Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXI-187,554 ROI (2,970 deaths) 100,319 NI (1,730 deaths)(24/01)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,192 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭jd

froog wrote: »
    as of yesterday there was still an backlog of about 5k by my crude estimation.

11k backlog total, only 6k cleared so far.
    What % of swabs are you assuming become cases? By my reckoning if it is 94% or less then the backlog is cleared. There has always been a lag between reported +ve swabs being registered as cases on CIDR

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

We all know this crisis would have been managed perfectly with Mary Lou, Brid Smith and Paul Murphy at the helm.

How do you know that? I think it would have been a clusterfvck, a different kind of clusterfvck. With the ECB printing the way they are they couldn't have gone that wrong. It's not like they would have undermined the chief medical officer then implemented the recommendations 2 weeks later or swapped out the head of the department of health with someone who said we should open up more as cases were rising exponentially.

Fairly suspect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭BobbyMalone

This should be a wake up call that they need to invest properly in a decent public service with appropriate capacity.

If, as you say, there is no alternative to FF/FG, there is no incentive on their part to tackle any of the big issues facing society. If FF don't bother to fix the health service, they know they'll be back in at the next election - or maybe two elections if they absolutely destroy our economy. But it's the others that are the cranks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

We all know this crisis would have been managed perfectly with Mary Lou, Brid Smith and Paul Murphy at the helm.

I totally agree. What happens every crisis? “Let’s elect another party cause that will show those in power how wrong they are”. Those in power represent the will of the people. The government did what they felt the people wanted, any other party in power would of done the same.

What we need to do as a society is have a proper honest conversation about our values.. Every crisis this country suffers we make the same mistake, change party which effectively changing deckchairs on the titanic. The same people with the same values will be voting in our next government, nothing changes when the problem (the values/priorities of most people voting) is not addressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Steve012

UK to have offered every adult a vaccine before Autumn, Christ they are heading for 2 million vax a week. How long before we are all vaccinated ?? Clucking bell.

https://news.sky.com/story/covid-19-more-than-200-000-coronavirus-jabs-a-day-as-uk-on-course-to-meet-vaccination-target-12183970

Drumpot wrote: »
    I totally agree. What happens every crisis? “Let’s elect another party cause that will show those in power how wrong they are”. Those in power represent the will of the people. The government did what they felt the people wanted, any other party in power would of done the same.

What we need to do as a society is have a proper honest conversation about our values.. Every crisis this country suffers we make the same mistake, change party which effectively changing deckchairs on the titanic. The same people with the same values will be voting in our next government, nothing changes when the problem (the values/priorities of most people voting)

Exactly so why the hell were we implicitly encouraged to go bananas in December when everyone with half a brain knew it would end in disaster.

I love a pint, takeaway pint, 500ml can in that order but my child's education supersedes that selfish need.

I love going on holiday abroad but I don't want risk infecting family with the latest variant. I also would prefer if the health system functioned.

Only today people were smearing a doctor because he said we should bring forward surge plans.

I don't get it. I agree and I think our values are out of whack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,756 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Fair enough, I'm not affiliated with any party nor trying to push a political agenda.

Just want us to handle this better so kids can go to school and hospitals can function for elective care and non emergency.

Seriously though they'll be judged on the policies not on the allegiance of their civil war founding predecessors.

Top of the list will be how to keep kids in school and not repeat this **** show.

MM was right for prioritising it and did well but the situation has changed.

well the policy decisions in December were a funny way of showing it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,558 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Just saw a report on RTE news on a carting training in Co Louth . Why were these people out and about when we are all supposed to stay at home unless absolutely essential ?

I seen a video of a load of people stopped on a road, was that them? It was completely embarrassing on their behalf. Trying to humiliate guards for doing their job, should have all been arrested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 909 ✭✭✭coastwatch

lawred2 wrote: »
    well the policy decisions in December were a funny way of showing it

It's the government's fault, they should have known that people cant be trusted to take precautions and behave sensibly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

How do you know that? I think it would have been a clusterfvck, a different kind of clusterfvck.

