Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VIII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,567 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Arghus wrote: »

And you never coherently outline what could and should be done differently.

TBF that lad was calling for restrictions to be eased 2 days before Christmas based on the premise that January was a "Dead" month.

Bit of a Hail Mary really but he is consistent.

What other choice was there in the context of an infectious disease that threatened to overwhelm the health system completely and leave thousands dead.

These choices were made in the full knowledge that they would come at a terrible cost, much of which you have outlined.

You persistently blame lockdown and restrictions for everything, but you never acknowledge that as terrible as they are/were they only exist as measures to prevent even worse outcomes.

And you never coherently outline what could and should be done differently.

Other countries didn’t have severe lockdown and still didn’t have huge deaths. I really don’t believe that our death toll would be too much higher if we’d had much less restrictions throughout.

Funny enough, I see Peru mentioned above. Arguably the toughest lockdown in the world and they done poor in terms of deaths. There is definitely evidence out there that tough lockdown actually results in bigger/worse spikes.

But I do genuinely believe that less restrictions would have been much more beneficial than just sacrificing every other area of society. Even if it meant more Covid deaths

Boggles wrote: »
    TBF that lad was calling for restrictions to be eased 2 days before Christmas based on the premise that January was a "Dead" month.

Bit of a Hail Mary really but he is consistent.

We did what we always do... sh*t the bed.
    Cases are rising, just close everything for months!!!

We did what we always do... sh*t the bed.
    Cases are rising, just close everything for months!!!

I know sure, we should just follow your advice.

Ignore it, schools, economy, health care be grand shure!

If only we eased restrictions 2 days before Christmas those zealots would see.

*shakes fist*

I know sure, we should just follow your advice.

Ignore it, schools, economy, health care be grand shure!

If only we eased restrictions 2 days before Christmas those zealots would see.

*shakes fist*

We don’t need lockdown. Even the WHO have said it should only be used as a last resort.

Sensible restrictions that still allow society to function in a meaningful way are much more beneficial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,267 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Other countries didn’t have severe lockdown and still didn’t have huge deaths. I really don’t believe that our death toll would be too much higher if we’d had much less restrictions throughout.

Funny enough, I see Peru mentioned above. Arguably the toughest lockdown in the world and they done poor in terms of deaths. There is definitely evidence out there that tough lockdown actually results in bigger/worse spikes.

But I do genuinely believe that less restrictions would have been much more beneficial than just sacrificing every other area of society. Even if it meant more Covid deaths

If you don't believe our death toll would have been much higher without restrictions you are living in a fantasy.

Three weeks of lessened but still semi restricted living in December was enough to bring the health system to near collapse and there will be roughly a thousand deaths from Covid in January alone, as a direct result of the surge of cases in December. No further evidence is required that lockdowns and restrictions are wholly necessary.

You're in denial about the reality of the situation.

Sensible restrictions that still allow society to function in a meaningful way are much more beneficial.

What kind of sensible restrictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

If you don't believe our death toll would have been much higher without restrictions you are living in a fantasy.

Three weeks of lessened but still semi restricted living in December was enough to bring the health system to near collapse and there will be roughly a thousand deaths from Covid in January alone, as a direct result of the surge of cases in December. No further evidence is required that lockdowns and restrictions are wholly necessary.

You're in denial about the reality of the situation.

You should be able to demonstrate evidence of that position you are so sure of...so, when you are ready....

It only threatened to overwhelm the system twice in nearly a year.

A system that is routinely overwhelmed year in year out.

You are not factoring in the fear that is stopping people addressing what may seem minor issues right now...unnecessary fear that has been a tool to control our behaviour for nearly a year now...a similar phenomenon is evident in our Emergency departments.

The health system has probably never seen a quieter year.

The system faces huge pressure every year, but it doesn't actually collapse or come close to it.

And that's in the context of normal life continuing aside from that.

Think what the outcome would be if we carried on like that in the context of Covid. Use your imagination, it would have been catastrophic. A highly infectious disease that spreads exponentially... there's simply no question about this

You said it yourself: the hospitals have never been quieter. But yet they went from that low base to being absolutely deluged within a short space of time, with multiple ICU's in the country having zero beds night after night.

It’s stunning to me that after the events of the last 6 weeks people are still resolutely sticking to these fantasies.

We don’t need lockdown.

I know your opinion on it, sure you were calling for it to end 2 days before Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,696 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Fair play for your honesty.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

You should be able to demonstrate evidence of that position you are so sure of...so, when you are ready....

Mate, we eased restrictions for less than a month, resulting in a huge surge and people have been dying at an unprecedented rate for the last month as a direct result.

What more evidence do you need? It's pretty conclusive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

Yep, that explains quite a bit.

can you explain your comment?

if it's a dig at a media source without actually checking and debating the content of the article , then you only let yourself down putting yourself with the gimps who never read the article but bemoan the daily mail link. I would have thought you better than that?

If there is anything in the article that is wrong or lies, please point it out.

If you don't like gript thats' fine but they are one of the only (if only) media in Ireland who look at these types of stories. why is that? Is there an IT equivalent article that may suit you?

but I'll be fair, what does your comment mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

Well I can't comment on your mates in the ambulance service, but at least in Peru and New South Wales suicide is down:

if we had stats as quick as them countries , we may not have to rely on anecdotal evidence

You shouldn't comment on my mates in the ambulance service except to laud them . They are HSE heroes after all :pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

But but but Lundstram claimed that they sit in their cars when the weather turns wet or cold. If he states that t must be true. Sure he is always 100% correct in everything he posts about.......

........in his own mind anyway.

Ah ‘Tis yourself. Great man for calling out posters.

