Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXI-187,554 ROI (2,970 deaths) 100,319 NI (1,730 deaths)(24/01)Read OP

Will we need to vaccinate every year? Don't we believe there's supposed to be some form of lasting immunity.

They don’t know yet the periodicity of immunity, but it is not expected to be long lasting. Periodic vaccinations will be needed, which means that we have to learn to live with it and protect our vulnerable and front line workers

Everyone getting vaccinated is not the end of this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,564 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

Micky 32 wrote: »
    Just tell them your number or a document to prove your number like when you renew your license?

Just tell them the number I think. You also need to provide your home address with eircode, as well as a signed consent form.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,535 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

It's not. I realise death is natural. We are at the mercy of nature and unless the CCP created the virus then a virus with flu like symptoms is a pretty normal way to go. Do you propose immortality?

Mod:

Week forum ban for breach of your threadban

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭Fly_away

UrbanFret wrote: »
    The population wanted it,they got it.
    Time to move on.

Part of governing is sometimes making unpopular decisions.

So no, blaming the public like that is not going to wash. It's the government's job to make the right decisions, and persuade people of the merits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭JazzyJ

Curve keeps going unfortunately. ~17% per day growth. Doubling time 4 days. Hopefully restrictions kick in and control it.

538815.png

That's just cases though and doesn't take into account of the reporting backlog, isn't it? If so, it should be steeper on the uptick and starting to level off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭kilkenny31

There was travel banned between EU countries in the first lockdown. So we can't blame the EU for that one.

Obviously there can be exceptions made for pandemics. Like France did with the UK before they left the EU a couple of weeks ago.

Its wasnt a ban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭HereinBray

Of course, we have a vaccine and there is an end in sight but we need perspective. It's not a tragedy if somebody dies at 83. It's many things but not a tragedy. We need to make sure that their death is graceful and the scenes of Lombardy are not repeated but I am hesitant to call it a tragedy. People can say what they want. Im not saying that to be heartless, I recognise that life is valuable and the people who passed have people who love them but we can't pretend like death is something we can avoid as if it's not something that will happen to us all.

So - in your mind - someone who dies early at 83 when they (without Covid) may have lived a full and lovely life until their nineties - is not a tragedy?

Who in the name of all that is good and pure are you to decide what deaths are tragic?

And BTW - you are heartless. I lost my father recently - and to me it was and still is a tragedy. And yes - I realize that I am sensitive.

Do you not think we should be doing all in our power to prevent this disease?

These types of posts make my blood boil. Have a heart.

Edit - apologies - I didn't see the threadban. Backing off!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

I wonder if Tony Holohan would dare criticise the government over their lax approach at screening arriving passengers. Nah, condemn the public at large as irresponsible winos. Finding one cause to latch on to (alcohol) and blame relentlessly, divert attention from government & HSE failings. Media by and large follow the script rigidly.

Oh for goodness sake. Yes the Govt have made mistakes. But that doesn't excuse the pubs and restaurants that crammed people in, the customers that were happy to go along with it, the people having house parties, big wedding receptions or funeral 'afters', not to mention the absolute tools who flew into Belfast when flights from Britain to Ireland were cancelled and the morons who rushed across the border to collect them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Fly_away wrote: »
    Has anybody in government, even with the benefit of hindsight (ignore for a moment that people predicted this - nobody was sure to what extent cases would rise), admitted that they made a massive mistake with the opening up around Xmas and allowing households to mix?

I think it's important for clarity sake and future communications that the government own up to this enormous error in judgment.

The public got what they asked for. Most of these decisions are in large part influenced and informed by public polls, most people in the country felt a relaxation of restrictions was necessary and appropriate. The government advised as much as they could,' you're not doing it right if Christmas feels the same 'campaign etc.. I really don't think the government can be blamed much for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

UrbanFret wrote: »
    The population wanted it,they got it.
    Time to move on.

The amount of idiots and asshole bragging on social media.

