Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXI-187,554 ROI (2,970 deaths) 100,319 NI (1,730 deaths)(24/01)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,978 ✭✭✭Russman

I’m sceptical enough about zero covid, but other than lockdown, relax, rinse and repeat until vaccinated, there hasn’t really been any other option promoted, and maybe there isn’t any other option in fairness. With almost every expert in the world focussed on this, I’d expect someone, somewhere would have come up with a better solution if there actually was one. The fact that none of us like the options doesn’t mean there are better ones out there. We’ve been dealt a sh1tty hand.

I’m not sure we could do it though, mostly because we tend to need a few goes at anything to get it right and our instinct for some mad reason is always “how do I get round this rule ?” rather than “what can I do to comply”.

I wouldn’t dismiss the advocates out of hand completely though. Even if I disagree with them, I’d listen to their suggestions at this stage. Perhaps as the other lad on Prime Time mentioned, if impetus towards, maybe not zero covid, but extreme travel restrictions, comes at an EU level we’d be more inclined to get on board.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 6,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Steve

josip wrote: »
    I'm not in favour of zero covid.
    But one way to get around the lorry driver problem is to

1. Have separate drivers and probably tractor units either side of the ferry and only the trailers go on the boat.
    2. Would mean that very little goes via the landbridge because of the additional tractor units required for the bridge.
    I would imagine there are cost inneficiencies to this approach, but it's more cost effective than paying a driver to quarantine for 2 weeks every trip.

There's a problem with this, there's nowhere near enough parking space close to the berths to allow this to happen, a special tractor unit has to go on to the ferry to get the trailer off, and it then has to be dropped, and picked up by the normal road tractor unit, it's being done all the time now, but if all trailers had to be unaccompanied, there would be a logjam at the ports (especially Rosslare) within 24 hours, and to make things worse, all unaccompanied would play havoc with the schedules, there would be a lot more time needed to unload and reload on each sailing.

There might be an option to have a shuttle service from the port to a remote holding park somewhere away from the immediate port area, but then you run into the problems of customs clearance, which at the moment is a massive mess as a result of Brexit, but that would only work for offloading, to load, the trailers would have to be at the port. Putting that sort of infrastructure in place would not happen overnight, and solutions are needed now, not in 6 months time.

Shore, if it was easy, everybody would be doin it.😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭Polar101

Wolf359f wrote: »
    Zero covid is like a house of cards, one small thing can bring it all down and your back to a lockdown again.

Feels more like the zero covid countries built a house of cards. And we have a deck of cards from which some cards are missing, because NI has them - so even if we wanted to build a house of cards, we'd have to ask for the missing cards back first.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

bb1234567 wrote: »
    Don't often find myself agreeing with Niall..but he's right on this one.
    https://twitter.com/Niall_Boylan/status/1352406005217439744

Never liked Niall Boylan. That 500 payment is financial support for any self isolation you might have to do. But he makes out that people will purposely go out and catch covid? Are people that thick? They can offer me a million euro to go out and catch covid and I wouldn't do it. No amount of money is worth not knowing what the virus can do in the future.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,208 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Never liked Niall Boylan. That 500 payment is financial support for any self isolation you might have to do. But he makes out that people will purposely go out and catch covid? Are people that thick? They can offer me a million euro to go out and catch covid and I wouldn't do it. No amount of money is worth not knowing what the virus can do in the future. Pe
    I wouldn't do it for 500 quid but I definitely would for a million.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 727 ✭✭✭NeuralNetwork

I think commentary like that is best ignored. I am fed up with shock jocks, tabloids, Trumps, Tories and all of that stuff.

We are in a dire mess and we need to get out of it and it will take serious effort and doing many things that people might consider unthinkable.

If people can't self-isolate (and the pressures are probably worse in the UK) because of threat of loss of employment or income, then they won't and then this thing keeps spreading and the human and economic costs of that are enormous.

I'd agree with the post that was made a couple of pages back. I never imagined we would be in a situation as prolonged and as serious as this. The state, and most of our neighbours, have completely failed to get to grips with the spread of this virus.

I was thinking the other day that if I won the Lotto, what would the point be?

You can't go anywhere as this virus is everywhere and if you do it will probably be subject to some kind of similar situation to what we are already experiencing here, and the few places that have kept it out are more or less off limits.

