Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXII-215,743 ROI (4,137 deaths)111,166 NI (2,036 deaths)(22/02)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,151 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Eod100 wrote: »
    Say Taoiseach might go to Washington and ministers staying home. Thought ministers had stayed at home last year but some still went, maybe not as many as other years. Remember Varadkar announcing restrictions from US, optics were terrible. Bit mad in hindsight tbh.

Say Martin will want to go with Biden president and Varadkar. In theory Martin is Taoiseach until end of 2022 but whether he survives as FF leader or government lasts until then remains to be seen.

Once he gets his €500 fine off he goes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭Cork2021

bunnyboxer wrote: »
    Yep with the different variants. Maybe not five years but at least two.

I don't understand why people kick up a fuss about wearing a mask. Its only a mask for God sake.

How long do you wear one on a daily basis??
    I’m not on the levels of our HCW but I’ve one on for at least 50 hours per week so yeah they can fûck off ASAP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,174 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

Gael23 wrote: »
    Once he gets his €500 fine off he goes

He has an exemption as Taoiseach. Presume he'd be tested on way back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭cannotlogin

aziz wrote: »
    I don’t know if any one has asked this question but where is leo,Michael and the rest of them off to for Paddy’s day

If they've any proper leadership skills at all (questionable) & can read the mood of the nation, they should use the opportunity to clearly come out and say that under the current circumstances consider it "Non essential travel" & that the decision has been accepted positively internationally too as the right thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭aziz

Say Taoiseach might go to Washington and ministers staying home. Thought ministers had stayed at home last year but some still went, maybe not as many as other years. Remember Varadkar announcing restrictions from US, optics were terrible. Bit mad in hindsight tbh.

Say Martin will want to go with Biden president and Varadkar. In theory Martin is Taoiseach until end of 2022 but whether he survives as FF leader or government lasts until then remains to be seen.

Well in the spirit of”we’re all in this together “,they should stay the **** at home

The basic mitigation measures like mask wearing, social distancing etc are being credited with 0 flu cases.

I just can’t imagine they will justify the removal of those measure’s when it will be linked to hundreds of flu deaths and packed hospitals in future

And you think we’ll all accept that? How many people each year go into work feeling like ****e with possible flu or a vomiting bug?
    What I see happening is people will stay away from work with symptoms of any type of flu or bug and that vaccine take up will increase big time even on last years numbers. That’s another reason why our flu cases have been zero!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭frank8211

Schools could begin to be opened again from 15 February....if everything else is closed it will be a good test case as to how much they impact community infection

They wouldn't do that because their "schools are safe" line would be shot out of the water conclusively

Well in the spirit of”we’re all in this together “,they should stay the **** at home

I'd say all the ministers will, Taoiseach might still go but tbh I'm just speculating.

If they've any proper leadership skills at all (questionable) & can read the mood of the nation, they should use the opportunity to clearly come out and say that under the current circumstances consider it "Non essential travel" & that the decision has been accepted positively internationally too as the right thing to do.

I think that would be the right thing alright but can see them saying the usual of it's to sell Ireland abroad. Not that we want tourists here for next while anyway..!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭Polar101

I don’t know if any one has asked this question but where is leo,Michael and the rest of them off to for Paddy’s day

I'd say shamrocks in the White House are definitely off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,624 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Cork2021 wrote: »
    And you think we’ll all accept that? How many people each year go into work feeling like ****e with possible flu or a vomiting bug?
    What I see happening is people will stay away from work with symptoms of any type of flu or bug and that vaccine take up will increase big time even on last years numbers. That’s another reason why our flu cases have been zero!

We will accept what we are told.

I will be shocked if no basic mitigation measures are retained to prevent overcrowding in the health service or deaths related to influenza

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭bunnyboxer

Maybe a visor or something might be introduced instead. Wouldn't be as bad as a mask for 50 hours.

''The British government will on Wednesday announce plans for limited hotel quarantine for Britons returning from 30 high-risk countries covered by a travel ban, the Times reported on Wednesday.''

https://www.reuters.com/article/uk-health-coronavirus-britain-travel-idUSKBN29V2O1?taid=6010ad185a2f620001931e49&utm_campaign=trueAnthem:+Trending+Content&utm_medium=trueAnthem&utm_source=twitter

We will accept what we are told.

