Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VIII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,566 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Here’s the full link. RTE should be defunded
    https://twitter.com/clairebyrnelive/status/1358926477228732418?s=21

I love my gigs but **** me wtf is that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭aziz

Should be fun when the bouncers are flinging you down a flight of stairs at the end of the night ��

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,332 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

If you think that's a serious piece, you probably need to spend some time in a bubble, or some other padded enclosure.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

hynesie08 wrote: »
    If you think that's a serious piece, you probably need to spend some time in a bubble, or some other padded enclosure.....

We already are... what do u think lockdown is...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭aziz

hynesie08 wrote: »

Can’t tell what is serious,anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

Complete joke of a station tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭tdf7187

Indispensable reading. There is no opposition and effectively no non-government approved media in Ireland but thank God our nearest neighbour still has a free media.
    As a society, we have been urged to suppress the most basic instinct of the human spirit – our interaction with each other. In the process, we turned a public health crisis into something much worse: a public health crisis AND an economic, social and educational crisis.

Our economy is being laid waste, with small businesses snuffed out and job prospects destroyed for a generation of young people. Yet no society ever reduced deaths by making itself poorer.

We have shut down our cities and crippled a once-flourishing musical, artistic and sporting culture.

We have created an acute crisis of mental health among the young. We are depriving children of their education, perhaps the most important benefit that the state can give them, at untold cost for their future.

We are locking the elderly into islands of loneliness and wretchedness, depriving them of the stimulus of human contact. Dementia – a bigger killer than Covid-19 – is hitting unprecedented levels.

None of this is the result of the disease. It is all due to the lockdown.

To escape this situation, we need to understand how we got into it.

A pandemic caused by a new respiratory disease has topped the National Risk Register since 2008. In 2017, it assumed that a new pathogen might cause 750,000 deaths. Pictured: Patients arrive by ambulance at a hospital in East London

On March 13, the behavioural scientists had advised 'citizens should be treated as rational actors, capable of taking decisions for themselves and managing personal risk'.

But then Ministers discarded a decade of planning in a few hours and embarked on a sinister and untried experiment with the lives of millions. They ordered a national lockdown which was both coercive and indiscriminate.

That decision, I believe, was nothing to do with the science. They were panicked to act by seeing recently ordered lockdowns in Italy, France and Spain, following the lead of totalitarian China. Ministers seemed convinced that the public would blame them if they failed to do what other nations were doing.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/debate/article-9231807/Zero-Covid-mirage-says-JONATHAN-SUMPTION-virus-stay.html?ito=native_share_article-masthead

Complete joke of a station tbh

It's Pravda. People used to say it half-jokingly but it's now literally the truth.

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    Very true, those who are both happy with the Level 5 restriction and would also welcome even harsher restrictions well in towards 2022 seem to forget one thing....This all has to be paid for!
    The parts of the real economy that generate taxation revenue are in suspended animation... It can't continue indefinitely..there's no Government plan for Level 0, and what is "Level 1 or 2" like...I can't remember?

https://www.rte.ie/news/politics/2021/0208/1195763-politics-economy/

The government has kow-towed to and is now effectively run by the most neurotic section of society. As for the opposition, that airhead Boyd-Barrett was kvetching about zero COVID the other day. In fact, there is no opposition. The UK is not much better. There's about three or four MPs of 600 that have critiqued the government strategy - all Tories incidentally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭dublinbando

The only part of the lockdown I find intolerable is the 5km travel limit, they should never have gone further than intercounty travel. Who came up with this arbitrary 5km number anyway? and is there any actual evidence this does anything? Also to add to that, the fines for breaking the rules are cheap if you have lots of money! So the upper echelons of society are unaffected by the restrictions and will just do what they want anyway and take the fine..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Penfailed

tdf7187 wrote: »
    Indispensable reading. There is no opposition and effectively no non-government approved media in Ireland but thank God our nearest neighbour still has a free media.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/debate/article-9231807/Zero-Covid-mirage-says-JONATHAN-SUMPTION-virus-stay.html?ito=native_share_article-masthead

If you are lauding the Daily Mail as 'free' media then I don't know what to say. They're free to print mistruths, blatant lies and populist shíte and are one of the reasons that the car crash that is Brexit happened.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭Polar101

tdf7187 wrote: »
    thank God our nearest neighbour still has a free media.