I take it all back our Gardai are flat out these days.

https://twitter.com/niall_boylan/status/1355178914289758213?s=21

Loving the social distancing here.

The system faces huge pressure every year, but it doesn't actually collapse or come close to it.

And that's in the context of normal life continuing aside from that.

Think what the outcome would be if we carried on like that in the context of Covid. Use your imagination, it would have been catastrophic. A highly infectious disease that spreads exponentially... there's simply no question about this

You said it yourself: the hospitals have never been quieter. But yet they went from that low base to being absolutely deluged within a short space of time, with multiple ICU's in the country having zero beds night after night.

It’s stunning to me that after the events of the last 6 weeks people are still resolutely sticking to these fantasies.

We have had two surges in one year, both lasting 6 weeks or thereabouts.

Outside of those two surges, our health system has been extremely quiet.

WE have had 3 level 5 lockdowns, coming at a massive cost economically and socially....what you seem to be suggesting is that we should be in lockdown 5 continuously from mid Oct to Mid March - correct me if I am wrong.

Restrictions work...severe lockdowns don't, that is self evident if you look at what has happened in this very country, two surges putting huge pressure on a PART of the health system, 3 level 5 lockdowns....can you join the dots?

Some of us haven't been conditioned by our media that severe lockdowns are the only answer as much as others.

Can anyone tell me, of an expert or Professor or Health official who has been been given a platform across all our national media criticizing severe lockdowns and given the time to do so repeatedly?

paw patrol wrote: »
    if it's a dig at a media source without actually checking and debating the content of the article ,

Yeah the source is hilarious, the content is also misleading.

It clearly mislead you.

Maybe go back and read it and then read your post again and do a bit of your own fact checking, you have no excuse.

Come back to be then and we'll "debate" it if you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,696 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Can anyone tell me, of an expert or Professor or Health official who has been been given a platform across all our national media criticizing severe lockdowns and given the time to do so repeatedly?

When the vast majority of experts, professors and health professionals support the strategy, why should a platform be repeatedly given to a tiny minority view?

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

Penfailed wrote: »
    When the vast majority of experts, professors and health professionals support the strategy, why should a platform be repeatedly given to a tiny minority view?

You have just demonstrated my point thank you very much.

Do you not think that there is something very wrong with that?

We have never seen anything like this on the scale it is happening...and nobody disagrees?

We are not hearing from anyone who doesn't sing from the same hymn sheet supporting Government Policy.

A policy the likes of which has never been seen before, a policy that is creating more problems than it is solving....that has stripped us all of freedom of movement and in too many cases a right to work, a right for a kid to go to school, a right to visit family!!!!

You can clearly see who has been indoctrinated by the hysteria and who hasn't...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭Kunta Kinte

Lundstram wrote: »
    Ah ‘Tis yourself. Great man for calling out posters.

I take it all back our Gardai are flat out these days.

https://twitter.com/niall_boylan/status/1355178914289758213?s=21

Loving the social distancing here.

I have no idea what that video was about without any context. Do you? As for the social distancing comment the video was recorded from some distance away and clearly zoomed in. Taking that into account it appears that a 2m distance between the Gardai was observed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Mate, we eased restrictions for less than a month, resulting in a huge surge and people have been dying at an unprecedented rate for the last month as a direct result.

Would you expand on that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

Looks like Larry King didn't die from Covid after all, makes you wonder how they are counting Covid deaths..

https://www.today.com/news/larry-king-s-widow-reveals-his-cause-death-wasn-t-t207308

We are not hearing from anyone who doesn't sing from the same hymn sheet supporting Government Policy.

Nope, those loons were all over social media and the airwaves during the summer, telling us the pandemic is over, T-Cells, no second wave, lock up the vulnerable and other psychotic nonsense.

They are not around so much now TBF.

Thank Christ.

Nope, those loons were all over social media and the airwaves during the summer, telling us the pandemic is over, T-Cells, no second wave, lock up the vulnerable and other psychotic nonsense.

Thank Christ.

Ah the science man who can't produce any science calling anyone who doesn't think like him a loon!!!!

I'll be leaving you alone from now on!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,832 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Thank Christ.

You think people who talked about how our T-Cells work with this virus are loons? jesus christ.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭Malcomex

It’s likely the most cost effective measure to prevent transmission of respiratory illness, it will likely stay.

They are ,but when life returns to normal the masks can only be used in certain indoor environments

Supermarkets and shops for example

Social Distancing will fade away naturally over time

Masks won't.be in use in the likes of gyms , pubs and swimming pools etc.

So in reality masks and SD will be gone imo

Ah the science man who can't produce any science calling anyone who doesn't think like him a loon!!!!

There isn't really any point producing links for you is there, lets be honest you won't read them will you?

I do believe one poster went to the trouble of posting links and you wrote them off as "garbage".

TBF they would be more patient and kind than me.

You think people who talked about how our T-Cells work with this virus are loons? jesus christ.

Loons who said we had reached herd immunity, the pandemic was over and T-Cells were a big part of that.

What would call them?

Apart from wrong.

Would you expand on that?

What are you confused by?

There isn't really any point producing links for you is there, lets be honest you won't read them will you?

I do believe one poster went to the trouble of posting links and you wrote them off as "garbage".

TBF they would be more patient and kind than me.

There is no science Boggles....that is why you don't have any links....you've been asked for evidence multiple times.

No one was recommending severe lockdowns until China locked down last year, all we have now are studies based on spurious data, so yes, that does question the veracity of the studies.

You just mentioned that T Cell immunity in a manner that clearly demonstrates that any science you understand involves tea leaves!!!!

Locking up the vulnerable is psychotic but locking up everyone is the way to go....

Have you any clue what you are talking about? And please don't regurgitate some nonsense you picked up on the news!!!