Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Signs you are dealing with a 'Rooter'

• Registered Users Posts: 11,189 ✭✭✭✭Base price

If you haven't got the right sized spanner to open a nut/bung pop in a cent or two cent coin into a larger spanner and it will get the job done :)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,620 ✭✭✭Feisar

Augeo wrote: »
    Non retractable ones are banned on many sites, with good reason, you can do huge damage quickly by accident. Self retracting options are less likely to do damage.

Spend the day scoring and snapping plasterboard and come back to me on retractable knives.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 329 ✭✭The Rabbi

Quazzie wrote: »
    I've often had a retractable stanley knife open in my pocket to expose the blade. Could do serious damage down there. :eek:

Remove the warning labels and let natural selection take it's course.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭NcdJd

Rolling out 9 strand el fence wire I've had to resort to banging it between 2 stones to split it, when nothing else was to hand. Works a treat.

Yabba dabba rooting ha

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,878 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

worked with a butcher for years.

He always always said that you would cut yourself quicker with a blunt knife compared to a sharp one as your forcing the blade and more chance of it slipping.

Only use the yellow Stanley fatmax knives here. blade retracts and folds in half and easy to spot or locate .

This thread has reminded me of different aspects of my childhood that I'd forgotten, the hardship some lad's subjected themselves to and no need for it. I was the only young lad locally that had much interest in all things agricultural that wasn't driving tractors or similar. There was a lot of older bachelor type operators locally at the time and there was always plenty of work with cattle, patching fences and general rooting at whatever lunacy they had in mind. Hardship wasn't the word and I swear some of them had no interest in doing something unless it was awkward and if it wasn't they'd find a way to make it difficult.

As for the fatmax knives there a serious tool and I'm never without one. There well designed and ergonomic although as with all Stanley stuff there dear enough for what they are and you wouldn't want to be loosing them too often. I do get them with work occasionally and have a few replacements ready and waiting in the drawer but there not something you'd wear out.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,263 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Dealz have a Stanley type knife for 1.50. Wouldn't bother changing a blade in it just buy another one

• Registered Users Posts: 3,989 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

I have one,not a bad one either, but the locking mechanism didn't work once, it allowed the blade close in on my fingers, no injury at all , but it would have been a different story , with a bit more force and if it was edged

Have a look at opinel knives. They allow you place a lock on them to stop them closing. Great knives and less than e15 each

• Registered Users Posts: 586 ✭✭✭dh1985

20silkcut wrote: »
    Always wear the full hands free welding mask when cutting with a slim Jim disk on a mini Grinder. They make a lovely almost surgical cut and are easy on the grinder but deadly when they shatter.

Not trying to be over cautious, and a head shield is a damn sight better than nothing as you would see some lads at, but there is still a possibiloty of metal deflecting up under any head shield and into an eye. Grinding with anything except proper grinding goggles is a H&S concern. Safety glasses or face shields while give 90% cover don't fully seal to the cheeks or forehead. Unless.your using goggles alongside the face shield.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

893bet wrote: »
    I have become much more eye protection aware.

Had another close miss last week when a piece of barbed wire that I was tying snapped and flew. Hit me in face and I escaped.

Heed the warning. Safety glass now part of the fencing kit for tensioning wire.

What put in perspective for me was one day a fella asked fo put a price on my eye, if a fella wanted to buy my eye how much would i take? I said i coudnt sell it. Exactky now put on them glasses like a good man.

Better living everyone

Quazzie wrote: »
    I've often had a retractable stanley knife open in my pocket to expose the blade. Could do serious damage down there. :eek:

Lost the two chest pockets on my overalls to the same thing this week

Better living everyone

• Registered Users Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭memorystick

A row of shîts along the bales of silage. Dirty lazy yolk

dh1985 wrote: »
    Not trying to be over cautious, and a head shield is a damn sight better than nothing as you would see some lads at, but there is still a possibiloty of metal deflecting up under any head shield and into an eye. Grinding with anything except proper grinding goggles is a H&S concern. Safety glasses or face shields while give 90% cover don't fully seal to the cheeks or forehead. Unless.your using goggles alongside the face shield.