I will be shocked if no basic mitigation measures are retained to prevent overcrowding in the health service or deaths related to influenza

Won’t happen, straight up won’t happen. What this pandemic will do is to get our health system actually functioning as it should do with the budget it receives going forward. We’ll have more beds, more ICU beds, better paid nurses and doctors. Primary health care will be far superior to what it is now! Local injury units will be more affective and the HSE will use the private hospitals to help ease waiting lists especially after this!

bunnyboxer wrote: »
    Maybe a visor or something might be introduced instead. Wouldn't be as bad as a mask for 50 hours.

So how many hours a week do you wear a mask? Never answered my question? Obvious you only wear if you wear one at all going to do groceries etc. So probably 2-4 hours a week max!

''The British government will on Wednesday announce plans for limited hotel quarantine for Britons returning from 30 high-risk countries covered by a travel ban, the Times reported on Wednesday.''

https://www.reuters.com/article/uk-health-coronavirus-britain-travel-idUSKBN29V2O1?taid=6010ad185a2f620001931e49&utm_campaign=trueAnthem:+Trending+Content&utm_medium=trueAnthem&utm_source=twitter

Yes, seems like that’s confirmed. Similar arrangement to Ireland, with mandatory quarantine from high risk areas and tests & isolation at home for everyone else (travel from Ireland has to date been exempt from the PCR test and self isolation requirement but we will see tomorrow whether that ‘back door’ has been closed).

I guess the question for both Irish and British arrangements is how tightly home isolation will be monitored.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2021/jan/26/labour-attacks-half-baked-targeted-covid-quarantine-policy?CMP=Share_iOSApp_Other

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭wheresthebeef

Visors are next to useless and look stupid to boot. They’re eye protection to be used on top of a mask.

After seeing the massive reduction in respiratory illnesses of other kinds, I think mask wearing will be around for a while. I wear one about 50 hours a week also (Healthcare worker), and will continue to wear one for a long time to come even when they are no longer mandatory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

I see that people are posting here feeling understandably downish to different degrees...but

Just a hopeful little reminder that I posted months back about booking a significant event for the end of this year. Hopefully you will get to meet some of the 80+ ers I post about and maybe the 90+ in human years old cat if they still is with us.

Have to make up for only having the very grand total of having only one person in the house here during the last year.. which the opposite to the usual. Miss having neighbours friends family and oh definetly the musicians dropping in for a cuppa.

Yes you read right.... did I mention nearer the time you can pm me for details..worse case sceanario.. I will look into obtaining zorb bubbles for those of you still worried regarding transmission... thinking of the likes of' Away with the faries' :)
    And yes AWTF I have a background in event management including health and safety!

Until then night all and a little bit of music..race for the prize from one of the flaming lips bubble concerts this year :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭Kunta Kinte

Visors are next to useless and look stupid to boot. They’re eye protection to be used on top of a mask.

After seeing the massive reduction in respiratory illnesses of other kinds, I think mask wearing will be around for a while. I wear one about 50 hours a week also (Healthcare worker), and will continue to wear one for a long time to come even when they are no longer mandatory.

Yep same here and I`m not a healthcare worker nor in any way connected to the health sector.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

Lots of people depressed in here tonight? I personally wouldn’t focus too much on internet opinions, AND FOOK RTE

Now I purposely closed myself off from most of this sh1t lately so apologies if we’re all fooked and I didn’t know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,755 ✭✭✭maebee

I agree. I will not leave my house without a mask and can see myself adhering to this regime, for at least, the rest of this year. It's over a year since I've had a cold. That has to be down to mask wearing on everyone's part. I hate them, especially as a person who has to wear glasses, but they work. It's a minor inconvenience for the likes of me who has to wear a mask on outdoor walks etc. Major kudos to those like yourself who have to work a 10 hour day wearing a mask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Tpcl20

Cork2021 wrote: »

My skin is destroyed from wearing it for about three-four hours of my day during the week. I can't even imagine what it would be like if I had to wear it for 8 hour working day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,188 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

You only ever disagree with it when its not strict enough in your opinion it appears.

