Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Signs you are dealing with a 'Rooter'

1293031323335»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

C'mon ye all know ye'd do the same if needs be. It kept him dry and he could see out. What else do you need?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Between my father and grandfather there was a continous period of nearly 18 years without a door on one side of the tractor. Inside of the cab is a disgrace because of it. Bought new in 05 door was left open in a yard with cattle loose not long after purchase. Shortly after that door was replaced the exact same thing happened again and out of thickness/meanness there was no hope of it being replaced.

At least that fella in the article tried to give himself some bit of comfort. Ive often said it before but all the talk of those two lads about price of this and that they never put much value or regard on anything they have.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,862 ✭✭✭White Clover

The cabs suffer badly when glass is missing or left open. Was it an expensive glass? What make of tractor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,810 ✭✭✭green daries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭Danny healy ray

fair play to him he still had his wiper in place !!

Wont give away the make as i may as well put my name to the post then, it wouldnt be a common brand though! Never mind the cost of replacing the glass what about the comfort of a warm dry cab in the winter with no mould and easily kept clean, hard to put a price on that luxury. A 135 with a rollbar would be more than enough for them to have had.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭older by the day

The devil in me, would have advised him to have got glass cover with the insurance. Let it a month or two and discover that the glass "got broken"

The forward thinking young fella that i was back then was saying that for years. The fella who fitted it after 18 years is trying to get it through the paperwork involved in it. Tractor was given dogs abuse over the years and he wouldnt dream of getting a mechanic to do anything with it as "do you think theres lads out there waiting to be rang and landed with more work". Same way of thinking applies to other things too, couldnt be dealing with it myself now personally, especially as im a tradesman and i have to work to a high standard everyday how could you come home in the evening and deal with a lad opening bales with a hand saw or whstever half sharp half blunt object s nearest to hand.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭lmk123

they’re all same if that’s any consolation, a complete waste of time trying to change them

Must be some corrollation between them types and lack of next generation coming through. Farming is a lovely way of life and grand to have outside of the day job too but the slobbering cant go on if youre restricted to evenings only. The auld lad is out all evenings regardless it didnt matter when he wasnt working and now hes out id say a good 2.5hrs minimum most evenings plus a bit in the morning and he doesnt do a full week off farm either. All due to not giving a **** or trying to be some way organised. Hed getting out of tge sucklers this year but hes in for a rude awakening if he thinks thats going to make life any easier on him.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,090 ✭✭✭kk.man

Your a fair man to put up with that shite. I can't stand rooting in any form. Was at a hotel today with a conference and the hotel was changing their display cabinet in their tea,/coffee section. There was 4 lads doing the job, the amount of talk and waisting time was a sight to behold.

If i was their boss skin would have flown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭lmk123

I think it’s a generation thing, I’d say money was so scarce when they were young they’ve just continued to live that way, happily doing things half arsed and taking 10 times longer to avoid spending €5 on something, I’ve made major changes and made it clear that the old fashioned bulls**t is finished, it has taken a lot of money and arguments but it’s totally worth it. I also work full time and don’t have the time or patience for that s**t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭tractorporn

The first half of that post described my father to a tee. He wouldn't spend a penny making life any easier for himself or to save time but was extremely generous to everyone around him outside of that.

Post edited by tractorporn on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,810 ✭✭✭green daries

That's the way anymore I'm told charge enough take your time there's no panic ......its why there's such a problem getting help in agri

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Suckler

WhatsApp Image 2024-12-06 at 12.54.44_570c49ec.jpg

Met this lad on the roads yesterday. I got around him before the whole lot did the splits. It wasn't the one load he chanced either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,067 ✭✭✭Dickie10

am i right in saying that in 50s on through 80s that a lot of small and not so small farmers kept rooting awaytrying not to spend money so they could justify being full time farmers, when they were spending 80% of the day messing and rooting because something wasnt just right or no/bad tools. some id say pu themselves and their families through an awful peasant type existence instead og going out and gettinga job even 3 day week job, id even say some brought it to the lenegths of not getting a woman and having a family because the money wasnt in the farm the way they were operating. They are the farms that seem to fall down aroound people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

Twas as well you didn't come a cropper yourself, taking photos while driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,946 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

That's true, I was just looking for a bit of irony really, it wasn't meant too seriously.