I've had no social life for almost 12 months now. I am at the stage I don't even bother clothes shopping as I mean what's the point? If it's not worn out who am I impressing anymore? I am not in anyway advocating that we throw our arms up in the air or our toys out of the pram and undermine the measures we are taking to try and curb this, but it is becoming extremely difficult, depressing and bleak and I really have lost all tolerance for comments like that.

We need to pull together. We need to get this thing dealt with. Park your culture wars and your left/right nonsense somewhere else.

This is going to cost money in a way that we haven't seen spent since WWII. It's a national and international emergency and it just has to be dealt with. Arguing over cash to ensure people can self isolate it ludicrous. We are going to be paying it many, many, many times over if they don't because someone guilts them into not doing so or makes it beyond their means.

This is the kind of situation where you start to realise the importance of a society and the sheer luck that most of us posting here or ranting in tabloids live in one that has the means to able to do things like provide social protection nets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,193 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Great post. Very well said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,193 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

There may be some changes coming yet as regards travel.

MM is decidedly more concerned now that he's had the chance to observe how concerned other EU leaders are about the risks posed by non essential travel.
    “There’s a lot of concern about the variants across the member states, people are really worried about it,”

Fair play, he might be brave enough to let someone else force him into making a decision. Aside from the one that took ten months to arrive, NPHET have warned isn't enough and Gardaí don't have legal powers to enforce.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/passengers-without-valid-pcr-tests-could-face-compulsory-quarantine-1.4464720?mode=amp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

Wolf359f wrote: »
    Australia Melbourne had to breach human right laws to curb the spread the second time around. No clue how that would go down here with the ECHR. NZ had a very strick lockdown as did Australia Melbourne you really need to see exactly what people went through. For Ireland it wouldn't be a simple level 5 lockdown, it would be a **** load more strict. Again, if they don't have public buy in, it won't succeed. Look at all the hysteria that crops up around the exercise limit here. In Australia Melbourne outdoor exercise was banned. Not a hope in hell that would work here.

I fixed ur post I think you are getting carried away by some sort of google hysteria, Melbourne went the European model where the other 80% of the country have been living nearly normal to outright normal lives since June last year. Even the recent outbreak in Avalon was confined to a local council area, the other 5 million were unaffected. It’s all very localised, it’s not like Ireland. I think people over look this.

I have never even been in a red zone never mind lived in one, I have never been in any sort of lockdown my kids got 4 weeks Easter holiday instead of 2 but have never missed a day of school the whole of year. Even last April/May when pubs closed and restaurants were takeaway only for 10 weeks all the retail were open. I don’t even know anyone who has tested posters covid here.

We do not use Zero Covid in Australia there’s no such thing, we call it normal life.

https://twitter.com/simonwilson2304/status/1346766422152658949?s=21

https://twitter.com/Niall_Boylan/status/1352406005217439744

I finally understand where the restrictions thread must be getting a lot of their talking points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭irishguy1983

When they say the variants are more transmissible/more catchable what exactly does that mean/look like? Can anyone give everyday examples?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭HansKroenke

Arghus wrote: »
    There may be some changes coming yet as regards travel.

MM is decidedly more concerned now that he's had the chance to observe how concerned other EU leaders are about the risks posed by non essential travel.

Fair play, he might be brave enough to let someone else force him into making a decision. Aside from the one that took ten months to arrive, NPHET have warned isn't enough and Gardaí don't have legal powers to enforce.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/passengers-without-valid-pcr-tests-could-face-compulsory-quarantine-1.4464720?mode=amp

This is peculiar. On the home stretch with vaccine rollouts leading to a fairly reliable indicator as to when restrictions will be eased, only now, almost a year into the crisis, they finally talk about being strict with quarantining? If they haven't done it at this stage, there isn't much of a chance they will implement it now. Typical of the shambles of our response to the whole situation.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

This is peculiar. On the home stretch with vaccine rollouts leading to a fairly reliable indicator as to when restrictions will be eased, only now, almost a year into the crisis, they finally talk about being strict with quarantining? If they haven't don't it at this stage, there isn't much of a chance they will implement it now. Typical of the shambles of our response to the whole situation.

