Your line is weak but your point is strong: Liveline from 10th January

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    I was there a couple of years before that, killing time in Munich station main hall. I was sitting reading an SF novel that happened to have suffered from the publisher's desire to plaster some Norse God-like figure on the cover to sell to a wider fantasy audience, I suppose.
    A auld burd sitting next to me spotted the cover and assumed the book was some kind of Aryan race textbuke, and launched into a diatribe about the Turkish family sitting nearby.
    Crazy auld Nazi, I think.
    Bumped into several auld Nazis in Garmisch, too. They can't hide it too well.
    They're all dead now, of course.

Did you not check them? :rolleyes::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭KevRossi

I was there a couple of years before that, killing time in Munich station main hall. I was sitting reading an SF novel that happened to have suffered from the publisher's desire to plaster some Norse God-like figure on the cover to sell to a wider fantasy audience, I suppose.
    A auld burd sitting next to me spotted the cover and assumed the book was some kind of Aryan race textbuke, and launched into a diatribe about the Turkish family sitting nearby.

Early 90's I was seeing a woman in Geretsried near Munich. It was a new town built to house ethnic Germans fleeing from what is today Belarus, Poland, Lithuania and Ukraine after the war. Ironically most of them when they arrived lived in barracks where former slave workers from local concentration camps lived.

It was so far right wing it was near funny. All of them agreeing Hitler did a good job, but was sold out by the bloody Russians etc etc. Interesting place all the same. Nice enough spot with wide tree lined streets and easy access to the mountains. I always thought you would have had to meet a cartain 'poliitical persuasion' to have been housed there in the first place. I would think they are mostly gone now and that the demographic has changed.

Well well.....

Tubs revealed dis morning dat Kat-trinne Corless has a buke coming out in September. Guess who de publishers are so to speak? Hachette. Dats rite, Herr Duffy’s publishers. Just a coincidence of course..... :rolleyes: Two things are certain:

1) dats de show topics covered from now until October anyway
    2) she’s going to be getting plenty of free advertising on dis show

Tubs also went on to say in true Duffy-style dat “Hachette are a very fine publishing house” or words to that effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 183 ✭✭BrendanBurgess

Guys

I have submitted a complaint to RTE this morning.

You can see the full statement that I suggest that they read here:

https://www.askaboutmoney.com/threads/my-complaint-to-rte-about-the-programme-on-life-loans.222283/

To: Lisa Marie-Berry , Producer LiveLine
    by email to: complaints@rte.ie; joe@rte.ie; Rebecca.meehan@rte.ie; lisamarie.berry@rte.ie

2nd February 2021
    Hi Lisa-Marie

I am very deeply concerned that the catalogue of errors and misrepresentations on the programmes on Wednesday and Thursday will do enormous damage to consumers and you need to correct the errors and the record promptly.

There is nothing at all wrong with lifetime mortgages. With an aging population and declining pensions, there is a huge societal need for these products. In the UK there are at least 13 lenders providing them, including such well-known names as Scottish Widows, Canada Life, Nationwide Building Society, Aviva and Legal & General. During 2020, over 40,000 elderly people drew down these lifetime mortgages with an average of about £100k each. The interest rates in the UK are much lower because of all the competition.

Your programme has set back the development of this necessary product in Ireland as it would deter any lender from entering the market because of the irrational abuse that they would get from Joe Duffy.

Furthermore, people who already have these loans will be frightened that they have been sold a product they do not understand and that they will lose their home.

People who could benefit from taking out a life loan now will be discouraged from doing so by your horror stories.

I do appreciate that it is a live programme, and you don’t have the luxury of checking everything in the same way that the print media has. But when you broadcast such a long list of errors, you have a duty to your listeners to correct the record.

I have drafted a suggested statement for Joe to read out on the programme. It’s a very long statement, but that is necessary because the programmes lasted for 2 ½ hours and the list of errors and unfair comments is very long.

Give me a call at any time to discuss.
    Brendan

I wonder will Joe do a Tribute Show to Dustin Diamond / Screech from "Saved By The Bell"? Obscure fo sho, but he did dye from cancer so right up Joe's back avenue so to speak:

We could get Dubalin taxi Drivers to ring in and say "Dja member de episode when Screech did....."

giphy.gif

"Saved By The Bell" was the show that introduced us to Tiffany Amber Thiessen:
    giphy.gif

SBTB was mandatory viewing along with Baywatch in my time in University in the 90s.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Guys

I have submitted a complaint to RTE this morning.

