Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So, what you playing at the mo? Retro Edition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,557 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Spent this evening playing through The Yellow Head Building in Shenmue 2.

17 floors of QTE hell.

Two hours later and I just had to save and quit for the night. I got all the way up to floor 17, then down to basement 3 and just didn't have it in me anymore to finish off another mini boss battle that has a QTE at the end of each round.

The QTEs are annoying enough, but having to rewatch FMV segments leading up to them, only to get a split second to see and try the QTE prompt, before failing and having to watch the FMV all over again to get another glimpse and go at it.

Argh!!! WTF were they thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,410 ✭✭✭Doge

o1s1n wrote: »

17 floors of QTE hell.

Two hours later and I just had to save and quit for the night. .

540163.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,640 ✭✭✭Gamer Bhoy 89

17 floors of QTE hell.

Two hours later and I just had to save and quit for the night. I got all the way up to floor 17, then down to basement 3 and just didn't have it in me anymore to finish off another mini boss battle that has a QTE at the end of each round.

The QTEs are annoying enough, but having to rewatch FMV segments leading up to them, only to get a split second to see and try the QTE prompt, before failing and having to watch the FMV all over again to get another glimpse and go at it.

Argh!!! WTF were they thinking.

Something like that is really putting me off starting that series. I bought all three games last year and I only recently played through 5 or 10 mins of Shenmue 1. I turned it off because I had other games I wanted to get through first, but I was always turned away from its very dated mechanics.

I guess the short version is I just wanted to have the games just for the sake of owning them.
    Retr0gamer wrote: »
    I'd rank the manhunt games as the worst they've made. Absolute poison wrapped up in a edgelord aesthetic.

You're tarnishing my love for that game :pac:

Master of the Universe

Something like that is really putting me off starting that series. I bought all three games last year and I only recently played through 5 or 10 mins of Shenmue 1. I turned it off because I had other games I wanted to get through first, but I was always turned away from its very dated mechanics.

I guess the short version is I just wanted to have the games just for the sake of owning them.

You're tarnishing my love for that game :pac:

They're such brilliant games and totally worth playing but yeah, when you've done three QTE events correct in a row and then feck up the 4th, only to have to go back to the start of the whole thing and do it all again (including rewatching the FMV again) and that's your second or third time attempting all of this already, there's definitely a part of you which asks 'why the feck am I playing this again??'

There's a section in Kowloon where you've to get to the top of a building and there are planks across massive gaps. You've to cross the planks, but via QTE events where you've to press the correct direction multiple times whole Ryo walks across, or else you fall off the plank.

This goes on and on and on to the point where you have to start to think the developers were sadists.

And that's still not as annoying as the section I'm in.

...still worth playing though! :pac:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,416 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Started Mischief Makers last night.

Have wanted to start it for ages but a lot of N64 games require the N64 controller to be playable because of unique control schemes so have had to wait for a N64 hybrid controller to be ordered from retrobit.

It's a strange game. Looks awful and there's not a lot of thought put into aesthetics but they managed to pull so many great level ideas and set pieces out of its esoteric control scheme. It reminds me a lot of Bangai-O and I wouldn't be surprised if the same team was involved. The localisation is hilarious, some laugh out loud moments.

Also been playing some Megaman 8. It's insane that reviews at the time said this game was ugly and looked like a 16-bit game. The 2D work is absolutely gorgeous and there's no way a 16-bit machine was doing this at the time.

It's a decent game but have some issues. I watched this game being speedrun a lot at AGDQ and they all complain about the amount of auto scrolling sections. It is a big deal even casually. Levels are also too long and it has that Megaman GB/7 thing where you defeat 4 robot masters before going to the next set.

The absolute best thing about the game is the voice acting. It's beyond terrible. The actors are woeful. One robotmaster gets his name wrong. Megaman is quite clearly played by a girl. Best of all is Dr. Light. His VO has absolutely no charisma, fluffs his lines constantly and has a speech impediment. It's insane how bad it is.