I think the post your replying to was sarcastic and thats the point they were implying

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

If, as you say, there is no alternative to FF/FG, there is no incentive on their part to tackle any of the big issues facing society. If FF don't bother to fix the health service, they know they'll be back in at the next election - or maybe two elections if they absolutely destroy our economy. But it's the others that are the cranks.

Oh, I think there is an alternative alright. The incentive for FF/FG is to make sure they don't get into power. I meant no alternative in terms of credibility, although as I say that about FF/FG I do wonder if I'm exagerating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭Rosita

seamus wrote: »
    Most commentators here and on Twitter seem certain that schools will be closed to the end of February, if not Paddy's Day.

There's a good chance the 1st February date will hold. Schools will be back by Valentine's Day at the very latest.

The 1st February date will be expected to hold as the opening of schools is the one "success" the government can point to and they will cling to that like a drowning man. However, an extra two weeks up to midterm would buy the government an extra three weeks, for the sake of ten school days, and I think there's a real chance that would be seen as sensible when the on-line is already bedded in. Not saying it'll happen but there's logic to it and in the context of virus transmission measurement it's not far away at all.

Not sure if the significance of St Patrick's Day as a target or where anyone gets that from. Not really possible to predict that far ahead. But the goalposts are moving and it's all very much in play. People were getting excited yesterday when we were through the famous "backlog" and down to 4,500 cases approx. Today we are back up over 6k. And then there's the issue of hospital capacity.

A few weeks ago I read several people on this forum state with near certainty that schools would not close. But they did. Hard to be confident about anything.

‘‘Twas an observation on the changing of the political order in Europe in the 1920s and it was so much more than just the emergence of national socialism. Unprecedented events require unprecedented action but not necessarily the complete replacement of existing structures

Sorry rain for pigeon holing you on that point. It's a good point. Indeed the very founding of the state came about not long after the 1918 pandemic. Wonder how those lads would judge these lads.......

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

You have to wonder....though at least the Gardai towed a good few vehicles away. I'm not in the camp of it being potentially dangerous outside, but with numbers like this being suggested...can people not just do what they are asked to do for a period of time?

Garda Source, Irish Times:
    Aside from Covid-19, the conditions on the Sally Gap and Wicklow Gap this weekend are totally unsuitable for people walking or driving, it’s crazy that people would go there. And the area around the Hell Fire Club in the Dublin was also a disaster with so many people.”“Some of the gardaí involved in this operation have been based in this region for years and they said they had never seen anything like the volume of people up there yesterday; that the numbers wouldn’t even allow for social distancing despite the vastness of the area.”

“You are talking about thousands of people going there, so compliance (with Covid-19 restrictions) wasn’t great. But the operation we have seems to have deterred more people today
    .”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,376 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

Exactly so why the hell were we implicitly encouraged to go bananas in December

That's not what happened. Some people may have chosen to go bananas but they certainly weren't encouraged to do so.

It was sarcasm

Easy to say coulda woulda shoulda. Did you know something something shinners?
    Look over there!

Fact is we are the worst in Europe and probably globally. I'm all for hypotheticals but our hospitals are filling up as we type.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,066 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

That a nice excuse Dr Tony came up with to cover up the shambles that is testing and tracing in this country. Not like they had 4 or 5 months to prep for the winter surge :rolleyes:

If your going to test you’ve got to test all of the cases/suspected cases all of the time otherwise the case numbers are totally meaningless.

We have one of the highest levels of testing in any country globally.

They aren't testing for graph consistency but to maximize the benefits from testing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭crossman47

coastwatch wrote: »
    It's the government's fault, they should have known that people cant be trusted to take precautions and behave sensibly.