Getting fitted for a paif of prescription safety glasses tomorrow, had a look at the JCB ones a while back far from impressed with them no protection underneath the eye whatsoever.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users Posts: 243 ✭✭Thepillowman

On the subject of opening bales
    https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=768073923798619

• Registered Users Posts: 992 ✭✭✭einn32

Brings a bullock to the mart in a transit van.

Feisar wrote: »
    Spend the day scoring and snapping plasterboard and come back to me on retractable knives.

No thanks :pac:

einn32 wrote: »
    Brings a bullock to the mart in a transit van.

I've seen that to go on from time to time. There was one character used to draw most of his stock (sheep, cattle and horses) in the back of a LWB Transit. He used to sell coal as well and he'd often have to tighten up the bags in the back to get place for his latest purchase. I could imagine him carrying coal and it all cow sh!te into some woman's town house.

The man in question landed to a horse sale one day and unloaded 5 horse's out of the back of the van. He then opened the side door and let down a plywood ramp he'd fabricated and 3 donkey's walked down the ramp. There was a department man watching and he said it was a pity that he hadn't a camera on his phone because no one would believe him when he'd tell them the story.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,280 ✭✭✭alias no.9

I've seen that to go on from time to time. There was one character used to draw most of his stock (sheep, cattle and horses) in the back of a LWB Transit. He used to sell coal as well and he'd often have to tighten up the bags in the back to get place for his latest purchase. I could imagine him carrying coal and it all cow sh!te into some woman's town house.

The man in question landed to a horse sale one day and unloaded 5 horse's out of the back of the van. He then opened the side door and let down a plywood ramp he'd fabricated and 3 donkey's walked down the ramp. There was a department man watching and he said it was a pity that he hadn't a camera on his phone because no one would believe him when he'd tell them the story.

Ah Christ, 5 horses and 3 donkeys in a Transit, would you g'way ta ****, not even if he did 3 runs to get them all there.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭kerryjack

Back 30 years ago we were all rooters, I was with a silage out fit one summer and we finished up a job and one of the lads got a brainwave of heading for the Brandon night club in tralee it was a Wednesday night and women had free entry in, so off we headed and one of the young bucks with us had a pair of wellies and no boots and put trousers down over the wellies and in we went and horsed in to the pints. Those days will never be seen again.

alias no.9 wrote: »
    Ah Christ, 5 horses and 3 donkeys in a Transit, would you g'way ta ****, not even if he did 3 runs to get them all there.

Why so? A long wheel base transit isn't far off 12 foot internal load bay and probably over 5 foot wide so roughly the size of an average cattle trailer. I'm not talking about Draught or Sport horse type stock over 16 hands more like oversized Connemara's or similar mongrels. If they were that valuable or desirable the same man wouldn't have them. It's a different story when you start stalling them individually and more attentive owners wouldn't dream of the above carry on. You'll see fair sized lorries at shows and fairs with only space for 4 or 5 nags in the lap of luxury.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭kerryjack

alias no.9 wrote: »
    He didn't say what size the horses was I seen a horse the other night on the telly lying down beside the range in a house no bigger than a mid sized dog.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,720 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

kerryjack wrote: »
    Back 30 years ago we were all rooters, I was with a silage out fit one summer and we finished up a job and one of the lads got a brainwave of heading for the Brandon night club in tralee it was a Wednesday night and women had free entry in, so off we headed and one of the young bucks with us had a pair of wellies and no boots and put trousers down over the wellies and in we went and horsed in to the pints. Those days will never be seen again.

Reminds me of a time years ago when a neighbour rang me, asking for a hand with some cattle they were putting on an island in the Shannon estuary. These were all yearlings and we had to swim them down a side river first and then down the Shannon a bit to the island. Some craic driving them into the water. Put a rope on one and pull with the small boat. The rest would follow. Every so often, one would try and swim for the side and the second boat would go round him up.