You can see the full statement that I suggest that they read here:

Brendan

With the greatest respect Brendan, your email and statements are full of facts. Liveline doesn't like facts if they get in the way of a scaremongering hysterical show. Joe thrives on that kind of stuff.

Fair play for getting involved in it, I doubt you'll be invited on. I hope you will be, I just do not see it happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

KevRossi wrote: »
    With the greatest respect Brendan, your email and statements are full of facts. Liveline doesn't like facts if they get in the way of a scaremongering hysterical show. Joe thrives on that kind of stuff.

Fair play for getting involved in it, I doubt you'll be invited on. I hope you will be, I just do not see it happening.

I suspect that what will happen is that Duffy will drop the whole subject like a hot potato.

Fair dues, Brendan. Liveline doesn't do explanation of facts or putting the record straight. At best there may be a very impatient "I haven't got time for this stuff" response and mumbling over a few sentences, with a sarcastic dig thrown in at the end.

De Hall of Fame of those who have handed Joe Duffy his rear end on a plate:

Michael O'Leary
    Dr Michael Ó Tighearnaigh
    Brendan Burgess

*Additions please.

Blindboy Boatclub

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,430 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Noooorrrrssssiiiinnn homes

Travel agents not refunding their customers.......some even hiding from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

April 25 2020. Public Nurses redeployed to nursing homes. No help from HSE.
    Major major scandal.

Ryanair. Clip from yesterday.

More examples today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭PieOhMy

Today?

Go back to april 15 2020 on sean o Rourke show. I'd rather not. Public sector vs private sector baiting. Pretty confusing intro just reading random sentences with no context for listeners.

Ryanair issue has evolved into travel agent topic. Another loy!

Horrible promo from a horrible man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,469 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

Blindboy Boatclub
    the ex-army Big Game Hunter, took no Guff off the Duffmeister

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,116 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

I was in Garmisch in 2019, first thing I saw when I exited the station was a guy on a prayermat doing his salat al-zuhr, a lot of changes. there were jobs going there back in the 80s during the season.... beautiful place with the mountains beside you, scenery wise I love all that area driving through the mountains down to Italy back when we were alive

Jaysus I'm totally restless thinking of it. In despair of ever getting beyond 5km again. It's against the very ethos of my spirit to be cooped up. On FB I'm reminded of where I was 4 years ago... feckin Antarctica, as far beyond 5km as one could get.

No face coverings in IOM :eek:

Question oh wurldly woyse Lahv Lahners......

I do be gettin' new windas dis week adn dat. Wat can i do wit d'existin' wans so to speak? Can they be sold to offset de cost a de new wans? Are they worth anything to anyone? Or can they be re-used/recycled so to speak? Can they be given to charity (my preferred option)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

If you skip them they will be gone in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

I do be gettin' new windas dis week adn dat. Wat can i do wit d'existin' wans so to speak? Can they be sold to offset de cost a de new wans? Are they worth anything to anyone? Or can they be re-used/recycled so to speak? Can they be given to charity (my preferred option)?

Put them on Done Deal.

Leave them into your local presbytery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Unless they are wood and the people replacing them have a wurk ethic similar to heart surgeons they will just be ripped apart coming out and banjaxed, good to nobody, especially uPVC. It will also delay them trying to take them out without wrecking which will be on your money so to speak.

Roger_007 wrote: »
    Put them on Done Deal.

Thanks Roger. I'll have a look.

FunnyFryday style "joke":
    Wat colour are they? there's no colour, I can see through them caller............

leave them at a clothes bank - that seems to be the done thing.

That was a great show

Unless they are wood and the people replacing them have a wurk ethic similar to heart surgeons they will just be ripped apart coming out and banjaxed, good to nobody, especially uPVC. It will also delay them trying to take them out without wrecking which will be on your money so to speak.

Day do be wood caller.

sligojoek wrote: »
    Leave them into your local presbytery

Seriously though, do you know any builders? Anyone doing a new garage or extension could build around them, so to speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,528 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

shearforce wrote: »
    leave them at a clothes bank - that seems to be the done thing.

That was a great show
    Ah of course the clothes bank which shockingly enough didn't think a golf bag was a nice outfit...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

If they're teak framed and taken out with a bit of care, they're worth something.
    I have a pile of German / Austrian TF windies I picked up years ago with the idea of making a conversatroryryryr or something with dem.

sligojoek wrote: »
    Seriously though, do you know any builders? Anyone doing a new garage or extension could build around them, so to speak.

I asked on de local facebuke page did anywan want dem but no interest caller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Thought CV-19 couldn't kill you ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

News Man Joe