Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VIII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭dublinbando

5th of March I am returning to normal life as much as I can, I will no longer abide by any travel restriction and I will no longer wear a mask in public. If they fine me I won't pay it, if they jail me for not paying the fine then I will stop eating in protest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Penfailed

gansi wrote: »
    No schools were closed in March and construction too , level five.

There was no such thing as Level 5 last March.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,230 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Things are so bad that it's forced one poster to close their account :eek:

Hes off to lead the revolution. Or embarassed himself too much and realised he needed to change.

Edit: appears to have threw a tantrum after getting a threadban.

gansi wrote: »
    Okay you may be right have been digging around to find my road map for reopening, family had it posted up in kitchen like a calendar. So when lockdown happened last March then there were no levels given?

No levels at that stage. It was just lockdown and that was it.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

polesheep wrote: »
    Then don't! Change it.

What do you suggest they change?

5th of March I am returning to normal life as much as I can, I will no longer abide by any travel restriction and I will no longer wear a mask in public. If they fine me I won't pay it, if they jail me for not paying the fine then I will stop eating in protest.

Big talk. Why are you waiting until some arbitrary date? Why not start now?

pjohnson wrote: »
    Hes off to lead the revolution. Or embarassed himself too much and realised he needed to change.

Edit: appears to have threw a tantrum after getting a threadban.

What have I missed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Thespoofer

Penfailed wrote: »
    What have I missed?

Era, something about a pandemic or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,298 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Morning all - and this will be a long post!

I haven't been on here much lately as I'm so completely fed up with the current situation and the overreacting and disproportionate responses from Government never mind boards users to this, that I've been paying as little attention to it as possible. I've just been working away and trying to keep occupied and in touch with friends and family as best I can.

Despite that, I still get the IT/Indo alerts on the phone so I'm not completely out of touch either, and nor am I surprised that there's been screw-ups and delays with vaccines, and that the current restrictions won't be ending as scheduled.

I had a feeling though that despite the falling numbers, they'd try and do what they did last year (think about that for a minute... This crap is going on for a YEAR now!) and have us all in 'lockdown' until May, and what do I see this morning...

Prolonged period of lockdown ahead, Taoiseach tells party meeting (via @IrishTimes) https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/prolonged-period-of-lockdown-ahead-taoiseach-tells-party-meeting-1.4481548

May! Level 5 restrictions to continue until May! :mad:

Well there you have it folks... Almost 7 months of continuous lockdown (the reduced restrictions for the 3 weeks in December aside), brought to you by the weakest, incompetent coalition we've seen in this State to date, and directed by a group of HSE officials whose main responsibility is to deflect from the decades of waste and mismanagement they've stood over!

But, it's not all on them. We also have a population that has been so cowed and fearful that many actually wholeheartedly believe that we are being terrorised by some sort of deadly plague that will get you if you dare venture into the clothing aisle of your local supermarket, and who - in true Irish style - spend more time whinging about what their neighbours are doing or 'getting away with' than anything!

This my friends is what you get when you take no interest in anything beyond your front door. Weak self-serving and unaccountable politicians and bureaucrats who know they can do pretty much whatever they want as there is no accountability (either to the media or constituents), no consequences (except to those who have to pay for it all - financially and otherwise), and most importantly for them, no fear of anything changing.

It's not just in politics either. Look at things like the cost of living, the rental and property market, transport and general infrastructure, health service, cost of education, the farce that is crime and justice, poor and substandard services from public (or former public) bodies and companies, the general levels of waste and (low-level) corruption that exist pretty much everywhere, and so on.

The Irish electorate has become completely disenfranchised in our own country, and we have only ourselves to blame for it. We like to sell ourselves as a modern progressive first world country that is a great place to live and do business in - but in reality we're actually worse off than we were 30/40 years ago in some ways.

So well done everyone. We now live in a State where 5 million people have been locked up for the majority of the last year - and all because we've stood by and watched it happen

It's amazing. There were mass protests and resistance (and rightly so) against water charges and the scandals around it, but not for a virus so deadly that many have to be told they have it before they realise it, and which STILL only really affects a tiny percentage of the population to any significant degree.

A great country to live in indeed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Morning all - and this will be a long post!

If I could thank this twice....!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,234 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

I know how you're feeling girl. I'm having those thoughts today.
    I've done everything I'm supposed to do and even took my own extra precautions when we were told we could relax a bit. I have kept my side of the bargain.
    BUT fluck me, facing into a second summer of being a leper to my friends and extended family. Just one endless groundhog day. No where to go to spend the money I've earned in my adapted work environment, to even enjoy a bloody haircut.
    There are several babies of my friends and family that I have never met yet. There are friends I haven't seen in over a year now. Missed birthdays, cancelled sun holiday so desperately earned.
    I can't take much more of this absolute sh*tshow.