I got to go for a gargle. I had 18 pints in a 12 hour drinking session and I didn't eat.

Tony in his hole can shove his rules on the pint up mehole's hole and I'll do the same tomorrow.

I visited my granny and my 10 cousins and my uncles and aunts were there. I thought maybe I should put the visit off but I went in anyway and we had great craic.

The crowds at the shops.

It's sad as hell but we got what people's behaviour deserved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,197 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

How many strains / variants is there now, Wuhan China, UK, South Africa?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,755 ✭✭✭maebee

When did the period of self-isolation from a positive result drop from 14 days to 10 days?

My son tested positive on Jan 4th and has been staying in his GF's house, where they're all positive, since then. He's asking can he come back home on the 14th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

HereinBray wrote: »
    So - in your mind - someone who dies early at 83 when they (without Covid) may have lived a full and lovely life until their nineties - is not a tragedy?

Who in the name of all that is good and pure are you to decide what deaths are tragic?

And BTW - you are heartless. I lost my father recently - and to me it was and still is a tragedy. And yes - I realize that I am sensitive.

Do you not think we should be doing all in our power to prevent this disease?

These types of posts make my blood boil. Have a heart.

I am very sorry for your loss , I lost my mum this year and she was far older than 83 . She was a huge loss to her large family

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭UrbanFret

Part of governing is sometimes making unpopular decisions.

So no, blaming the public like that is not going to wash. It's the government's job to make the right decisions, and persuade people of the merits.

Crystal ball stuff that,
    Don't cod yourself The people would have just gone and done it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,421 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

I'm dumbfounded by these numbers and then seeing the amount of people out and about. I work as a truck delivery driver and in March and April the roads where virtually deserted with frequent Gardaí checkpoints now I hardly see any

At present all I see is a small reduction in traffic and people going about their lives as normal. We need to start taking this more seriously or else we are prolonging the lockdown even further.

Have you an update on the Dublin doctor that died in his bedroom overnight a couple of nights ago while self isolating? I haven't seen anything about it on the news, I'd have thought it'd be a major story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,038 ✭✭✭Ficheall

a weak excuse
    No, a weak excuse is people trying to claim they didn't know the virus was still a problem, and that they thought some Christmas magic was going to prevent the spread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭majcos

lawred2 wrote: »
    Is it?
    Yes. There is an increase in the percentage admissions in younger age groups out of the total number of hospitalised cases.

Among admissions up to April 15th versus last 14 days up to 6th of January, the percentage of total hospitalised cases by age group has changed as follows:

0-24 years increased from 3.1% to 8.77%
    24-34 years increased from 6.6 to 9.66%
    35-44 years slight increase from 8.1% to 8.4%

435/901 people hospitalized in 14 day period up to 6/1/2021 are under 65 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭muddypuppy

RE: backlog - taking the numbers from Shane website (so from the 9 of December to today) there have been a total of 61329 confirmed cases and 67391 positive swabs. That's 6062 more swabs than cases.
    If we esclude today, yesterday (when it was claimed that the backlog was cleared) the difference was 9158 (53081 cases, 62239 swabs).

Of course we don't know how many of those swabs are retests/the same person/false positive etc... So take it with a big pinch of salt. That said we'll I think we'll see more cases than swaps for the next few days too, if the trend continues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭ginoginelli

kilkenny31 wrote: »
    What a load of bull. Australia (A COUNTRY) has a hard border between its states during the pandemic. That is nonsense. Its inaction of the EU, nothing else just cowards not able to make tough decisions.

Elements in government ridiculously think they are protecting the economy by not protecting our borders. Ironically the exact opposite has occurred.

Billions have been lost on pup payments that would not have been necessary if sensible travel measures had been put in place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,131 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Has anybody in government, even with the benefit of hindsight (ignore for a moment that people predicted this - nobody was sure to what extent cases would rise), admitted that they made a massive mistake with the opening up around Xmas and allowing households to mix?