When we finished up, yer man says we'll go for a few pints. So off we went, in our wellies, covered in that blue mud you get in the Shannon and into a well known tourist pub in the area. Twas some Craic though, old style river boats and you're sitting down low under the water. Great feeling heading down the river.

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

• Registered Users Posts: 758 ✭✭✭CHOPS01

Reminds me of a time years ago when a neighbour rang me, asking for a hand with some cattle they were putting on an island in the Shannon estuary. These were all yearlings and we had to swim them down a side river first and then down the Shannon a bit to the island. Some craic driving them into the water. Put a rope on one and pull with the small boat. The rest would follow. Every so often, one would try and swim for the side and the second boat would go round him up.

When we finished up, yer man says we'll go for a few pints. So off we went, in our wellies, covered in that blue mud you get in the Shannon and into a well known tourist pub in the area. Twas some Craig though, old style river boats and you're sitting down low under the water. Great feeling heading down the river.

Nellie's??
    Shur the yanks must have loved the authenticity of the rural Irish Pub

• Registered Users Posts: 10,720 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

CHOPS01 wrote: »
    Nellie's??
    Shur the yanks must have loved the authenticity of the rural Irish Pub

Yep, there was an old character that used to drink there once and the lads had him laid out on a table surrounded by candles and all. Told the yanks that came in that it was a wake. Up jumps yet man and scared the hell outta them.

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

• Registered Users Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Kevhog1988 wrote: »
    Have a look at opinel knives. They allow you place a lock on them to stop them closing. Great knives and less than e15 each

Used to have one for cutting brocco, once the moisture gets into them they’re fecked.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Oops!

Seen a buck's passenger Grand Vitara parked outside the local one day and a calf standing in the back behind the rear seats looking out at me... Said owner sitting at the bar sculling pints.. He told me the calf was sick so the vet told him to keep him in out of the cold... True story.

Wasn't that long ago either!

Oops! wrote: »
    Seen a buck's passenger Grand Vitara parked outside the local one day and a calf standing in the back behind the rear seats looking out at me... Said owner sitting at the bar sculling pints.. He told me the calf was sick so the vet told him to keep him in out of the cold... True story.

Wasn't that long ago either!

A local man put a donkey foal into the back of a commercial Grand Vitara and stopped enroute for diesel. While his owner was in the shop the foal must have slipped between the seats and leapt out the driver's window which was partially open. He made bits of the glass in the process and escaped onto the forecourt. I was sent the recording from the CCTV at the time but I lost it when I changed phones, I've never been able to find it online since.

• Registered Users Posts: 409 ✭✭390kid

Did this transaction take place in Drumshanbo mart by any chance?

• Registered Users Posts: 29,263 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

There's a lad comes here for calves and he ties their legs together some way and puts them in a sack leaving just their head sticking out and puts them in the boot of the car. He was here before Christmas and had his wife's car. Was driving about 40 minutes away. He has a trailer , but does this messing. Has been getting calves here about 20years.

390kid wrote: »
    Did this transaction take place in Drumshanbo mart by any chance?

There used to be a good selection of horse sales in the West during the boom time's. Off the top of my head you had Ballina, Manorhamilton, Carrigallen, Drumshanbo and Granard that used to run regular sales and Mohill and Castlerea amoung other's would have occasional sales from time to time.

• Registered Users Posts: 548 ✭✭✭PoorFarmer

Lad down here feeds 100 head cattle with a MF 165 and McHale shear grab. Has to take a run at the pit to get the grab in and it will only half close then cos the hydraulics are shot. Spinning and tearing for every bite of silage. Bag of hay and a cavity block for a seat and has to squeeze up the wheel lugs by hand every day. Runs the scraper twice a day cos they burn too much electricity.
    Remember taking his trailer for a load of turf for a neighbour once. When I went to tip I realised the hose was burst and he had "repaired" it with a rag and some cable ties.