Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Is 2021 a write off?

• 14-01-2021 12:47am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Where can I get some garden furniture, so I can drink my homemade coffee outdoors and pretend I'm eating out? Might as well try and enjoy my summer somehow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭Cerveza

The country will be back open by summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭jmlad2020

^^^ not realistic imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,752 ✭✭✭beachhead

Most of it I believe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,416 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Once those vulnerable and those on the frontline are vaccinated we will be grand. I'd see nightclubs open here in August,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,853 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Cerveza wrote: »

Possible,but this is Ireland we are talking about!

If we are open by summer many other countries will be sorted by march or April...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,671 ✭✭✭StevenToast

We will be in level 3 by the summer....for the rest of the year...

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,728 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

At least the rain will be warm then.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

This time next year the only corona will be the band and the bottles,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,416 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Who would we be trying to protect? The deaths simply won't be there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭GT89

Instead of protecting 0.00001% of the propulation we will be protecting 0.000000001% of the population by then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,355 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Ya hope.

110 the last two days, very few of them pre January, the peak morbidity and mortality now in the 55 to 74 bracket.

So ya *hope* the deaths simply won't be there come summer.

There will be full croke park this football and hurling final this year. The vaccines will have massive impact over night.

Edit- rescinded after considering it, as the_dunne points out below it was well over the line into dickish.

As usual, my response to these threads is that before covid there were miserable people writing off their lives

During covid there are miserable people writing off their lives

I predict with some confidence that post covid there will remain a not inconsiderable rump of miserable people writing off their lives

Ive had a busy and fulfilling 2020 and while there's no denying the difficulty and uncertainty and tragedy covid has brought, we never had a year yet without those things and I wouldn't bet my happiness or future plans on avoiding them entirely in any year coming neither

Jesus.

That's awfully disrespectful to those who weren't as lucky as you.

Fair play mate, delighted you had a good 2020. For the most it was horrific and we are doing our best to recover from it.

I'm sure there are a lot of miserable people. Justifiably so. Just because your year was bad (but ok) I don't think you should be a dick and assume people miserable about a horrendous year are doing it for ****s and giggles.

Know your audience man. It's been tough.

Jesus.

That's awfully disrespectful to those who weren't as lucky as you.

Fair play mate, delighted you had a good 2020. For the most it was horrific and we are doing our best to recover from it.

I'm sure there are a lot of miserable people. Justifiably so. Just because your year was bad (but ok) I don't think you should be a dick and assume people miserable about a horrendous year are doing it for ****s and giggles.

Know your audience man. It's been tough.

If you think id be balling into a thread not describing an entire year as a "write off" and taking the same tone, youd be mistaken

That in itself is a rotten, negative and depressing way to think of it, imo

But in fairness i admit, ok yeah i got carried away and it has been very hard for a lot of people, of course.

But instance after instance of these threads are absolutely gleeful for the gloom imo which helps nobody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,345 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

jmlad2020 wrote: »
    ^^^ not realistic imo.

What's blocking us reopening is the numbers of people who could possibly end up in ICU or taking up hospital beds. So when it comes to vaccinations you can basically open up once the population over mid-thirties are vaccinated.

I can't un-quote snoopsheep but I admire the fact he engaged and reconsidered. He wasn't entirely wrong and he took on board other opinions.

It's rare, it's beautiful and shouldn't go unrecognised. Massive respect mate. Might not agree with you, but always will be willing to talk about any difference.

Thank you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,806 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

There will be full croke park this football and hurling final this year. The vaccines will have massive impact over night.

Yeah, I'd be amazed if the vaccination programme is finished by mid 2022.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,642 ✭✭✭✭fits

We’ve our holiday home booked for August in Ireland.

I’d like to take my boys for a short trip on a plane but only when it’s safe to do so. Might be 2022.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,901 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Where can I get some garden furniture, so I can drink my homemade coffee outdoors and pretend I'm eating out? Might as well try and enjoy my summer somehow.

