kept to a smaller local loop.

Back in the saddle at lunch time after a week and a half out sick. Took it nice and handy. 43k @ 25kph with 700 up. Brutal wind, but nice to be back out in the fresh air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,231 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Walked to Spar today.

Must put it on Strava... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,239 ✭✭✭✭dahat

fat bloke wrote: »
    Walked to Spar today.

Actually jealous.

Chicken fillet or breakfast roll?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,231 ✭✭✭fat bloke

dahat wrote: »
    Actually jealous.

Chicken fillet or breakfast roll?

No mask so more window-lickin' than finger-lickin' :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 16,136 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

fat bloke wrote: »
    Walked to Spar today.

Sounds like the surgery went ok so. Hope it wasn't too grim and your back on two wheels soon enough. Weather looks a bit ropey for the next couple of days so dithering on getting out myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,239 ✭✭✭✭dahat

First road spin since Jan 17th today, delighted to get out & about with muscle memory still knowing that I need to turn the handlebars when going round a bend.Headwinds, tailwinds and asshole drivers, can’t say I missed two of those!

45km @ a brisk 32.5 avg, roll on Sunday as weather looks okay at this stage.

Got out for 45k at lunch time. 25kph with 700 of up and a savage wind to contend with.

Have decided not to bother focusing on average speed anymore as was getting bored with same loops and am picking 2-3 strava segment per rides as full gas efforts instead.

Nearly killed me but made a fourth and ninth overall on two local climbs, which I will take given I am hauling 90kg with me.

usual 27km spin for me, that was windier than expected.
    wore the mistral for the first time today - just leggings and the jacket, nothing under the jacket, and i reckon that was about as cold as i'd go with it for a short spin without any baselayers. 6C and 33km/h wind though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭JMcL

25km loop around Tramore with a stiff breeze from the SW. Only 2nd ride of the year for me due to a combination of kids not being in school, rubbishness of the weather in general, and a sprained ankle that's taken it's sweet time to clear up. Fitness has evaporated since Christmas, but having had a few extended periods off the bike before, it'll come back to something reasonable fairly quickly. Mornings are getting brighter now so there'll be more opportunities from now on to get out for an hour before herself goes to work

Short one for me, only 12k, totally bogged down in mud trying the outer paths on Masseys and called it quits when it started raining. Nasty enough wind too didn't help much.