I think it's important for clarity sake and future communications that the government own up to this enormous error in judgment.

People don't need the government to tell them not to put their hand in a fire.

Personal responsibility and some cop on.

Can't always blame the government when you make a balls of things yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

I'm dumbfounded by these numbers and then seeing the amount of people out and about. I work as a truck delivery driver and in March and April the roads where virtually deserted with frequent Gardaí checkpoints now I hardly see any

At present all I see is a small reduction in traffic and people going about their lives as normal. We need to start taking this more seriously or else we are prolonging the lockdown even further.

The fear is gone though, there will never be the same levels of compliance again like what we saw early last year. I used to get annoyed by other posters saying "well if you don't like it stay at home" but to be honest, every time I went out people were just acting the bollóx so much that I just decided to stay at home! :D

We are lucky both working at home. Get shopping delivered. Walk the dog on my lunch break might meet two or three other people max. And the rest of the world can do what it wants. Vaccine in sight, life is good.

But I feel sorry for anyone front line and healthcare workers etc who don't have the luxury to work from home and isolate, and who have to take on the fallout from other selfish gobshítes. Or elderly people living with their grownup kids who might be bringing covid back into the house etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭majcos

unregd147 wrote: »
    109 in ICU

Where can I find the age profile split of these cases?
    It’s in HPSC epidemiological reports. Data lags behind about two days.

https://www.hpsc.ie/a-z/respiratory/coronavirus/novelcoronavirus/casesinireland/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,984 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

But as this is never going away, what happens when they open up? The entire population can’t be vaccinated every year. What’s the long game here? No supporters of zero Covid can answer that

It is
    A) throw a wall around the country in perpetuity
    B) live with the virus with as many getting vaccinated every year as possible (which realistically means the elderly, healthcare workers and the vulnerable)

Neither . C) roll out vaccinations every year to 2 years as necessary until either the virus dwindles due to lack of hosts or herd immunity achieved .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭landofthetree

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 138 ✭✭Endintheclowns

I read on the journal Denmark are vaccinating 60k people a day and we are vaccinating 35k a week. Can't be true no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

JazzyJ wrote: »
    That's just cases though and doesn't take into account of the reporting backlog, isn't it? If so, it should be steeper on the uptick and starting to level off.

The figures vary wildly daily but the trend is clear. Here's hospitalisation if that helps.

538819.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,052 ✭✭✭✭titan18

The figures vary wildly daily but the trend is clear. Here's hospitalisation if that helps.

538819.png

If you rotate your screen we have flattened the curve I suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,984 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Sir Oxman wrote: »
    Is there no data on connections of passengers when someone enters Ireland?
    In this day and age?
    I knew a guy who worked in the DAA as a data analyst and I'm sure he said that was one of the data points they mined.

Yes. Thought the said the gardaí would be checking for negative tests at the airports from UK and SA ?
    Surely they aren't waiting for flights from South Africa ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭Locotastic

maebee wrote: »
    When did the period of self-isolation from a positive result drop from 14 days to 10 days?

My son tested positive on Jan 4th and has been staying in his GF's house, where they're all positive, since then. He's asking can he come back home on the 14th

Isolation period varies depending on circumstances.

Positive test result:

Most people can stop self-isolating when both of these apply:

you have had no fever for 5 days
    AND
    it has been 10 days since you first developed symptoms

If you tested positive because you are a close contact, you may have no symptoms. In this case, you can stop self-isolating 10 days from the date of your test.

Negative test result

You may have been tested because you have symptoms of COVID-19 and your test was negative (virus not detected). If so, continue to self-isolate until you have no symptoms for 48 hours.

If the test was because you were a close contact, continue to follow advice for close contacts. You should restrict your movements for 14 days even if your test comes back negative.

https://www2.hse.ie/co...-self-isolating.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

https://twitter.com/BNODesk/status/1347626838789677056

We are regular features on BNO news now, not a good thing!