It's funny how MM8 could be so bad and yet for MM Legends they created one of the all time great localisations.

Master of the Universe

Was Mischief Makers featured in a youtube gaming channel recently? Second time I've heard it mentioned since yesterday and I'd never heard of it before.

Really want to give it a go, it's actually the main reason I was looking into picking up an n64 flash cart!

Actually, looking at ebay, it's actually dirt cheap. I was thinking 2D & N64 was going to mean it'd cost a fortune!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,416 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

As a massive Treasure fan it's always been on my to try list but just haven't had the time to dedicate to it. I didn't see it anywhere else but thought it was a well known niche game (nice morning oxymoron).

I got my PAL copy for very cheap and my japanese copy dirt cheap as well but worth getting the US copy for the 60Hz and the hilariously bizarre nonsense story.

N64 prices have been relatively sane. All the nostalgia fair weather collectors just go for the popular games which have risen in price but the hidden gems like Mischief Makers and Sin and Punishment are still very affordable.

I think that there were so few good games on the N64 that even the weird bizarre stuff sold well because people were so desperate for something good to play on the system. And nintendo's cart policy meant you had to produce quite a few carts. There were no 10,000-40,000 copy runs like you'd get on PS1 or Saturns.

Master of the Universe

I managed to nab an NTSC US cart on ebay for a tenner, so am looking forward to giving it a go. (hard to believe you can still buy old games for so cheap!)

What's your take on Silhouette Mirage actually? It's another one on my 'Treasure games I really need to spend more time with' list.

I managed to nab an NTSC US cart on ebay for a tenner, so am looking forward to giving it a go. (hard to believe you can still buy old games for so cheap!)

What's your take on Silhouette Mirage actually? It's another one on my 'Treasure games I really need to spend more time with' list.

It's a game I've got to try and get into. Only played a little of it.

Working Designs brought it to the US and decided to change the game up significantly, increasing damage and health values for enemies and making the shop prices much higher. So it became a slog for me and I found out I was supposed to be grinding cash off cannon fodder but this slows the game down significantly.

However the localisation is really good and funny.

The best way to play it is apparently the Saturn version as it looks nicer and runs a lot better. But it's all in japanese and supposedly very easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Wizard!

I posted 5 years ago, looking for an arcade game I was playing at high school...
    Since the thread is closed, I am quoting myself here:
    I am looking for an old game, before 1987, where you had to destroy a castle at the top of the map, while throwing torches to it.
    The most unique part of this game was the music. Throughout the game it was playing "Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Rondo alla Turca".
    Does anybody remember it?

Today, I found it! It is the Naughty Boy.
    So, for the next few days I will be playing this one :)

Master of the Universe

Been playing some Gunlord this afternoon. God I cannot stand Euroshooters :eek: really trying to give it a chance but as per usual, it feels like it was made in a bedroom by people with no idea what makes a good game work.

Flashing 'GO!' arrows all over the place to show you where you've to go because they can't design a level that flows properly.

Mental colour palettes all over the place. Super flat sprits. Billions of little square floating and rotating power ups everywhere.

That dodgy Turrican pseudo 3D running animation.

Changing genres for the second level into a side scrolling shmup because hey, if you can't do one genre right, the way to fix that is by ham fisting in another one (one that tries to be a really blatant Blazing Star rip off, even down to the boss bullet patterns, you can only imagine how that worked out)

The destruction and shooting can be fun, don't get me wrong, it's by far one of the best examples of a Euroshooter...but yet again I just find that Europeans can't do shmups/run and guns like the Japanese. They just feel so flat in comparison.

Master of the Universe

Feck this, I've had enough!

Switched over to Bangai-O to cleanse my brain of that filth :pac:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,797 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Been playing some Gunlord this afternoon. God I cannot stand Euroshooters :eek: really trying to give it a chance but as per usual, it feels like it was made in a bedroom by people with no idea what makes a good game work.