Variants resistant to the current vaccine is the big fear also EU now discussing possibility of an EU wide approach to travel restrictions/quarantining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

When they say the variants are more transmissible/more catchable what exactly does that mean/look like? Can anyone give everyday examples?
    If the new variant can spread up to 50% faster that means that, on average, every person infected spreads it to 50% more people.

DOCARCH wrote: »
    Variants resistant to the current vaccine is the big fear also EU now discussing possibility of an EU wide approach to travel restrictions/quarantining.
    Pfizer/Biontech seem to suggest that there is no issue with their vaccine dealing with it. It's the speed of transmission of B1.1.7 that is freaking countries out and it's hampering efforts to get it under control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

This is peculiar. On the home stretch with vaccine rollouts leading to a fairly reliable indicator as to when restrictions will be eased, only now, almost a year into the crisis, they finally talk about being strict with quarantining? If they haven't don't it at this stage, there isn't much of a chance they will implement it now. Typical of the shambles of our response to the whole situation.

At the end of all this we will be nowhere near the worst in Europe let alone elsewhere. We have provided some of the most comprehensive supports to individuals and business. Yes mistakes have been made but we have also got a lot right.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

is_that_so wrote: »
    Pfizer/Biontech seem to suggest that there is no issue with their vaccine dealing with it. It's the speed of transmission of B1.1.7 that is freaking countries out and it's hampering efforts to get it under control.

AFAIK vaccine may need tweaking for SA and Brazil variants, which is fine/well and good, but what happens to all those who already have been vaccinated?

It's the speed of transmission of B1.1.7 that is freaking countries out and it's hampering efforts to get it under control.

Yes, and that.

I suppose the more it spreads, the more chance there is of further mutations/variants.

DOCARCH wrote: »
    AFAIK vaccine may need tweaking for SA and Brazil variants, which is fine/well and good, but what happens to all those who already have been vaccinated?
    They might need a booster but should be protected to an extent by what they've had anyway.

At the end of all this we will be nowhere near the worst in Europe let alone elsewhere. We have provided some of the most comprehensive supports to individuals and business. Yes mistakes have been made but we have also got a lot right.
    There's a long list of things to tell you you're wrong about that!:D

Of course. Here and on the restrictions thread. But comparatively and on balance. And many people (despite a counter narrative) have been compliant throughout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,455 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

The alarm clock radio these mornings...

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

The alarm clock radio these mornings...

At least things were open in that reality.

Another COVID Zero piece, so many impossible assumptions in it but the media really need to drop this stuff.
    Ireland will be in and out of lockdown until 2022 unless we adopt a zero Covid policy, top microbiologist James McInerney has said.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/health/ireland-is-an-island-it-can-be-sealed-top-microbiologist-says-zero-covid-model-needed-to-avoid-lockdowns-until-2022-39998214.html

The one island stuff is naive aside from the EU single market dimension. I do think the EU as a whole should have been tougher on non-EU travel from the outset but at the same time those planes were largely full of cargo and not many people. The yanks on holiday in Kerry seems a long time ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭irishguy1983

If the new variant can spread up to 50% faster that means that, on average, every person infected spreads it to 50% more people.

I get that but it again does look like? Like before outside you were grand generally speaking...Is it now more catchable outside?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

What political sensitivity are preventing the border up at the North to be controlled?

The one island stuff is naive aside from the EU single market dimension. I do think the EU as a whole should have been tougher on non-EU travel from the outset but at the same time those planes were largely full of cargo and not many people. The yanks on holiday in Kerry seems a long time ago.
    I think they mostly went about it the right way by keeping people apart from each other, that's what really worked. A lot of the autumn surge was fuelled by intra-EU travel and near normal socialising anyway. A lot of the current considerations IMO are driven by a fast spreading variant and a whole lot of frustration towards the "slow pace" of vaccinations. That puts all kinds of things on the table.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,756 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

YFlyer wrote: »
    What political sensitivity are preventing the border up at the North to be controlled?

but that's the worst solution

the best solution was and always is an all island solution

I'd be more concerned with those political sensitivities that block all island solutions to all island problems..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

I know! All these stupid scientists who advocate for not letting the virus become endemic where it can mutate forever and contribute to an increased morbidity load in our species. Stupid top microbiologists and sciencey lads and lassies. Pffftt. Who do they think they are?