It’s very little in the grand scheme of this but yesterday I emailed my local TDs to let them know how I felt. I suggest you and anyone else fed up do the same. If enough people do it perhaps they will get the message.

gmisk wrote: »
    If you are relying on those two tits you are already doomed.

Cant be as bad as the two tits running the country already :pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,007 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Mine and my families lockdown will be ending on March 1st i don't care what anyone else says.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭Renault 5

VinLieger wrote: »
    Mine and my families lockdown will be ending on March 1st i don't care what anyone else says.

and then what happens?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Thespoofer

In reply to Kaisers post, what can we do ?
    I'm at the stage now where ok there has to be some sort of a plan towards the virus but I would love to take part in a peaceful , maybe not protest but some sort of organised message sent to the government that they need to get real.
    Maybe someone can set up a point of contact/signature collection where we can sign our names and have it sent off.
    Something just to let them know theres a growing number looking for change.

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    We now live in a State where 5 million people have been locked up for the majority of the last year - and all because we've stood by and watched it happen

It's amazing.

I wasn't locked up at all.

Your rather long post is basically an attack on EVERYONE. You have a go at government...and then you have a go at everyone else. Bravo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

I think the tide is turning, people have had enough. You can see it on the journal comments. The majority of comments are against lockdown now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭Hmob

Thespoofer wrote: »
    In reply to Kaisers post, what can we do ?
    I'm at the stage now where ok there has to be some sort of a plan towards the virus but I would love to take part in a peaceful , maybe not protest but some sort of organised message sent to the government that they need to get real.
    Maybe someone can set up a point of contact/signature collection where we can sign our names and have it sent off.
    Something just to let them know theres a growing number looking for change.

Overall the way I see it

Novel virus, so inevitable that we must lockdown and await vaccines

Vaccines are here and sickness and death will soon decline

Soon people must take back their freedom from conservative government afraid to act

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,230 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

SnuggyBear wrote: »
    I think the tide is turning, people have had enough. You can see it on the journal comments. The majority of comments are against lockdown now.

Its been apparently been "turning" since April 2020.

Very slow turn lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,236 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Hmob wrote: »
    Overall the way I see it

Soon people must take back their freedom from conservative government afraid to act

I wouldn't be too sure about that. MM on the radio there talking about this requiring a global level of vaccinations being required before easing of restrictions.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

do you really think hand on heart that people want to be on the high levels of lockdown for the first half of the year and have basically the next year written off for normality even though we have vaccines? i think the government might be pushing their luck a bit too far with this one but maybe that's just wishful thinking on my part

JRant wrote: »
    I wouldn't be too sure about that. MM on the radio there talking about this requiring a global level of vaccinations being required before easing of restrictions.

Uncertainty around that ya

Not sure we can wait indefinitely on worldwide vaccination and future variants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,592 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

SnuggyBear wrote: »
    Ah the journal comments section the true pulse of the nation...lol

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 137 ✭✭latency89

Hmob wrote: »
    Overall the way I see it

Vaccines are grand

We are running out of syringes now, not kidding eiither, they are running out.

As a species we are absolute morons

It’s very little in the grand scheme of this but yesterday I emailed my local TDs to let them know how I felt. I suggest you and anyone else fed up do the same. If enough people do it perhaps they will get the message.

At least you are being constructive. Fair play. Let us know what kind of response you get please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

surely it would make more sense for oecd countries to come to a resolution on travel once their populations have been sufficiently vaccinated than waiting on countries without the infrastructure or desire to mass vaccinate to do so. this is a serious shift of the goalposts

Similar to the CMO and the health minister in the north.

gmisk wrote: »
    Ah the journal comments section the true pulse of the nation...lol

I knew it wouldn't be long until someone said this. It is good guage infairness, there used to be a lot of support for lockdown but not now.
    I ask you do you think people are at breaking point or not? The light at the end of the tunnel has been extinguished.

ypres5 wrote: »
    surely it would make more sense for oecd countries to come to a resolution on travel once their populations have been sufficiently vaccinated than waiting on countries without the infrastructure or desire to mass vaccinate to do so. this is a serious shift of the goalposts

This is happening or will happen

Kinda obvious?

The 1st world has literally grabbed all the vaccines for themselves and is in the process of shutting out the unvaccinated poor

This is how the world works