Flashing 'GO!' arrows all over the place to show you where you've to go because they can't design a level that flows properly.

Mental colour palettes all over the place. Super flat sprits. Billions of little square floating and rotating power ups everywhere.

That dodgy Turrican pseudo 3D running animation.

Changing genres for the second level into a side scrolling shmup because hey, if you can't do one genre right, the way to fix that is by ham fisting in another one (one that tries to be a really blatant Blazing Star rip off, even down to the boss bullet patterns, you can only imagine how that worked out)

The destruction and shooting can be fun, don't get me wrong, it's by far one of the best examples of a Euroshooter...but yet again I just find that Europeans can't do shmups/run and guns like the Japanese. They just feel so flat in comparison.

Is that the Switch version, Gunlord X, or the one on the Dreamcast?

Master of the Universe

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    Is that the Switch version, Gunlord X, or the one on the Dreamcast?

Playing it on th Dreamcast, didn't know it had a Switch release actually!

I hope the 'X' means they sent the idea off to a Japanese game studio who rebuilt the game from scratch :D

Ah, I'm sure some will enjoy it. Just not my cuppa tea at all.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,797 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Playing it on the Dreamcast, didn't know it had a Switch release actually!

I hope the 'X' means they sent the idea off to a Japanese game studio who rebuilt the game from scratch :D

Ah, I'm sure some will enjoy it. Just not my cuppa tea at all.

Not sure who worked on it but it is described, on their wiki page, as "improved".
    Not sure that is the same as "fixed".

The original got consistent 8/10 scores in the press, back in 2012, which is the DC version.

I just bought it on the Eshop, 9.99.
    Hopefully my hotel wifi will let me connect and download.

Feck this, I've had enough!

Switched over to Bangai-O to cleanse my brain of that filth :pac:

Let me know how you find it. The 'Ah ha!' moment is when you realise you need to use dashing a lot as it gives you i-frames then when you do a charge attack you reset your dash meter. It's all about chaining them together and also risk and reward of charging the charge attack for just long enough that you are a frame away from annihilation.

As for Euro shooters, the only ones I really enjoyed were the Turrican games. And even then I think outside of Turrican even Trent let himself down with rendering ranger which is not good despite what people will tell you.

Finished the first world of Mischief Makers.

It's absolutely bat **** insane. The level of variety in stages is just nuts. The secret bonus in each stage is fun to hunt as well. Well worth giving a go just to see how utterly insane it gets.

Master of the Universe

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    Not sure who worked on it but it is described, on their wiki page, as "improved".
    Not sure that is the same as "fixed".

The original got consistent 8/10 scores in the press, back in 2012, which is the DC version.

I just bought it on the Eshop, 9.99.
    Hopefully my hotel wifi will let me connect and download.

Did you manage to give it a go in the end?
    Retr0gamer wrote: »
    Let me know how you find it. The 'Ah ha!' moment is when you realise you need to use dashing a lot as it gives you i-frames then when you do a charge attack you reset your dash meter. It's all about chaining them together and also risk and reward of charging the charge attack for just long enough that you are a frame away from annihilation.

As for Euro shooters, the only ones I really enjoyed were the Turrican games. And even then I think outside of Turrican even Trent let himself down with rendering ranger which is not good despite what people will tell you.

Ahhhh I didn't know there was a dash button! Didn't notice it when fecking about with the Dreamcast controller, I'll check into that this evening.

Took me a few levels to realise about the risk/reward element, that really adds an extra thrill to the game alright, it's actually quite impressive to see such a volume of missiles on screen when you pull off a massive counter attack.

The 'just one more go' to it aswell is absolutely crazy, I must have played it for about two hours yesterday, felt like the blink of an eye.

Speaking of ye olde Euroshooters, have you played much of Ultracore? feels like there might be a half decent game in there on the exploration side of things, I just can't seem to get into it. Yet again, dodgy character animation immediately pisses me off (Why are his elbows down at his waist??)