Theres an element of truth in that. I also feel, if restrictions hadn't been lifted, a lot of the country would have ignored the rules anyway and the situation now would still be pretty bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,111 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Pretty depressing state of affairs, we were being told around Christmas how successful at surpressing the virus we we're, indeed number 1 in the European charts. I'm doubting NPHET will be mentioning that again for a while

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/ireland-has-worst-coronavirus-infection-rate-in-europe-1062214.html

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

Steve012 wrote: »
    UK to have offered every adult a vaccine before Autumn, Christ they are heading for 2 million vax a week. How long before we are all vaccinated ?? Clucking bell.

https://news.sky.com/story/covid-19-more-than-200-000-coronavirus-jabs-a-day-as-uk-on-course-to-meet-vaccination-target-12183970

I doubt if there will be more than a week or two between 'everyone' being vaccinated in the UK and ROI. The HSE said today that they would ramp up to one million shots a month. There is nothing intrinsically impossible about this, in the flu season they approach this every year over a 6 week period or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,111 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

I doubt if there will be more than a week or two between 'everyone' being vaccinated in the UK and ROI. The HSE said today that they would ramp up to one million shots a month. There is nothing intrinsically impossible about this, in the flu season they approach this every year over a 6 week period or so.

There is I'm afraid, it's called the HSE, absolutely inept, if our hospital system can't cope with an additional 1400 patients, what hope have we got with this shower, seriously.

They just seem to make it up as they go along, Paul Reid spouting further excuses today, its just astonishing.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Dempo1 wrote: »
    Pretty depressing state of affairs, we were being told around Christmas how successful at surpressing the virus we we're, indeed number 1 in the European charts. I'm doubting NPHET will be mentioning that again for a while
    ]

Which was part of the problem . It was trumpeted that we were best in Europe then allowed free reign in shops and told to enjoy Christmas . Look what happened then .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭Picky owner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Steve012

Hadn't heard that one mill shots a month!, excellent news.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭Wesekn.

Dempo1 wrote: »
    There is I'm afraid, it's called the HSE, absolutely inept, if our hospital system can't cope with an additional 1400 patients, what hope have we got with this shower, seriously.

They just seem to make it up as they go along, Paul Reid spouting further excuses today, its just astonishing.

1400 patients is a lot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,727 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Which was part of the problem . It was trumpeted that we were best in Europe then allowed free reign in shops and told to enjoy Christmas . Look what happened then .

Utter carelessness. We kept restrictions way longer than we should’ve when cases were at an all time low in the summer and Europe opened up. Then at the most sociable time of the year and the rest of Europe are locking down, we decide to open up :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭majcos

Wesekn. wrote: »
    1400 patients is a lot
    Over 1400 admissions for a single infectious disease is an awful lot in a healthcare system that already operates at extremely high occupancy rates and that has a current level of absenteeism among its regular staff that is far higher than usual rates. Over 1400 admissions is an awful lot for a disease which has potential effects on multiple organs and requires a high level of care and for which each task is delayed and complicated by the need for additional infection control measures beyond the routine measures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭TonyMaloney

majcos wrote: »
    Over 1400 admissions for a single infectious disease is an awful lot in a healthcare system that already operates at extremely high occupancy rates and that has a current level of absenteeism among its regular staff that is far higher than usual rates. Over 1400 admissions is an awful lot for a disease which has potential effects on multiple organs and requires a high level of care and for which each task is delayed and complicated by the need for additional infection control measures beyond the routine measures.

Would it be a record?

If not for general admissions, then for admissions for a single ailment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

bb1234567 wrote: »
    I can't believe the seasonal myth persists. Like literally just look at Brazil, South Africa, Colombia, all facing much larger outbreaks in mid summer than they did during winter time. It may spread even faster in cold weather, but the only reason Europe didn't have COVID outbreaks in summer is because continent wide restrictions reduced levels of transmission to such minimal levels that it took a long time to build again, maybe hot weather and people being outdoors hammered that home, but it didn't cause it by itself.

Colombia doesn't have a summer or a winter. It's mostly in the northern hemisphere but close enough to the equator so as not to make a difference.