Would you not agree that we need to state what the endgame is?i

People want to get back to normal. Not a new normal but the actual normal. The pre-covid normal. We need to define clearly on what condition and how we are going to do this. If we dont even know where we're going how are we going to get there?

Well we all know what the ultimate goal is - to have enough of the population vaccinated so that normality can return.

While I didn't think the Government's talking heads were very impressive earlier I'm not going to work myself into a rage about it today.

Today was a broadly positive day, with of course the caveat of all of the deaths, which was sad to see.

But, nonetheless, it was still the first day where we announced cases in mere triple figures in a long while. Things are not wonderful, but they're undeniably improving in the most fundamental aspect: getting the virus under control.

Relative to where we were three weeks ago it was by no means guaranteed that we'd be here by now, a lot of people seem to have taken that for granted.

Whatever about our plans and aspirations we can't do anything until first and foremost we have a semblance of control over the virus and we seem to be gradually getting there, which comes after great effort. So we have to be broadly positive about that rather than negative.

Do we need a plan for the future? Of course. Does the government need to up their game in terms of concrete plans, strategy and communication? Absolutely, 100%. But at the same time people who expected that to be articulated today were bound to be disappointed.

Right now the immediate aim is still exactly the same as it was two to three weeks ago. The virus is still at a high level out there, better than what it was, but still at a point where if the gains we made aren't sustained then everything will once again become much more difficult. Compliance from the public is still crucial. The government and other health authorities can't really ease up on that. Maybe we aren't fighting an inferno to the same extent as the start of the month, but it's still a healthy blaze that could take off easily again.

The endgame and the timing of it is totally dependent on the availability of vaccines and that is uncertain at the moment. And a lot of the Government's best laid plans are contingent on others in that regard at the moment. There's supply issues and approval issues all across Europe. Our government isn't alone in effectively being stuck in limbo until theres more clarity and confidence in this area. We're in a holding position for the next few weeks, that's the truth of it.

I'd be stunned if by the middle of the next month there aren't solid dates and numbers being put on targets to reach, but so much is dependent on virus levels over the next month and more clarity regarding vaccines.

Right now the government can not make promises about we will have normality by such and such a date - that is unrealistic given what we are dealing with. And look around - nobody is making that promise. It's a period of great uncertainty worldwide, not just in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭jams100

maebee wrote: »
    I agree. I will not leave my house without a mask and can see myself adhering to this regime, for at least, the rest of this year. It's over a year since I've had a cold. That has to be down to mask wearing on everyone's part. I hate them, especially as a person who has to wear glasses, but they work. It's a minor inconvenience for the likes of me who has to wear a mask on outdoor walks etc. Major kudos to those like yourself who have to work a 10 hour day wearing a mask.

Getting a cold is a minor inconvenience though. I personally won't be wearing a mask as soon as this is over.
    Don't know how people can wear them for 8+ hours a day, thankful that I at least don't have to do that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 838 ✭✭✭The_Brood

Yeah, being close-up in an airborne can for 4 or more hours is very safe. Somebody has indeed lost clarity.

Government kept schools open for 9 months with multitudes of kids confined close up indoors for 7 or 8 hours each day. And day in and day out they claimed that it was safe.

If some people have lost clarity, the government needs to be locked away in an asylum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,188 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

jams100 wrote: »
    Getting a cold is a minor inconvenience though. I personally won't be wearing a mask as soon as this is over.
    Don't know how people can wear them for 8+ hours a day, thankful that I at least don't have to do that

You just get used to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

https://twitter.com/justin_hart/status/1354223766956437509
    This crazy idea is gaining some traction in US media lately..when will it be mandated in Ireland :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,745 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Funny I noticed a few double maskers at Biden's inauguration last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭Kunta Kinte

bb1234567 wrote: »
    https://twitter.com/justin_hart/status/1354223766956437509
    This crazy idea is gaining some traction in US media lately..when will it be mandated in Ireland :D

Bring them on. The sooner the better as far as I`m concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Pulsating Star

NIMAN wrote: »
    Funny I noticed a few double maskers at Biden's inauguration last week.

Biden himself was the first I saw doing it.

My mum was making a very rare excursion today and did likewise to feel a bit more comfortable with the risk, especially not wanting to mess up so close to her being vaccinated.