I'm not sure if the dashing is a little different in the original game, I must go back. But in missile fury there was a moment when it all clicked and I realised that dashing and resetting the dash meter with a burst attack was the real way to play the game.

I heard the original is a more straightforward game whereas the DS and 360 game take the mechanics and do crazy stuff with them and they are near puzzle games and have more in common with Mischief Makers.

I really, really miss Treasure. :(

Master of the Universe

I picked up Missile Fury recently after you were saying it's completely locked to the 360, it definitely has a different feel to it - the original feels more like an arcade game.

Any idea what happened to them as a company in the end? I actually thought Sin and Punishment Star Successor was their last game but see there's something called Gaist Crusher for the 3DS, must check that out!

Gaia Crusher seems like a work for hire type project.

They are still tweeting so doing something. They were trying to get games on to steam but only got Ikaruga on there and don't think it sold massively which might have scrapped a port of Radiant Silvergun, Guardian Heroes and Bangai-o. Last thing they released was Ikaruga on the switch in 2018. They are a tiny team so don't know what they are up to. They also seem to promote M2 stuff a lot and I feel there's a connection there as a lot of Treasure staff are there and yet I think they never left Treasure. The Radiant Silvergun creator I think owns M2 and keeps threatening to make a new shmup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Burzum

I am currently running through "The Apprentice" on the CDI, tough little game but I'm enjoying it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,410 ✭✭✭KeRbDoG

From all the Amiga chat on another thread I ended up digging out an Amiga 600 - after much Compact Flash fun I ended up playing Cannon Fodder 2 for a bit.
    Good craic but need to get WHDLoad running Cannon Fodder 1 running.
    Anyone got an accelerator for the A600 they don't want/need? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,043 ✭✭✭Inviere

The Amiga 600.....2021's version of The Tower...

Master of the Universe

I thought I'd check in on the Atomiswave to Dreamcast port thingy that was going on recently - it's really gathered a lot of pace, absolutely loads of games playable now.

One of the best things about it? They're all pretty tiny compared to Dreamcast games. Think 40-100mb each.

Some lightgun games too like Ranger Mission.

Check this out:

IMG-20210125-154112079.jpg[/url]

Great guide here how to get it all up and running.

https://www.reddit.com/r/dreamcast/comments/jt71e5/download_links_for_all_of_the_atomiswave_ports/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,043 ✭✭✭Inviere

I thought I'd check in on the Atomiswave to Dreamcast port thingy that was going on recently - it's really gathered a lot of pace, absolutely loads of games playable now.

One of the best things about it? They're all pretty tiny compared to Dreamcast games. Think 40-100mb each.

Some lightgun games too like Ranger Mission.

Check this out:

IMG-20210125-154112079.jpg[/url]

Great guide here how to get it all up and running.

https://www.reddit.com/r/dreamcast/comments/jt71e5/download_links_for_all_of_the_atomiswave_ports/

What's actually the story with these? They're Atomiswave arcade games ported to run natively on the DC is it?

I know zilch about Atomiswave games or hardware, I presume the hardware is closely related to the DC? How are they porting the code itself??

Master of the Universe

That's it alright! You can basically drop a load of these Atomiswave games that have been modified and are in .cdi format onto your GDemu and away you go.

I believe the Atomiswave is actually based on the Naomi mobo, you can modify the games to run on that too. All very similar under the hood.

There's not a mountain of good games for it, but a decent enough selection. Just nice to have Dolphin Blue playable on a home console finally! Metal Slug 6 was on it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭bmorrissey

Looking to jump back into some genesis or master system games, anyone recommend a good/obscure platformers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,917 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

bmorrissey wrote: »
    Looking to jump back into some genesis or master system games, anyone recommend a good/obscure platformers?

ESWAT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭bmorrissey

The Nal wrote: »
    ESWAT

Thanks a mill, haven't played it before, looks pretty cool from the few screenshots i seen.