Plenty of online options, we 'll hopefully be having garden dinners again this summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭prunudo

50 more weeks to go in 2021, way too early to be calling it a write off. Things will get better.
    We'll be living with some level of restrictions for the year but it will be better than now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,787 ✭✭✭Benimar

Once those vulnerable and those on the frontline are vaccinated we will be grand. I'd see nightclubs open here in August,

The year isn’t a write off. We will be able to do a lot of things later in the year, including holidays, but neither of the two things mentioned above will be happening in 2021.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

First six months very restricted so pretty much a write off. After that hopefully freedom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

My bet is broadly level 5 to late March and level 3 to June or July with a level 2 July August and level 1 for the rest of the year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

But the government will still be listening to the experts on RTE, so lockdown forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Summer yes ....

summer 2022

Given we weren't really locked down in summer 2020 and there were 5 cases in June 21 why would we be locked down this summer with 50% of people vaccinated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,009 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

The misus seems to think she'll be able to travel to Poland this year. She's aiming for May I think. I can't see it happening myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,457 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

You're forgetting the finals are on in July this year so unlikely to happen, sadly.

That said, the Government will want to keep pace with the rest of the EU for Euro 2020 in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,457 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

The misus seems to think she'll be able to travel to Poland this year. She's aiming for May I think. I can't see it happening myself.

You can fly Dublin to Krakow tomorrow? I can see it happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,009 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

corcaigh07 wrote: »
    You can fly Dublin to Krakow tomorrow? I can see it happening.

I can't imagine it'd be very wise travelling with a 4 year old (as she'll be then). Maybe I'm just being overly cautious?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭recyclops

Thats my problem, looking like I wont be vaccinated until Q4 2021 and everyone around me is gagging for a summer because the vulnerable are vaccinated.

Me, I am looking at the guy who I work with who got it in April 2020 and still suffering and he would be comparable to myself in terms of lifestyle and fitness ( at a guess) technically he is recovered but if you speak to him he wouldnt agree

So whilst I want to get away and have as good a year as possible I also dont want to pick up the virus even though I would more than likely shake it off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Given we weren't really locked down in summer 2020 and there were 5 cases in June 21 why would we be locked down this summer with 50% of people vaccinated.

Because at this stage it has nothing to do with the virus, I do think virus wise we will be fine this summer.

But red tape bureacrats govts are months behind reality, so restrictions will continue.

• Registered Users Posts: 933 ✭✭✭alentejo

I think summer needs to shift from June - July & August to July, August and September.

If schools are closed till late February, school holidays need to be pushed back - Slightly shorter school year in from Oct 21 to June22

• Registered Users Posts: 647 ✭✭✭eddie73

We are entering the most important 2 months of the pandemic. when the most vulnerable are vaccinated, we should have a better idea about the lay of the land and how much and how soon we can open up.

I think that come easter, the decision to open up despite not having everyone vaccinated should be accepted by all. Yes we are going to hear about variants of the virus. Yes we are going to hear about outbreaks in the community and institutions. Yes we are going to have coronavirus for the foreseeable as we have measles or mumps. But to try to micro manage the virus after the most vulnerable have been vaccinated would be exacerbating the economic hardship that the world has to face. And anyone who refutes this with "money isn't everything" should consider what you can and cant do without money. This includes healthcare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,661 ✭✭✭quokula

Because at this stage it has nothing to do with the virus, I do think virus wise we will be fine this summer.

But red tape bureacrats govts are months behind reality, so restrictions will continue.

I thought the lessons from the last few weeks might finally have hit everyone, but seems some people are just in absolute denial of reality.

Every step of the way, when we've been in lockdown there's been loud protests about government overreaction, then every time the government bowed to pressure and opened up too early the cases have skyrocketed and unsurprisingly it turned out that experts made more accurate predictions than braying mobs.

Nobody is locking down for the craic. The government have repeatedly tried to open up earlier than experts recommended, and it's been a disaster each time. They even had a program to pay people to take staycations rather than stay at home last year. It is not in their interest to lock down any more than they have to, and I find it utterly mind boggling that there are people who somehow think that governments actually want lockdowns for any reason other than the fact that they have conclusively been proven to save many many lives.