The Daily Mail would definitely qualify as free, as in they'd print anything if someone paid them to do it. Unless it was facts, you wouldn't see any of them in the Daily Mail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭bloopy

I got given out to a few weeks ago for suggesting RTE had dumbed down their current affairs output.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

Claire Byrne show jumped the shark a long time ago

Outrage about a light hearted piece on RTE on the restrictions thread...okay.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Multipass

The only part of the lockdown I find intolerable is the 5km travel limit, they should never have gone further than intercounty travel. Who came up with this arbitrary 5km number anyway? and is there any actual evidence this does anything? Also to add to that, the fines for breaking the rules are cheap if you have lots of money! So the upper echelons of society are unaffected by the restrictions and will just do what they want anyway and take the fine..

It’s ludicrous in the countryside, I don’t know anyone bothering with it anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

bloopy wrote: »
    I got given out to a few weeks ago for suggesting RTE had dumbed down their current affairs output.

Who gave out to you? That has been obvious for years. They are a disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

The hysteria continues

Pregnant women are at higher risk of hospitalisation and death due to Covid.

Midlands radio news report

The hysteria continues

Hysteria or fact?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭Spudman_20000

The 5km limit relates to exercise. Any other travel is allowed for any of the long list of "reasonable excuses".

https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/health/covid19/public_health_measures_for_covid19.html#l053b3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,178 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

The hysteria continues

Sounds about right to me! hysteria, how so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Indeed, my Dad has a house down in Wexford and he went to the pigs and asked them to stamp a form he had printed, they wouldn't stamp it but they told him it was grand he needed to go down to do essential maintenance and if he was pulled over just tell the guards that and give him the officers name in his local Dublin station.

Pigs never pulled him over anyway.

Are you 11?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,178 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Pigs never pulled him over anyway.

Pigs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

The hysteria continues

So the news report stated a fact and you had a hysterical reaction?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭BTownB

Boggles wrote: »
    So the news report stated a fact and you had a hysterical reaction?

Is it a fact - I haven't come across it before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭OwenM

It’s a list of all reported side effects following vaccination in a certain time period. Now most of it is the likes of sore arm and mild fatigue, however there are more serious reports. Now what the anti vaccers well understand but choose to misrepresent is that every event post a medical treatment of any sort must be reported as such until proven otherwise. A heart attack, stroke, whatever, irrespective of cause.

And it's in isolation, to see if the reported incidents were significant you would probably need a control group of similar size receiving a placebo, which is what the trials did and the results were good so this can't be read as anything alarming unless you want to, especially when there is such a widespread range of random symptoms (e.g. one said they had a glossy tongue and one person said their period came early)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,242 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    Pigs?

Either hes
    A) just tryna be a cool kid calling Gardai "pigs"
    B) He thinks Babe was a true life documentary and pigs can talk.

50/50 which he means tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭hamburgham

That's what Pat Kenny's excellent Frontline has morphed into.

I must say I have never once listened to her morning show on the radio but from what I gather it's been similarly dumbed down.

I think we're supposed to believe that there's s sharp intellect behind the calm, simple questions but no such thing unfortunately. Just someone with the right face who offended no one and more importantly poses no threat to any establishment figure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭kieran26

The 5km limit relates to exercise. Any other travel is allowed for any of the long list of "reasonable excuses".

https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/health/covid19/public_health_measures_for_covid19.html#l053b3

Interesting,

I was stopped by a Garda at a checkpoint on Saturday evening and was told i couldn't go to get a takeaway in the town 10km from our village because getting a takeaway wasn't essential.
    I questioned him on it and said surely getting food is esential he insisted it wasn't and that i should turn around. I wouldn't mind if i was taking the piss but i think i was being reasonable.
    I have questioned it with the Superintendent but haven't received a response yet.

Seems to me Guardi don't all know what they are enforcing and a heavy handered ham fisted approach will only lead to resentment an lead to more lack of compliance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭Hmob

The police, the gardai, the filth, the scum,hector, whatever ....