As soon as it is feasible to open up without killing loads of people, it will happen. I expect this Summer will be much like the last one, everything will be opened up enough for people to get on with life, socialise outdoors, go where they want as long as they're sensible with mask wearing, distancing and hygiene and case numbers remain low.

Vaccines will be helping a lot by then, but we've a much bigger mountain to climb in terms of getting cases down to a manageable level right now than we did at any point last year, and lockdown severity and compliance is nowhere near what it was last April so the numbers will come down more slowly.

I can't un-quote snoopsheep but I admire the fact he engaged and reconsidered. He wasn't entirely wrong and he took on board other opinions.

It's rare, it's beautiful and shouldn't go unrecognised. Massive respect mate. Might not agree with you, but always will be willing to talk about any difference.

Thank you

Nope i was just a dick, tbh, but appreciated!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

What's blocking us reopening is the numbers of people who could possibly end up in ICU or taking up hospital beds. So when it comes to vaccinations you can basically open up once the population over mid-thirties are vaccinated.

I'm over mid-30's and most of us are the 2nd last group listed to get vaccinated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,284 ✭✭✭✭rob316

I think we'll be back enjoying holidays by June. The whole year is certainly not a right off.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 17,994 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

I'm over mid-30's and most of us are the 2nd last group listed to get vaccinated.
    Because it's a low-risk group, excluding any presence in the previous group. Broadly it seems 18-55 is seen as the lowest risk assuming you're not working with the public or have an existing medical condition. 30s is not old in this instance anyway, nor is 40s or 50s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,483 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Booked a self catering AirBNB Irish holiday in August as I don't want to spend a fortune on a foreign holiday with masks and restrictions, self-isolating and all that in a hotel room, hopefully by then we'll be coming the other side of it here. Maybe optimistic but it's nice to have something to look forward too.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,000 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

i booked 2 weeks in Portugal in July with family as i think we'll be well on our way back to normality by then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,145 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

They will make some other excuse like everyone needs 2 or 3 jabs before we go back to normal. Or a new deadly strain of the virus will emerge that will outsmart us all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭GT89

I've booked two weeks in Italy for the summer if it's the same story this summer as last Ile be going

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭JasonStatham

Yeah it's a write off and you only have 11 and a half months to go. It'll be tough.

i booked 2 weeks in Portugal in July with family as i think we'll be well on our way back to normality by then.

You're more optimistic than me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Lucifer

They will make some other excuse like everyone needs 2 or 3 jabs before we go back to normal. Or a new deadly strain of the virus will emerge that will outsmart us all.

Why would they want that? What do they have to gain from it?

Please explain who you think would benefit from it? Any how they would benefit from it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,145 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Lucifer wrote: »
    Why would they want that? What do they have to gain from it?

Please explain who you think would benefit from it? Any how they would benefit from it?
    I'm not saying they'd want that or benefit from it, but they've had to do a lot of things up until now that nobody wants. Who knows what could happen this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭Tiernster7

I pushed holidays in France from last June to this June not because I'm optimistic but because I didn't have a choice.
    Right now it's 60-40 against that we will go

Biggest thing to watch is what is Europe's attitude to the virus this time. The sense I am getting is France want to go much closer to zero then before, the next 2 months will be interesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Surely anyone who is saying the full year will be a write off is on a wind up, I know none of us know exactly when things will get back to normal and maybe some things such as mask wearing and hand sanitizer will be here to stay, but if we are aiming to have everyone vaccinated by the end of September surely we will be back to normal for Halloween at the latest, even if you are a pessimist.

I'm hoping that a relatively normal summer is on the cards. I'm not expecting big festivals or concerts to go ahead but I'm hoping that most social gatherings - weddings, pubs, restaurants will be permitted without restriction by July and August. Hard to know on travel, would love to get away this summer but not going to go booking anything yet.

The optimist in me is hoping that we will see a huge improvement around March time after a few months of lockdown and all of the most vulnerable vaccinated. It will be interesting to see how the government and NPHET react around that time if the virus is still in wide circulation but hospital numbers and deaths are very low.